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February 5, 2021 

Legislation Requiring Further Review  
 

Courts  

 

HB 1878 (Jenkins) (Passed House; SJUD) limits the ability to appeal a decision by an intake officer 

not to authorize a petition relating to an offense that, if committed by an adult, would be punishable 

as a Class 1 misdemeanor or felony, when the decision is based solely upon a finding of no 

probable cause. The bill requires the application for a warrant to the magistrate to be filed within 

10 days of the issuance of the written notification from the intake officer to the complainant of the 

refusal to authorize a petition. The bill also provides that such written notification shall indicate 

that the intake officer made a finding that no probable cause exists and provide notice that the 

complainant has 10 days to apply for a warrant to the magistrate. The bill requires the complainant 

to provide the magistrate with a copy of the written notification upon application to the magistrate. 

The bill also specifies that if an intake officer finds (i) probable cause and (ii) that the matter is 

appropriate for diversion, this decision is final, and the complainant shall not have the right to 

appeal the decision to a magistrate.  (21101948D-E) 

 

HB 1895 (Hudson) (Passed House; SJUD) provides that no interest shall accrue on any fine or 

costs imposed in a criminal case or in a case involving a traffic infraction (i) for a period of 180 

days following the date of the final judgment imposing such fine or costs; (ii) during any period 

the defendant is incarcerated; and (iii) for a period of 180 days following the date of the defendant's 

release from incarceration if the sentence includes an active term of incarceration. Current law 

prohibits interest from accruing on such fines or costs for a period of 40 days from the date of the 

final judgement imposing such fine or costs or during any period the defendant is incarcerated.  

The bill also removes the requirement that a defendant be unable to make payment of a fine, 

restitution, forfeiture, or penalty and costs within 30 days of sentencing in order to be eligible to 

enter into a deferred or installment payment agreement and allows any defendant to enter such 

payment agreements. The bill removes the one-time fee not to exceed $10 that a court may assess 

when a defendant is unable to make payment within 90 days of sentencing and provides that no 

fee shall be assessed in connection with a defendant's participation in a deferred or installment 

payment agreement. The bill removes the requirement that a defendant make a down payment 

upon entering a deferred, modified deferred, or installment payment agreement.  (21102438D-E) 

 

SB 1261 (Edwards) (Senate Floor) expands the jurisdiction of the Court of Appeals of Virginia by 

providing for an appeal of right in every civil case and provides that the granting of further appeal 

to the Supreme Court of Virginia shall be within the discretion of the Supreme Court. The bill 

provides for an appeal of right in criminal cases by a defendant, but leaves unchanged the current 

requirement that in criminal cases the Commonwealth must petition the Court of Appeals for 

granting of an appeal. The bill increases from 11 to 17 the number of judges on the Court of 

Appeals. The bill also (i) provides jurisdiction to the Court of Appeals over interlocutory appeals 

and petitions for review of injunctions; (ii) allows for oral arguments to be dispensed with if the 
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panel of judges makes a unanimous decision that the appeal is frivolous or that the dispositive 

issues on appeal have already been authoritatively decided; (iii) creates a process by which the 

Attorney General will be notified of any criminal appeal and has the opportunity to intervene as 

counsel of record by filing a notice of appearance, and allows the Commonwealth's attorney to be 

counsel of record provided the Attorney General has not filed such notice of appearance; (iv) 

eliminates the requirement for an appeal bond in criminal appeals; (v) requires the clerk of the 

circuit court to prepare a transcript of any trial for which an appeal is noticed to him; and (vi) 

requires an expedited review of appeals of permanent protective orders and of bond validation 

proceedings.  (21103599D-S1) 

 

Elections 

 

HB 2278 (Davis) (HPE) adds political party affiliation to the information that an applicant is asked 

to provide when registering to vote. The political party affiliation or independent status selected 

by the voter is included in his registration record, and the bill permits voters to change political 

party affiliation by providing notice in writing or through electronic means authorized by the State 

Board of Election. The bill provides that only voters who are registered as affiliated with a political 

party, or who are designated as independent, are permitted to vote in that political party's primary 

election. Voters who are registered on or before January 1, 2022, will be designated as 

independent, and the general registrars are required to notify the voters of such fact and include 

instructions on how the voter may change his affiliation beginning January 1, 2022. The bill has a 

delayed effective date of January 1, 2022.  (21102536D) 

 

Employment Issues and Grievances 

 

HB 1862 (Helmer) (Passed House; SCL) prohibits an employer from discharging, disciplining, or 

discriminating against an employee for such employee's lawful use of cannabis oil pursuant to a 

valid written certification issued by a practitioner for the treatment or to eliminate the symptoms 

of the employee's diagnosed condition or disease. The bill provides that such prohibition does not 

(i) restrict an employer's ability to take any adverse employment action for any work impairment 

or to prohibit possession during work hours or (ii) require an employer to commit any act that 

would cause the employer to be in violation of federal law or that would result in the loss of a 

federal contract or federal funding.  (21101426D-E) 

 

HB 2040 (Hudson) (House Floor) provides that an employer shall be deemed to have established 

a pattern of failing to respond timely or adequately to written requests for information relating to 

claims if the Virginia Employment Commission determines that the employer has failed to respond 

timely or adequately to a written request for information relating to a claim on two or more 

occasions within a 48-month window and requires such employer to pay a penalty upon his second 

such failure to respond timely or adequately. Under current law, such pattern is established after 

four failures, and the penalty is assessed after the third failure. The bill provides that if an employer 

fails to respond timely or adequately to a written request by the Commission for information 

relating to a claim, the employer forfeits any appeal rights to that claim.  The bill provides that 

when a claimant has begun receiving unemployment benefits, such benefits shall continue to be 

paid under a presumption of continuing entitlement unless or until a deputy determines, in a 

process providing notice and opportunity to be heard to the claimant, that the claimant is ineligible 
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or disqualified.  The bill provides that an individual who receives an overpayment of 

unemployment benefits is not liable to repay the overpayments to the Commission if the 

Commission determines that (i) the overpayment was not due to fraud, misrepresentation, or 

willful nondisclosure on the part of the recipient and its recovery would be against equity and good 

conscience; (ii) the overpayment was a direct result of inducement, solicitation, or coercion on the 

part of the employer; or (iii) the overpayment occurred due to administrative error. The bill requires 

the Commission to waive an overpayment of benefits under a federal unemployment benefit 

program if the program authorizes the waiver. The bill provides that any person who receives an 

overpayment of benefits is not required to repay such overpayment if the Commission determines 

that the overpayment was made because the employer failed to respond timely or adequately to a 

written request by the Commission for information relating to the claim. Finally, the bill prohibits 

a determination with respect to benefit overpayments to be issued until after a determination or 

decision that finds a claimant ineligible or disqualified for benefits previously paid has become 

final.  (21104300D-H2) 

 

Paid Family and Medical Leave 

 

HB 2137 (Guzman) (Passed House) requires employers to provide certain employees paid sick 

leave. An employee is eligible for paid sick leave under the bill if the employee is an essential 

worker and works on average at least 20 hours per week or 90 hours per month. The bill provides 

for an employee to earn at least one hour of paid sick leave benefit for every 30 hours worked. An 

employee shall not use more than 40 hours of earned paid sick leave in a year, unless the employer 

selects a higher limit. The bill provides that earned paid sick leave may be used for (i) an 

employee's mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; an employee's need for medical 

diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; or an 

employee's need for preventive medical care or (ii) care of a family member with a mental or 

physical illness, injury, or health condition; care of a family member who needs medical diagnosis, 

care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; or care of a family 

member who needs preventive medical care. The bill prohibits employers from taking certain 

retaliatory actions against employees related to leave. The bill provides for a hardship waiver for 

employers that demonstrate that providing paid sick leave threatens the financial viability of the 

employer, jeopardizes the ability of the employer to sustain operations, significantly degrades the 

quality of the employer's business operations, or creates a significant negative financial impact on 

the employer. The bill requires the Commissioner of Labor and Industry to promulgate regulations 

that (a) identify workers as essential based on the categories listed in the bill; (b) include reasonable 

requirements for recordkeeping, confidentiality, and notifying employees of their rights under 

provisions of the bill; (c) establish complaint, investigation, and enforcement procedures that 

include fines, not to exceed $500, for violations of provisions of the bill; (d) establish requirements 

for compensation and accrual of paid sick leave for employees employed and compensated on a 

fee-for-service basis; and (e) include procedures and requirements for an employer to qualify for 

a hardship waiver.  (21101625D-E) 

 

Workers’ Compensation 

 

HB 1985 (Hurst) (Passed House; SCL) establishes a presumption that COVID-19 causing the 

death or disability of health care providers who as part of the provider's employment are directly 
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involved in diagnosing or treating persons known or suspected to have COVID-19 is an 

occupational disease compensable under the Workers' Compensation Act. The provisions of the 

bill will be effective retroactive to January 1, 2020.  (21103301D-EH1)   

 

HB 2207 (Jones) (Passed House) establishes a presumption that COVID-19 causing the death or 

disability of firefighters, emergency medical services personnel, law-enforcement officers, and 

correctional officers is an occupational disease compensable under the Workers' Compensation 

Act. The bill provides that the COVID-19 virus is established by a positive diagnostic test for 

COVID-19, an incubation period consistent with COVID-19, and signs and symptoms of COVID-

19 that require medical treatment. The bill provides that such presumption applies to any death or 

disability occurring on or after March 12, 2020, caused by infection from the COVID-19 virus, 

provided that for any such death or disability that occurred on or after March 12, 2020, and prior 

to December 31, 2021, the claimant received a diagnosis of COVID-19 from a licensed physician, 

after either a presumptive positive test or a laboratory confirmed test for COVID-19, and presented 

with signs and symptoms of COVID-19 that required medical treatment.  (21100861D) 

 

SB 1375 (Saslaw) (Passed Senate) establishes a presumption that COVID-19 causing the death or 

disability of firefighters and emergency medical services personnel is an occupational disease 

compensable under the Workers' Compensation Act. The provisions of the bill will be effective 

retroactive to March 1, 2020.  (21104340D-S1) 

 

Environment 

 

HB 1937 (Rasoul) (HLC) establishes a moratorium, effective January 1, 2022, on approval by any 

state agency or political subdivision of any approval required for (i) electric generating facilities 

that generate fossil fuel energy through the combustion of a fossil fuel resource; (ii) import or 

export terminals for fossil fuel resources; (iii) certain maintenance activities relating to an import 

or export terminal for a fossil fuel resource; (iv) gathering lines or pipelines for the transport of 

any fossil fuel resource that  require the use of eminent domain on private property; (v) certain 

maintenance activities relating to such gathering lines or pipelines; (vi) refineries of a fossil fuel 

resource; and (vii) exploration for any type of fossil fuel, unless preempted by applicable federal 

law. The measure also requires that at least 80 percent of the electricity sold by a retail electric 

supplier in calendar years 2028 through 2035 be generated from clean energy resources. In 

calendar year 2036 and every calendar year thereafter, 100 percent of the electricity sold by a retail 

electric supplier is required to be generated from clean energy resources. The clean energy 

mandates apply to a public utility or other person that sells not less than 1,000 megawatt hours of 

electric energy to retail customers or generates not less than 1,000 megawatt hours of electric 

energy for use by the person. The Director of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is 

authorized to bring actions for injunctions to enforce these requirements. The measure requires the 

Department to adopt a Climate Action Plan that addresses all aspects of climate change, including 

mitigation, adaptation, resiliency, and assistance in the transition from current energy sources to 

clean renewable energy. The measure provides that any retail electric supplier that fails to meet 

any goal or benchmark is liable for a civil penalty equal to twice the cost of the financial investment 

necessary to meet such goal or mandate that was not achieved, or three times the cost of the 

financial investment necessary to meet such goal or benchmark that was not achieved if not met 

in an environmental justice community.  Full summary text available here. (21100436D) 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=211&typ=bil&val=hb1937
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HB 1983 (Bulova) (Passed House; SACNR) provides that when a water protection permit 

applicant is required to purchase wetland or stream mitigation bank credits but no credits are 

available (i) in any mitigation provider's primary service area or (ii) at a cost of less than 200 

percent of the price of credits available from a fund dedicated to achieving no net loss of wetland 

acreage and functions, the applicant may purchase or use credits from a mitigation provider's 

secondary service area. The bill provides certain requirements that the permit applicant must 

comply with in order to purchase or use such credits from a secondary service area, including 

minimum tree canopy requirements.  (21102632D-E) 

 

Health and Human Services 

 

HB 2061 (Willett) (Passed House; SEH) requires any health care provider in the Commonwealth 

that administers immunizations to participate in the Virginia Immunization Information System 

(VIIS) and report patient immunization history and information to VIIS. Under current law, 

participation in VIIS is optional for authorized health care entities. The bill has a delayed effective 

date of January 1, 2022.  (21102411D) 

 

HB 2212 (Plum) (Passed House; SRSS) requires the director of the Office of Children's Services 

to provide for the effective implementation of the Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) in 

all localities by (i) regularly monitoring local performance measures and child and family 

outcomes; (ii) using audit, performance, and outcomes data to identify local programs that need 

technical assistance; and (iii) working with local programs that are consistently underperforming 

to develop a corrective action plan for submission to the Office and the State Executive Council 

for Children's Services.  (21101765D)   

 

Housing 

 

HB 2046 (Bourne) (Passed House; SGL) prohibits any locality, its employees, or its appointed 

commissions from discriminating (i) in the application of local land use ordinances or guidelines, 

or in the permitting of housing developments, on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, 

sex, elderliness, familial status, source of funds, sexual orientation, gender identity, status as a 

veteran, or disability; (ii) in the permitting of housing developments because the housing 

development contains or is expected to contain affordable housing units occupied or intended for 

occupancy by families or individuals with incomes at or below 80 percent of the median income 

of the area where the housing development is located or is proposed to be located; or (iii) by 

prohibiting or imposing conditions upon the rental or sale of dwelling units, provided that the 

provisions of this subsection shall not be construed to prohibit ordinances related to short-term 

rentals. The bill provides that it shall not be a violation of the Virginia Fair Housing Law if land 

use decisions or decisions relating to the permitting of housing developments are based upon 

considerations of limiting high concentrations of affordable housing. The bill also requires the Fair 

Housing Board, after determining the existence of an unlawful discriminatory housing practice 

and after consultation with the Attorney General, to immediately refer the matter to the Attorney 

General for civil action.  (21103489D-H1) 
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Public Safety/Criminal Justice 

 

HB 1941 (Rasoul) (HAPP) requires that, whenever a law-enforcement officer (i) discharges a 

firearm or (ii) uses a stun weapon or chemical irritant on a person resulting in death or serious 

bodily injury, any video or audio recording that relates to such incident produced or obtained by a 

law-enforcement officer be open to inspection and available for release and posted on a website 

that is maintained by the law-enforcement agency or on any other website on which the law-

enforcement agency generally posts information and that is available to the public or that clearly 

describes how the public may access such data within 15 days of producing or obtaining such 

video or audio recording. The bill includes exceptions to such release. The bill also provides that 

any person denied the rights and privileges conferred may proceed to enforce such rights and 

privileges by filing a petition for mandamus or injunction pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act.  (21100443D) 

 

HB 2099 (Coyner) (Passed House; SJUD) reduces from 20 years to 10 years from the date of a 

judgment the period of time within which an execution may be issued or action may be taken on 

such judgment.  The bill provides that the limitation of the enforcement of a judgment may be 

extended by a recordation of a certificate prior to the expiration period in the clerk's office in which 

a judgment lien is recorded. The bill provides that such recordation shall extend the limitations 

period for 10 years from the date of such recordation. Under current law, such limitation period 

may be extended on motion of the judgment creditor or his assignee. The bill allows a settlement 

agent or title insurance company to release a judgment lien, in addition to a deed of trust as 

provided under current law, provided that the obligation secured by such judgment lien has been 

satisfied by payment made by the settlement agent and whether or not the settlement agent or title 

insurance company is named as a trustee under such lien or received authority to release such lien. 

The bill has a delayed effective date of January 1, 2022.  (21103747D-H3) 

 

HB 2151 (Adams, L.) (HCT) provides an exception to the requirement that a search warrant be 

executed only in the daytime if, prior to the issuance of the search warrant, law-enforcement 

officers lawfully entered and secured the place to be searched and subsequently have remained at 

such place continuously. The bill provides that such search warrant may be executed at any time 

of day without authorization from a judge or magistrate. The bill also allows a law-enforcement 

officer to seek authorization from a magistrate to execute a search warrant at a time other than 

daytime without first having to make reasonable efforts to locate a judge if such search warrant 

was issued after 5 p.m.  (21101873D) 

 

SB 1306 (Morrissey) (Passed Senate) eliminates the mandatory minimum term of confinement of 

six months for an assault and battery committed against a judge, magistrate, law-enforcement 

officer, correctional officer, person directly involved in the care, treatment, or supervision of 

inmates, firefighter or volunteer firefighter, or emergency medical services personnel. The bill 

removes simple assault from enhanced punishment and provides that the enhanced punishment 

applies for assault and battery only when it results in bodily injury. The bill also provides that a 

jury or the court may find any person charged with such offense where the degree of culpability is 

slight, due to diminished physical or mental capacity or an autism spectrum disorder, not guilty of 

such offense but guilty of a simple assault or assault and battery, punishable as a Class 1 

misdemeanor. The bill also provides that before any arrest, indictment, or service of a petition in 



Legislative Committee 

February 5, 2021  

7 

 

the case of a juvenile is made for an alleged assault and battery against a law-enforcement officer, 

(i) such alleged assault and battery shall be investigated by another law-enforcement officer who 

was not the subject of such alleged assault and battery and (ii) the arrest, indictment, or service of 

a petition shall be approved by the attorney for the Commonwealth.  (21103079D-ES1) 

 

SB 1468 (Surovell) (Passed Senate) establishes a process for a state or local law-enforcement 

agency, an attorney for the Commonwealth, the Attorney General, or any other agency or 

department employing law-enforcement officers to complete a certification form or statement that 

is required by federal immigration law certifying that a person is a victim of qualifying criminal 

activity.  (21103854D-S1) 

 

SB 1475 (Stuart) (Passed Senate) provides that a search warrant may be executed at any time when 

prior to the issuance of the search warrant, a law enforcement officer has lawfully entered and 

secured the place to be searched and subsequently have remained at such place continuously or 

when the item to be searched already is in law enforcement possession or control. The bill also 

provides that any evidence obtained from a search warrant will not be excluded unless the search 

warrant is executed in bad faith or if it is proven that the rights of the defendant were substantially 

prejudiced. The bill also exempts search warrants served by means of electronic or 

telecommunication transmission from the no knock search warrant provisions.  (21104245D-S1)   

 

Transportation 

 

HB 2163 (Tran) (Passed House; STRAN) limits the release of Department of Motor Vehicles 

(DMV) privileged information to government entities and law-enforcement agencies for the 

purpose of civil immigration enforcement unless (i) the subject of the information provides consent 

or (ii) the requesting agency presents a lawful judicial order, judicial subpoena, or judicial warrant. 

The bill requires the DMV to notify the subject of the request that such a request was made and 

the identity of the entity that made the request. The bill requires any entity receiving privileged 

information from the DMV to enter into a written agreement with the DMV prior to such release 

of such information and prohibits any entity from rereleasing any such DMV information to any 

third party unless explicitly permitted to do so in the entity's agreement with the DMV. The bill 

contains requirements for any such written agreement between the DMV and the Department of 

State Police.  (21103639D-H1) 
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“Watch List”/May Have State Revenue/Policy Implications 
 

Courts/Public Safety 

 

HB 1806 (Kilgore) (Passed House; SJUD) provides that if a motion to suspend or otherwise 

modify a person's sentence is filed with the court that heard the case at any time before the person 

is transferred to the Department of Corrections (the Department), the court may enter an order to 

retain jurisdiction over the matter for up to 60 days in order to consider and rule on such motion. 

If the court enters such order, the transfer of the person to the Department shall not affect the 

jurisdiction of the court under the terms of the order. Upon entry of an order to retain jurisdiction, 

the clerk of the court shall forthwith forward an attested copy of the order to the Department.  

(21101785D) 

 

HB 2017 (Mullin) (Passed House; SJUD) authorizes any jurisdiction to establish a youth justice 

diversion program, defined in the bill as a diversionary program that (i) is monitored by a local 

youth justice diversion program advisory committee; (ii) uses juvenile volunteers as lawyers, 

jurors, and other court personnel; (iii) uses volunteer attorneys as judges; (iv) conducts peer trials, 

subject to the juvenile and domestic relations court's jurisdiction, of juveniles who are referred to 

the program by an intake officer; and (v) imposes various sentences emphasizing restitution, 

rehabilitation, accountability, competency building, and education, but not incarceration. The bill 

provides that a jurisdiction may establish a youth justice diversion program upon establishment of 

a local youth justice diversion program advisory committee and approval of the program by the 

chief judge of the juvenile and domestic relations court that serves such jurisdiction The bill 

requires each local youth justice diversion program advisory committee to establish criteria for the 

eligibility and participation of juveniles alleged to have committed a delinquent act other than an 

act that would be a felony or a Class 1 misdemeanor if committed by an adult, with the consent of 

the juvenile's parent or legal guardian, and to establish policies and procedures for the operation 

of such program. The bill provides that whenever an intake officer takes informal action on a 

complaint alleging that a child committed a delinquent act other than an act that would be a felony 

or a Class 1 misdemeanor if committed by an adult, the intake officer may refer the juvenile to a 

youth justice diversion program. The bill also adds provisions that the Department of Juvenile 

Justice shall develop a statewide evaluation model and conduct ongoing evaluations of the 

effectiveness and efficiency of youth justice diversion programs and report these evaluations to 

the General Assembly by December 1 of each year.  (21102998D-H1) 

 

HB 2029 (Krizek) (Passed House; SGL) prohibits the burning by any person, local government, 

or agency of the Commonwealth of Class A fuel materials that contain oriented strand board, 

defined in the bill, during fire training activities.  (21102658D-E) 

 

HB 2031 (Aird) (Passed House; SGL) allows a locality or a public institution of higher education 

to authorize a local law-enforcement agency or campus police department to purchase or deploy 

facial recognition technology, which is defined in the bill. The bill prohibits a local law-

enforcement agency or public institution of higher education currently using facial recognition 

technology from continuing to use such technology without such authorization after July 1, 2021.  

(21101718D-E)   
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HB 2073 (Convris-Fowler) (Passed House; SJUD) provides that, in a civil action for the wrongful 

death of an injured person, such an action may be brought by a personal representative of a 

decedent within two years after the death of the person or, if applicable, within two years of the 

conclusion of a criminal investigation by law enforcement of such death, whichever is longer. 

Under current law, a wrongful death action must be brought within two years of the death of the 

decedent. The bill contains an emergency clause.  (21103581D-H1) 

 

HB 2168 (Scott) (Passed House; SJUD) provides that any person who conducts, finances, 

manages, supervises, directs, or owns a gambling device that is located in an unregulated location 

is subject to a civil penalty of $25,000. The bill provides that the Attorney General, an attorney for 

the Commonwealth, or the attorney for any locality may cause an action in equity to be brought in 

the name of the Commonwealth or of the locality, as applicable, to enjoin the operation of a 

gambling device in violation of this section and may request attachment against all such devices 

and any moneys within such devices. The bill provides that any civil penalties brought in the name 

of the Commonwealth shall be paid into the Literary Fund and that any civil penalties brought in 

the name of a locality shall be paid into the general fund of the locality.  (21101270D-E) 

 

SB 1465 (Reeves) (Passed Senate) provides that any person who conducts, finances, manages, 

supervises, directs, or owns a gambling device that is located in an unregulated location is subject 

to a civil penalty of $25,000. The bill provides that the Attorney General, an attorney for the 

Commonwealth, or the attorney for any locality may cause an action in equity to be brought in the 

name of the Commonwealth or of the locality, as applicable, to enjoin the operation of a gambling 

device in violation of this section and may request attachment against all such devices and any 

moneys within such devices. The bill provides that any civil penalties brought in the name of the 

Commonwealth shall be paid into the Literary Fund and that any civil penalties brought in the 

name of a locality shall be paid into the general fund of the locality.  (21102212D) 

 

HB 2236 (Bell) (Passed House; SJUD) provides that if an offender determined to be eligible to 

participate in a behavioral health docket resides in a locality other than that in which the behavioral 

health docket is located, or such offender desires to move to a locality other than that in which the 

behavioral health docket is located, and the court determines it is practicable and appropriate, the 

supervision of such offender may be transferred to a supervising agency in the new locality. The 

bill states that if the receiving agency accepts the transfer, it shall confirm in writing that it can and 

will comply with all of the conditions of supervision of the behavioral health docket, including the 

frequency of in-person and other contact with the offender and updates from the offender's 

treatment providers and that if the receiving agency cannot comply with the conditions of 

supervision, the agency shall deny the transfer in writing and the sending agency shall notify the 

court. The bill also provides that where supervision is transferred, the sending agency shall be 

responsible for providing to the court reports on an offender's conduct, treatment, and compliance 

with the conditions of supervision. Additionally, the bill provides that the standards prescribed by 

the Department of Criminal Justice Services for the development, implementation, operation, and 

evaluation of local community-based probation services and facilities shall include standards for 

the transfer of supervision between local community-based probation agencies.  (21103541D-H1)  

 

HB 2291 (Williams Graves) (Passed House; SJUD) adds a sheriff's office to those law-

enforcement agencies that may be overseen by a law-enforcement civilian oversight body created 
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by a locality and adds a nonprobationary deputy sheriff of a sheriff’s office to those law-

enforcement officers who are subject to such body if created by a locality. The bill provides that 

any disciplinary determinations made by the law-enforcement civilian oversight body on any 

nonprobationary deputy sheriff shall be advisory only and that if the sheriff's office declines to 

implement such disciplinary determination, the office shall create a public written record of its 

rationale for declining to implement the recommended disciplinary determination.  (21101778D-

E) 

 

SB 1119 (Reeves) (Passed Senate) creates a special nonreverting fund to be known as the Body-

Worn Camera System Fund to assist state or local law-enforcement agencies with the costs of 

purchasing, operating, and maintaining body-worn camera systems.  (21100957D) 

 

Data and Technology 

 

HJ 578 (Price) (Agreed to by House; SRUL) requests the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services to establish a work group to study the feasibility of developing a secure, 

de-identified, renewable, and relational database of criminal justice, behavioral health, and other 

human services records to facilitate development of more effective interventions.  (21102974D) 

 

HB 2307 (Hayes) (Passed House; SGL) establishes a framework for controlling and processing 

personal data in the Commonwealth. The bill applies to all persons that conduct business in the 

Commonwealth and either (i) control or process personal data of at least 100,000 consumers or (ii) 

derive over 50 percent of gross revenue from the sale of personal data and control or process 

personal data of at least 25,000 consumers. The bill outlines responsibilities and privacy protection 

standards for data controllers and processors. The bill does not apply to state or local governmental 

entities and contains exceptions for certain types of data and information governed by federal law. 

The bill grants consumer rights to access, correct, delete, and obtain a copy of personal data and 

to opt out of the processing of personal data for the purposes of targeted advertising. The bill 

provides that the Attorney General has exclusive authority to enforce violations of the law, and the 

Consumer Privacy Fund is created to support this effort. The bill has a delayed effective date of 

January 1, 2023.  (21103642D-H1) 

 

SB 1392 (Marsden) (Senate Floor) establishes a framework for controlling and processing personal 

data in the Commonwealth. The bill applies to all persons that conduct business in the 

Commonwealth and either (i) control or process personal data of at least 100,000 consumers or (ii) 

derive over 50 percent of gross revenue from the sale of personal data and control or process 

personal data of at least 25,000 consumers. The bill outlines responsibilities and privacy protection 

standards for data controllers and processors. The bill does not apply to state or local governmental 

entities and contains exceptions for certain types of data and information governed by federal law. 

The bill grants consumer rights to access, correct, delete, obtain a copy of personal data, and to opt 

out of the processing of personal data for the purposes of targeted advertising. The bill provides 

that the Attorney General has exclusive authority to enforce violations of the law, and the 

Consumer Privacy Fund is created to support this effort. The bill has a delayed effective date of 

January 1, 2023.  (21102919D) 

 



Legislative Committee 

February 5, 2021  

11 

 

SB 1225 (Boysko) (Passed Senate) authorizes school boards to appropriate funds for the purposes 

of promoting, facilitating, and encouraging the expansion and operation of broadband services for 

educational purposes. The bill authorizes school boards to partner with private broadband service 

providers to promote, implement, and subsidize broadband for educational purposes to the 

households of students who would qualify for (i) a child nutrition program or (ii) any other program 

recognized or adopted by the local school board as a measuring standard to identify at-risk 

students.  (21101489D) 

 

Education/Schools 

 

HB 1929 (Aird) (HAPP) makes several changes to the Standards of Quality, including requiring 

the establishment of units in the Department of Education to oversee work-based learning and 

principal mentorship statewide in Standard 1 and requiring the Board of Education to establish and 

oversee the local implementation of teacher leader and teacher mentor programs in Standard 5. 

The bill also makes several changes relating to school personnel in Standard 2, including (i) 

establishing schoolwide ratios of students to teachers in certain schools with high concentrations 

of poverty and granting flexibility to provide compensation adjustments to teachers in such 

schools; (ii) requiring each school board to assign licensed personnel in a manner that provides an 

equitable distribution of experienced, effective teachers and other personnel among all schools in 

the local school division; (iii) requiring each school board to employ teacher leaders and teacher 

mentors at specified student-to-position ratios; (iv) requiring state funding in addition to basic aid 

to support at-risk students and granting flexibility in the use of such funds by school boards; (v) 

lowering the ratio of English language learner students to teachers; (vi) requiring each school board 

to employ reading specialists and establishing a student-to-position ratio for such specialists; (vii) 

requiring school boards to employ one full-time principal in each elementary school; (viii) 

lowering the ratio of students to assistant principals and school counselors in elementary, middle, 

and high schools; and (ix) requiring each school board to provide at least four specialized student 

support positions, including school social workers, school psychologists, school nurses, licensed 

behavior analysts, licensed assistant behavior analysts, and other licensed health and behavioral 

positions, per 1,000 students.  (21101610D) 

 

HB 2305 (Tyler) (Passed House; SEH) requires the Board of Education to issue guidance on the 

governance of academic year Governor's Schools, including communication and outreach 

practices, admissions policies, and guidelines on diversity, equity, and inclusion training. The bill 

requires such guidance to focus on the importance of increasing access to Governor's Schools for 

historically underserved students and to include best practices on (i) conducting information 

sessions about the school and the availability of gifted, advanced, and specialty education program 

opportunities for feeder public middle schools; (ii) strengthening the student pipeline in feeder 

public middle schools, prioritizing the most underserved and underrepresented students and public 

middle schools; and (iii) conducting programs related to and evaluations of diversity, equity, and 

inclusion. The bill requires the Board of Education, in developing such guidance, to collaborate 

with relevant stakeholders representing the geographical areas served by the Regional Governor's 

Schools, including local school boards representing the geographical areas served by the Regional 

Governor's Schools, Regional Governor's School boards, and Governor's School directors.  

(21103341D-E) 
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HJ 548 (Hurst) (HPE) provides that it is the responsibility of the Commonwealth, rather than the 

General Assembly, to provide for a system of free public elementary and secondary schools and 

to ensure a high-quality educational program is established and maintained. The amendment also 

removes the authority of the General Assembly to revise the standards of quality that are 

determined and prescribed by the Board of Education for school divisions.  (21101317D) 

 

HJ 549 (Guy) (Agreed to by House; SRUL)/SJ 308 (Lucas) (Agreed to by Senate; HRUL) directs 

the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission to study the impact of COVID-19 on 

Virginia's public schools, students, and school employees, including (i) examining and 

determining reasons for barriers to student success in virtual and hybrid models as well as the 

overall impact of COVID-19 face-to-face learning restrictions on previously existing student 

achievement gaps, student achievement, and student well-being, including any disproportionate 

impact on at-risk populations; (ii) determining the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on staffing 

levels, including the impact of teacher and school employee retirements and resignations on 

delivery of instruction and the ability of local school boards to fully staff their needs, employment 

levels, and local budgets; (iii) determining the short-term and projected long-term changes in 

student enrollment in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the impact of such changes on 

funding levels; (iv) determining the impact of implementing COVID-19 health and safety 

measures in public schools; (v) evaluating public schools' level of emergency preparedness to face 

another pandemic or statewide crisis and making recommendations to help guide planning for such 

events and (vi) examining programs that can address learning loss and identifying barriers to 

implementing those programs, including resource gaps.  (21101153D-E, 21102905D-E) 

 

SB 1303 (Dunnavant) (Passed Senate) requires each local school division to make in-person 

learning available to all students by choice of the student's parent or guardian. The bill contains an 

emergency clause.  (21102517D-E) 

 

SJ 275 (Stanley) (Reported from SPE) requires the General Assembly to provide for a system of 

public schools in the Commonwealth with equal educational opportunities for all children and to 

ensure that all school-age children are provided with equal educational opportunities.  

(21100836D) 

 

Elections 

 

HB 2082 (Levine) (House Floor) requires meetings and hearings of the Virginia Redistricting 

Commission to be livestreamed, whether held virtually or in person, and to allow for public 

comment. Meetings and hearings that are held in person are required to be conducted in different 

regions of the Commonwealth, including the Northern Virginia region, the Central Virginia region, 

the Hampton Roads region, the Southside region, and the Southwest region. An additional public 

hearing is required to be held in the event that the initial plan for districts submitted by the 

Commission is rejected by the General Assembly. If adjustments are made to a proposed plan at 

any stage in response to public comment, the adjusted proposed plan is required to be published 

on the Commission's website and a public hearing is required to be held. The bill subjects the 

Supreme Court of Virginia and the special masters appointed by the Court for the establishment 

of districts to the same requirements and restrictions to which the Commission is subject, including 

provisions related to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and the ban on ex parte 
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communications. Additionally, the bill changes the reallocation of persons incarcerated in federal, 

state, or local correctional facilities whose address at the time of incarceration was located outside 

of the Commonwealth or cannot be determined. Currently, such persons are counted as residing at 

the location of the facility in which he's incarcerated; under the bill, such persons would not be 

included in the locality's population count and instead would be allocated to a state unit not tied to 

a specific determined geographic location.  (21104053D-H1) 

 

HB 2125 (Lopez) (Passed House; SPE) permits a person who is otherwise qualified to register to 

vote and is 16 years of age or older, but who will not be 18 years of age on or before the day of 

the next general election, to preregister to vote. The preregistration does not entitle such person to 

vote in any election except as already permitted by law. The bill requires the Department of 

Elections to maintain a record of all preregistered voters in the Virginia voter registration system, 

which shall automatically register a person who is preregistered upon that person reaching 18 years 

or age or becoming eligible for advance registration as already permitted by law, whichever comes 

first. The bill requires the Department to provide to the general registrars voter confirmation 

documents for such voters. The bill has a delayed effective date of October 1, 2022.  (21100907D-

E) 

 

HJ 551 (Rasoul) (HPE) provides that, notwithstanding the requirement that a voter shall be 18 

years of age, any person who is 16 years of age or older and is otherwise qualified to vote shall 

be permitted to register to vote and to vote in local elections.  (21100442D) 

 

SB 1111 (Spruill) (Passed Senate; HPE) removes the power of officers of election, in the event 

that no law-enforcement officer is in attendance, to appoint a person who is not a law-enforcement 

officer to have all the powers of a law-enforcement officer within the polling place and the 

prohibited area.  (21101169D) 

 

SB 1281 (Morrissey) (Passed Senate; HPE) removes the requirement that the general registrar of 

a locality be a resident of that locality or an adjacent locality.  (21101704D-E) 

 

SB 1331 (Reeves) (Passed Senate) requires the Department of Elections to make available to all 

localities a tool to allow voters with a visual impairment or print disability to electronically and 

accessibly receive and mark his absentee ballot using screen reader assistive technology. On 

receipt of an application for an absentee ballot from an applicant who indicates that he will require 

assistance due to a visual impairment or print disability, the general registrar is required to offer to 

provide to the applicant the ballot marking tool with screen reader assistive technology.  

(21102849D) 

 

Absentee Voting  

 

HB 1968 (Bagby) (Passed House; SPE) permits the electoral board or general registrar of a county 

or city to provide absentee voting in person in the office of the general registrar or voter satellite 

office on Sundays.  (21102134D) 

 

SB 1097 (Favola) (Passed Senate; HPE) repeals the requirement that an absentee ballot be opened 

in the presence of a witness and signed by such witness.  (21100137D) 
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SB 1239 (Bell) (Passed Senate; HPE) permits a general registrar to contract with a third party for 

the printing, assembly, and mailing of absentee ballots. The bill directs the State Board of Elections 

to adopt emergency regulations to implement the provisions of the bill and for those regulations to 

include processes to ensure secure and timely delivery of voter information to contractors and 

reports of mailed absentee ballots from contractors.  (21100930D) 

 

SB 1246 (Deeds) (Passed Senate) requires certain actions to be taken to process absentee ballots 

that are returned by mail before election day. The general registrar is required to examine the ballot 

envelopes to verify completion of the required voter affirmation; mark the pollbook, or the 

absentee voter applicant list if the pollbook is not available, that the voter has voted; and open the 

sealed ballot envelopes and insert the ballots in optical scan counting equipment or other secure 

ballot container without initiating any ballot count totals. Under current law, it is only required 

that the general registrar undertake at least one such activity before election day. To facilitate this 

preprocessing, the bill requires a central absentee voter precinct to be established in the office of 

the general registrar. Additional central absentee voter precincts may be established at the 

discretion of the governing body.  (21103760D-S1) 

 

Employment Issues 

 

HB 2063 (Mullin) (Passed House; SCL) requires an employer to compensate its employees who 

are entitled to overtime compensation under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act at a rate not less 

than one and one-half times the employee's regular rate of pay, defined in the bill, for any hours 

worked in excess of 40 hours in any one workweek. The bill includes provisions for calculating 

overtime premiums due to fire protection and law-enforcement employees by certain public sector 

employers. The penalties provided by the bill for an employer's failure to pay such overtime wages, 

including civil and criminal penalties, are the same as currently provided for failing to pay wages 

generally. The statute of limitations for bringing a claim for a violation of the bill is three years.  

(21103929D-H1) 

 

HB 2134 (Batten) (Passed House; SCL) prohibits the consideration, in any determination 

regarding whether an individual is an employee or independent contractor, for the purposes of a 

civil action for employment misclassification, unemployment compensation, and workers' 

compensation, of the provision of personal protective equipment by a hiring party to the individual 

in response to a disaster caused by a communicable disease of public health threat for which a state 

of emergency has been declared.  (21101448D) 

 

Environment/Energy 

 

HB 2001 (Helmer) (Passed House; SGL) requires that any executive branch agency or institution 

or locality entering the design phase for the construction of a new building greater than 5,000 gross 

square feet in size or the renovation of a building where the cost of the renovation exceeds 50 

percent of the value of the building ensure that such building has sufficient electric vehicle 

charging infrastructure, defined in the bill, and has features that permit the agency or institution to 

track the building's energy efficiency and carbon emissions. The bill authorizes the Director of the 

Department of General Services to grant exemptions to such standards, in writing and with certain 

terms. The bill requires agencies to annually report to the Governor the energy efficiency and 
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carbon emissions metrics for each such building built or renovated.  The bill requires localities to 

design such building projects according to the same or similar standards, or more stringent 

standards if adopted by ordinance. The bill also requires that localities incorporate appropriate 

resilience and distributed energy features. The bill requires that any exemption from the standards 

granted by resolution of the governing body of a locality be made in writing and explain the basis 

for granting the exemption.  (21103607D-H2) 

 

FOIA 

 

HB 2004 (Hurst) (Passed House) adds criminal investigative files, defined in the bill, relating to a 

criminal investigation or proceeding that is not ongoing, also defined in the bill, to the types of 

law-enforcement and criminal records required to be released in accordance with the provisions of 

the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. Under current law, the release of criminal investigative 

files is discretionary. The bill also provides that the mandatory release of criminal incident 

information relating to felony offenses and criminal investigative files shall be enjoined if a court 

finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the release of such information would likely effect 

certain results, outlined in the bill. The bill contains technical amendments. This bill is a 

recommendation of the Virginia Freedom of Information Advisory Council.  (21101252D)   

 

HB 2025 (Gooditis) (Passed House; SGL) provides that personal contact information provided to 

a public body or any of its members for the purpose of receiving electronic communications from 

the public body or any of its members is excluded from the mandatory disclosure provisions of 

FOIA, unless the recipient of such electronic communications indicates his approval for the public 

body to disclose such information. Currently, the law provides protections for personal contact 

information provided to a public body, not to its members; only applies to electronic mail; and 

requires the electronic mail recipient to request the public body not to disclose his personal contact 

information in order for the information to be exempt from mandatory disclosure. This bill is a 

recommendation of the Virginia Freedom of Information Advisory Council.  (21101440D) 

 

Health and Human Services  

 

HB 1963 (Bagby) (Passed House; SEH) provides that funding for local health departments shall 

consist of such state funds as may be allocated for the operation of the local health department 

together with local matching funds and estimated self-generated local service revenues, the total 

amount of which shall constitute the cooperative local health budget available to a local department 

of health, and that the amount of local matching funds for which a county or city is responsible 

shall be based on the county's or city's revenue generation capacity factor, as defined in the bill; in 

no case, however, shall the amount of local matching funds required be greater than 45 percent or 

less than 18 percent of the total amount of the cooperative local health budget for the local health 

department that serves the county or city, after deducting estimated self-generated local service 

revenues. The bill directs the Department of Health to biennially review the local matching fund 

amount for each county and city, determine whether such amount should be revised as a result of 

changes to the county's or city's revenue generation capacity, and report the results of such review 

and any recommendations for changes to a county's or city's local matching fund amount to the 

Governor and the General Assembly.  (21102417D)  
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SB 1125 (Obenshain) (Passed Senate) requires the Parole Board, within seven days of making any 

decision regarding the parole of a prisoner, to provide written or electronic notice of such decision 

to the victim of the crime for which the prisoner was incarcerated, unless the victim has submitted 

a written request to forgo such notice.  (21101811D-E) 

 

SB 1176 (Ruff) (Passed Senate) amends the current barrier crimes requirements for the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (the Department) to provide that the 

Department, community services boards, and licensed providers shall not hire for compensated 

employment at a state facility, permit to be hired as a private provider, approve as a sponsored 

residential service provider, or permit to enter into a shared living arrangement with a person 

receiving medical assistance services any person who has been convicted of any offense set forth 

in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) of the definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 (i) within the 10 years 

prior to the application date for employment, and may hire a person who has been convicted of 

such offenses more than 10 years prior only if he has not been convicted of any other crime or 

suffered from drug addiction or alcohol abuse within the 10 years prior to the application date for 

employment, or (ii) if such person continues on probation or parole or has failed to pay required 

court costs for such offenses set forth in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) of the definition of barrier crime in 

§ 19.2-392.02. Under current law, with some exceptions, the Department, community services 

boards, and licensed providers shall not hire for compensated employment persons who have been 

convicted of any offense set forth in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) of the definition of barrier crime in § 

19.2-392.02.  (21103913D-S1)   

 

SB 1237 (Petersen) (Passed Senate) provides that any person who is affected by an order of 

quarantine may file an appeal in the circuit court for the city or county in which he resides or is 

located or the circuit court for the jurisdiction or jurisdictions for any affected area; currently, only 

a person who is subject to an order of quarantine may appeal the order. The bill also provides that 

in any case in which the Governor has issued an emergency order that includes any measure that 

closes schools or businesses or restricts the movement of healthy persons within the area to which 

the order applies, all of the rights, protections, and procedures applicable in the case of an order of 

quarantine issued by the Commissioner of Health shall apply.  (21102644D)   

 

SB 1273 (Deeds) (Passed Senate) creates the Behavioral Health Commission in the legislative 

branch of state government for the purpose of (i) studying and making recommendations for the 

improvement of behavioral health services and the behavioral health service system in the 

Commonwealth to encourage the adoption of policies to increase the quality and availability of 

and ensure access to the full continuum of high-quality, effective, and efficient behavioral health 

services for all persons in the Commonwealth and (ii) providing ongoing oversight of behavioral 

health services and the behavioral health service system in the Commonwealth, including 

monitoring and evaluation of established programs, services, and delivery and payment structures 

and implementation of new services and initiatives in the Commonwealth and development of 

recommendations for improving such programs, services, structures, and implementation.  

(21101274D-E) 

 

SB 1302 (McPike) (Passed Senate; HHWI) provides that the crisis call center, which under current 

law is administered by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (the 

Department), shall be designated as the 9-8-8 Crisis Hotline Center for purposes of participating 
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in the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. The bill directs the Department, in its development of 

the crisis call center, community care teams, and mobile crisis teams, to comply with any 

applicable requirements of the National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2020 and to provide 

for consistency with federal guidelines promulgated under such law. The bill contains immunity 

provisions for any originating service provider and its employees and agents acting pursuant to the 

act.  The bill increases from $0.75 to $0.94 the wireless E-911 surcharge and increases from $0.50 

to $0.63 the prepaid wireless E-911 charge. The bill provides that part of the revenue attributable 

to the increase would be distributed to the Crisis Call Center Fund, established by the bill, to fund 

the Department's costs in establishing and administering the call center, and that the remainder of 

the revenue would be distributed to public safety answering points (PSAPs).  (21103475D-S1)  

 

SB 1445 (Dunnavant) (Passed Senate; Passed House with substitute with amendment) facilitates 

the administration of the COVID-19 vaccine. The bill requires the Department of Health (the 

Department) to establish a process whereby any health care provider in the Commonwealth who 

is qualified and available to administer the COVID-19 vaccine may volunteer to administer the 

vaccine to citizens of the Commonwealth and sets out which health care providers are eligible to 

volunteer. The bill also requires the Department to establish a process on its website whereby 

medical care facilities, hospitals, hospital systems, corporations, businesses, pharmacies, public 

and private institutions of higher education, and any other professional or community entities 

operating in the Commonwealth may register such entity's facilities as sites that the Commissioner 

of Health and the Department may jointly approve as sites where administration of the COVID-19 

vaccine may occur. The bill permits a public institution of higher education or a private institution 

of higher education in the Commonwealth to volunteer to provide assistance to the Department 

and local health departments for data processing, analytics, and program development related to 

the COVID-19 vaccine through the use of its employees, students, technology, and facilities. The 

bill provides civil and criminal immunity to individuals and professional entities acting pursuant 

to the bill.  (21103925D-H1)  

 

Land Use  
 

HB 1738 (Wampler) (HGL) defines "outdoor refreshment area" and permits the governing body 

of any locality in the Commonwealth to designate, by ordinance, up to three outdoor refreshment 

areas within such locality. The bill provides that such ordinance would permit the consumption of 

alcoholic beverages within the outdoor refreshment area, provided that such alcoholic beverages 

are purchased from a permanent retail on-premises licensee located within such designated area 

and are contained in disposable containers with a maximum capacity of no more than 16 fluid 

ounces that clearly display the selling licensee's name or logo. The bill requires the locality, prior 

to adopting such an ordinance, to create a public safety plan for each outdoor refreshment area.  

(21100448D)  

 

HB 1775 (Kilgore) (Passed House; SCL) adds the State Corporation Commission to the list of 

agencies that are exempt from paying fees for remote access to local land records.  (21100750D) 

 

SB 1270 (Cosgrove) (Passed Senate; HCT) provides that the notice required to be sent to a 

landowner prior to an authorized condemnor recording a certificate of take or certificate of deposit 

shall state that (i) the certificate of take or certificate of deposit will be recorded between 30 and 

45 days from the date of the notice and (ii) that the property will transfer to the condemnor upon 
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recordation and that the owner has the right to petition the court for distribution of the funds 

represented in the certificate.  (21101493D) 

 

SJ 289 (Mason) (Reported from SPE) allows easements on public property to be granted in 

perpetuity to a public body, political subdivision, or authority of the Commonwealth or to the 

United States of America or any of its departments or agencies. The requirement to advertise and 

publicly receive bids does not apply to easements conveyed to any such governmental entity.  

(21102069D) 

 

Taxation 

 

HJ 614 (Mundon King) (HPE) provides that the General Assembly may by general law exempt 

from taxation the real property of a surviving spouse of (i) a member of the armed services who 

died while serving or (ii) a veteran who died from a service-connected disability or illness. Under 

a current constitutional provision, only the surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces who 

was killed in action is eligible for the real property tax exemption.  (21102946D) 

 

HJ 616 (Bourne) (HPE) provides that the General Assembly may authorize a locality to fully or 

partially exempt affordable housing, as such term may be defined by statute, from local real 

property taxation.  (21102942D) 

 

SB 1326 (Hanger) (Senate Floor) provides that, if a locality did not impose a cigarette tax as of 

January 1, 2021, the locality is prohibited from imposing a cigarette tax unless it is a member of a 

regional cigarette tax board. The bill also prohibits any locality from imposing a cigarette tax after 

January 1, 2026, unless such locality is a member of a regional cigarette tax board. The bill defines 

a regional cigarette tax board as a board with at least 10 member localities that is responsible for 

administering the cigarette taxes of all of its member localities.  (21104442D-S1) 

 

Transportation 

 

SB 1260 (Bell) (Passed Senate) requires the Commissioner of Highways to provide a landowner 

with 30 days' notice of the intent to enter and inspect property to ascertain suitability of the property 

for transportation purposes, and eliminates the requirement that the Commissioner first request 

permission to enter the property and then provide notice of intent to enter if permission is not 

granted.  (21103931D-S1)  

 

Legislation Provided for Information  
 

HB 2147 (Herring) (Passed House; SGL) renames the Division of Human Rights in the 

Department of Law as the Office of Civil Rights.  (21102585D) 

 

HB 2214 (O’Quinn) (HAPP) requires the Commonwealth Broadband Chief Advisor to develop 

and maintain a map of private broadband provider service territories, including accurate average 

broadband speeds in such territories. The map shall be updated yearly and be made available to 

the public.  (21103660D-H1) 
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SB 1298 (Bell) (Passed Senate; HCCT) authorizes any locality to create a local tourism 

improvement district plan, consisting of fees charged to businesses and used to fund tourism 

promotion activities and capital improvements. Under the bill, the locality is authorized to contract 

with a nonprofit entity to administer the activities and improvements. (21102381D) 

 

Animals 

 

SB 1135 (Marsden) (Passed Senate) restructures the procedure for adjudication of a dog as a 

dangerous dog to provide for (i) written notice by an animal control officer to the owner of the dog 

that he has applied for a summons, and a prohibition on disposal of the dog by the owner for 30 

days; (ii) the issuance of a summons with an option rather than a requirement that the officer 

confine the dog, a prohibition on the disposal of the dog other than by euthanasia, and an 

authorization for the court to compel the implanting of electronic identification; (iii) the holding 

of a hearing within 30 days unless good cause is shown; (iv) the authority of the court if deferring 

further proceedings without adjudicating to compel the implanting of electronic identification; and 

(v) a limit of 30 days for any appeal of a dangerous dog adjudication.  The bill authorizes an officer 

to obtain a summons for a hearing to determine whether a dog that has been surrendered is a 

dangerous dog and provides that any dangerous dog not reclaimed from the animal control officer 

within 10 days of notice shall be considered abandoned.  The bill imposes new requirements for 

the transfer of dangerous dogs, requiring a releasing agency that is transferring or releasing for 

adoption a dangerous dog in the Commonwealth to notify the receiving party of the legal 

requirements for keeping a dangerous dog. If the agency is transferring the dog outside the 

Commonwealth, it is required to notify the appropriate animal control officer of the dog's 

adjudication as dangerous. An owner who is bringing a dog found to be dangerous in another state 

to reside in the Commonwealth shall notify the local animal control officer. Any owner who 

disposes of a dangerous dog by gift, sale, transfer, trade, or surrender shall notify the receiver in 

writing of the dog's adjudication as dangerous, with a violation penalized as a Class 3 

misdemeanor. Finally, the bill provides that if a dangerous dog adjudication occurred within 60 

days of the end of the calendar year, the first renewal of the dangerous dog registration shall be 

included in the initial registration at no additional charge. The bill contains technical amendments.  

(21104008D-S2) 

 

SB 1390 (Lewis) (Passed Senate) authorizes any public or private animal shelter, releasing agency, 

or hospital or clinic that is operated under the immediate supervision of a duly licensed veterinarian 

to operate a trap, neuter, and return program, as defined in the bill. The bill exempts volunteers of 

such program from provisions related to abandonment and licensing of animals and exempts the 

operator from general requirements of shelters related to holding periods, release of animals, and 

recordkeeping. A person who violates certain required provisions for such a program is subject to 

a civil penalty not to exceed $150 brought by any animal control officer, humane investigator, 

releasing agency, or the State Veterinarian or State Veterinarian's representative.  (21102789D-E) 

 

Constitutional Amendments 

 

HJ 515 (Cole, M.) (HPE) adds to the Constitution of Virginia the fundamental right of parents to 

direct the upbringing, education, and care of their children. The amendment prohibits the 

Commonwealth from infringing these rights without demonstrating that the governmental interest 
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as applied to the person is of the highest order and not otherwise served. This section shall not be 

construed to apply to a parental action or decision that would physically harm or end the life of the 

child.  (21100554D) 

 

Marriage 

 

SJ 270 (Ebbin) (Reported from SPE) repeals the constitutional provision defining marriage as only 

a union between one man and one woman, as well as the related provisions that are no longer valid 

as a result of the United States Supreme Court decision in Obergefell v. Hodges, 576 U.S. 644 

(2015). The amendment provides that the Commonwealth and its political subdivisions and its 

agents are required to issue marriage licenses, recognize marriages, and treat all marriages equally 

under the law, regardless of the gender of the two parties to the marriage. The amendment further 

provides that religious organizations and clergy acting in their religious capacity have the right to 

refuse to perform any marriage.  (21100733D-S1)  

 

HJ 582 (Sickles) (Agreed to by House) repeals the constitutional provision defining marriage as 

only a union between one man and one woman as well as the related provisions that are no longer 

valid as a result of the United States Supreme Court decision in Obergefell v. Hodges, 576 U.S. 

644 (2015). The amendment provides that the right to marry is a fundamental right inherent in the 

liberty of persons and requires the Commonwealth and its political subdivisions and agents to issue 

marriage licenses, recognize marriages, and treat all marriages equally under the law, regardless 

of the sex or gender of the parties to the marriage. Religious organizations and clergy acting in 

their religious capacity have the right to refuse to perform any marriage.  (21104282D-H1) 

 

Voting 

 

HJ 555 (Herring) (Agreed to by House) provides that no person who has been convicted of a 

felony shall be qualified to vote until the completion of his sentence of imprisonment or active 

supervision, at which time, without further action required of him, his political rights, including 

the right to vote, shall be restored. A person convicted of a felony may also have his civil rights 

restored by the Governor or other appropriate authority.  (21104281D-H1)  

 

SJ 272 (Locke) (Reported from SPE) establishes that the sole qualifications to vote in the 

Commonwealth are being a United States citizen, at least 18 years of age, a resident of the 

Commonwealth, and registered to vote in accordance with the requirements set out in the 

Constitution of Virginia. The amendment further provides that any person who meets those 

qualifications has the right to vote and that such right cannot be abridged by law. The bill lifts 

restrictions on qualifications to vote for those who have been convicted of a felony or adjudicated 

to be mentally incompetent.  (21100635D) 

 

Courts 

 

HB 2143 (Miyares) (HCT) provides immunity to persons, as defined in the bill, from civil causes 

of action arising from any act or omission alleged to have resulted in the contraction of or exposure 

to the COVID-19 virus, provided such person has complied with applicable federal, state, and local 

policies, procedures, and guidance regarding COVID-19. The bill further provides immunity to 
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persons who design, manufacture, label, or distribute any personal protective equipment in 

response to the COVID-19 virus from any civil cause of action arising out of the use of such 

equipment. The bill contains an emergency clause, and the immunities provided by such bill expire 

two years after the expiration or revocation of all states of emergency declared by the Governor 

related to the COVID-19 pandemic.  (21100670D)  

 

SB 1180 (Surovell) (Passed Senate) provides that a circuit court may enter an order joining, 

coordinating, consolidating, or transferring civil actions upon finding that separate civil actions 

brought by a plaintiff on behalf of multiple similarly situated persons involve common questions 

of law or fact and arise out of the same transaction, occurrence, or series of transactions or 

occurrences. The bill requires the Supreme Court to promulgate rules no later than November 1, 

2021, governing such actions. The bill has a delayed effective date of July 1, 2022.  (21103326D-

ES1)  

 

SB 1181 (Surovell) (Passed Senate) permits the Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court to 

retain jurisdiction in cases where a child has petitioned the court to make findings of fact that 

would allow the child to apply for or receive a state or federal benefit until such child reaches 21 

years of age for the purpose of entering findings of fact or amending past orders, to include findings 

of fact necessary for the person to petition the federal government for status as a special immigrant 

juvenile.  (21102430D) 

 

Education/Schools 

 

HB 1776 (Ward) (Passed House; SEH) requires the Board of Education to grant a two-year 

extension of the license of any individual licensed by the Board whose license expires on June 30, 

2021, in order to provide the individual with sufficient additional time to complete the 

requirements for licensure.  (21101678D-E) 

 

HB 1790 (McNamara) (Passed House; SEH) provides that when severe weather conditions or 

other emergency situations have resulted in the closing of any school in a school division for in-

person instruction, the school division may declare an unscheduled remote learning day whereby 

the school provides instruction and student services, consistent with guidelines established by the 

Department of Education to ensure the equitable provision of such services, without a reduction in 

the amount paid by the Commonwealth from the Basic School Aid Fund. The bill prohibits any 

school division from claiming more than 10 unscheduled remote learning days in a school year 

unless the Superintendent of Public Instruction grants an extension.  (21101395D-E)  

 

HB 1865 (Delaney) (Passed House; SEH) requires reading intervention services for students in 

kindergarten through grade three who demonstrate deficiencies based on their individual 

performance on the Standards of Learning reading test or any reading diagnostic test that meets 

criteria established by the Department of Education to be evidence-based, including services that 

are grounded in the science of reading, and include explicit, systematic, sequential, and cumulative 

instruction, to include phonemic awareness, systematic phonics, fluency, vocabulary development, 

and text comprehension as appropriate based on the student's demonstrated reading deficiencies. 

The bill requires the parent of each student who receives such reading intervention services to be 
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notified before the services begin and the progress of each such student to be monitored throughout 

the provision of services.  (21101101D-E) 

 

HB 1904 (Jenkins) (Passed House; SEH)/SB 1196 (Locke) (Senate Floor) requires teacher, 

principal, and division superintendent evaluations to include an evaluation of cultural competency. 

The bill requires every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license from the Board of 

Education (i) to complete instruction or training in cultural competency and (ii) with an 

endorsement in history and social sciences to complete instruction in African American history, as 

prescribed by the Board. The bill also requires each school board to adopt and implement policies 

that require each teacher and any other school board employee holding a license issued by the 

Board to complete cultural competency training, in accordance with guidance issued by the Board, 

at least every two years.  (21101996D, 21101992D)  

 

HB 1918 (Mugler) (Passed House; SEH) requires (i) driver education programs to include 

instruction on the dangers of distracted driving and speeding and (ii) a student to submit a standard 

application form developed by the Department of Education by which the student provides 

evidence that he possesses of a valid driver's license or driver privilege card before being issued a 

pass to park a vehicle on high school property.  (21103086D-H1) 

 

HB 2277 (Bell) (HAPP) requires any child with a disability who receives special education and 

related services, reaches age 22 after September 30, 2020, and is scheduled to complete high school 

in the spring of 2021 to be given the option for an extension to attend high school for the duration 

of the 2021-22 school year.  (21102477D) 

 

SB 1109 (Stanley) (Reported from SPE) provides for a statewide referendum on the question of 

whether the General Assembly shall issue state general obligation bonds in the amount of $3 billion 

for the purpose of K-12 school building construction, repair, or other capital projects related to the 

modernization of school facilities. The results would be advisory only and are intended only to 

demonstrate the preference of the citizens of the Commonwealth on the issuance of such bonds. 

The bill provides that the referendum be held at the November 2021 general election.  

(21100844D) 

 

SB 1204 (Barker) (Passed Senate; HED) provides a management agreement between the 

Commonwealth and George Mason University pursuant to the Restructured Higher Education 

Financial and Administrative Operations Act (§ 23.1-1000 et seq.).  (21101124D-E) 

 

SB 1433 (Chase) (SEH) provides that, if a school operates a reduced schedule and the school offers 

online or virtual learning as a substitute for in-person attendance, it shall deposit a portion of 

unused funds resulting from the reduced schedule in a voucher account for each student, for use 

on programs operated by the school division or other educational options, whether public, private, 

or parochial.  (21102770D) 
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Elections 

 

SB 1157 (Spruill) (Passed Senate; HPE) shifts all municipal elections for city and town council 

and school board from May to November, beginning with elections held after January 1, 2022.  

(21100131D) 

 

Emergency Operations and Services 

 

HB 2085 (Askew) (Passed House; SGL) requires local and interjurisdictional agencies to include 

provisions in their emergency operations plans to ensure that such plans are applied equitably and 

that the needs of minority and vulnerable communities are met during emergencies.  (21102351D)  

 

Environment and Energy 

 

HB 1760 (Webert) (Passed House; SACNR) provides that an easement held pursuant to the 

Virginia Conservation Easement Act or the Open-Space Land Act shall be construed in favor of 

achieving the conservation purposes for which it was created.  (21102392D-H1) 

 

SB 1199 (Petersen) (Passed Senate; HAG) provides that an easement held pursuant to the Virginia 

Conservation Easement Act or the Open-Space Land Act be liberally construed in favor of 

achieving the conservation purposes for which it was created.  (21100906D-E) 

 

HB 1902 (Carr) (Passed House; SACNR) prohibits the dispensing by a food vendor of prepared 

food to a customer in a single-use expanded polystyrene food service container, as defined in the 

bill. The bill requires certain chain restaurants to stop using such containers by July 1, 2023, and 

sets the date for compliance by all food vendors as July 1, 2025. The bill exempts nonprofit 

organizations from the definition of "food vendor" and provides a process by which a locality may 

grant consecutive one-year exemptions to individual food vendors on the basis of undue economic 

hardship. The bill provides a civil penalty of not more than $50 for each day of violation, to be 

collected in a civil action brought by the Attorney General or the relevant locality. The penalties 

collected are to be deposited in the Litter Control and Recycling Fund or to the treasury of the 

relevant locality, as appropriate. A portion of the penalties deposited in the Fund are to be used for 

public information campaigns to discourage the sale and use of expanded polystyrene products. 

Finally, the bill directs the Department of Environmental Quality to post to its website information 

on compliance and the filing of complaints. This bill is a reenactment of Chapter 1104 of the Acts 

of Assembly of 2020.  (21100816D-E) 

 

HB 1965 (Bagby) (Passed House; SACNR) directs the State Air Pollution Control Board to 

implement a low-emissions and zero-emissions vehicle program for motor vehicles with a model 

year of 2025 and later. Regulations adopted by the Board to implement the program are exempt 

from the Administrative Process Act and shall not become effective prior to January 1, 2024. The 

bill also authorizes the State Corporation Commission to exclude sales related to such vehicles 

from certain energy efficiency calculations.  (21101651D-E) 

 

HB 2030 (Krizek) (Passed House; SACNR) prohibits any person from applying an aerosolized 

neonicotinoid insecticide for personal use unless the person (i) is certified or under the direct 
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supervision of a certified applicator or (ii) provides 24 hours' notice to the owner of any managed 

beehive within the line of sight of the application area. A person who violates the prohibition shall 

be subject to a civil penalty of $100.  (21103859D-H1)   

 

SB 1265 (Deeds) (Reported from SACNR) authorizes the Department of Environmental Quality 

to conduct inspections of the land-disturbing activities related to construction of any natural gas 

transmission pipeline equal to or greater than 24 inches inside diameter. Current law authorizes 

such inspections only if such inside diameter is greater than 36 inches. The bill also specifies 

certain instances that may give rise to such inspection and authorizes the Department to issue a 

stop work order for every work area in Virginia in the event that adverse impacts or likely adverse 

impacts are found on a repeated, frequent, and widespread basis.  (21103789D-S1) 

 

SB 1290 (Mason) (Passed Senate; HAG) establishes in the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation a data-driven Geographical Information Systems model to prioritize potential 

conservation areas across the Commonwealth that would provide quantifiable benefits to the 

citizens of Virginia, known as ConserveVirginia. Aspects of the program include (i) the synthesis 

of multiple mapped data inputs, divided into categories, each representing a different overarching 

conservation value, and periodic revision of such values; (ii) access to the model by the public and 

all state and federal agencies; and (iii) incorporation of the model into acquisition or grant 

decisions when appropriate. The bill requires the Virginia Land Conservation Foundation to report 

on the success of the program and incorporate the program into needs assessments for expenditures 

from the Virginia Land Conservation Fund.  (21103330D-S1) 

 

Firearms 

 

HB 2128 (Lopez) (Passed House; SJUD) increases from three business days to five business days 

the time provided for the Department of State Police to complete a background check before a 

firearm may be transferred. If a dealer who has otherwise fulfilled all requirements is told by the 

State Police that a response will not be available by the end of the dealer's fifth business day, the 

dealer may complete the sale or transfer without being deemed in violation.  (21102376D) 

 

HB 2295 (Levine) (Passed House; SRUL) makes it a Class 1 misdemeanor for a person to carry 

any firearm within (i) the Capitol of Virginia; (ii) Capitol Square and the surrounding area, as 

described in the bill; (iii) any building, parking lot, or parking structure owned or leased by the 

Commonwealth or any agency thereof; (iv) any building owned or leased by the Commonwealth 

where employees of the Commonwealth perform their official duties; or (v) any building where 

the General Assembly meets or conducts its business. The bill provides exceptions for law-

enforcement officers, court officers, authorized security personnel, and active military personnel 

while in the conduct of such person's official duties; any retired law-enforcement officer who is 

visiting a gun range owned or leased by the Commonwealth; and any state employee of a state or 

juvenile correctional facility who is authorized to carry a firearm while in the conduct of such 

employee's official duties. The bill provides that an individual who lawfully possesses a firearm 

may keep such firearm in his locked vehicle in a parking lot or parking structure described in 

clause (iii) so long as the firearm is (a) secured, (b) not visible, and (c) in a container or 

compartment inside of the vehicle. The bill requires that notice of the provisions prohibiting the 

carrying of such firearms be posted at each of the public entrances to Capitol Square and such 
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buildings, parking lots, and parking structures. The bill also provides that any firearm carried in 

violation of these provisions is subject to seizure by a law-enforcement officer and forfeiture to 

the Commonwealth.  (21104055D-H3) 

 

HB 2310 (Runion) (Passed House; SJUD) provides that any applicant for a concealed handgun 

permit who completed an online course to demonstrate competence with a handgun and contacted 

the circuit court clerk's office prior to January 1, 2021, but was prohibited from appearing in person 

at a circuit court clerk's office because of COVID-19 restrictions is eligible to apply for such permit 

through April 30, 2021. The bill contains an emergency clause.  (21104074D-H1) 

 

HB 2319 (Guzman) (Passed House; SJUD) makes it unlawful for an individual residing in or 

sharing a dwelling with any person who such individual knows or has reason to believe is 

prohibited from possessing or transporting a firearm to allow such person access to any firearm. 

The bill requires that any individual in possession of a firearm who resides with a person prohibited 

from transporting or possessing a firearm store the firearm unloaded, locked, and inaccessible to 

such co-resident and also store any ammunition locked, inaccessible, and in a separate location 

from any firearm. A violation of the bill is punishable by a civil penalty of not more than $500.  

(21104015D-H1) 

 

SB 1250 (Deeds) (Senate Floor) provides that for the purposes of conducting a criminal history 

record information check for a firearm transfer, the term "rent" includes a temporary change in 

dominion or control of a firearm for use at or on the premises of a dealer's business location in 

exchange for money or other consideration. Under current federal law, the rental of a firearm for 

use on a dealer's business premises is not considered to be a sale, disposition, or delivery of the 

firearm; therefore, such rental would not allow for a National Instant Criminal Background Check 

System check to be performed. The bill would allow the Virginia State Police to conduct a Virginia 

state criminal history record information check instead.  (21104379D-S1) 

 

Health and Human Services  

 

HB 2053 (Samirah) (House Floor) directs the Department of Housing and Community 

Development (Department) to convene a stakeholder advisory group to evaluate the construction 

of internal, attached, and detached accessory dwelling units as a strategy to address the 

Commonwealth's growing demand for affordable and market-rate housing. The bill requires the 

stakeholder advisory group to report its findings and recommendations, including any legislative 

recommendations, to the Director of the Department, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the 

commissioners of the Virginia Housing Development Authority, and the Virginia Housing 

Commission no later than November 1, 2021.  (21104312D-H1) 

 

HB 2124 (Lopez) (Passed House; SEH) directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services to, 

during a public health emergency related to COVID-19 declared by the United States Secretary of 

Health and Human Services, deem testing for, treatment of, and vaccination against COVID-19 to 

be emergency services for which payment may be made pursuant to federal law for certain aliens 

not lawfully admitted for permanent residence.  (21102611D-E) 
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HB 2154 (Adams, L.) (Passed House; SRSS) directs the Board of Health to amend regulations 

governing hospitals, nursing homes, and certified nursing facilities to require each hospital, 

nursing home, and certified nursing facility to establish and implement policies to ensure the 

permissible access to and use of an intelligent personal assistant provided by the patient while 

receiving inpatient services. "Intelligent personal assistant" is defined in the bill as a combination 

of an electronic device and a specialized software application designed to assist users with basic 

tasks using a combination of natural language processing and artificial intelligence, including such 

combinations known as "digital assistants" or "virtual assistants."  (21103464D-H1) 

 

HB 2230 (Bell) (Passed House) directs the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (the Department) to develop and implement a program to educate individuals with 

intellectual and developmental disabilities, their families, and others regarding the availability of 

supported decision-making agreements, the process by which an individual with an intellectual or 

developmental disability may enter into a supported decision-making agreement with a supporter, 

and the rights and responsibilities of principals and supporters who are parties to a supported 

decision-making agreement, which shall include specific training opportunities, development of 

model supported decision-making agreements, and development of information about and 

protocols for preventing, identifying, and addressing abuse and exploitation of individuals with 

intellectual and developmental disabilities who enter into supported decision-making agreements. 

The bill directs the Department to collect data regarding the utilization of supported decision-

making agreements in the Commonwealth and report such information, together with 

recommendations to enhance the utilization of supported decision-making agreements, annually 

to the Governor and the General Assembly by November 1.  (21101478D) 

 

SB 1235 (Peake) (Passed Senate) prohibits any person employed by or who has entered into a 

contract to provide services on behalf of the Department of Health or a local department of health 

from initiating communication regarding health-related matters with a minor on behalf of the 

Department or local department of health without the consent of the minor's parent, except as 

otherwise required by law.  (21101145D-E2) 

 

Land Use 

 

HB 2054 (Samirah) (Passed House; SLG) adds reducing, modifying, or waiving local parking 

requirements or ratios to the strategies that may be included when certain larger localities consider 

incorporating strategies to promote transit-oriented development in reviews of their 

comprehensive plans. The bill removes from the existing strategy of increasing development 

density in certain areas to reduce density in others the phrase "to reduce density in others."  

(21101042D) 

 

SB 1143 (Cosgrove) (Passed Senate) retroactively extends until January 1, 2022, certain wetlands 

permits set to expire between March 1, 2020, and July 1, 2021.  (21101885D) 

 

Public Safety/Criminal Justice  

 

HB 2263 (Mullin) (House Floor) abolishes the death penalty, including for those persons currently 

under a death sentence.  (21104346D-H1) 
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SB 1165 (Surovell) (Passed Senate) abolishes the death penalty, including for those persons 

currently under a death sentence.  (21103949D-S4) 

 

HB 1821 (Bulova) (Passed House; SJUD) prohibits the arrest or prosecution of an individual for 

the unlawful purchase, possession, or consumption of alcohol, possession of a controlled 

substance, possession of marijuana, intoxication in public, or possession of controlled 

paraphernalia if (i) such individual, in good faith, renders emergency care or assistance, including 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) or the administration of naloxone or other opioid antagonist 

for overdose reversal, to an individual experiencing an overdose while another individual seeks or 

obtains emergency medical attention; (ii) such individual remains at the scene of the overdose or 

at any location to which he or the individual requiring emergency medical attention has been 

transported; (iii) such individual identifies himself to the law-enforcement officer who responds; 

and (iv) the evidence for a prosecution of one of the enumerated offenses would have been obtained 

only as a result of the individual's rendering emergency care or assistance.  Current law prohibits 

arrest or prosecution for such offenses only to an individual who seeks or obtains emergency 

medical attention for himself or another individual or who is experiencing an overdose when 

another individual seeks or obtains emergency medical attention for him.  (21102028D-E)   

 

HB 1894 (Kory) (Passed House; SEH) authorizes employees of the Department of Juvenile Justice 

designated as probation and parole officers or as juvenile correctional officers to possess and 

administer naloxone or other opioid antagonist for overdose reversal pursuant to an oral or written 

order or standing protocol issued by the prescriber within the course of his professional practice.  

(21101928D) 

 

HB 1909 (Subramanyam) (Passed House; SEH) permits any school board to deem any non-school 

zone property that it owns or leases as a gun-free zone and prohibit any individual from knowingly 

possessing, purchasing, transferring, carrying, storing, or transporting firearms, ammunition, or 

components or combination thereof while such individual is upon such property, except certain 

individuals such as law-enforcement officers and qualified retired law-enforcement officers.  

(21103262D-H1) 

 

HB 1936 (Watts) (Passed House; SJUD) creates degrees of punishment corresponding to the 

severity of a robbery offense. Any person who commits a robbery and causes serious bodily injury 

to or the death of another person is guilty of a Class 2 felony. Any person who commits robbery 

by using or displaying a firearm in a threatening manner is guilty of a Class 3 felony. Any person 

who commits robbery by using physical force not resulting in serious bodily injury, or by using or 

displaying a deadly weapon other than a firearm in a threatening manner, is guilty of a Class 5 

felony. Any person who commits robbery by using threat or intimidation not involving a deadly 

weapon is guilty of a Class 6 felony. Under current law, any robbery is punishable by confinement 

in a state correctional facility for life or any term not less than five years.  (21103380D-H1) 

 

HB 1948 (Levine) (Passed House; SJUD) requires any law-enforcement officer on duty who 

witnesses another person suffering from a serious bodily injury or a life-threatening condition to 

render aid and makes it a duty to report acts of wrongdoing, defined in the bill and including bias-

based profiling, committed by another law-enforcement officer on duty. Any law-enforcement 

officer who fails to render such aid or report such wrongdoing committed by another law-
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enforcement officer shall be subject to disciplinary action, including dismissal, demotion, 

suspension, or transfer of the law-enforcement officer. The bill also expands the definition of "bias-

based profiling," a practice banned for sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, other local law-enforcement 

officers, and State Police officers in the performance of their official duties, to include sexual 

orientation and gender identity.  (21102665D) 

 

HB 1951 (Simon) (Passed House; SJUD) abolishes the common-law crime of suicide. Suicide is 

currently a common-law crime in Virginia, although there is no statutorily prescribed punishment.  

(21100986D) 

 

HB 1990 (Aird) (Passed House; SRUL) provides that the Chair of the House Committee for Courts 

of Justice or the Chair of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary may request the Joint Legislative 

Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) to review and prepare a racial and ethnic impact 

statement for a proposed criminal justice bill to outline its potential impact on racial and ethnic 

disparities within the Commonwealth. The bill requires JLARC to provide copies of the impact 

statement to the requesting chair and the patron of the proposed bill. No more than three racial and 

ethnic impact statements may be requested by the Chair of the House Committee for Courts of 

Justice and no more than two racial and ethnic impact statements may be requested by the Chair 

of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary for completion during a single regular session of the 

General Assembly.  (21101711D)  

 

HB 2132 (Roem) (House Floor) provides that the discovery of, perception of, or belief about 

another person's actual or perceived sex, gender, gender identity, or sexual orientation, whether or 

not accurate, is not a defense to any charge of capital murder, murder in the first degree, murder 

in the second degree, voluntary manslaughter, or assault and bodily wounding-related crimes and 

is not provocation negating malice as an element of murder.  (21104105D-H1)  

 

HB 2303 (Hudson) (HCT) reduces the penalty for possession of a Schedule I or II controlled 

substance from a Class 5 felony to a Class 1 misdemeanor and the penalty for possession of a 

Schedule IV or V controlled substance from a Class 2 misdemeanor and a Class 3 misdemeanor, 

respectively, to a Class 4 misdemeanor. Consequently, the bill removes felony violations of 

possession of a controlled substance from the definition of barrier crime related to criminal history 

checks for eligibility for various types of employment, to volunteer or provide certain services, or 

to establish or operate certain types of regulated businesses.  The bill also limits the previous 

convictions that make a person ineligible for disposition under the first offender statute to a 

previous conviction for possession of a controlled substance or manufacturing, selling, giving, 

distributing, or possessing with intent to manufacture, sell, give, or distribute a controlled 

substance or an imitation controlled substance. Under current law, a previous conviction for any 

drug-related criminal offense, or under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to 

narcotic drugs, marijuana, or stimulant, depressant, or hallucinogenic drugs makes a person 

ineligible for such disposition. The bill also amends the required conditions of probation under the 

first offender statute.  The bill changes the penalty for an attempt to commit a felony drug offense 

from imprisonment for not less than one nor more than 10 years to a Class 6 felony and removes 

the felony offenses for a prisoner to secrete or have in his possession any chemical compound that 

he has not lawfully received, any Schedule III controlled substance, or marijuana. The bill makes 

secreting or possessing a controlled substance or marijuana by a prisoner punishable the same as 
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possession of such controlled substances or marijuana by a person who is not in prison. Lastly, the 

bill provides that the definition of "controlled substance" for purposes of the Drug Control Act 

shall not include mere residue of any drug, substance, or immediate precursor in Schedules I 

through VI that is not a weighable quantity or a countable dosage unit. The bill contains technical 

amendments.  (21102869D) 

 

HB 2331 (Mullin) (House Floor) eliminates many mandatory minimum sentences of confinement 

from the Code of Virginia. The bill also provides a petition process for a person who was convicted 

or adjudicated delinquent of a certain felony offense committed prior to July 1, 2021,  and 

sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of confinement for such felony offense and who remains 

incarcerated in a state or local correctional facility serving the mandatory minimum term of 

confinement for such felony offense to petition the circuit court that entered the original judgment 

or order to (i) suspend the unserved portion of such mandatory minimum sentence, (ii) place such 

person on probation for such time as the court shall determine, or (iii) otherwise modify the 

sentence imposed. The bill provides that such petition shall be filed by July 1, 2024. This bill is a 

recommendation of the Virginia State Crime Commission.  (21103590D-E) 

 

SB 1138 (Locke) (Senate Floor) repeals the crime of infected sexual battery. The bill also repeals 

the crime of donating or selling blood, body fluids, organs, and tissues by persons infected with 

human immunodeficiency virus and the provisions regarding the testing of certain persons for 

human immunodeficiency virus or hepatitis B or C viruses. The bill contains technical 

amendments.  (21101066D-E) 

 

SB 1443 (Edwards) (Senate Floor) eliminates all mandatory minimum sentences of confinement 

from the Code of Virginia. The bill also provides a petition process for a person who was convicted 

or adjudicated delinquent of a felony offense committed prior to July 1, 2021, except for a Class 1 

felony or any felony that was punishable by a mandatory minimum term of confinement for life, 

and sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of confinement for such felony offense and who 

remains incarcerated in a state or local correctional facility serving the mandatory minimum term 

of confinement for such felony offense to petition the circuit court that entered the original 

judgment or order to (i) suspend the unserved portion of such mandatory minimum sentence, (ii) 

place such person on probation for such time as the court shall determine, or (iii) otherwise modify 

the sentence imposed. The bill provides that such petition shall be filed by July 1, 2024. This bill 

is a recommendation of the Virginia State Crime Commission.  (21103563D-S1) 

 

SB 1461 (Lewis) (Passed Senate) provides that any person who (i) offers, confers, or agrees to 

confer upon another any pecuniary benefit as consideration for the recipient to act in the unlawful 

delivery of items or contraband to prisoners or (ii) receives any pecuniary benefit or other 

consideration to act in in the unlawful delivery of items or contraband to prisoners shall be guilty 

of bribery, punishable as a Class 4 felony. The bill also provides that any law-enforcement officer, 

jail officer, or correctional officer who violates the provisions of the bill shall be decertified and 

shall be forever ineligible for reemployment as a law-enforcement officer, jail officer, or 

correctional officer in the Commonwealth.  (21102737D) 

 


