To speak with a Victim Services Specialist about an incident and services that may be available to you, please contact the district station in your area at:

Fair Oaks (703) 591-0966 Franconia (703) 922-0889 Mason (703) 256-8035 Mclean (703) 556-7750 Mt. Vernon (703) 360-8400 (703) 478-0904 Reston West Springfield (703) 644-7377 Sully (703) 814-7000

If you are in need of immediate assistance and are unable to reach a Victim Services Specialist at the station, please contact the Victim Services Division main number at (703) 246-2141.



A Fairfax County, Va publication

Serving the citizens of Fairfax County, Fairfax City, and the Towns of Herndon and Vienna



This project is supported by grant #19-W9279VG17 awarded by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services with funds from the Office for Victims of Crime U.S. Department of Justice.

A Protective Order is a legal document issued by a judge to protect the health and safety of a person who is a victim of any act involving violence, force or threat that results in bodily injury or places that person in fear of death, sexual assault or bodily injury. There are three different types of protective orders: Emergency Protective Order (EPO), Preliminary Protective Order (lasts 15 days), and Protective Order (lasts up to 2 years). Although a protective order does not ultimately stop someone who intends harm, it does put certain legal protections in place. If you have questions about protective orders, please call 703-246-2141 and an advocate can assist you.

How to apply for a Protective Order

For a protective order against a family or household member, schedule an appointment at **Domestic Relations Intake** located at the **Fairfax County Courthouse** by calling 703-246-3040.

For a protective order against someone not considered a family or household member, you may file in the **General District Court** at the Fairfax County Courthouse, 4110 Chain Bridge Rd. Fairfax, VA 22030, Room 211, Civil Clerk Office, between 8am-3pm.

VICTIM RIGHTS & SERVICES



VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION

FAIRFAX COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMENT

703-246-2141

Victim Rights

Crime victims and witnesses have certain rights under the Virginia Crime Victim and Witness Rights Act (19.2-11.0 Code of Virginia). These rights direct services and/or information relating to:

Victim Witness Protection

Financial Assistance

Notification Victim Input

Courtroom Assistance

These rights are intended to ensure that victims and witnesses of crime are informed of their rights, treated with dignity, respect and sensitivity, and are present and heard at critical stages of the criminal justice process.

Victim Services

24 Hr Availability
Crisis Intervention
Someplace Safe Program
Counseling and Support
Offender Release Notification
Court Advocacy

Phone Outreach
Crime Victim Compensation
Assistance with Victim Impact
Statements
Education Programs
Information and Referrals

Important Numbers

Fairfax County Police Non-Emergency	703-691-2131
Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court	703-246-3040
General District Court	703-246-3305
Circuit Court	703-246-2221
Adult Detention Center	703-246-2100
Commonwealth's Attorney Office	703-246-2776
Magistrate	703-246-2178
Domestic Violence Action Center	703-246-4573
Domestic and Sexual Violence Services	703-324-5730
Department of Family Services	703-324-7500
Coordinated Services Planning	703-222-0880
Legal Services of Northern Virginia	703-504-9141

Victim Information and Notification Everyday (VINE)

VINE is a free, automated system that allows you 24-hour access to register for notification of an inmate's custody status and any changes that occur. You will be notified if an inmate is released, transferred or escapes from jail. Call 1-800-467-4943 or register online at www.vinelink.com