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FAIRFAX CIRCUIT COURT  
 

SERVICE INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 
 

FILING AND SERVICE INFORMATION 
 
 

 For Service Fees – See Current Fee Schedule at:  
 

 http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CCR-A-20.pdf 

 
 
 
Methods of Payment: 

 
 

NO PERSONAL CHECKS ARE ACCEPTED 
 

 Filing and Service fees may be paid by cash, credit card (Visa & MasterCard 
only, Court will assess a 4% convenience fee) certified check or money order 
for each case filed payable to: 

 

  Clerk of the Circuit Court 
  4110 Chain Bridge Road 
  Fairfax, Virginia 22030 

 Attention:  Civil Intake 
 

 The Court accepts check payment by members of the Virginia Bar Association. 
   

o The check must provide counsel’s Virginia Bar Association number. 

 

 Separate payment must be made for each new case filing. 
 

 

 Visa & MasterCard Credit Card payments are accepted; however a 4% 
convenience fee will be assessed.  

 
 

 Some entities require separate checks payable to them specifically.  
  

 These include: 
 

 Secretary of the Commonwealth 

 Division of Motor Vehicles 

 State Corporation Commission  

 
 
 
 

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CCR-A-20.pdf
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Types of Service: 
 
INDICATE HOW SERVICE IS TO BE MADE: 

 

 Sheriff 

 Special Process Server 

 Attorney Prepared Summons 

 Secretary of the Commonwealth 

 Division of Motor Vehicles 

 State Corporation Commission 

 Order of Publication 

 Other 

 
 

Service by Sheriff:   
 

It is the responsibility of the party requesting service or subpoena to advise the Clerk’s Office 
to which Sheriff the service or subpoena should be directed, to wit: Alexandria, Arlington, 
Fairfax, Prince William, etc. 

 
 
 

Service by Private Process Server:   
 

When service or subpoena is by Private Process Server or other form which requires counsel 
or individual to pick-up service from Clerks Office, you are required to provide the Clerk at the 
counter with the case number of the subpoena and or service. 

 

 Law offices that utilize a Courier Service to pick-up any types of service please 
provide them with the appropriate case number 

 
 
 

Twenty-one (21) Day Summons:    
 

Rule 3:5 
 Twenty-one (21) day Summons requires an original Complaint and one (1) 

additional copy for each service requested  
 

 If requesting Alias Service you must file a praecipe directing the Clerk to issue 
service, along with one (1) copy of the original filing for each service requested  

 
 
 

Attorney Prepared 21 Day Summons: 
 

The Attorney Prepared 21 Days Summons is filed at the same time the initial case is filed.  
There are three (3) different fillable forms for 21 days summons.  Forms are located on the 
Fairfax Bar Association intranet. 
 

 Sheriff Service (Sheriff’s fees will continue to be collected by the Clerk’s Office as 
part of the initial filing fees.) 
 

 Special Process Service 
 

 Notary Acceptance 
 

The original 21 day Summons must be printed on blue paper and two (2) copies of the original 
are required at the time of filing. 
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Pleading to be Served: 

 

Pleadings to be served require an original plus one (1) copy for each defendant requiring 
service 
 
 
 
 

Secretary of the Commonwealth: 
 

Service through the Secretary of the Commonwealth requires the following for each defendant 
to be served: 

 

 Original plus one (1) additional copy of the pleading to be served. 
 

 Original plus three (3) copies of the ‘Affidavit of Last Known Address’ for each 
defendant served. 

 

 Certified mail card completed with the address of where the card is to be returned. 
 

 Envelope(s) addressed to each defendant. 
 

 A self-addressed stamped envelope for return of service to party requesting 
service. 

 
Applicable code sections §8.01-301, 8.01-310, 8.01-329, 55-218.1, 57-51 
 
 

 

Division of Motor Vehicles: 
 

Service through DMV requires the following for each defendant to be served: 
 

 Original plus two (2) copies of the pleading(s) to be served. 

 Original plus three (3) copies of each ‘Affidavit of Last Known Address’ for each 
defendant to be served. 

 

Applicable code section §8.01-308 
 
 
 

State Corporation Commission: 
 

Service through the State Corporation Commission requires the following for each defendant 
to be served: 

 

 Original plus two (2) copies of the pleading(s) to be served. 
 

 Original plus three (3) copies of the statement or ‘Affidavit of Last Known Address’ 
for each defendant to be served. 

 

Statement or Affidavit must comply with the Code of Virginia. 
 

Applicable code sections §12.1-19.1 and §13.2-637 
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Order of Publication: 
 
A publication can be published in any Newspaper that has been authorized by this Court to 
print legal notices and publications in accordance with §8.01-324 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
An order of publication must be published in a newspaper prescribed by the court pursuant to 
§8.01-317 of the Code of Virginia.  The amount of times that the publication is to run in the 
newspaper is prescribed by statute.   
 
The following newspaper has been authorized by the Fairfax Circuit Court to print orders of 
publication.  This newspaper has a regular schedule when they come to the courthouse to 
pick up publications.   
 

 Washington Times   $25.00    (Rates are subject to change) 
 

o Note:  Juvenile Appeal Cases - $50.00 
o Make checks payable to:   Washington Times 
 

o Contact information:     
 Jill Carr 
      703-425-0903 

 
 Forms for affidavits & orders of publication can be obtained in the Clerk’s Office. 
 
 If additional fees are required, the newspaper will bill the petitioner or counsel. 

 
     Required Documentation: 
 

 Original order of publication. 

 Affidavit notarized by complainant or attorney. 

 An envelope addressed to the individual being served by publication at their last 
known address (if known). 

 

 A completed certified mail receipt or registered mail receipt and appropriate fees 
for such mailing (See Fee Schedule). 

 

 One (1) copy of the pleading to be served by publication. 
 
 

     Affidavit must state the following: 
 

 The individual is a non-resident of Virginia, or 
 

 The individual cannot be found, that due diligence has been used without effect to 
ascertain the location of the party to be served, or 

 

 The individual cannot be served with court process, and that a return has been 
filed by the Sheriff which shows that the process has been in his/her hands for 
twenty-one (21) days and the Sheriff has been unable to make service. 
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     For Publication in other newspapers 
 

 Complainant or attorney must make specific arrangements with that newspaper.   

 The court will process the order of publication documentation. 

 The complainant or attorney must make arrangements to have the documentation 
delivered to the newspaper for publication. 

 
 
Subpoena Issuance 
 
The following is required for the Court to issue a subpoena for a witness and/or for production 
of documents: 

 
Subpoena – Witness: 
 

 Original subpoena request. 

 Name & address of witness to appear at trial or deposition. 

 Date & time of trial or deposition. 

 Place of trial or deposition.   

 
Subpoena Duces Tecum:  (Request must comply with Rule 4:9C) 

 

 Original and one (1) copy of the subpoena duces tecum request for each service. 
 

 Name & address of the person to be deposed. 
 

 Date & time of deposition or hearing. 
 

 Address where deposition or production will take place in Virginia. 
 

 Medical records subpoena  
o Notice to Provider must be included pursuant to §32.1-127 1:03 of the Code 

of Virginia. 
 

 Items to be produced as a result of the subpoena. 
 

 A certificate of service or statement showing that the opposing party was mailed a 
copy of the request for subpoena duces tecum. 
 

 Payment of filing fees and service fees  (See Fee Schedule) 
 http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CCR-A-20.pdf 

 
Subpoena – Attorney Issued: 
 
The summons and any transmittal sheet shall be deemed a pleading to which the provisions 
of §8.01-271.1 of the Code of Virginia apply.  The original attorney issued  subpoena and one 
(1) copy for each person being served is mailed by counsel directly to the sheriff or private 
process server.  If service by the sheriff, a transmittal letter is required and is deemed to be 
part of the pleading.  
 

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CCR-A-20.pdf
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The following is required to file an attorney issued subpoena with the court: 
 

 Copy of attorney issued subpoena - witness and/or duces tecum with 
transmittal letter. 

 

 For medical records subpoena, a ‘Notice to Provider’ must be included 
o §32.1-127 1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 
 

 Cover letter stating how subpoena is being served (Sheriff or Private Process). 
 

 Fees for Service by Sheriff (See Fee Schedule) 
   

Applicable Code of Virginia sections:     
           § 8.01-407, § 8.01-413, §16.1-89, §16.1-265, §32.1-127:03, and Rule 1:4, 4:5, 4:9. 


			4110 Chain Bridge Road

			Fairfax, Virginia 22030


