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Legislation Requiring Further Review, Staff “Watch List” and Legislation Provided for
Information

V. Legislation Requiring Further Review
Miscellaneous

HB 857 (Peace) (HGL) removes remaining differences between general landlord and tenant
provisions and the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act by conforming provisions
pertaining to residential dwelling units in the following areas: (i) providing that any nonresidential
tenancy may be terminated by self-help eviction or by filing an unlawful detainer action; (ii) tenant
obligations to maintain a dwelling unit; (iii) notice to the tenant in the event of foreclosure; (iv)
wrongful failure to supply heat, water, hot water, or essential services; (v) prohibited provisions in
the rental agreement; (vi) early termination of rental agreement by military personnel; and (vii)
remedies for the landlord's failure to deliver possession. The bill also makes the following changes
to landlord and tenant law: (a) clarifies the lease termination process; (b) provides that if a tenant
allows his renter's insurance to lapse, the landlord may provide coverage and require the tenant to
pay the premium; (c) establishes protection for landlords who provide tenant information to a
federal census official; (d) authorizes a landlord or property manager to appear in court to seek
final rent and damages related to a dwelling unit; and (e) clarifies remedies for a tenant's failure to
prepare the dwelling unit for insecticide or pesticide applications. (18102837D)

Administration of Government

HB 223 (Krizek) (HCT) allows courts to award front pay in addition to back pay as damages for
discharging an employee in violation of the Virginia Human Rights Act (§ 2.2-3900 et seq.). The
bill also removes the time period limitation on the amount of back pay awarded, allows courts to
increase or diminish the award if the court finds that either party engaged in delay tactics, and
increases the cap on attorney fees awarded from 25 percent of the back pay awarded to 40 percent
of the back pay and front pay awarded. (18101370D)

SB 677 (Deeds) (SLG) authorizes a member of a governing body of a locality to be elected or
appointed by that governing body to be a member of a local convention, visitors, or tourism board,
authority, or agency. (18101222D)

SB 751 (Sturtevant) (SLG) requires every locality with a population greater than 25,000 and each
school division with greater than 5,000 students to post quarterly on the public government website
of such locality or school division a register of all funds expended, showing vendor name, date of
payment, amount, and a description of the type of expense, including credit card purchases with
the same information. The bill allows any locality or school division to exclude from such posting
any information that is exempt from mandatory disclosure under the Virginia Freedom of
Information Act, any personal identifying information related to a court-ordered payment, and any
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information related to undercover law-enforcement officers. The bill has a delayed effective date
of July 1, 2019. (18104562D)

Animals

HB 14 (Kory) (HAG)/SB 175 (Stanley) (SACNR) requires a public animal shelter to wait three
days before euthanizing a dog or cat when a person has notified the shelter of his intent to adopt
or take custody of the particular animal. The shelter must make reasonable efforts to accomplish
the release of the dog or cat but is not required to hold the animal if it has reason to believe that

the animal has seriously injured a human or the animal meets certain other specified conditions for
euthanasia. (18100613D, 18101283D)

HB 424 (Levine) (HAG) provides that a public or private animal shelter may purchase, possess,
and administer certain Schedule VI biological products for the purpose of preventing, controlling,
and treating certain communicable diseases that failure to control would result in transmission to
the animal population in the shelter and may administer such biological products only pursuant to
written protocols. (18102771D)

HB 646 (Bell, John J.) (HAG) provides that outdoor tethering of an animal shall not meet the
requirement that an animal be given adequate shelter if it occurs (i) between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.,
except when the animal is engaged in conduct related to an agricultural activity; (i1) when no owner
is on the property; (iii) when the temperature is 32 degrees Fahrenheit or lower or 85 degrees
Fahrenheit or higher; (iv) during a heat advisory; or (v) during a severe weather warning. The bill
provides that a tether shall meet the requirement that an animal be given adequate space if it is four
times the length of the animal or 15 feet in length, whichever is greater, and does not cause injury
or pain, contain metal chain links, or weigh more than one-tenth of the animal's body weight.
(18104368D)

HB 889 (Orrock) (HAG) authorizes the governing body of any locality to adopt an ordinance
restricting the tethering of a dog outdoors. The ordinance may limit the maximum number of hours
during which the dog may remain tethered but shall not completely prohibit tethering that provides
the dog "adequate space" as that phrase is defined in the Code. (18101099D)

Courts

HB 4 (Mullin) (HCT)/SB 519 (Mason) (SCT) requires the case management system operated
and maintained by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia to be open to the
public for inspection. The bill provides that the case management system shall be searchable by
party name, charge (for criminal cases), filing type (for civil cases), hearing date, and case
number across all localities and that the entire compilation of records contained in the system
shall be made available. (18100879D, 18101947D)

HB 326 (Campbell) (HCT) provides that, for cases in juvenile and domestic relations district
court involving an allegedly abused or neglected child, venue may lie in the city or county where
the alleged abuse or neglect occurred in addition to the city or county where the child resides or
where the child is present when the proceedings are commenced. (18103258D)
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HB 858 (Peace) (HCT) provides that parties to a civil action may obtain discovery regarding any
matter, not privileged, that is relevant to the subject matter and proportional to the needs of the
case. The bill states that a determination of whether discovery is unduly burdensome or expensive
shall include consideration of whether the burden or expense of the proposed discovery outweighs
its likely benefits. The bill further provides that when an officer, as defined in the bill, who is
called as a deposition witness files a motion for a protective order because the discovery sought
by the deposition is obtainable from some other source that is more convenient, less burdensome,
or less expensive, the burden shall be on the party seeking the deposition to defeat such a motion
by showing that (i) there is a reasonable indication that the officer's deposition is calculated to lead
to the discovery of admissible evidence, (ii) the officer has unique or superior personal knowledge
of discoverable information that cannot be discovered through means other than a deposition, and
(i11) deposition of a representative other than the officer or other methods of discovery are
unsatisfactory, insufficient, or inadequate. (18103997D)

SB 39 (Favola) (SCT) repeals the $25 filing fee that is charged for commencement of a custody or
visitation case in the juvenile and domestic relations district court. (18100238D)

SB 535 (Obenshain) (SCT) provides that in a civil action for personal injuries sustained from a
motor vehicle accident, regardless of the amount of losses sustained by an injured person, an
insurance company shall disclose the policy limits of an alleged tortfeasor who has been convicted
of an offense of driving under the influence within 30 days of a request for such disclosure.
(18102085D)

Restitution

HB 483 (Bell, Robert B.) (HCT) adds to the duties of the Workers' Compensation Commission in
its role as administrator of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund (Fund) the obligation to
identify and locate victims for whom restitution owed to such victims has been deposited into the
Fund. The bill provides that clerks shall deposit into the Fund on an annual basis restitution
collected for victims who can no longer be identified or located. The bill requires that clerks record
the receipt of restitution payments in the Virginia Supreme Court's automated information system
and that the restitution form used by the court include the victim's contact information, including
address, telephone number, and email address. (18102533D)

HB 484 (Bell, Robert B.) (HCT) provides that for any offense that occurs on or after July 1, 2018,
if restitution is ordered at the time of sentencing, the court shall place the defendant on an indefinite
term of probation until all ordered restitution is paid in full. The bill requires that a probation
agency ordered to monitor the restitution payments of a defendant placed on supervised probation
notify the court and the attorney for the Commonwealth of the amount of unsatisfied restitution, if
any, 30 days prior to the defendant's release from supervision. The bill also requires that a court
schedule a hearing within 90 days of the date restitution was to be paid in full if any restitution
remains unsatisfied and no probation agency was ordered to monitor the defendant's payments.
The bill also establishes a mechanism for releasing a defendant from an indefinite term of
probation even though all ordered restitution has not been paid in full. (18102534D)
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HB 485 (Bell, Robert B.) (HCT) requires that a probation agency ordered to monitor the restitution
payments of a defendant placed on supervised probation notify the court and the attorney for the
Commonwealth of the amount of unsatisfied restitution, if any, 30 days prior to the defendant's
release from supervision. The bill also requires that if any restitution remains unsatistied on the
date upon which restitution was to be paid in full, a court must schedule a hearing within 90 days

of such date if no probation agency was ordered to monitor the defendant's payments.
(18102535D)

Education

HB 15 (Mullin) (HCT) requires a principal to first take appropriate alternative disciplinary action
or determine that no such appropriate alternative disciplinary action exists before referring to the
local law-enforcement agency student incidents of assault and assault and battery without bodily
injury. (18101158D)

HB 445 (Carroll Foy) (HCT) eliminates the requirement that school principals report certain
enumerated acts that may constitute a misdemeanor offense to law enforcement. (18102544D)

SB 476 (Reeves) (SEH) provides that school principals are not required to report criminal
misdemeanors or status offenses to law enforcement if in the principal's discretion, based on a
totality of the circumstances and consistent with Board of Education guidelines, such report is not
warranted. The bill requires the Board of Education, in consultation with the Department of
Juvenile Justice, the Office of the Attorney General, and any interested stakeholders, to update its
Student Conduct Policy Guidelines to provide guidance for principals in exercising such
discretion. (18102416D)

Virginia Preschool Initiative and Other Preschool-related Legislation

HB 255 (Guzman) (HRUL) establishes the Public Preschool Fund and Grant Program for the
purpose of funding and providing on a competitive basis grants to local school boards to establish
and maintain public preschool programs for children who reside in the local school division and
who will have reached their fourth birthday on or before September 30 of the relevant school year.
The bill requires the Department of Education to administer the Public Preschool Grant Program
and establish (i) guidelines and procedures for grant applications, awards, and renewals; (ii)
standards for preschool programs established and maintained by grant recipients, including
standards for curriculum, student achievement, attendance, instruction, personnel, and length of
school day and school year; and (ii1) data collection and reporting requirements for grant recipients.
The bill requires the Department of Education to give priority to grant applicants who propose a
plan for the innovative use of facilities in the local school division to house the proposed public
preschool program, including community centers and recreation centers. (18103673D)

HB 319 (Bourne) (HRUL) permits any local school board to offer any slots in its Virginia
Preschool Initiative program that remain unfilled by at-risk students after initial enrollment to
students who reside in the school division and meet the age requirements but do not qualify as at-
risk and to charge a fee for such enrollment. (18101052D)
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HB 924 (Lopez) (HRUL) directs the Board of Social Services to establish a Quality Rating and
Improvement System for all child welfare agencies participating in the Virginia Preschool
Initiative. (18103637D)

HJ 108 (Aird) (HRUL) directs the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission to study the
amount of funds required to make preschool available to each four-year-old in the Commonwealth
through the Virginia Preschool Initiative by projecting, on a school division-by-school division
basis for the 2019-2020 school year, (i) Virginia Preschool Initiative program enrollments, (ii)
total four-year-old student populations, and (iii) the state and local funds required to expand access
to such programs to each four-year-old based on the current allocation formula for determining the
state and local share of funding. (18103571D)

Elections

HB 357 (Reid) (HPE) provides that at an election without a federal office on the ballot, if the
polling hours are extended by a court order, persons who are voting during the extended polling
hours shall be permitted to vote a regular ballot. The bill requires that such persons be marked in
the pollbook as having voted during the extended polling hours and that such ballots be kept
separate from ballots cast during normal polling hours. Under current law, whenever polling hours
are extended by a court order, ballots cast by persons who are voting during the extended polling
hours are treated as provisional ballots. The bill makes this current law applicable only to elections

with a federal office on the ballot, in accordance with the requirements of the Help America Vote
Act 0of 2002. (18102331D)

SB 150 (Edwards (SPE) changes one of the criteria for determining when an electoral board is
required to ascertain the total votes for each write-in candidate for an office from when less than
five percent of the total number of votes cast for that office are write-in votes to when less than 20
percent of the total number of votes cast for that office are write-in votes. (18102921D)

HB 1210 (Hugo) (HPE) requires electoral boards and general registrars to conduct post-election
risk-limiting audits with a five percent risk limit for federal and statewide election contests for
every election in which a voting system is used. The risk-limiting audit is required to be completed
prior to certifying the results of the election being audited. The risk-limiting audits are to be
conducted in accordance with standards and procedures developed by the State Board of Elections
(State Board). The bill provides that representatives of candidates and political parties and other
lawfully present observers are entitled to observe the risk-limiting audit and requires that they be
able to adequately monitor the audit process to determine whether it has been carried out correctly
and to evaluate whether the correct ballots were audited and whether they agree with the auditors'
determination of voter intent for each audited ballot. Voter intent during the risk-limiting audit is
to be determined manually and directly from original, voter-verifiable ballots cast and counted in
the election and from paper record copies. The bill provides that the State Board may order a partial
or full recount of an election or may issue a writ for a new election if it determines that an elections
official failed to comply with the requirements for conducting the risk-limiting audit. The State
Board is directed to convene a work group to assist with the development of standards and
procedures for preparing for and conducting post-election risk-limiting audits, and the work group,
through the State Board, shall submit to the Governor and General Assembly an interim progress
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report by December 1, 2018, and a final report by December 1, 2019, of the standards and
procedures for preparing for and conducting post-election risk-limiting audits and any legislative
proposals that may be necessary to implement and administer the audits. The bill repeals the
current law regarding risk-limiting audits, and the new post-election risk-limiting audit process

does not become effective unless reenacted by the 2020 Session of the General Assembly.
(18102957D)

SB 591 (Vogel) (SPE) requires electoral boards and general registrars to conduct post-election
risk-limiting audits with a five percent risk limit for federal and statewide election contests for
every election in which a voting system is used. The risk-limiting audit is required to be completed
prior to certifying the results of the election being audited. The risk-limiting audits are to be
conducted in accordance with standards and procedures developed by the State Board of Elections
(State Board). The bill provides that representatives of candidates and political parties and other
lawfully present observers are entitled to observe the risk-limiting audit and requires that they be
able to adequately monitor the audit process to determine whether it has been carried out correctly
and to evaluate whether the correct ballots were audited and whether they agree with the auditors'
determination of voter intent for each audited ballot. Voter intent during the risk-limiting audit is
to be determined manually and directly from original, voter-verifiable ballots cast and counted in
the election and from paper record copies. The bill provides that the State Board may order a partial
or full recount of an election or may issue a writ for a new election if it determines that an elections
official failed to comply with the requirements for conducting the risk-limiting audit. The State
Board is directed to convene a work group to assist with the development of standards and
procedures for preparing for and conducting post-election risk-limiting audits, and the work group,
through the State Board, shall submit to the Governor and General Assembly an interim progress
report by December 1, 2018, and a final report by December 1, 2019, of the standards and
procedures for preparing for and conducting post-election risk-limiting audits and any legislative
proposals that may be necessary to implement and administer the audits. The bill repeals the
current law regarding risk-limiting audits, and the new post-election risk-limiting audit process
does not become effective unless reenacted by the 2020 Session of the General Assembly.
(18102749D)

SB 165 (Wexton) (SPE) adds to the list of accepted forms of identification for purposes of voting
a valid identification card that contains a photograph of the voter and is issued by any private entity
that is licensed or certified, in whole or in part, by the State Department of Health, the Department
of Social Services, the Department of Medical Assistance Services, or the Department of
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. Under current law, an employee of any such
private entity is permitted to use his employee identification card for purposes of voting, provided
that the card contains a photograph of the voter; the bill allows a resident or other person who
receives services from such private entity to use a valid identification card issued by the private
entity for purposes of voting, provided that the card contains a photograph of the voter.
(18100994D)

Absentee Voting

SB 6 (Ebbin) provides that a registered voter who becomes obligated after noon on the Friday
immediately preceding an election to travel outside of his county or city for a business purpose,
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for a hospitalization, or for the death of a member of his immediate family is entitled to apply for
an absentee ballot and to vote absentee in-person. Such a registered voter is required to apply in
person not later than 2:00 p.m. on the Monday immediately preceding the election. Currently, the
provisions for late applications and in-person absentee voting apply only to those registered voters
who become obligated after noon on the Saturday immediately preceding the election.
(18100297D)

Early Voting

HB 74 (Sullivan) (HPE) allows any registered voter to vote early in any election in which he is
qualified to vote without providing a reason or making prior application for an absentee ballot.
The bill requires that early voting be available beginning the twenty-first day prior to any general
election, the seventh day prior to any special election held on a date other than the date of a general
election, and the seventh day prior to any primary election and ending at 5:00 p.m. on the Saturday
immediately preceding the election. The bill further requires early voting to be available during
regular business hours each weekday during the applicable period, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on
each Saturday during the applicable period, and from 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. on each Sunday
during the applicable period. The bill removes the current provisions for voting absentee in person
but retains those provisions for voting an absentee ballot by mail, including the application
requirement and the list of statutory reasons that allow a registered voter to vote absentee by mail.
(18101187D)

Split Precincts

HB 299 (Watts) (HPE) requires counties and cities to adjust local election district lines to
congressional and state legislative district lines established by the General Assembly and requires
that precincts be contained wholly within congressional or state legislative districts when a county,
city, or town is divided between two or more such districts. The bill provides that a locality that is
unable to comply with this requirement may apply to the State Board of Elections for a waiver to
administer a split precinct. The State Board shall have the authority to grant the request or direct
the locality to create a precinct with fewer than the required number of registered voters. The
measure also prohibits counties, cities, and towns from creating, dividing, abolishing, or
consolidating any precincts or otherwise changing the boundaries of any precinct between
February 1, 2019, and May 15, 2021, except in certain specified circumstances. Precinct
ordinances may be adopted after January 1, 2021, but may not be implemented before May 15,
2021. (18102495D)

HB 382 (Rasoul) (HPE) provides that no precinct shall be split between congressional or state
legislative districts where a county or city is divided between two or more such districts. Counties
and cities are required immediately after decennial redistricting to establish precinct boundaries
that meet this requirement. The local governing body is authorized to apply to the State Board of
Elections for a waiver if the governing body concludes that it cannot meet the requirement in one
or more instances. The State Board is authorized to grant the waiver if it concludes that the local
governing body has presented clear and convincing evidence of its inability to meet the
requirement. Alternatively, the State Board is authorized to direct the local governing body to
establish precincts with fewer than the minimum number of required registered voters.
(18104414D)



Legislative Committee
January 19, 2018

HB 449 (Rodman) (HPE) repeals the deadline for registering to vote in advance of an election and
allows eligible voters to register at any time, including the day of the election. A person who is
eligible to vote, but is not registered, may register and be permitted to vote on election day by
appearing in person at the polling place for the precinct of which he is a resident and (i) providing
certain identifying information; (ii) signing a statement, subject to felony penalties, that he is a
qualified voter of that precinct but for not being registered to vote; and (iii) providing proof of
residency. Residency may be proven by presenting (a) his valid Virginia driver's license or other
photo identification issued by the Commonwealth, one of its political subdivisions, or the United
States that contains a valid address in the precinct or (b) any document that contains a valid address
in the precinct together with one of the forms of identification accepted for purposes of voting.
The bill requires the State Board to provide instructions for the prompt addition of the voter to the
Virginia voter registration system on the day of the election. (18102776D)

SB 322 (Peake) (SPE) requires that, at any level of election district, each precinct be wholly
contained within a single election district, except where splitting a precinct among two or more
districts is necessary to ensure the population of each district is as nearly equal to the population
of every other district as practicable. (18100060D)

SB 522 (Barker) (SPE) requires county and city governing bodies in each year ending in one,
immediately after the completion of decennial redistricting, to establish precinct boundaries so that
no precinct is split between two or more congressional, state Senate, House of Delegates, or county
or city election districts. If it is impossible to meet this requirement the governing body is given
authority to request a waiver from the State Board of Elections to establish a split precinct. The
State Board may either grant the waiver or, if the Board finds it more appropriate, approve an
exception to the minimum size requirements for precincts. (18103590D)

Voter Registration

HB 171 (Filler-Corn) (HPE) allows a person who becomes a naturalized United States citizen after
the close of registration records, and who is otherwise qualified to vote, to register to vote up to
and including the day of the election. The bill requires the Department of Elections to prescribe
procedures for the addition of persons registered under the provisions of the bill to the lists of
registered voters. (18101172D)

HB 272 (Boysko) (HPE) requires notice of a denial of an application for voter registration to be
provided by the general registrar to the applicant within five days of the denial. Such notice may
be made by all available means, including by telephone and email. The bill provides that if the
general registrar is able to reach the applicant by telephone, any missing information may be
provided and corrections may be made by the applicant by telephone. The bill requires the
registration application to request that the applicant provide his telephone number and email
address. (18101407D)

HB 356 (Reid) (HPE) requires notice of a denial of an application for voter registration to be
provided by the general registrar to the applicant within 10 days of the denial. Such notice is
required to be made by all available means, including by telephone and email. The bill provides
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that if the general registrar is able to reach the applicant by telephone, any missing information
may be provided and corrections may be made by the applicant by telephone. The bill requires the
registration application to request that the applicant provide his telephone number and email
address. The bill contains technical amendments. (18100159D)

SB 331 (Peake) (Reported from SPE) requires the general registrars to verify that the name, date
of birth, and social security number provided by an applicant on the voter registration application
match the information on file in the Social Security Administration database or other database
approved by the State Board of Elections (State Board) before registering such applicant. If the
information provided by the applicant does not match the information in such a database, the
applicant (i) is provisionally registered to vote and notified as to what steps are needed to be fully
registered to vote and (ii) is permitted to vote by provisional ballot, but such ballot shall not be
counted until the voter presents certain information. The bill also requires the general registrars to
verify annually no later than August 1 that the name, date of birth, and social security number in
the registration record of each registered voter in the registrar's jurisdiction match the information
on file with the Social Security Administration or other database approved by the State Board and,
in accordance with § 24.2-429, to initiate the cancellation of the registration of any voter whose
registration record information does not match the database information. The State Board is
authorized to approve the use of any government database to the extent required to enable each
general registrar to carry out the provisions of this measure and to promulgate rules for the use of
such database. The Department of Elections is required to provide to the general registrars access
to the Social Security Administration database and any other database approved by the State Board.
The Department of Elections is further required to enter into any agreement with any federal or
state agency to facilitate such access. (18100115D)

Environment

HB 936 (Lopez) (HAG) authorizes the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services to restrict or
prohibit the use of neonicotinoid insecticides (neonicotinoids) and prohibits, beginning July 1,
2019, the outdoor application of neonicotinoids on any property that is either owned or maintained
by the Commonwealth or zoned for residential use. Such prohibition shall not apply to the use of
neonicotinoids purchased before July 1, 2018, or to any facility licensed to conduct research on
neonicotinoids. The bill also directs the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (the
Department) to issue by July 1, 2020, a draft report evaluating whether scientific evidence exists
to show that outdoor applications of neonicotinoids are safe for pollinators, the environment, and
human health. The Department shall consider public comments on the draft and deliver its final
evaluation report on neonicotinoid safety research to the Governor and to the Chairs of the Senate
Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources Committee and the House Agriculture,
Chesapeake and Natural Resources Committee by July 1, 2021. (18103069D)

HB 1059 (Tran) (HAG) requires any person who unlawfully discharges any deleterious substance
into state waters to give written notice to the State Water Control Board. Current law requires
written notice to be given only to the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality. The
bill also requires the Board or the Department to give the reported discharge information to local
newspapers, television stations, and radio stations as soon as practicable after receiving it.
(18101616D)
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HB 1091 (Hodges) (HAG) includes within the definition of the term "project" any dredging
program or project undertaken to benefit the economic and community development goals of a
local government. (18102293D)

HB 1094 (Hodges) (HAG) directs the State Water Control Board to adopt regulations to establish
criteria for use by local governments in granting, denying, or modifying a request by any
landowner within a Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area to raise the base elevation of his land for
the purpose of mitigating the effects of flooding. (18102373D)

SB 582 (Hanger) (SACNR) increases the threshold for the substitution of real property when lands
are converted or diverted from open-space land use, requiring the substitute land to have
"substantially" greater value as permanent open-space land than the land being converted or
diverted. The bill establishes several requirements that an applicant for such conversion or
diversion, such as an electric utility or a pipeline company, shall meet, including the requirements
that it demonstrate the essentiality of its project, show that no feasible alternative exists, pay for
appraisals conducted by a certified general real estate appraiser, and explain why, if the substitute
land is not adjacent to the land to be converted or diverted, adjacent land could not be acquired.
The bill also requires the creation of a stewardship fund for the substitute land. (18104710D)

SB 585 (DeSteph) (SRUL) clarifies the purposes for which grants from the Chesapeake Bay
Restoration Fund (the Fund) are to be used and clarifies that guidelines for the use of such grants
shall be developed by the Chesapeake Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee (the Committee)
in accordance with such purposes. The bill shifts the date by which the Committee is required to

present a plan for expenditure of any amounts in the Fund. The bill contains technical amendments.
(18103877D)

Onsite Sewage and Treatment Systems

HB 675 (Hodges) (HHWI) provides that effluent quality standards and maintenance requirements
for onsite treatment works designed by individuals licensed as professional engineers shall not
exceed those established in the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES)
General Permit for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons Per Day
for fresh water discharge. (18102954D)

HB 885 (Orrock) (HHWI) clarifies that the Board of Health shall have supervision and control
over the maintenance, inspection, and reuse of conventional onsite sewage systems as well as
alternative onsite sewage systems. (18101589D)

HB 888 (Orrock) (HHWI) directs the Department of Health to take steps to eliminate evaluation

and design services for onsite sewage systems and private wells provided by the Department. The
bill provides specific requirements and a timeline for such elimination. (18101594D)

10
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Plastic Bags

HB 981 (Rodman) (HFIN) authorizes any locality to impose a five-cent per bag tax on disposable
paper bags or disposable plastic bags provided to customers by certain retailers, with certain bags
being exempt from the tax. Revenues from the local tax would be collected by the Tax
Commissioner and distributed monthly to the county or city imposing the tax to be used by such
locality for pollution and litter mitigation. The bill requires each county or city adopting an
ordinance to impose the tax to provide a certified copy of the ordinance to the Tax Commissioner
at least six months prior to the date the tax is to become effective. The bill also allows every retailer
that collects the tax to retain one cent of the five-cent tax. (18103714D)

SB 193 (Locke) (SLG) allows any locality by ordinance to prohibit the distribution, sale, or offer
for sale of disposable plastic shopping bags to consumers. The bill exempts from any such
prohibition reusable bags of a certain thickness; bags that are used to carry certain products, such
as ice cream or newspapers; and garbage bags that are sold in multiples. (18102642D)

Stormwater

HB 377 (Bulova) (HAG) exempts from the requirement to obtain a Virginia Water Protection
Permit an impact to a stormwater management facility on dry land. (18104333D)

HB 447 (Hope) (HAG) adds the preservation of mature trees, both as a stormwater management
tool and as a means of providing other benefits, to the list of activities that the State Water
Resources Board is directed to encourage and promote as it adopts criteria for local governments
to use as they consider development in Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas. (18100211D)

HB 493 (Hodges) (HAG) authorizes the recipient of a grant from the Stormwater Local Assistance
Fund to use a portion of the grant funds to pay for reasonable administrative costs. The bill also
allows a grant recipient to count the fair market value of administrative services as an in-kind
match for as much as half of the amount of any matching funds required. (18100338D)

HB 574 (Hodges) (HGL) excludes the purchase of (i) stream restoration and (ii) stormwater
management practices, and all associated and necessary construction and maintenance, from the
prohibition on using cooperative procurement to purchase construction. (18104419D)

HB 723 (Plum) (HAG) requires the State Water Control Board to adopt regulations requiring a
local stormwater management authority that requires a landowner of property zoned for residential
use to maintain a stormwater management facility on such property to record with the deed for the
property a statement of the specifications and requirements and a schedule of audits of the facility.
The bill requires the seller of any property with such facility to disclose such specifications,
requirements, and schedule of audits to a purchaser of the property. (18102418D)

HB 801 (O’Quinn) (HAG) prohibits the State Water Control Board from adopting any stormwater

regulation that is inconsistent with or exceeds the requirements of any federal stormwater statute,
regulation, standard, criterion, or guidance document. (18100290D)
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HB 925 (Bulova) (HAG) authorizes any locality that owns or operates a permitted municipal
separate storm sewer system (MS4) to adopt and administer an industrial and high-risk runoff
program. The bill limits the ability of the State Water Control Board (the Board), unless it is
required to do so by federal law, to impose certain regulatory conditions on any locality that
administers such a program, and it prohibits the Board from modifying existing MS4 permits to
avoid such limitation. The bill authorizes the Board to require a locality to report an industrial or
commercial facility if it becomes aware of a violation of an industrial stormwater management
requirement. (18104478D)

HB 1038 (Convirs-Fowler) (HGL) provides that the board of directors of each association shall be
responsible for inspecting and maintaining the stormwater best management practice that serves
and 1s operated or owned by the development. (18103538D)

HB 1308 (Hodges) (HAG) authorizes any rural Tidewater locality, whether or not it has opted out
of administering a stormwater or erosion and sediment control program, to require that a licensed
professional retained by the applicant submit a set of plans and supporting calculations for land-
disturbing activities that disturb 2,500 square feet or more but less than one acre of land. The bill
requires the plans to bear a certification and to be signed and sealed by the professional. The
locality is required to accept such plans in satisfaction of the local plan review requirement. The
bill also directs the Department of Environmental Quality to examine the possibility of expanding
the use of the agreement in lieu of a stormwater management plan, currently authorized for use in
the construction of certain single-family residences, to include any nonresidential development
site of less than one acre in a rural Tidewater locality. (18104164D)

SB 576 (Hanger) (SACNR) allows a person engaging in more than one jurisdiction in the creation
and operation of a stream restoration project for purposes of reducing nutrients or sediment
entering state waters the same opportunity to submit standards and specifications for Department
of Environmental Quality approval that describe how land-disturbing activities shall be conducted
as an alternative to submitting soil erosion control and stormwater management plans as allowed
in current law to a person engaging in more than one jurisdiction in the creation and operation of
a wetland mitigation or stream restoration bank pursuant to a mitigation banking instrument signed
by the Department, the Marine Resources Commission, or the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.
(18103641D)

SB 741 (Ruff) (Reported from SACNR) requires a Virginia Stormwater Management Program
Authority (VSMP authority) to advise the Department of Environmental Quality to terminate
coverage under a General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities
within 60 days of receiving a complete notice of termination from the operator of the construction
activity. The bill (i) provides that such permit coverage shall be deemed terminated 90 days after
the receipt by the VSMP authority of a complete notice of termination and (ii) requires any VSMP
authority receiving incomplete notice to inform the operator within a reasonable time and provide
a detailed list of the missing elements. (18102671D)
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Water Quality Improvement Fund

SB 340 (Peake) (Passed Senate) requires the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality
to prioritize cost effective technologies to reduce nutrient loads of total phosphorus, total nitrogen,
or nitrogen-containing ammonia over other water quality improvement methods in distributing
grants from the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Fund subsequent to satisfaction of nutrient
reductions of regulations, permits, or the Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed Implementation Plan.
The bill places certain limitations on grants for technologies to reduce nitrogen-containing
ammonia. The bill also requires the Department of Environmental Quality to prepare a preliminary
estimate of the amount and timing of Water Quality Improvement Grants required to fund projects
to reduce loads of nitrogen-containing ammonia at certain levels based on an estimate of the
anticipated range of costs for all publicly owned treatment works if the State Water Control Board
were to adopt the 2013 Aquatic Life Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Ammonia published by
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. (18103170D-E)

Freedom of Information Act

HB 664 (Kilgore) (HGL) requires a public body initiating a transfer of public records to any entity,
including to any other public body, to remain the custodian of those records only if the public body
has transferred the entirety of those public records. Current law requires the public body initiating
a transfer of public records to remain the custodian if it has transferred possession of any public
records. The bill also excludes the transfer of a portion of information contained in one public
body's public record to another public body from being considered as a transfer of an entire public
record. The bill also prohibits a public body from withholding a public record in its entirety on the
grounds that information contained in such public record was provided by another public body.
The bill defines "custodian" for purposes of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.
(18102023D)

Health and Human Services

HB 178 (Bell, Richard P.) (HGL) provides that it shall not be unlawful under the Virginia Fair
Housing Law for any owner to deny or limit the rental of housing to persons whose payment of
rent for such housing is contingent upon the owner's acceptance of a contract authorizing payment
of such rent by an entity or individual other than the lessee. (18102452D)

HB 511 (Bell, Robert B.) (HHWI) adds the complaint that a child has been left alone in the same
dwelling with a person to whom the child is not related by blood or marriage and who has been
convicted of a sexually violent offense against a minor to the list of complaints of suspected child
abuse or neglect upon receipt of which a local department of social services is required to notify
the local attorney for the Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement agency. The bill also adds
such a complaint to the list of complaints that a local department that has been designated as a
child-protective services differential response agency by the Department of Social Services must
investigate. (18100374D)

HB 515 (Bell, Robert B.) (HCT)/SB 70 (Favola) (SCT) provides that a parent's disability, as
defined in the bill, shall not be the sole basis of the denial or restriction of such parent's custody or
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visitation rights. The bill requires a party who alleges that a parent's disability should be a factor
to be considered to not be in the best interests of the child, or should otherwise be a reason to deny
or restrict such a parent's custody or visitation rights, to prove that the child's best interests would
not be met or served due to such parent's disability. The bill allows a parent with a disability to
demonstrate how supportive parenting services would appropriately address any threats to the
child's best interests and further allows the court to order that such services be ordered by the court.
The bill requires a court to make written findings where the court denies or restricts custody or
visitation of a parent with a disability or where supportive parenting services are not ordered. The
same requirements apply to the denial or approval of a prospective foster parent with a disability,
or removal of a child from the home of a foster parent with a disability, and to the denial of a final
order of adoption wherein the prospective adoptive parent has a disability. (18101114D,
18101471D)

HB 614 (Price) (HHWI) provides that the Board of Social Work may license baccalaureate social
workers, master's social workers, and clinical social workers, as those terms are defined, and may

register persons proposing to obtain supervised post-degree experience in the practice of social
work. (18101583D)

HB 935 (Hope) (HCT) eliminates the requirement that a person agree to abide by the plan for
mandatory outpatient treatment before mandatory outpatient treatment may be ordered.
(18102532D)

HB 979 (Rodman) (HHWI) directs the State Board of Health to adopt regulations establishing the
action level for lead in drinking water as no more than 10 parts per billion beginning January 1,
2019, and no more than five parts per billion beginning January 1, 2023. The bill authorizes the
Board to establish lower action levels for lead in drinking water. (18101617D)

HJ 109 (Gooditis) (HRUL) requests the Department of Medical Assistance Services to (i) identify
the current transportation needs of individuals with disabilities, mental illness, and substance abuse
problems in the Commonwealth; (i1) determine the extent to which these needs are being met; (iii)
identify reoccurring problems associated with such state-funded transportation services, including
providers arriving late or failing to show up for a scheduled trip, a lack of consistency in drivers
for regularly scheduled trips, inefficient and time-consuming routes, and a general lack of
communication between providers and the individuals receiving transportation services; (iv)
analyze the cost of expanding state-funded transportation services to cover individuals who have
a mental illness or substance abuse problems and are not receiving assistance under the state plan
for medical assistance; (v) gather and consider input from all relevant stakeholders regarding such
transportation needs and strategies for improving the Commonwealth's transportation services for
individuals with disabilities, mental illness, and substance abuse problems; and (vi) make
recommendations regarding strategies, policies, or programs that the Commonwealth can utilize
to better meet the transportation needs of individuals with disabilities, mental illness, and substance
abuse problems, including establishing partnerships with ride-sharing companies. (18103698D)

SB 539 (Hanger) (SRSS) removes certain programs from the list of child day programs exempt

from licensure and clarifies that such programs are not considered child day programs and
therefore are not subject to licensure. The bill also modifies the terms of certain child day programs
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that remain listed as exempt from licensure and requires that such programs (i) file with the
Commissioner of Social Services (the Commissioner), prior to beginning operation of a child day
program and annually thereafter, a statement indicating the intent to operate a child day program,
identifying the Code provision relied upon for exemption from licensure, and certifying that the
child day program has disclosed to the parents of children in the program the fact that it is exempt
from licensure; (i1) report to the Commissioner all incidents involving serious injury or death to
children attending the child day program; (iii) have a person trained and certified in first aid and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) present at the child day program; (iv) comply with
background check requirements established by regulations of the Board of Social Services (the
Board); (v) maintain daily attendance records; (vi) have an emergency preparedness plan in place;
(vii) comply with all applicable laws and regulations governing transportation of children; (viii)
comply with certain safe sleep practices for infants; and (ix) post in a visible location notice that
the program is not licensed by the Department of Social Services and only certifies basic health
and safety requirements. The bill exempts from licensure any program offered by a local school
division, operated for no more than four hours per day, staffed by local school division employees,
and attended by school-age children who are enrolled in public school within such school division.
The bill also modifies staffing ratios for religious-exempt child day centers. The bill directs (a) the
Board to promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of the bill and (b) the Commissioner
to establish a process to inspect child day programs exempt from licensure and a process to gather
and track aggregate data regarding child injuries and deaths that occur at such child day programs.
The bill has a delayed effective date of July 1, 2019. (18100827D)

SB 670 (Deeds) (SEH) requires fire departments and emergency medical services agencies to
develop curricula for mental health awareness training for their personnel. The bill provides that
such personnel who receive the training shall receive appropriate continuing education credits.
(18100553D)

Adult Protective Services

HB 1025 (Adams, Les R.) (HHWI) provides that all actions taken or written findings made by a
local department of social services regarding an adult protective services investigation are final
and not appealable to the Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative Services and are not to be
considered a final agency action or case decision of the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative

Services for the purposes of judicial review under the Virginia Administrative Process Act.
(18103770D)

HB 1026 (Adams, Les. R) (HHWI) provides that all written findings and actions of a local
department of social services or its director regarding adult protective services investigations are
final and shall not be (1) appealable to the Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative Services or

(i1) considered a final agency action for purposes of judicial review pursuant to the provisions of
the Administrative Process Act. (18101587D)
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Medicaid

HB 338 (Miyares) (HRUL) directs the Secretary of Health and Human Resources to apply for a
waiver to implement a work requirement for able-bodied adult recipients of medical assistance
services. (18102781D)

HB 348 (Sickles) (HRUL) requires the Board of Medical Assistance Services to include in the
state plan for medical assistance provision for the payment of medical assistance on behalf of
individuals described in 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) who are under 65 years of age and
not otherwise eligible for medical assistance and whose household income does not exceed 133
percent of the federal poverty level for a family of that size. The bill provides that such provision
shall expire on December 31 of any year in which the federal medical assistance percentage for
such individuals falls below the percentages set forth in 42 C.F.R. § 433.10(c)(6). This bill also
repeals provisions of the Code of Virginia establishing the Medicaid Innovation and Reform
Commission. (18102276D)

Land Use

HB 639 (Boysko) (HRUL) provides that the Department of Transportation shall convene a work
group of stakeholders to examine the current statutory and regulatory processes for identifying the
location of, and the owners or leaseholders of, fiber optic cable and conduit, as well as other similar
communications infrastructure and utilities, that are located under or across from public property
or in close proximity to or in an existing or newly acquired public easement or right-of-way, in
order to determine whether the current process for relocating such infrastructure as necessary for
the construction of a public roadway and associated appurtenances, whether such project is locally
or state administered, is appropriately efficient, timely, and cost effective, in order to avoid
unnecessary and costly delays in construction. Stakeholders shall include, but are not limited to,
representatives from local government, cable and telecommunications industries, the road
construction industry, underground utility locating contractors, and the State Corporation
Commission. The Department shall assess whether the current permitting and utility registration
and relocation procedures and requirements are adequate and reasonable, and shall submit its
findings and any recommendations for improving such process to the General Assembly by
November 30, 2018. (18102696D)

HB 796 (Hope) (HCCT) requires a locality to give consideration to the need for reasonable
modifications to requirements that are necessary to accommodate persons with disabilities when
preparing a zoning ordinance. The bill also alters the standard by which a variance shall be granted
by adding the phrases "including the safe and easy use thereof" in regard to property and "or would
accommodate persons with disabilities as required under the Americans with Disabilities Act."

HJ 77 (Boysko) (HRUL) requests the Department of Transportation to study the feasibility of a
statewide dig once policy, including the installation of conduits with bridge construction projects.
In conducting its study, the Department shall examine the feasibility of a blanket policy for all nine
of its districts and shall consult various stakeholders, such as the Virginia Broadband Advisory
Council, the Center for Innovative Technology, telecommunication and cable providers, and utility
providers. (18104687D)
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Opioids

HB 132 (Bell, John J.) (HHWI) prohibits a prescriber providing treatment for a patient in an
emergency department of a corporation, facility, or institution licensed to provide health care from
prescribing a controlled substance containing an opioid in a quantity greater than a 10-day supply,
as determined in accordance with the prescriber's directions for use. The bill also prohibits a
pharmacist from dispensing a controlled substance containing an opioid pursuant to a prescription
issued by a prescriber providing treatment to a patient in the emergency department of a
corporation, facility, or institution licensed to provide health care unless the prescription complies
with the requirements of the bill. (18101289D)

HB 184 (Hayes) (HHWI) authorizes a pharmacist to dispense up to a five-day supply of a Schedule
VI drug to an individual who has been displaced from his residence by a natural or man-made
disaster; has had his supply of the drug lost, destroyed, or otherwise rendered unusable as a
consequence of the disaster; and is unable to tell the pharmacist the identity of the prescriber or
his regular pharmacist or pharmacy. The bill also requires the individual to present evidence
sufficient to establish, among other things, that the individual had been in lawful possession of the
drug pursuant to a prescription provided to another pharmacist and that his health would be in
danger without the benefits of the drug. Before prescribing the drug, the pharmacist is required to
determine with a reasonable degree of certainty that the requested drug and dosage level are
consistent with the drug and its dosage level that had been prescribed to the individual at the time
of his displacement from his residence. During the period for which the drug has been dispensed,
the pharmacist is required to diligently attempt to ascertain the identity of the prescriber and the
identity of the pharmacist or pharmacy in possession of the prescriber's prescription. Upon
obtaining such information, the pharmacist is required to take such additional reasonable action as
will permit the individual to obtain a new or renewal prescription and resume obtaining the drug
pursuant to his prescription. (18103616D)

HB 374 (Yancey) (HCT) provides that if a law-enforcement officer, firefighter, search and rescue
personnel, or emergency medical services personnel is exposed to a controlled substance while
engaged in the performance of his official duties and such exposure causes bodily injury, the
person who knowingly or intentionally possessed such controlled substance is guilty of a Class 6
felony. This provision also applies to exposure to a controlled substance by a police animal
performing its lawful duties or being kept in a kennel, pen, or stable while off duty. (18102005D)

HB 479 (McQuinn) (HHWI) provides that a substance abuse or mental health treatment provider
licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services or a community
services board or behavioral health authority may hire for compensated employment at an adult
substance abuse or mental health treatment program a person who was convicted of any barrier
crime, provided that the criminal behavior was substantially related to the person's substance abuse
or mental illness and the person has been successfully rehabilitated and is not a risk to individuals
receiving services. (18102280D)

HB 501 (Hodges) (HHWI) provides that the Board of Health, in consultation with the Board of

Pharmacy, shall promulgate regulations requiring a hospice program to establish a process for
mitigating the risk of diversion of drugs dispensed to a hospice patient residing at home and for
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disposition of any unneeded dispensed drugs by an employee of the hospice program in a manner
that is witnessed by the patient, patient's family member, or another employee of the hospice
program and documented. (18102626D)

HB 607 (Carr) (HHWI) directs the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
to implement a pilot program to evaluate the recovery community organization model of substance
abuse treatment. (18104054D)

HB 793 (Robinson) (HHWI) eliminates the requirement for a practice agreement with a patient
care team physician for nurse practitioners who are licensed by the Boards of Medicine and
Nursing and have completed at least 1,040 hours of clinical experience as a licensed, certified
nurse practitioner. The bill replaces the term "patient care team physician" with the term
"collaborating provider" and allows a nurse practitioner who is exempt from the requirement for a
practice agreement to enter into a practice agreement to provide collaboration and consultation to
a nurse practitioner who is not exempt from the requirement for a practice agreement. The bill
establishes title protection for advanced practice registered nurses, nurse practitioners, certified
registered nurse anesthetists, certified nurse midwives, and clinical nurse specialists. The bill
contains technical amendments. (18104186D)

HB 1194 (Garrett) (HHWI) adds drugs to the list of Schedule I controlled substances.
(18101626D)

HB 1222 (Boysko) (HHWI) provides that a person who is authorized by the Department of
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to train individuals on the administration of
naloxone for use in opioid overdose reversal and who is acting on behalf of an organization that
provides services to individuals at risk of experiencing an opioid overdose or training in the
administration of naloxone for overdose reversal and that has obtained a controlled substances
registration from the Board of Pharmacy may dispense or distribute hypodermic needles and
syringes in conjunction with such dispensing of naloxone and that a person to whom naloxone has
been distributed by such individual may possess hypodermic needles and syringes in conjunction
with such possession of naloxone. This bill includes an emergency clause. (18104520D)

HB 1303 (Garrett) (HHWI) provides that a veterinarian shall not prescribe medication unless a
bona fide veterinarian-client-patient relationship exists and establishes the requirements for a bona
fide veterinarian-client-patient relationship. (18102425D)

SB 719 (Dunnavant) (SGL) establishes a Substance Abuse Data Sharing and Analytics
Clearinghouse (the Clearinghouse), to be administered by the Secretary of Health and Human
Resources in consultation with the Substance Abuse Data Sharing and Analytics Advisory
Committee (the Advisory Committee), also created by the bill. To the extent allowed by federal
law, state and local health and human services and public safety agencies are required to provide
data to the Clearinghouse to be used for data analytics and analysis related to improving the
efficiency and efficacy of the treatment and prevention of substance abuse, with a focus on opioid
addiction and abuse. The Secretary of Health and Human Resources may also enter into
agreements with private entities and public institutions of higher education to further the goals of
the Clearinghouse. The bill requires the Secretary to report annually to the Governor and the
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General Assembly regarding the results achieved through the use of the Clearinghouse, including
the identification of cost savings and policy recommendations. The Advisory Committee shall
have 14 members, consisting of three members of the House of Delegates, two members of the
Senate, the Secretaries of Health and Human Resources, Public Safety and Homeland Security,
and Technology, and six non-legislative citizen members representing local government, the
medical profession, and community services boards. The Advisory Committee is charged with
advising on all matters related to the Clearinghouse. The bill also makes changes to the
Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act to codify that data sharing among
state and local agencies in certain circumstances is a proper use of personal data. (18104822D)

Location of Clinics

HB 155 (McQuinn) (Reported from HHWI) provides that the prohibition on locating clinics for
the treatment of persons with opiate addiction through the use of methadone or opioid
replacements other than opioid replacements approved for the treatment of opioid addiction by the
U.S. Food and Drug Administration within one-half mile of a public or private licensed day care
center or a public or private K-12 school shall not apply to an applicant for a license to operate in
its current location or to relocate an existing facility when the facility is currently located within
one-half mile of a public or private licensed day care center or a public or private K-12 school in
the City of Richmond, has been licensed and operated as a facility to provide treatment for persons
with opiate addiction through the use of methadone or other opioid replacements by another
provider immediately prior to submission of the application for a license, and, upon issuance of
the license, will be operated by a behavioral health authority. (18100826D)

SB 329 (Dunnavant) (SEH) provides that the prohibition on locating clinics for the treatment of
persons with opiate addiction through the use of methadone or opioid replacements other than
opioid replacements approved for the treatment of opioid addiction by the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration within one-half mile of a public or private licensed day care center or a public or
private K-12 school shall not apply to an applicant for a license to operate in its current location
or to relocate an existing facility when the facility is currently located within one-half mile of a
public or private licensed day care center or a public or private K-12 school in the City of
Richmond, has been licensed and operated as a facility to provide treatment for persons with opiate
addiction through the use of methadone or other opioid replacements by another provider
immediately prior to submission of the application for a license, and, upon issuance of the license,
will be operated by a behavioral health authority. (18102967D)

Naloxone

HB 1401 (Herring) (HHWI) adds correctional officers and probation officers who have completed
a training program to the list of individuals who may possess and administer naloxone.
(18104239D)

SB 635 (Dunnavant) (SEH) requires every hospital that operates an emergency department to
develop and implement a protocol for (i) identifying every prescriber who has prescribed opioids
to a patient to whom naloxone is administered for the purpose of reversing an opioid overdose in
the emergency department or by emergency medical services personnel or a law-enforcement
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officer prior to admission to the emergency department and (ii) notifying each such prescriber that
the patient has been treated with naloxone for the purpose of reversing an opioid overdose. Such
notification shall be made in each case in which naloxone is administered for the purpose of
reversing an opioid overdose by a health care provider in a hospital emergency department,
emergency medical services personnel, or a law-enforcement officer to a patient to whom opioids
have been prescribed by a prescriber. (18102855D)

Prescription Monitoring Program

HB 148 (Rasoul) (HHWI) requires a prescriber to request and review information from the
Prescription Monitoring Program prior to issuing a prescription for opioids, including a refill of an
existing prescription for opioids. Currently, a prescriber is only required to request information
from the Prescription Monitoring Program prior to initiating a new course of treatment that
includes the prescribing of opioids anticipated at the onset to last more than seven consecutive
days. (18101241D)

HB 313 (Head) (HHWI) provides that the Director of the Department of Health Professions shall
annually review data collected by the Prescription Monitoring Program to identify those
prescribers who, based on such data, fall within the top 10 percent of prescribers by quantity of
covered substances prescribed and shall notify such prescribers thereof. (18101252D)

HB 333 (Yancey) (HHWI) provides that a prescriber initiating a new course of treatment to a
human patient that includes the prescribing of opioids, anticipated at the onset of treatment to last
more than seven consecutive days, shall not be required to request information about the patient
from the Prescription Monitoring Program if the purpose of the prescription is the management of
pain associated with cancer. (18103337D)

HB 452 (Yancey) (HHWI) provides that a prescriber initiating a new course of treatment to a
human patient that includes the prescribing of opioids, anticipated at the onset of treatment to last
more than seven consecutive days, shall not be required to request information about the patient
from the Prescription Monitoring Program if the purpose of the prescription is the management of
pain associated with fibromyalgia, provided that management of the patient's pain through means
other than the prescription of opioids has been unsuccessful. (18103441D)

HB 503 (Mullin) (HHWI) adds the following individuals to the list of individuals to whom the
Director of the Department of Health Professions (the Director) may disclose information about a
specific recipient contained in the Prescription Monitoring Program: (i) a physician licensed in the
Commonwealth or another state who is performing an evaluation of the recipient's fitness for work
or to return to work in a safety-sensitive position, as defined by the recipient's employer, at the
request of the recipient's employer and (ii) a physician licensed in the Commonwealth or another
state who is performing an evaluation of the recipient's fitness for work at a place of employment
with a written drug-free workplace policy following an offer of employment but prior to hiring the
recipient, upon request of the employer and when the request is consistent with the employer's
written drug-free workplace policy. In both cases, the bill requires that the information be
requested and released only for the purpose of establishing the recipient's treatment history and
that notice be made, in a manner specified by the Director in regulation, to the recipient that
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information from the Prescription Monitoring Program may be requested and received by the
physician performing the fitness for work or return to work evaluation. (18100080D)

HB 1173 (Pillion) (HHWI) eliminates the surgical or invasive procedure treatment exception to
the requirement that a prescriber request certain information from the Prescription Monitoring
Program (PMP) when initiating a new course of treatment that includes prescribing opioids for a
human patient to last more than seven days. Under current law, a prescriber is not required to
request certain information from the PMP for opioid prescriptions of up to 14 days to a patient as
part of treatment for a surgical or invasive procedure. The provisions of the bill will expire on July
1,2022. (18103269D)

HB 1295 (Rasoul) (HHWI) allows the Director of the Department of Health Professions to disclose
certain information included in the Prescription Monitoring Program to a public institution of
higher education for the purpose of bona fide research or education. (18101242D)

SB 632 (Dunnavant) (SEH) eliminates the surgical or invasive procedure treatment exception to
the requirement that a prescriber request certain information from the Prescription Monitoring
Program (PMP) when initiating a new course of treatment that includes prescribing opioids for a
human patient to last more than seven days. Under current law, a prescriber is not required to
request certain information from the PMP for opioid prescriptions of up to 14 days to a patient as
part of treatment for a surgical or invasive procedure. The provisions of the bill will expire on July
1,2022. (18101945D)

SB 728 (Dunnavant) (SEH) requires the Director of the Department of Health Professions to
annually review controlled substance prescribing and dispensing patterns. The bill requires the
Director to conduct such review in consultation with an advisory panel consisting of
representatives from the relevant health regulatory boards, the Department of Health, the
Department of Medical Assistance Services, and the Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services. The bill requires the Director to make any necessary changes to the
criteria for unusual patterns of prescribing and dispensing and report any findings and
recommendations for best practices to the Joint Commission on Health Care by November 1 of
each year. (18101925D)

SB 735 (Dunnavant) (SEH) allows the Director of the Department of Health Professions to
disclose information about a specific recipient of covered substances who is a recipient of medical
assistance services to a physician or pharmacist licensed in the Commonwealth or his designee
who holds a multistate licensure privilege to practice nursing or a license issued by a health
regulatory board within the Department of Health Professions and is employed by the Department
of Medical Assistance Services, for the purpose of determining eligibility for and managing the
care of the recipient in a Patient Utilization Management Safety or similar program. (18104483D)

Reporting of Overdoses
HB 1347 (Webert) (HHWI) requires the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, state and local

law-enforcement agencies, emergency medical services agencies, and hospitals to report
information about overdoses of controlled substances within 120 hours of receiving such
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information to the Office of the Secretary of Health and Human Resources and for the Secretary
to make such information available to public health, law-enforcement, and emergency medical
service agencies and fire departments and companies within 120 hours of receiving the
information. The bill also requires the Secretary to report this information quarterly to the
Governor and for such report to be made available to all public health, law-enforcement, and
emergency medical services agencies in the Commonwealth. The bill is a recommendation of the
Joint Commission on Health. (18102988D)

SB 804 (Carrico) (SEH) requires the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, state and local law-
enforcement agencies, emergency medical services agencies, and hospitals to report information
about overdoses of controlled substances within 120 hours of receiving such information to the
Office of the Secretary of Health and Human Resources and for the Secretary to make such
information available to public health, law-enforcement, and emergency medical service agencies
and fire departments and companies within 120 hours of receiving the information. The bill also
requires the Secretary to report this information quarterly to the Governor and for such report to
be made available to all public health, law-enforcement, and emergency medical services agencies
in the Commonwealth. The bill is a recommendation of the Joint Commission on Health.

Procurement
HB 257 (Hope) (HGL) clarifies the definition of "responsible bidder" or "offeror" in the
procurement act to provide that a determination of whether a bidder or offeror is responsible shall

include a consideration of the bidder's or offeror's previous experience. (18102611D)

Public Safety/Criminal Justice

HB 64 (McQuinn) (HCCT) defines "making of fires," which under current law a locality can
regulate or prohibit, as any use of a flame, including bonfires, cooking stoves, torches, and candles.

HB 187 (Hayes) (HCT)/SB 24 (Spruill) (SCT)/SB 49 (Cosgrove) (SCT) provides that a registered
sex offender who enters an emergency shelter designated by the Commonwealth or any political
subdivision thereof and operated in response to a declared state or local emergency shall, as soon
as practicable after entry, notify a member of the shelter's staff who is responsible for providing
security of such person's status as a registered sex offender. The bill provides that the shelter's staff
may access the publicly available information on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors
Registry regarding such person and use such information in making reasonable accommodations
to ensure the safety of all persons in the shelter; however, no person shall be denied entry solely
on the basis of his status as a sex offender unless such entry is otherwise prohibited by law. The
bill also requires that such person register with the local law-enforcement agency where the shelter
is located within three days of entering the shelter if such person continues to reside in the shelter
at that time. (18100352D, 18100809D, 18100660D)

HB 900 (Freitas) (HCT) Requires that any action for the forfeiture of property used in connection
with the commission of a crime be stayed until the person whose property is the subject of the
forfeiture action has been found guilty of the crime authorizing the forfeiture, regardless of whether
he has been sentenced. The bill provides that property may be forfeited even though no finding of
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guilt is made if (i) the owner of the property is a fugitive from justice, (ii) there is no identifiable
owner of the property, (ii1) the property has been abandoned, (iv) the owner denied ownership of
the property during the prosecution of the offense, (v) the owner agrees to the forfeiture, (vi) the
forfeiture is ordered by the court pursuant to a plea agreement, or (vii) the owner has not submitted
a written demand for the return of the property within 21 days from the date the property was
seized. The bill also provides that all forfeited cash and negotiable instruments and proceeds from
the sale of forfeited property used in connection with crimes involving the manufacture, sale, or
distribution of controlled substances or marijuana be deposited into the Drug Offender Assessment
and Treatment Fund, which is appropriated by the General Assembly for various drug assessment
and drug treatment activities conducted by the Department of Corrections, the Department of
Juvenile Justice, the Department of Criminal Justice Services, the Commission on the Virginia
Alcohol Safety Action Program, and the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court
of Virginia. Under current law, such forfeited property is deposited into a Department of Criminal
Justice Services fund and used to promote state and local law-enforcement activities. The bill also
provides that all forfeited cash, negotiable instruments, and proceeds from the sale of forfeited
property seized by a federal agency and received by any state or local agency pursuant to federal
law be deposited into the Drug Offender Assessment and Treatment Fund. The bill also requires
the Comptroller to report annually to the Governor and the General Assembly on the amount of
property forfeited to the Commonwealth and to establish and maintain a publicly available,
searchable electronic database containing information regarding all property seized and forfeited.
(18104392D)

SB 341 (Peake) (SCT) requires that any action for the forfeiture of property used in connection
with the commission of a crime be stayed until the owner of the property or the person in whose
custody such property is found has been found guilty of the crime authorizing the forfeiture,
regardless of whether he has been sentenced. The bill provides that property may be forfeited even
though no finding of guilt is made if (1) the forfeiture is ordered by the court pursuant to a plea
agreement or (ii) the owner of the property or the person in whose custody the property is found
has not submitted a written demand for the return of the property within one year from the date the
property was seized. (18103145D)

SB 463 (Reeves) (SCT) provides that 20 percent of all cash, negotiable instruments, and proceeds
from a sale conducted pursuant to § 19.2-386.7 or 19.2-386.12, after deduction of expenses, fees,
and costs as provided in § 19.2-386.12, shall be paid into the Drug Offender Assessment and
Treatment Fund. The remaining 80 percent of such property and proceeds will continue to be
deposited into the special fund of the Department of Criminal Justice Services made available to
federal, state, and local agencies to promote law enforcement. The bill provides that promoting
law enforcement shall include activities calculated to enhance future investigations, law
enforcement training, law enforcement equipment and operations, detention facilities, law
enforcement facilities, drug education and drug addiction and rehabilitation programs, pro rata
funding, and asset accounting and tracking and other expenses specifically approved by the
Department of Criminal Justice Services that promote law enforcement in accordance with this
section and regulations adopted by the Criminal Justice Services Board. (18100103D)

SB 813 (Peake) (SCT) provides that a state or local agency that receives a forfeited asset or an
equitable share of the net proceeds of a forfeited asset from the Department of Criminal Justice
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Services (Department) or from a federal asset forfeiture proceeding shall inform the Department
(1) whether such forfeited asset or equitable share was associated with a criminal charge and (ii) if
such charge led to a conviction. The bill also provides that the Department shall include such
information in the annual report that it provides to the Governor and the General Assembly
concerning the sharing of forfeited assets. (18104283D)

Distracted Driving

HB 115 (Webert) (HCT) expands the conduct that constitutes reckless driving to include driving
a vehicle without giving proper time and attention to driving. (18101082D)

HB 181 (Collins) (HCT) provides that any person who drives a vehicle on any highway (i) in a
negligent manner but does not endanger the life, limb, or property of another or (ii) while using a
handheld personal communications device where such use substantially diverts the driver's
attention from the operation of the vehicle is guilty of improper driving. Current law authorizes a
court to find a person charged with reckless driving not guilty of reckless driving but guilty of
improper driving, which under current law is punishable as a traffic infraction with a fine of not
more than $500.

HB 426 (Levine) (HCT) provides that a person who operates a motor vehicle in a careless or
distracted manner and causes of serious bodily injury to a pedestrian or person riding a bicycle,
electric wheelchair, electric bicycle, wheel chair, skateboard, skates, foot-scooter, animal, or
animal-drawn vehicle is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. (18103164D)

HB 506 (Mullin) (HCT) provides that any person who drives a vehicle on any highway (i) in a
negligent manner but does not endanger the life, limb, or property of another or (ii) while using a
handheld personal communications device where such use substantially diverts the driver's
attention from the operation of the vehicle is guilty of improper driving. Current law authorizes a
court to find a person charged with reckless driving not guilty of reckless driving but guilty of
improper driving, which under current law is punishable as a traffic infraction with a fine of not
more than $500. (18103078D)

HB 510 (Mullin) (HCT) provides that a person who, as a result of driving while in violation of the
prohibition on using handheld personal communications devices in certain vehicles,
unintentionally causes the death of another person is guilty of involuntary manslaughter, or
aggravated involuntary manslaughter if the defendant's conduct was so gross, wanton, and culpable
as to show a reckless disregard for human life. The bill establishes the penalty for aggravated
involuntary manslaughter as one to 20 years' imprisonment with a mandatory minimum term of
incarceration of one year. The bill creates a Class 6 felony if the driving while in violation of the
prohibition on using handheld personal communications devices is so gross, wanton, and culpable
as to show a reckless disregard for human life and results in the unintentional serious bodily injury
of another resulting in permanent and significant physical impairment. (18104256D)
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Driver’s License Suspension

HB 599 (Carr) (HCT) provides that an individual who is delinquent in child support payments or
has failed to comply with a subpoena, summons, or warrant relating to paternity or child support
proceedings is entitled to a judicial hearing if he makes a written request within 30 days from
service of a notice of intent to suspend or renew his license. Current law provides such an
entitlement if such request is made within 10 days from such notice. The bill further allows the
Department of Motor Vehicles to renew a driver's license or terminate a license suspension
imposed on an individual if such individual has reached an agreement with the Department of
Social Services to satisfy the child support payment delinquency within a 20-year period, as
opposed to a 10-year period as current law provides, and has made at least one payment of at least
five percent of the total delinquency or $600, whichever is lesser, as opposed to whichever is
greater under current law, under such agreement. The bill further provides that, where such a
repayment agreement has been entered into and such an individual has failed to comply with such
agreement, the Department of Motor Vehicles shall suspend or refuse to renew such individual's
driver's license until it has received certification from the Department of Social Services that such
individual has entered into a subsequent agreement to pay within a period of 15 years, as opposed
to seven under current law, and has paid the lesser amount, as opposed to greater amount under
current law, of at least one payment of $1,200 or seven percent, as opposed to five percent under
current law, of the current delinquency. The bill provides that an individual who fails to comply
with such a subsequent agreement may enter into a new agreement if such individual has made a
payment in the lesser amount, as opposed to the greater amount under current law, of $1,800 or 10
percent, as opposed to five percent under current law, and agrees to a repayment schedule of not
more than 10 years, as opposed to seven years under current law. (18101724D)

HB 633 (Krizek) (HCT) removes the existing provisions that a person's driver's license is
suspended (1) when he is convicted of or placed on deferred disposition for a drug offense or (i)
for nonpayment of fines and court costs for offenses not pertaining to the operator or operation of
a motor vehicle. The provisions of this bill that affect the Code of Virginia have a delayed effective
date of September 1, 2018. (18102698D)

HB 941 (Lopez) (HCT) removes the requirement that a court suspend the driver's license of a
person convicted of any violation of the law who fails or refuses to provide for immediate payment
of fines or costs. The bill allows a court, after 90 days of nonpayment where the court finds the
nonpayment was not an intentional refusal to obey the sentence of the court, to provide additional
time for payment, reduce the amount of each payment installment, assign community service in
lieu of payment, or waive the unpaid portion in whole or in part. Upon a finding that the
nonpayment was an intentional refusal to obey the sentence of the court, a court may suspend the
defendant's driver's license until payment in full or until the defendant enters into a payment plan.
(18102707D)

SB 111 (Ebbin) (SCT) decriminalizes simple marijuana possession and provides a civil penalty of
no more than $50 for a first violation, $100 for a second violation, and $250 for a third or
subsequent violation. Current law imposes a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum 30-day jail
sentence for a first offense, and subsequent offenses are a Class 1 misdemeanor. The bill provides
that the suspended sentence/substance abuse screening provisions and driver's license suspension
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provisions apply only to criminal violations or to civil violations by a juvenile. The bill provides
that a court may suspend a driver's license for a civil violation committed by an adult. A civil
violation will be treated as a conviction for prohibitions on the purchase or transport of a handgun
and disqualification for a concealed handgun permit. (18101142D)

SB 181 (Stanley) (SCT) repeals the requirement that the driver's license of a person convicted of
any violation of the law who fails or refuses to provide for immediate payment of fines or costs be
suspended. The bill provides that the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles shall
return or reinstate any person's driver's license that was suspended solely for nonpayment of fines
or costs. (18101254D)

SB 148 (Edwards) (SCT) removes the existing provisions that a person's driver's license is
suspended (i) when he is convicted of or placed on deferred disposition for a drug offense or (ii)
for nonpayment of fines and court costs for offenses not pertaining to the operator or operation of
a motor vehicle. The provisions of this bill that affect the Code of Virginia have a delayed effective
date of September 1, 2018. (18101577D)

SB 578 (Ebbin) (SCT) removes the requirement that a court suspend the driver's license of a person
convicted of any violation of the law who fails or refuses to provide for immediate payment of
fines or costs. The bill allows a court, after 90 days of nonpayment where the court finds the
nonpayment was not an intentional refusal to obey the sentence of the court, to provide additional
time for payment, reduce the amount of each payment installment, assign community service in
lieu of payment, or waive the unpaid portion in whole or in part. Upon a finding that the
nonpayment was an intentional refusal to obey the sentence of the court, a court may suspend the
defendant's driver's license until payment in full or until the defendant enters into a payment plan.
(18102708D)

Electronic Devices/Trespass

HB 342 (Herring) (HCT) provides that a person who owns property leased to another who peeps
or spies, including using an electronic device to peep or spy, into a building or other structure
occupied as a dwelling under circumstances that would violate the reasonable expectation of
privacy of any person lawfully present in such building or structure is guilty of a Class 1
misdemeanor. Currently, such person must violate the reasonable expectation of the occupant of
such building or structure. (18103679D)

SB 186 (Black) (SCT) authorizes a state or local government department, agency, or
instrumentality having jurisdiction over criminal law-enforcement or regulatory violations to
utilize an unmanned aircraft system without a search warrant when such system is utilized to
support any locality for a purpose other than law enforcement. (18101447D)

SB 307 (Cosgrove) (STRAN) authorizes the Virginia Aviation Board to promulgate rules and

regulations in reference to unmanned aircraft systems, defined in the bill, and for the Department
of Aviation to enforce such rules and regulations. (18103986D)
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SB 508 (Carrico) (SCT) allows the Department of State Police and the Department of
Transportation to utilize unmanned aircraft systems in surveying the scene of an accident that

occurred on a highway and recording images and video following such accident for the purpose of
crash reconstruction. (18104197D)

SB 526 (Obenshain) (SCT) provides that any person who, after being given notice to desist,
knowingly and intentionally causes any electronic device to enter the area of a dwelling house of
another person or the curtilage thereof with the intent to coerce, intimidate, or harass any other
person is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and, upon a second or subsequent conviction, is guilty
of a Class 2 misdemeanor. The bill also provides that anyone who is required to register with the
Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry who uses or operates an unmanned aircraft
system to knowingly and intentionally follow, contact, or capture images of another person is
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Additionally, any respondent of a permanent protective order
who uses or operates an unmanned aircraft system to knowingly and intentionally follow, contact,
or capture images of the petitioner of the protective order, or the petitioner's family members, is
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. The bill also repeals the expiration of the prohibition on local
regulation of privately owned, unmanned aircraft systems and clarifies that such prohibition
extends to all political subdivisions and not only to localities. (18104450D)

Firearms

SB 350 (Peake) (SFIN) extends from five to 15 years the validity of a concealed handgun permit.
(18100516D)

Transportation

HB 9 (Krizek) (HTRAN) requires all occupants of motor vehicles to utilize safety restraints.
Current law requires safety belt use only by occupants under the age of 18, drivers, and passengers
18 years of age or older occupying the front seat. (18100423D)

HB 384 (Keam) (HRUL) directs the Secretary of Transportation to conduct a review of the
Washington Metrorail Safety Commission Interstate Compact Board membership provisions.
(18103775D)

HB 428 (Marshall, Daniel W.) (HTRAN) establishes a minimum speed of 45 miles per hour on
interstate highways or other limited access highways with divided roadways, non-limited access
highways having four or more lanes, and all primary highways. (18100384D)

HB 475 (Reid) (HTRAN) prohibits the operation of a commercial motor vehicle in a high-
occupancy vehicle lane on State Route 267. (18103382D)

HB 489 (Hurst) (HTRAN) clarifies that in localities in which the treasurer or director of finance
has entered into an agreement with the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles
(Commissioner) for the Commissioner to refuse to issue or renew vehicle registrations for persons
with certain delinquent taxes or fees, the Commissioner shall refuse to issue or renew the vehicle
registration of any applicant who owes any local vehicle license fees or delinquent tangible
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personal property tax, regardless of whether such fee or tax is related to the vehicle for which the
applicant is seeking a vehicle registration or renewal. The bill requires the Department of Motor
Vehicles to promulgate regulations consistent with the provisions of the bill. (18102036D)

HB 765 (Jones) (HTRAN) expands the responsibilities of the Office of Intermodal Planning and
Investment of the Secretary of Transportation (Office). The bill clarifies the residency
requirements for the urban and rural at-large members of the Commonwealth Transportation Board
(Board) and provides that no member of a governing body of a locality is eligible to be appointed
to the Board during his term of office. The bill provides that the Board's Six-Year Improvement
Program shall only commit funds from the State of Good Repair Program, the High Priority
Projects Program, or the Construction District Grant Programs to a project or program if such
commitment is sufficient to complete the project or program. The bill expands the requirements of
the annual report provided by the Commissioner of Highways and requires the Office to submit an
annual report as described in the bill. The bill decreases the maximum matching allocation that the
Board may make to a locality from $10 million to $5 million and provides that such funds can be
used for the maintenance of highway systems. The bill changes the amount of Commonwealth
funds allocated to the Board for revenue-sharing from no less than $15 million and no more than
$200 million to not in excess of $100 million or seven percent of funds available for distribution
by the Board from all funds made available for highway purposes, whichever is greater.
(18101751D)

SB 104 (Suetterlein) (Reported from STRAN) raises from 80 to 85 miles per hour the speed above
which a person who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth is guilty of
reckless driving regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit. (18100616D)

SB 147 (Edwards) (STRAN) requires travel time reliability to be one of the factors used by the
Commonwealth Transportation Board in its statewide prioritization process for project selection.
(18101565D)

HB 453 (Yancey) (HTRAN) requires that any person appointed to an airport board or authority
created by a locality or group of localities (i) have a degree from an accredited university or at
least five years of related experience in aerospace engineering, air transportation, business
administration and management, aviation management, construction management, or facilities
management or similar related degree; (i1) have at least five years of relevant experience as a pilot;
(i11) be an attorney in good standing with the Virginia Bar Association; or (iv) have a master of
business administration degree. The bill requires such airport boards or authorities who receive
funding from the Department of Aviation or Virginia Aviation Board to keep records and submit
a public report regarding the receipt and disbursement of such funds. (18101999D)

SB 678 (Deeds) (STRAN) provides that a locality may, by ordinance, establish a speed
enforcement program utilizing an automated speed monitoring system that creates recorded images
of vehicles traveling at least 10 miles per hour in excess of the maximum applicable speed limit.
The penalty imposed for violating applicable speed limits where such violation is established by
recorded images produced by a speed monitoring system cannot exceed $50. The bill provides that
a locality may install and operate a speed monitoring system only at residence districts, school
crossing zones, and highway work zones. The procedures for operating a speed monitoring system
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and issuing summons to violators and the rights of such violators, including the right to appeal to
circuit court, parallel those currently in place for red light violations recorded by photo-monitoring
systems at traffic lights. (18101223D)

SB 687 (Deeds) (SFIN) lowers the minimum sales and use tax on the sale of a motor vehicle in
the Commonwealth from $75 to $35. (18100545D)

Towing

HB 1406 (Pogge) (HTRAN) creates a mechanism whereby towing and recovery operators that
tow certain abandoned or immobile vehicles on behalf of a law-enforcement agency may recover
costs for storage, towing, and recovery fees from such law-enforcement agency. The bill provides
that such law-enforcement agency may seek full reimbursement of the costs from the state treasury
from the appropriation for criminal charges. (18104430D)

SB 492 (Carrico) (STRAN) increases the maximum hookup and towing fee for passenger vehicles
from $135 to $150. The bill also increases in Planning District 8 (Northern Virginia) the hookup
and initial towing fee for motor vehicles, trailers, and parts thereof from $135 to $150 and sets the
hookup and initial towing fee at $250 and $500, respectively, for medium motor vehicles and
heavy motor vehicles, which are defined in the bill. The bill provides that local towing advisory
boards may establish reasonable limits on fees charged for the removal of medium and heavy
vehicles. The bill contains technical amendments. (18100583D)

Transportation Studies

HJ 58 (Carroll Foy) (HRUL) requests that the Department of Rail and Public Transportation (the
Department) identify and recommend potential public transportation services from the Franconia-
Springfield Metro Station to Marine Corps Base Quantico in Prince William and Stafford Counties
and study the feasibility of extending the Blue Line and other multimodal options such as bus rapid
transit along Interstate 95 and U.S. Route 1. The Department shall report on its findings and
recommendations on the first day of the 2019 and 2020 Regular Sessions of the General Assembly.
(18102664D)

HJ 68 (Roem) (HRUL) requests that the Department of Transportation study the feasibility of

implementing improvements to State Route 28 in Prince William County between the City of
Manassas Park and Fairfax County. (18103805D)
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VI. “Watch List”/May Have State Revenue/Policy Implications
Miscellaneous

HB 224 (Krizek) (HED) requires the Board of Education to make regulations to require each new
public school bus purchased for the transportation of students to be equipped with a seat belt
consisting of a lap belt and shoulder strap or harness in every seat. The bill requires each school
board to ensure that no later than July 1, 2036, each school bus that it uses for the transportation
of students is equipped with a seat belt in every seat. (18101489D)

HB 566 (Gooditis) (HCT) requires the Virginia Conflict of Interest and Ethics Advisory Council
to conduct an annual inspection of a random sample of disclosure statements filed with the Council
to determine compliance with applicable disclosure requirements and limitations on gifts, the
accuracy of information disclosed, and whether filing deadlines were met. The bill requires such
random sample to include the disclosure forms of (i) one member of the House of Delegates and

one Senator and (i1) one percent of all state officers and employees and one percent of all lobbyists
who file such forms. (18100900D)

HB 605 (Carr) (HCCT) authorizes any locality to adopt an ordinance prohibiting any person from
leaving a motor vehicle unattended while the motor vehicle is running, including a vehicle that
remains stationary in the parked or neutral position. Such ordinance shall not apply to any
commercial, law-enforcement, fire, or emergency medical services vehicle. (18103501D)

HJ 97 (Gilbert) (HRUL) directs the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission to study and
report on the efficiency and effectiveness of pretrial services agencies in the Commonwealth.
(18104124D)

HJ 106 (Gooditis) (HRUL) requests the Broadband Advisory Council to develop a system for
rating communities that indicates where the most people can be served by increased broadband
coverage for the least cost. (18101025D)

SB 20 (Chase) (SRUL) creates the Red Tape Reduction Commission (the Commission) to develop
and maintain a state regulatory baseline of all current state regulatory requirements, with the initial
baseline to be completed by January 1, 2020. The bill defines a regulatory requirement as any
action required to be taken or information required to be provided in accordance with a statute or
regulation in order to access government services or operate and conduct business and excludes
requirements that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved or to meet requirements of federal law or
regulations. The bill also provides that after the regulatory baseline has been established, any
subsequent regulatory requirement proposed by an agency that is not included in the initial state
regulatory baseline is considered a new regulatory requirement and requires the approval of the
Commission before it may be enacted. The bill prohibits the Commission from approving a new
regulation unless it replaces or repeals at least two existing regulations, until the total baseline has
been reduced by 35 percent. Thereafter, approvals and corresponding replacement or repeal by the
Commission shall be on a one-for-one basis. In addition, the bill provides for the Commission to
review current state regulatory requirements and provide recommendations to the Governor and
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General Assembly on measures to reduce the baseline regulatory requirements. The bill requires
the Commission to submit a report to the Governor and General Assembly by November 1, 2018,
on (i) the organizational structure of the Commission, (ii) duties of staff, and (iii) guidelines for
determining what constitutes a regulatory requirement. (18100264D)

Animals

HB 865 (Orrock) (HAG) authorizes any local governing body to adopt an ordinance that requires
any pet shop or dealer in companion animals to furnish a bond of as much as $5,000 for each out-
of-state commercial breeder whose animals the shop or dealer offers for sale. (18100009D)

HB 870 (Orrock) (HCCT) authorizes a locality to require by ordinance that a pet shop furnish a
cash bond of up to $5,000 per dealer from whom the pet shop has obtained an animal for sale
within the past year. The bill requires that the cash bond be held in escrow until the pet shop is no
longer in business, the pet shop has not conducted business with such dealer within the past year,
or the cash bond is disbursed to a purchaser of an animal that is unfit for purchase. (18101098D)

Elections

SB 521 (Obenshain) (Reported from SCT) requires local electoral boards to direct general
registrars to investigate the list of registered voters whenever the number of registered voters in a
county or city exceeds the population of persons age 18 or older, based on the most recent
population estimate of the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service of the University of Virginia.
The bill also requires the local electoral boards to direct the general registrars to investigate the list
of persons voting at an election whenever the number of persons voting at any election in a county
or city exceeds the number of persons registered to vote in that county or city. The Department of
Elections is required to provide certain data to any general registrar conducting such an
investigation for the registrar's use during the investigation. The bill requires local electoral boards
to make reports of the findings to the State Board and requires such reports to be made public.
(18103155D)

Environment

SB 211 (Stuart) (SLG) authorizes a locality to show in the locality's comprehensive plan the
locality's long-range recommendations for groundwater and surface water availability, quality, and
sustainability. The bill requires the local planning commission to survey and study groundwater
and surface water availability, quality, and sustainability in the preparation of a comprehensive
plan. (18100926D)

SB 219 (Lewis) (SPE) provides for a referendum at the November 6, 2018, election to approve or
reject an amendment to allow the General Assembly to authorize the governing bodies of counties,
cities, and towns to provide for a partial exemption from local real property taxation, within such
restrictions and upon such conditions as may be prescribed, of improved real estate subject to
recurrent flooding upon which flooding abatement, mitigation, or resiliency efforts have been
undertaken. (18104027D)
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SB 340 (Peake) (Passed Senate) Requires the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality
to prioritize cost effective technologies to reduce nutrient loads of total phosphorus, total nitrogen,
or nitrogen-containing ammonia over other water quality improvement methods in distributing
grants from the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Fund subsequent to satisfaction of nutrient
reductions of regulations, permits, or the Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed Implementation Plan.
The bill places certain limitations on grants for technologies to reduce nitrogen-containing
ammonia. The bill also requires the Department of Environmental Quality to prepare a preliminary
estimate of the amount and timing of Water Quality Improvement Grants required to fund projects
to reduce loads of nitrogen-containing ammonia at certain levels based on an estimate of the
anticipated range of costs for all publicly owned treatment works if the State Water Control Board
were to adopt the 2013 Aquatic Life Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Ammonia published by
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. (18103170D-E)

SB 344 (Peake) (Passed Senate) directs the State Water Control Board not to adopt certain U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) freshwater ammonia water quality criteria (the Criteria)
until all other states in EPA Regions III and IV have done so, unless the EPA Administrator
informs the Commonwealth in writing that such timing is unlawful under the federal Clean Water
Act. The bill also directs the Department of Environmental Quality to (i) identify any other states
that have adopted the Criteria as of July 1, 2018; (ii) identify those procedures for the
implementation of the Criteria that will minimize the impact of such implementation on Virginia
sewerage systems while complying with the Clean Water Act; and (iii) report its findings to the
Chairmen of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources, the
House Committee on Agriculture, Chesapeake and Natural Resources, the Senate Finance
Committee, and the House Appropriations Committee by November 1, 2018. (18105302D-S1)

SJ 21 (Lewis) (SPE) provides that the General Assembly may authorize a county, city, or town to
partially exempt any real estate subject to recurring flooding upon which flooding abatement,

mitigation, or resiliency efforts have been undertaken. (18102801D)

Freedom of Information Act

HB 213 (Mullin) (HGL) requires that formal advisory opinions issued by the Virginia Freedom of
Information Advisory Council (Council) be approved by the Council and, after such approval, be
published on the Council's website. The bill also provides that no officer, employee, or member of
a public body shall be found to have willfully and knowingly violated certain enumerated
provisions of the Freedom of Information Act if the alleged violation resulted from his good faith
reliance on a formal advisory opinion of the Council made in response to his written request for
such opinion and such opinion was made after a full disclosure of the facts. (18101377D)

HB 228 (Cole) (HGL) provides that notwithstanding any provision of law requiring a public record
to be retained in a tangible medium, an agency may retain any public record in an electronic
medium, provided that the record remains accessible for the duration of its retention schedule and
meets all other requirements of the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq.). The bill
provides that this provision shall not be deemed to affect any law governing the retention of
exhibits received into evidence in a criminal case in any court. (18102370D)
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SB 730 (DeSteph) (SGL) clarifies that the definition of "public record" does not include records
that are not prepared for or used in the transaction of public business. The bill defines "social media
account" and creates a new discretionary exemption for social media records of General Assembly
members when such records relate to the use of a social media account by a member in such
member's individual capacity. The bill requires the public body to be a necessary party in any
enforcement proceeding. (18100455D)

Human Services

SJ 53 (Deeds) (SRUL) directs the Virginia Housing Commission to study accessory dwelling
structures, defined as additional living quarters on single-family dwelling structures that are
independent of the primary dwelling unit. In conducting the study, the Commission is to review
(1) the prevalence and necessity for accessory dwelling structures, (ii) relevant provisions of the
Uniform Statewide Building Code, and (iii) the feasibility of changing land use and zoning
practices in order to facilitate their expanded use. The bill also directs the Commission to make
recommendations concerning the use and placement of accessory dwelling structures.
(18103105D)

Land Use

HB 245 (Krizek) (HCCT) provides that a nonconforming use may be continued so long as the use
is not discontinued for more than one year and meets other conditions. Existing law provides that
such use shall not be discontinued for more than two years. (18100239D)

Public Safety

SB 33 (Stanley) (SCT) eliminates the requirement that the Virginia Department of Transportation
receive written assurance from the Federal Highway Administration of the U.S. Department of
Transportation that Virginia will not lose any federal funds as a prerequisite to implementing
revisions enacted in 2017 that except persons who have been placed on deferred disposition for
simple possession of marijuana, subject to certain exceptions, from the existing provision that a
person loses his driver's license for six months when convicted of or placed on deferred disposition
for a drug offense. The bill contains an emergency clause. (18100452D)

SB 457 (Howell) (SCT) provides that upon request of a crime victim or a witness in a criminal
prosecution of a violent felony, law enforcement, the attorney for the Commonwealth, counsel for
a defendant, and the Department of Corrections are prohibited from disclosing any telephone
number or email address of such victim or witness except to the extent that such disclosure is
required by law, necessary for law-enforcement purposes, or permitted by the court. The bill also
provides that during any criminal proceeding, upon motion of the defendant or the attorney for the
Commonwealth, a judge may prohibit testimony as to any telephone number or email address of a
victim or witness if the judge determines that this information is not material under the
circumstances of the case. This bill is a recommendation of the Virginia State Crime Commission.
(18103936D)
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Studies

HJ 29 (Bell, Richard P.) (HRUL) directs the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission
(JLARC) to conduct a comprehensive review of the Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.),
including its administration, structure, funding sources, and covered services. The resolution

directs JLARC to make recommendations for improvement in these areas and to ensure the future
success of the Children's Services Act. (18102427D)

HJ 93 (Lopez) (HRUL) directs the Department of Environmental Quality to study whether the
planting and preservation of trees shall be certified as a stormwater best management practice and,

if so, how much credit shall be awarded. (18104546D)

Transportation

SB 601 (Vogel) (STRAN) exempts Planning District 16 (George Washington) from any
requirement by a towing advisory board for written authorization, in addition to a written contract,
in the event that a vehicle is being removed from private property. The bill requires that localities
in Planning District 16 establish by ordinance (i) a hookup and initial towing fee of $135; (ii) an
additional fee of $25 for towing at night, on weekends, or on a holiday; and (iii) that no fee pursuant
to clause (ii) shall be charged more than twice for a tow. (18103338D)

SB 400 (Lewis) (SPE) provides for a referendum at the November 6, 2018, general election to
approve or reject an amendment to the Constitution that would require the General Assembly to
maintain permanent and separate Transportation Funds. The amendment directs that revenues
dedicated to Transportation Funds on January 1, 2018, by general law, other than a general
appropriation law, shall be deposited to the Transportation Funds, unless the General Assembly
by general law, other than a general appropriation law, alters the revenues dedicated to the Funds.
The amendment limits the use of Funds moneys to transportation and related purposes. The
amendment specifies that the General Assembly may borrow from the Funds for other purposes
only by an affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members elected to each house and that the loan
must be repaid with reasonable interest within four years. (18103906D)

34



Legislative Committee
January 19, 2018

VII. Legislation Provided for Information

HJ 40 (Yancey) (HRUL) expresses the sense of the General Assembly that the complicated
regulatory hurdles associated with employing workers under the age of 18 make it difficult to get
them the experience they need to be productive workers and that early outreach to students may
help facilitate getting students on a career track earlier. (18104079D)

SB 199 (DeSteph) (SCT) provides that before bringing a civil action based on the failure to remove
an architectural barrier, as defined in the bill, to access into an existing public accommodation, the
aggrieved person shall provide to the owners or operators a written notice that (i) provides the
name of the individual alleging a failure to remove the architectural barrier; (ii) provides the date,
place, and manner in which the aggrieved person discovered the alleged violation; (iii) cites the
law alleged to be violated; (iv) identifies each architectural barrier that is the subject of an alleged
violation and specifies its location on the premises; and (v) provides a reasonable period for
response, which shall not be less than 60 days after receipt of notice. The bill prohibits the
aggrieved person from including in the notice a request or demand for money or an offer or
agreement to accept money but provides that such notice may offer to engage in settlement
negotiations before litigation. The owner or operator may submit to the aggrieved person within
the time period either a notice of the correction describing each correction and the manner in which
the correction addresses the alleged violation or a notice of explanation if the owner or operator
concludes that an alleged violation has not occurred and that a correction is not necessary. The bill
defines "aggrieved person" as a person with a disability who patronized or attempted to patronize
a public accommodation, encountered a barrier to his access to the public accommodation, and
experienced denial of access to the public accommodation based on his disability. (18100156D)

SB 481 (Reeves) (SCT) decreases the time period in which a plaintiff who takes a voluntary
nonsuit may recommence this action from six months to 14 days from the date the nonsuit was
entered. The bill does not change the provision allowing for recommencement of the action within
the original period of limitation, if longer than 14 days from the date the nonsuit was entered. The
bill further provides that a plaintiff who has taken a voluntary nonsuit shall serve the defendant
within three months of the recommencement of the action. The bill contains a technical
amendment. (18103995D)

SB 606 (Ebbin) (SRSS) establishes in the Department of Social Services an Office of Immigrant
Assistance (the Office) to assist persons lawfully entering the United States and the
Commonwealth for the purpose of becoming citizens. The Office shall provide (i) advice and
assistance regarding the citizenship application process; (ii) assistance with finding and securing
employment, housing, and services for which such persons may be eligible; (ii1) information to
localities about state programs that help such persons find and secure employment, housing, and
services for which they may be eligible; and (iv) information to localities and immigrant service
organizations regarding health epidemics and unlawful predatory actions, such as human
trafficking, gang recruitment, and fraudulent financial and other schemes, to which communities
of such persons may be especially vulnerable. (18103009D)
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Administration of Government

SB 414 (McDougle) (SFIN) provides for the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
to issue permits for the operation of a micro market, which is defined in the bill as an unattended,
self-checkout retail food establishment located in the interior of a building that is accessible to a
defined population, such as the employees of a particular employer or occupants of the building in
which the micro market is located, and is not accessible to the general public. The bill establishes
minimum standards for the operation of a micro market and provides that any person who operates
a micro market without the required permit or violates a condition of such permit is guilty of a
Class 1 misdemeanor. (18104431D)

SB 371 (Chafin) (SLG) authorizes a locality to establish, conduct, and regulate public boating,
canoeing, kayaking, and tubing activities on property adjacent to public waterways and to set apart
for such use any land or buildings owned or leased by it and obtain licenses or permits for such
use on land not owned or leased by it. The bill also exempts such localities, and the owners of
property leased or licensed for such use, from liability for injuries to a person or his property on
systems of trails for hiking, biking, and horseback riding and from boating, canoeing, kayaking,
or tubing activities on property adjacent to public waterways in the absence of gross negligence or
willful misconduct. Current law exempts such localities, and the owners of property leased or
licensed for such use, from liability only for injuries to a person or property on systems of trails
used for all-terrain vehicles or off-road motorcycles in the absence of gross negligence or willful
misconduct. (18100725D)

Animals

SB 28 (Stanley) (SFIN) prohibits appropriating or expending state funds for or to any organization,
whether public or private, to carry out any medically unnecessary scientific or medical research
that causes significant pain or distress to a dog or cat. The bill defines "significant pain or distress"
to include any procedure or condition classified under pain and distress category E by the
Department of Agriculture. In addition to any other applicable penalty, any person violating the
prohibition on expending state funds for such research will be liable for a civil penalty not to
exceed $50,000 per incident. (18105009D-S1)

SB 571 (DeSteph) (SFIN) requires a representative of a releasing agency, animal control officer,
law-enforcement officer, or humane investigator, upon taking custody of any companion animal
from a person in the course of his official duties, to obtain a signed statement from such person
indicating whether, if known, the companion animal has bitten a person or other animal and the
circumstances and date of such bite. The bill requires any representative of a releasing agency,
animal control officer, law-enforcement officer, or humane investigator, upon release of a
companion animal for (i) adoption, (ii) return to a rightful owner, or (iii) transfer to another agency,
to disclose, if known, that a companion animal has bitten a person or other animal and the
circumstances and date of such bite. Willful failure to disclose such information is punishable by
a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000. The bill makes technical amendments with regard to use of
the definition of "releasing agency." (18100873D)
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SB 729 (DeSteph) (SCT) provides that a person who commits an act of aggravated cruelty on a
companion animal is guilty of a Class 6 felony. The bill defines "aggravated cruelty" and "torture."
The bill increases from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 6 felony the penalty for torturing, killing,
or willfully inflicting inhumane injury or pain to a dog or cat. Current law requires that the dog or
cat die as a direct result of the torture or cruelty before the violation is a Class 6 felony.
(18100183D)

Education

HB 81 (Krizek) (HED) eliminates the requirement that school boards appoint a new division
superintendent (i) within 180 days after a vacancy occurs or (ii) within 60 days after an appointed
division superintendent who has not yet assumed his office is granted a release from such
appointment. (18101003D)

HB 438 (Bulova) (HCT) prohibits any person who is an employee, contractor, or agent of a public
school or accredited private school from assisting an employee, contractor, or agent in obtaining a
new job if such person knows or has probable cause to believe that such employee, contractor, or
agent engaged in sexual misconduct regarding a minor or student. (18102260D)

HB 685 (Ransone) (HST) establishes the Cybersecurity Student Loan Repayment Grant Program,
to be administered by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (the Council), whereby
renewable grants of up to $20,000 of matching state and employer funds are provided on a
competitive basis to an individual who (i) either (a) graduated within the past year from a public
institution of higher education or nonprofit private institution of higher education with an
undergraduate or graduate degree in computer science or another academic program recognized
by the Council to prepare an individual for a career in cybersecurity and who resides in the
Commonwealth or (b) has served on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, was
discharged or released within the past year from such service under conditions other than
dishonorable, gained experience or received training in computer science during such service, and
resides in the Commonwealth and (ii) accepts an offer of employment in a computer science
position with any federal or state organization, including any federal or state military or defense
organization, that is located in the Commonwealth or any private organization that contractually
provides cybersecurity services for any such federal or state organization and that is located in the
Commonwealth. The bill contains provisions relating to program administration and dissemination
of information and reporting on the program. (18100586D)

HB 711 (Adams, Dawn M.) (HRUL) establishes the 19-member Commission on Educational
Parity (the Commission), consisting of six members of the House Committee on Education, four
members of the Senate Committee on Education and Health, four members of the Board of
Education, and five non-legislative citizen members, including at least one member of a parent-
teacher association and at least one teacher, for the purpose of ensuring that the General Assembly
and the Board of Education collaborate in the fulfillment of their constitutional duty to provide a
system of high quality public elementary and secondary schools in the Commonwealth. The bill
requires the Commission to (i) determine legislative priorities for achieving parity in educational
outcomes for each public elementary and secondary school student in the Commonwealth, (ii)
review the extent to which effective public elementary and secondary school teachers and
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principals are equitably distributed throughout the Commonwealth and make recommendations
regarding how to more equitably distribute such effective personnel throughout the
Commonwealth, and (iii) review the standards for public school buildings and maintenance and
make recommendations regarding how to more equitably ensure the physical quality of the
learning environment in each public elementary and secondary school. The provisions of the bill
sunset on July 1, 2021. (18103025D)

SB 80 (Favola) (SRUL) establishes the School Health Advisory Board in the executive branch to
advise the General Assembly and the Governor on pending or proposed legislation concerning the
role of employees in public elementary or secondary schools in providing health care services at
such schools and provide guidance on any associated training requirements. (18100382D)

SB 303 (Marsden) (SEH) requires each school board to (i) develop and implement a policy to
prohibit the use of tobacco products and nicotine vapor products on a school bus, on school
property, or at a school-sponsored activity and (ii) include in its code of student conduct a
prohibition against possessing tobacco products or nicotine vapor products on a school bus, on
school property, or at a school-sponsored activity. (18102353D)

SB 401 (Lewis) (SRUL) directs the Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of
Education to update the "Window into a Green Virginia" curriculum developed by the
Departments for sixth grade science to include a unit on the benefits, including the energy benefits,
of recycling and reuse. (18102800D)

Charter Schools

SB 516 (Obenshain) (SEH) authorizes the Board of Education (the Board) to establish regional
charter school divisions consisting of at least two but not more than three existing school divisions
in regions in which each underlying school division has (i) an enrollment of more than 3,000
students and (i1) one or more schools that have accreditation denied status for two out of the past
three years. The bill requires such regional charter school divisions to be supervised by a school
board that consists of eight members appointed by the Board and one member appointed by the
localities of each of the underlying divisions. The bill authorizes the school board, after a review
by the Board, to review and approve public charter school applications in the regional charter
school divisions and to contract with the applicant. The bill requires that the state share of
Standards of Quality per pupil funding of the underlying school district in which the student resides
be transferred to such school. (18103149D)

K-12 Studies

HJ 19 (Bell, Richard P.) (HRUL)/SJ 62 (Newman) (SRUL) continues for one additional year the
Joint Committee of the Senate Committee on Education and Health and the House Committee on
Education to Study the Future of Public Elementary and Secondary Education in the
Commonwealth, consisting of six members of the Senate and seven members of the House
Committee on Education. (18103172D, 18103703D)
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SB 738 (Newman) (SRUL) establishes the 20-member Commission on the Future of Public
Elementary and Secondary Education (the Commission), consisting of seven members of the
House Committee on Education, six members of the Senate, five non-legislative citizen members,
the Superintendent of Public Instruction or his designee, and the Secretary of Education or his
designee, for the purpose of ensuring a deliberate, thoughtful, coordinated, and year-round
approach to legislative education reform in the Commonwealth. The bill requires the Commission
to (i) collaborate with the Board of Education, the Department of Education, the Standards of
Learning Innovation Committee, and other interested stakeholders to study (a) the need for
revisions to or reorganization of the Standards of Quality with a particular emphasis on the
effective use of educational technology, (b) emerging education issues in the Commonwealth, and
(c) the future of public elementary and secondary education in the Commonwealth and (ii)
establish and appoint members from a variety of stakeholder organizations to subcommittees in
distinct subject matter areas. The provisions of the bill sunset on July 1, 2021. (18101932D)

School Calendar

HB 36 (Kory) (HED) makes local school boards responsible for setting the school calendar and
determining the opening day of the school year and eliminates the post-Labor Day opening
requirement and "good cause" scenarios for which the Board of Education may grant waivers of
this requirement. (18100646D)

HB 38 (Habeeb) (HED) makes local school boards responsible for setting the school calendar and
determining the opening day of the school year and eliminates the post-Labor Day opening

requirement and "good cause" scenarios for which the Board of Education may grant waivers of
this requirement. (18101695D)

HB 354 (Reid) (HED) makes local school boards responsible for setting the school calendar and
determining the opening day of the school year and eliminates the post-Labor Day opening
requirement and "good cause" scenarios for which the Board of Education may grant waivers of
this requirement. (18102549D)

HB 372 (Robinson) (HED) makes local school boards responsible for setting the school calendar
and determining the opening day of the school year and eliminates the post-Labor Day opening
requirement and "good cause" scenarios for which the Board of Education may grant waivers of
this requirement. The bill requires local school boards that set the school calendar with a pre-Labor
Day opening date, except those schools that were granted a "good cause" waiver for the 2017-2018
school year, to close all schools in the division from (1) the Thursday immediately preceding Labor
Day through Labor Day or (ii) the Friday immediately preceding Labor Day through the Tuesday
immediately succeeding Labor Day. (18101760D)

SB 300 (Favola) (SEH) makes local school boards responsible for setting the school calendar and
determining the opening day of the school year and eliminates the post-Labor Day opening
requirement and "good cause" scenarios for which the Board of Education may grant waivers of
this requirement. (18101469D)
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Textbooks

SB 785 (Surovell) (SEH) prohibits local school boards from requiring the use of any electronic
textbook in any course in grades six through 12 unless the school board adopts a plan to ensure
that by July 1, 2020, (i) each student enrolled in such course will have access to a personal
computing device capable of supporting such textbooks and (ii) the relevant school has adequate
connectivity, which the bill defines as bandwidth of at least one megabit per second per enrolled
student. (18103352D)

Elections

SB 564 (Obenshain) (SCT) provides that a clerk of court shall make non-confidential court records
available to the public upon request. The bill specifies that such records shall be provided no later
than 30 days after the request. The bill further provides that the clerk may charge a fee for
responding to such request that shall not exceed the actual cost incurred in accessing, duplicating,
reviewing, supplying, or searching for the requested records. Finally, the bill requires the
Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court to make available to the public an online case
information system of non-confidential information for criminal cases by July 1, 2019.
(18104550D)

Environment

HB 400 (Keam) (HCCT) authorizes any locality in the Chesapeake Bay watershed to adopt an
ordinance providing for the planting and replacement of trees during the land development process.
Current law only allows a locality with a population density of at least 75 persons per square mile
to adopt such an ordinance. The bill authorizes such an ordinance to exceed the requirements set
out in the section. (18102199D)

HB 771 (Jones) (HAQG) creates an advisory board and a laboratory to monitor the effects of the
Sustainable Water Infrastructure for Tomorrow (SWIFT) Project being undertaken by the
Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD). The bill establishes an eight-member advisory board
called the Potomac Aquifer Recharge Oversight Committee (the Committee), directing it to ensure
that the SWIFT Project is monitored independently. The bill provides that the Committee shall
consist of the State Health Commissioner, the Director of the Department of Environmental
Quality, the Executive Director of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission, the two Co-
Directors of the Laboratory, the Director of the Occoquan Watershed Monitoring Laboratory, and
two Virginia citizens appointed by the Governor, and the bill also provides for two nonvoting
members. The Committee is required by the bill to meet at least quarterly during the initial three
years of its existence. The bill also authorizes the Committee to appoint a science and technical
advisory council and directs the Committee to request funding from HRSD for the first three years
of monitoring of the recharge of the aquifer. The bill also creates the Potomac Aquifer Recharge
Monitoring Laboratory (the Laboratory) at Old Dominion University (ODU), placing it under the
direction of an ODU faculty member and the co-direction of a faculty member at Virginia Tech.
The bill provides that the Laboratory shall monitor the impact of the SWIFT Project on the
Potomac Aquifer, manage testing data, and conduct water sampling and analysis. The bill
authorizes both the Commissioner of the Department of Health and the State Water Control Board
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to issue emergency orders to halt injection or make any change to any facility of the SWIFT
Project. (18104334D)

SB 507 (Carrico) (SACNR) provides that in a locality that is located entirely outside of the
Chesapeake Bay watershed, the State Water Control Board and the Department of Environmental

Quality shall apply the water quality and water quantity requirements that were in effect prior to
July 1,2014. (18103946D)

SB 693 (Lewis) (SFIN) establishes the Virginia Waterway Maintenance Grant Program and Fund,
administered by the Virginia Port Authority (the Authority), to provide grants, from funds
transferred to the Fund from Commonwealth Port Fund, to local governing bodies that propose
certain dredging projects and related activities. The bill directs the Authority to manage the Grant
Program by developing guidelines and procedures for the application process and for the awarding
of annual grants. (18102798D)

Health and Human Services

HB 192 (Yancey) (HHWI) directs the State Department of Health (the Department) to adopt
regulations regarding the use of gray water and rainwater. The regulations shall provide standards
for the use of rainwater harvesting systems. The bill also directs the Department to consider
recognizing rainwater as an independent source of fresh water. (18101454D)

HB 216 (Krizek) (HHWI)/SB 156 (Edwards) (SCT) provides that the annual report that is required
to be filed by a guardian with the local department of social services must also include a report by
a licensed physician, licensed psychologist, or other licensed professional who has examined the
incapacitated person no more than 90 days prior to the end of the applicable reporting period. The
bill further provides that a court may issue a summons or motion to show cause why the guardian

has not filed a timely annual report upon notification from the local department of social services
that such report has not been filed. (18101380D, 18101381D)

HB 241 (Brewer) (HHWI) lowers from three years to two years the amount of time a child must
have continuously resided with or been under the physical custody of the prospective close relative
adoptive parent in order for the adoption proceeding to commence in circuit court and be exempt
from the parental placement provisions. (18103409D)

HB 278 (Collins) (HCT) provides that a court may adjust the costs of a guardian ad litem's services
for good cause shown or upon the failure of the guardian ad litem to substantially comply with the
standards adopted for attorneys appointed as guardians ad litem. (18103667D)

HB 309 (Watts) (HHWI) increases the staffing and care standards in nursing homes to require a
minimum of specific direct care services to each resident per 24-hour period. (18103092D)

HB 456 (Filler-Corn) (HHWI) repeals provisions authorizing an obligee to petition for and a
circuit court to order the suspension of any state-issued license to engage in a health care profession
or occupation when an obligor is delinquent or in default in the payment of a federally guaranteed
or state-guaranteed educational loan or work-conditional scholarship. (18101926D)
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HB 832 (Bell, Richard P.) (HHWI) authorizes the State Health Commissioner to accept, review,
and issue a certificate of public need for open heart services in Planning District 8, provided that
certain conditions are met. The bill provides that the Commissioner shall not deny the application
on the basis of the economic or service volumes impact on existing providers. (18102448D)

HJ 81 (Delaney) (HRUL)/SJ 47 (Ebbin) (SRUL) designates the third full week of September, in
2018 and in each succeeding year, as Fall Prevention Awareness Week in Virginia. (18103457D,
18100470D)

HJ 84 (Plum) (HRUL) encourages the Governor to enter into an agreement with the U.S. Secretary
of Health and Human Services to extend to all eligible residents of the Commonwealth the full
range of services, benefits, and programs available under federal law and regulations through the
Medicaid program. (18102342D)

SB 121 (Wexton) (Senate Floor) repeals the expiration date and contingency on the requirement
that the following individuals undergo fingerprint-based national criminal history background
checks: (i) applicants for employment by, employees of, applicants to serve as volunteers with,
and volunteers with any licensed family day system, child day center exempt from licensure
pursuant to § 63.2-1716, registered family day home, or family day home approved by a family
day system; (ii) applicants for licensure as a family day system, registration as a family day home,
or approval as a family day home by a family day system, as well as their agents and any adult
living in such family day home; and (iii) individuals who apply for or enter into a contract with
the Department of Social Services under which a child day center, family day home, or child day
program will provide child care services funded by the Child Care and Development Block Grant
of 2014, as well as the applicant's current or prospective employees and volunteers, agents, and
any adult living in the child day center or family day home. (18100999D-E)

SB 290 (McClellan) (SGL) expands from specific localities to any locality the scope of existing
enabling legislation related to affordable dwelling unit ordinances, making such legislation
applicable statewide. Other existing statewide provisions related to affordable dwelling unit
ordinances are repealed and references to those provisions are deleted. (18101959D)

SB 305 (Dance) (SEH)/SB 327 (Ruff) (SEH) directs the Department of Health, in partnership with
the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Commission, the Department for Aging and
Rehabilitative Services, and the Alzheimer's Association, to incorporate in its existing, relevant
public health outreach programs information (1) to educate health care providers on the importance
of early detection and timely diagnosis of cognitive impairment, validated cognitive assessment
tools, the value of a Medicare Annual Wellness visit for cognitive health, and the new Medicare
care planning billing code for individuals with cognitive impairment and (ii) to increase
understanding and awareness of early warning signs of Alzheimer's disease and other types of
dementia, the value of early detection and diagnosis, and how to reduce the risk of cognitive
decline, particularly among persons in diverse communities who are at greater risk of developing
Alzheimer's disease and other types of dementia. (18102052D, 18102673D)
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SB 347 (Peake) (SEH) requires that the information physicians report on a patient diagnosed with
cancer to the statewide cancer registry include information, with the patient's consent, regarding
the patient's work history as a firefighter, if any, including (i) his status as a volunteer, paid on-
call, or career firefighter; (i1) the number of years on the job; and (ii1) a measure or estimate of the
number and type of fire incidents attended. The bill also provides that one purpose of the statewide
cancer registry is to collect data to evaluate potential links between exposure to fire incidents and
cancer incidence. (18102851D)

Emergency Air Medical Transportation

HB 777 (Ransone) (HHWI) requires emergency medical services personnel, prior to initiating
contact with an emergency air medical transportation provider for air transport of a patient, to
obtain written consent from the patient after disclosing certain information. The bill provides that
emergency medical services personnel shall be exempt from such requirements if compliance
might jeopardize the health or safety of the patient or the patient is unable to provide consent.
(18102247D)

HB 778 (Ransone) (HHWI) requires a health care provider, before arranging for air ambulance
services for an individual known to be covered under a health benefit plan, to provide the covered
person or his authorized representative a written disclosure and obtain the covered person's or his
representative's signature on the disclosure document. The disclosure includes statements that (i)
the air ambulance provider may be an out-of-network provider; (ii) if so, the air ambulance
provider has not agreed to hold covered persons harmless from payment of any balance due after
receiving any payment from the carrier under the covered person's health benefit plan; (ii1) indicate
the range of the typical charges for out-of-network air ambulance services for which the covered
person may be responsible; and (iv) the covered person or his representative may agree to accept
and pay the charges of the air ambulance provider as an out-of-network provider, contact the
covered person's carrier for additional assistance, or rely on other rights and remedies that may be
available under state or federal law. The disclosure is also required to include a statement that the
covered person or the covered person's authorized representative may obtain a list of air ambulance
providers from the covered person's carrier that are participating providers and may request that
the health care provider arrange for air ambulance providers that are participating providers. The
measure also provides that if the health care provider is unable to provide the written disclosure or
obtain the signature of the covered person or his authorized representative, the health care provider
is required to document the reason therefor. (18103240D)

Mental Health

HB 1133 (Rasoul) (HCT) establishes a process for the sheriff or administrator in charge of a local
or regional correctional facility to petition a court to authorize medical or mental health treatment
for a prisoner in such facility who is incapable of giving informed consent for such treatment. The
process parallels the existing process for the Director of the Department of Corrections to seek
authorization to provide involuntary treatment to prisoners in state correctional facilities. The bill
provides that the treatment ordered may be provided within a local or regional correctional facility
if such facility is licensed to provide such treatment. (18102071D)
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Southwestern/Southeastern Virginia Training Centers

HB 324 (Campbell) (HAPP) provides that the Southwestern Virginia Training Center shall not be
closed and shall instead remain open and continue to accept new admissions of individuals with
intellectual disability for whom treatment in a training center is appropriate. (18103090D)

HB 325 (Campbell) (HAPP) provides that the Southwestern Virginia Training Center and the
Central Virginia Training Center shall not be closed and shall instead remain open and continue to
accept new admissions of individuals with intellectual disability for whom treatment in a training
center is appropriate. (18103102D)

HB 806 (O’Quinn) (HAPP) provides that the Southwestern Virginia Training Center and the
Southeastern Virginia Training Center shall not be closed and shall instead remain open and
continue to accept new admissions of individuals with intellectual disability for whom treatment
in a training center is appropriate. (18102320D)

Immigration

HB 11 (Kory) (HRUL) declares, absent congressional intent to the contrary, that any individual
currently granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration
Services has the capacity to intend to remain in the Commonwealth indefinitely and is therefore
eligible to establish domicile and receive in-state tuition charges at any public institution of higher
education in the Commonwealth. (18100648D)

HB 19 (Lopez) (HRUL) declares eligible for in-state tuition any individual who (i) attended a
public or private high school in the Commonwealth for at least three years; (i) graduated from a
public or private high school in the Commonwealth or passed a high school equivalency
examination approved by the Board of Education; (iii) registers as an entering student at or is
enrolled in a public institution of higher education; (iv) provides an affidavit to the public
institution of higher education at which he has registered as an entering student or is enrolled
stating that he has filed an application to become a permanent resident of the United States and is
actively pursuing such permanent residency or will do so as soon as he becomes eligible for such
permanent residency; and (v) submits evidence to the institution at which he has registered as an
entering student or is enrolled that he, or in the case of a dependent student, at least one parent,
guardian, or person standing in loco parentis, has filed, unless exempted by state law, Virginia
income tax returns for at least three years prior to the date of registration as an entering student or
enrollment. The bill provides that any such individual shall remain eligible for in-state tuition for
as long as he maintains continuous enrollment in the public institution of higher education and his
application for permanent residency has not been denied. The bill also prohibits any student who
became eligible for in-state tuition as a result of his lawful presence in the United States pursuant
to approval under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program or any other federal
deferred action program from being deemed ineligible for in-state tuition by virtue of the
elimination or modification of any such program. (18100982D)

HB 343 (Boysko) (HRUL) declares eligible for in-state tuition any individual who (i) graduated
from a public or private high school in the Commonwealth or passed a high school equivalency
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examination approved by the Board of Education; (ii) registers as an entering student or is enrolled
in a public institution of higher education; (iii) has submitted evidence that he or, in the case of a
dependent student, at least one parent, guardian, or person standing in loco parentis has filed,
unless exempted by state law, Virginia income tax returns for at least one year prior to the date of
registration or enrollment; and (iv) provides an affidavit to the public institution of higher
education in which he has registered as an entering student or is enrolled stating that he has filed
an application to become a permanent resident of the United States and is actively pursuing such
permanent residency or will do so as soon as he becomes eligible for such permanent residency.
(18101986D)

Land Use

HB 494 (Hodges) (HCCT) authorizes any locality within the Chesapeake Bay watershed to adopt
an ordinance providing for the planting and replacement of trees during the development process.

Currently, only a locality with a population density of 75 persons per square mile may adopt such
an ordinance. (18100432D)

SB 81 (Hanger) (Passed Senate) provides that a landowner whose property is used for an
educational activity shall owe no duty of care to a member of the public arising out of the
educational use of the land. Current law provides such an exemption for recreational activities and
certain other uses of land. (18100094D-E2)

SB 451 (Dance) (SLG) authorizes any locality to enact an ordinance that requires corrective action
to address criminal blight conditions on certain real property. The bill defines criminal blight to
include conditions on real property that endanger residents of the community by the regular
presence of persons using the property for controlled substance use or sale and other criminal
activities, specifically commercial sex trafficking or prostitution. Current law allows local
governments to enact an ordinance for taking action against a property owner with regard to illegal
drug activity on such real property within the locality. The bill also provides a procedure for the
locality and law-enforcement officials to secure inspection warrants for guest registries for real
property operated as a hotel or motel or other transient lodging if the property is declared to be in
a state of criminal blight. This is a recommendation of the Virginia Housing Commission.
(18101378D)

Opioids

HB 322 (Bourne) (Reported from HHWI) adds employees of the Department of Corrections who
are designated as probation and parole officers or correctional officers to the list of individuals
who may possess and administer naloxone or other opioid antagonist, provided that they have
completed a training program. (18103202D)

HB 1175 (Pillion) (HHWI) requires every hospital that operates an emergency department to
develop and implement a protocol for (i) identifying every prescriber who has prescribed opioids
to a patient to whom naloxone is administered for the purpose of reversing an opioid overdose in
the emergency department or by emergency medical services personnel or a law-enforcement
officer prior to admission to the emergency department and (ii) notifying each such prescriber that
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the patient has been treated with naloxone for the purpose of reversing an opioid overdose. Such
notification shall be made in each case in which naloxone is administered for the purpose of
reversing an opioid overdose by a health care provider in a hospital emergency department,
emergency medical services personnel, or a law-enforcement officer to a patient to whom opioids
have been prescribed by a prescriber. (18103279D)

HB 1429 (Carroll Foy) (HHWI) provides that whenever the primary reason for removing a child
from his home by a local board of social services is categorized as substance abuse by his parent
or guardian, including removal due to in utero drug exposure, the Department of Social Services
shall, to the extent possible, collect and record information regarding the specific drugs taken by
the parent or guardian. The bill requires the Department to develop a process and system to collect,
collate, and report such data by July 1, 2019, and to implement such process and system by July
1,2020. (18104207D)

HJ 114 (Hugo) (HRUL) designates September, in 2018 and in each succeeding year, as Drug-free
Pain Management Awareness Month in Virginia. (18103335D)

SB 120 (Favola) (SFIN) directs the Board of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control
Authority (Board) to establish and appoint members to the Virginia Institutions of Higher
Education Substance Use Advisory Committee (Advisory Committee). The bill provides that the
goal of the Advisory Committee shall be to develop and update a statewide strategic plan for
substance use education, prevention, and intervention at Virginia's public and private institutions
of higher education. The bill provides that the Advisory Committee shall consist of representatives
from Virginia's public and private institutions of higher education, including students and directors
of student health, and such other members as the Board may deem appropriate. (18101325D)

SB 459 (Edwards) (SGL) requires every Secretary to identify an agency within his secretariat to
receive such data and information related to substance abuse as the Secretary may specify and
requires every agency in a secretariat to report such data and information to the identified agency.
(18104437D)

Procurement

HB 375 (Davis) (HGL) prohibits local governing bodies from establishing provisions related to
procurement of goods, professional services, or construction that would require a wage floor or
any other employee benefit or compensation above what is otherwise required by state or federal
law to be provided by a contractor to one or more of the contractor's employees as part of a contract
with the locality. The prohibition shall not affect contracts between a locality and another party
that were executed prior to January 1, 2019, or the renewal or future rebids of services thereof.
The bill provides that localities shall not be prohibited from entering into contracts for economic
development incentives in which the company receiving the incentives is required to maintain a
certain stated wage level for its employees. (18102176D)
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Public Safety/Criminal Justice

HB 31 (Webert) (HCT) eliminates the crime of profanely swearing or cursing in public, which is
currently punishable as a Class 4 misdemeanor. (18100946D)

HB 174 (Filler-Corn) (HCT) requires the Department of Criminal Justice Services to establish
protocols for communication by law-enforcement personnel with individuals diagnosed with
autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disabilities, and developmental disabilities. (18101919D)

SB 53 (Spruill) (SCT) expands the definition of a predicate criminal act associated with gang
activity to include a felony violation of (i) obtaining money by false pretense and (ii) identity theft.
(18100808D)

SB 66 (Favola) (SCT) provides that if a defendant is convicted of assault and battery against a
family or household member and a minor who is a family or household member of the defendant
was a witness to the offense, the court may consider such circumstance as an aggravating factor in
determining sentencing. (18100303D)

SB 196 (Locke) (SCT) requires the Criminal Justice Services Board (the Board) to adopt, by July
1, 2019, statewide professional standards of conduct applicable to all certified law-enforcement
officers and certified jail officers. The bill requires any sheriff, chief of police, or agency
administrator to notify the Board in writing within 48 hours of becoming aware that any certified
law-enforcement or jail officer currently employed by his agency has been found to have engaged
in serious misconduct. The bill authorizes the Board to initiate decertification proceedings against
any former law-enforcement or jail officer who has engaged in serious misconduct as defined in

such statewide professional standards of conduct. The bill has a delayed effective date of October
1,2019. (18101568D)

SB 308 (Stuart) (SCT) provides that it is unlawful for a person driving or operating any motor
vehicle on a highway to be under the influence. Current law prohibits the driving or operating of
a motor vehicle while under the influence, without limiting such driving or operating to a highway.
(18102908D)

SB 666 (Deeds) (SFIN) adds members of the United States Armed Forces, Armed Forces
Reserves, and National Guard to the list of public safety personnel for which it is a Class 1
misdemeanor to impersonate with the intent to make someone else believe he is such a public
safety official. A second or subsequent offense is punishable as a Class 6 felony. (18100309D)

SB 761 (Newman) (SCT) requires a law-enforcement agency in the Commonwealth that hires a
law-enforcement officer from another law-enforcement agency to reimburse the agency that
funded the training for the costs of the officer's basic law-enforcement training. The amount of the
liability shall be reduced by one-fifth for each year that the law-enforcement officer worked for
the agency that paid for the training. (18104291D)
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Renewable Energy

HB 312 (Edwards) (SGL) provides that construction performed in creating a good or service
pursuant to a solar services agreement, solar power purchase agreement, or solar self-generation
agreement shall not be defined as construction, notwithstanding any reference to "construction" in
a request for proposal for a solar services agreement, solar power purchase agreement, or solar
self-generation agreement. The measure also provides that professional services, such as
engineering, performed in creating a good or service pursuant to a solar services agreement, solar
power purchase agreement, or solar self-generation agreement shall not be defined as a
professional service, notwithstanding any reference to "professional services" in a request for
proposal for a solar services agreement, solar power purchase agreement, or solar self-generation
agreement. The measure authorizes any contracting entity to purchase services under a solar
services agreement, solar power purchase agreement, or solar self-generation agreement entered
into by another contracting entity, even if it did not participate in the request for proposals, if the
request for proposals specified that the procurement was being conducted on behalf of other
contracting entities. The measure specifies that project agreements for power purchase agreements
that reference a master solar power purchase agreement, whether or not the master power purchase
agreement is still in effect, shall be binding and effective stand-alone agreements for as long as the
life of the project agreements, and may be used by a contracting entity to purchase services under
a cooperative procurement agreement. The measure has a delayed effective date of January 1,
2019. (18104236D)

Transportation

HB 455 (Filler-Corn) (HTRAN) provides that funds for contract fees paid by the Virginia Railway
Express for access to the rights-of-way of CSX Transportation, Norfolk Southern Corporation, and
the National Railroad Passenger Corporation shall be allocated yearly by the Department of Rail
and Public Transportation and shall cover 84 percent of the total costs. (18101396D)

HB 505 (Bell, Robert B.) (HTRAN) allows any person who is deaf, blind, or deaf-blind, any person
with autism or an intellectual or developmental disability, or the agent of any such person to
request that the Department of Transportation (Department) post and maintain signs informing
drivers that a person with a disability may be present in or around the roadway and directs the
Department to post and maintain such signs in accordance with regulations developed by the
Department. (18102148D)

SB 185 (Favola) (STRAN) provides that the local governing body of any county, city, or town
may change the name of any highway named before 1965 within such locality. Current law allows
for only the Commonwealth Transportation Board or the General Assembly to name or rename
any primary highway, regardless of when the highway was named. (18100834D)

SB 530 (Mason) (STRAN) directs the Department of Transportation to amend its regulations to
exempt breweries, wineries, and distilleries from the requirement that a facility be in continuous
operation for at least eight hours per day, five days per week, during the normal operating season
for that type of business in order to qualify for an attraction sign under the Specific Travel Services
(Logo) Signing program. (18102170D)
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SB 532 (Mason) (STRAN) provides that violations of the prohibition on the display or sale, or
permitting the display or sale, of more than five used motor vehicles within any 12-month period
on real property for the purpose of selling or advertising the sale of used motor vehicles by the

owner or lessee is punishable as a Class 4 misdemeanor. The bill contains technical amendments.
(18103539D)

SB 575 (DeSteph) (Reported from STRAN) expands eligibility for a one-month extension of a
vehicle registration period to include persons whose vehicle registration has been withheld for
failure to pay tolls. (18102831D)

SB 611 (Surovell) (STRAN) increases the minimum motor vehicle liability insurance coverage
amounts from $25,000 to $100,000 in cases of bodily injury to or death of one person, from
$50,000 to $200,000 in cases of bodily injury to or death of more than one person in any one
accident, and from $20,000 to $40,000 for property damage coverage. (18100417D)

SB 643 (McPike) (STRAN) prohibits the Department of Transportation from charging fees for or
requiring users to exchange their electronic toll collection device as a result of inactivity for a
period of time less than one year. (18101775D)

SB 793 (Lucas) (SRUL) adds two legislative members, one from each house, to the Hampton
Roads Transportation Commission. The bill provides that nonlegislative members shall have
experience in at least one of the following fields: (i) transit planning, transportation planning, or
land use planning; (ii) transit or transportation management or management of other public sector
operations; (ii1) public budgeting or finance; (iv) corporate communications; (v) government
oversight; or (vi) local or state government. (18104340D)

Driver’s Licenses and Driver Privilege Cards

HB 12 (Kory) (HTRAN) authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue temporary driver's
licenses, permits, and special identification cards to aliens granted "withholding of removal"
immigration status. The bill contains a technical amendment. (18100655D)

HB 93 (Wilt) (HTRAN) authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue temporary driver's
licenses, permits, and special identification cards to aliens who present documentary evidence of

a pending or approved application to be paroled into the United States. The bill contains a technical
amendment. (18101270D)

SB 621 (Surovell) (STRAN) authorizes the issuance of new driver privilege cards by the
Department of Motor Vehicles to an individual who has (i) reported income from Virginia sources
on an individual tax return filed with the Commonwealth in the preceding 12 months and (ii) is
not in violation of the insurance requirements of Article 8 (§ 46.2-705 et seq.) (Registration of
Uninsured Motor Vehicles) of Chapter 6 of Title 46.2. The bill provides that driver privilege cards
shall confer the same privileges and shall be subject to the same provisions as driver's licenses and
permits; however, driver privilege cards shall not (a) confer voting privileges, (b) permit an
individual to waive any part of the driver examination, or (c) have their issuance be contingent
upon the applicant's ability to produce proof of legal presence in the United States. The bill
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provides for the term "driver's license" to consistently refer to all driver's licenses, permits, driver
privilege cards, and special identification cards issued by the Commonwealth or the comparable
law of another jurisdiction. The bill allows the issuance of a limited-duration driver's license and
special identification card to an applicant presenting valid documentary evidence that a federal
court or federal agency having jurisdiction over immigration has authorized the applicant to be in
the United States for a period of at least 30 days from the date of application. The bill authorizes
the Tax Commissioner to provide to the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles
information sufficient to verify that an applicant for a driver privilege card or permit reported
income from Virginia sources on an individual tax return filed with the Commonwealth in the
preceding 12 months. The bill has a delayed effective date of January 1, 2019. (18100395D)

Transportation Funding

HJ 41 (LaRock) (HPE) requires the General Assembly to maintain permanent and separate
Transportation Funds to include the Commonwealth Transportation Fund, Transportation Trust
Fund, Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund, and other funds established by general law for
transportation. The amendment directs that revenues dedicated to Transportation Funds on January
1, 2018, by general law, other than a general appropriation law, shall be deposited to the
Transportation Funds, unless the General Assembly by general law, other than a general
appropriation law, alters the revenues dedicated to the Funds. The amendment limits the use of
Funds moneys to transportation and related purposes. The amendment specifies that the General
Assembly may borrow from the Funds for other purposes only by an affirmative vote of two-thirds
of the members elected to each house and that the loan must be repaid with reasonable interest
within four years. (18100986D)

SJ 35 (Lewis) (SPE) requires the General Assembly to maintain permanent and separate
Transportation Funds to include the Commonwealth Transportation Fund, Transportation Trust
Fund, Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund, and other funds established by general law for
transportation. The amendment directs that revenues dedicated to Transportation Funds on January
1, 2018, by general law, other than a general appropriation law, shall be deposited to the
Transportation Funds, unless the General Assembly by general law, other than a general
appropriation law, alters the revenues dedicated to the Funds. The amendment limits the use of
Funds moneys to transportation and related purposes. The amendment specifies that the General
Assembly may borrow from the Funds for other purposes only by an affirmative vote of two-thirds
of the members elected to each house and that the loan must be repaid with reasonable interest
within four years. (18103907D)

SB 31 (Stanley) (SFIN) establishes the Interstate 73 Corridor Development Fund and Program and
reallocates to the I-73 Fund the $40 million from state recordation taxes that is currently allocated
annually to the U.S. Route 58 Corridor Development Fund and Program. All provisions of the bill
are contingent upon construction of and payments for Route 58 being completed. (18100248D)

SB 141 (Petersen) (STRAN) allows revenues of the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority

distributed to localities to be used, as determined solely by the applicable locality, to fund new
sidewalk projects that reduce congestion. (18101659D)
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SB 583 (Hanger) (SFIN) creates the Western Virginia Transportation Fund (Fund), to be used by
the Commonwealth Transportation Board to fund priority transportation projects in Planning
Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7. The bill imposes an additional 2.1 percent tax on motor vehicle
fuels in the counties and cities in such planning districts to generate revenue for the Fund.
(18104752D)

Transportation Studies

HJ 66 (Roem) (HRUL) requests the Department of Transportation to study and develop best
practices for constructing, operating, and maintaining a commuter rail system in the
Commonwealth. (18104020D)

SB 504 (Carrico) (STRAN) authorizes the Commissioner of Highways to enroll in or withdraw
from any federal pilot program or project for the collection and study of data for the review of
truck weights and the impact of such vehicles on federal or state roadway safety, infrastructure
sustainability, congestion mitigation, transportation system efficiency, or capacity challenges.
(18103024D)
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