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FAIRFAXCOUNTY

SPEED EDUCATION AND ENFORCEMENT TOOLS

Community Messaging — Public Affairs
Bureau Teen Driving PSA - YouTube

Teen Driving PSA
& For more information on Fairfax County's social
S Pt ol media policy
e et e e D R AT mm \sit:http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/news/youtube/#
E ‘\‘=|NVOLVINU'_DBWE£“ S disclaimer
www.youtube.com

(1]

Message Boards — Available at each
in Traffic Division



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W67fJ66-xys

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

Blake Lane

2,052 total citations issued

Citations
476 speed related charges
2017
Presently Available 524 fail to obey sign related charges
Data

190 fail to give full time and attention

to driving charges

*Data includes all citations synced with
Brazos and lleads as 10/17/2022 1:02 AM.
Data is representative but not exhaustive.*



Blake Lane
Citations

January 1, 2022

Presently Available
Data

*Data includes all citations synced with

Brazos and lleads as of 10/17/2022 1:02 AM.

Data is representative but not exhaustive.*

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

305 total citations issued

87 speed related charges

89 fail to obey sign related charges

28 fail to give full time and attention
to driving charges




Blake Lane
Citations

August 22, 2022

Presently Available
Data

*Data includes all citations synced with

Brazos and lleads as of 10/17/2022 1:02 AM.

Data is representative but not exhaustive.*

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

49 total citations issued

20 speed related charges

13 fail to obey sign related charges

2 fail to give full time and attention to
driving charges




Blake Lane
Citations 6 total citations

issued

Statute
46.2-878.2 31nJune 2022

$200 Additional
3 in August 2022

*Data includes all citations synced with
Brazos and lleads as of 10/17/2022 1:02 AM.
Data is representative but not exhaustive.*




Background
Pilot

Phased in Implementation ™=

Timeline

/.




P HOTO SP EED Effective July 1, 2020, HB 1442, enacted into law as Code

of Virginia § 46.2-882.1, authorized state and local law

E N Fo RC E M E NT enforcement to operate photo speed monitoring

devices in or around school crossing zones and highway
work zones.

Tile 46.2. Motor Vehicies School crossing zone already defined by Virginia Code §
S‘uhlillc l-.II,()pcmlinn < 46 2_873

Chapter 8. Regulation of Traflic .

Article 8. Speed

Photo speed enforcement sign shall be placed within

§ 46.2-882.1. Use of photo speed monitoring devices in highway

work zones and school crossing zones; civil penalty 1000 feet

A. For the purposes of this section:

"Highway work zone® has the same meaning ascribed to it in § 4. 8.1, Enforcemenf llmrl. Of 01. Iecst ] O mph Over posted Speed
"Photo speed monitoring device™ means equipment that uses radar or LIDAR-based speed =

d-.-lu"l]i:ln and pnx:_ucc: ulm: or more photographs, microphotographs, videotapes, or other Flnes Ore n O'l' 1'0 eXC eed $ ] OO

recorded images of vehicles,

*School crossing zone™ has the same meaning ascribed to it in § 4 . NO poin.l.s’ no insuronce impc C.I.s for Civil ViOIOﬁonS

B. A state or local law-enforcement agency may place and operate a photo speed monitoring
device in school crossing zones for the purposes of recording violations of § i75andin
ST s aaals o oo . 2lose of 8§ b

axtho nuanococ of soonsdioo iolarlion

Penalties collected are paid to locality where violation
occurred

{

VIRGINIA STATE CODE



FAIRFAXCOUNTY
VIRGINIA

The Photo Speed Enforcement Work Group
recommends a pilot program of six monthes.

The pilot would consist of 10 cameras

9 mobile cameras in school zones

1 mobile camera in a work zone (Rt. 28)




FAIRFAXCOUNTY

Under § 46.2-882.1, any such agreement for

P H OTO S P E E D compensation to a vendor who provides photo

speed enforcement services “shall be based on the

EN FO RC EMENT value of the goods and services provided, not on the

number of violations paid or monetary penalties.” The
two fee models being offered in the Commonwealth
so far are:

1. Fixed fee per camera per month.

The typical fee per camera per month ranges from
$2,500 to $6,000. The fixed fee per camera per month
may have a limit on the number of citations issued
causing an incremental fixed processing fee per
citation in addition to the cost once the number of
citations issued exceeds this monthly limit.

PRICING

ixed processing fee per issued citation per month.

itation varies is based on
i e for



FAIRFAXCOUNTY

VIRGINIA

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT PILOT METRICS

# of % of
Vehicles | vehicles
Total # of| 10 MPH |speeding|Average
! ton el L Vehicles | or more | 10+ MPH| Speed

over over

limit limit
0800 - 0830 1411 610 43.23% 34.6

i S R R i h March 18 - 25, -
Bonnie Brae E.S oberts Rd @ Nellie White Ln arch 18 - 25, 2021 1515 - 1545 2284 622 27.23% 32.1
. 10845 - 0930 1067 105 9.84% 29.9
Haycock E.S. Haycock Rd in front of Haycock E.S. | March 18 - 25, 2021 1600 - 1635|1181 66 5.59% 28.5
0800-0859 3430 1341 39.10% 30.6
AN h Ki inf f school . 29- "
Mount Eagle E.S. | North Kings Hwy in front of school | Nov. 29 - Dec. 2, 2021 1515-1600 2347 343 35.96% 26.5
0700-0745 4299 4073 94.74% 32.9
Irving M.S. 1 MillRd in f f 1 -9,
rving M.S Old Keene d in front of school|] December 6- 9, 2021 1 1430 2326 71.34% 33.2
0700-0830 ] 4005 1356 33.86% 32.1
' = lloo

South County H.S| Silverbrook Rd in front of school | December6-9, 2021 15301 4305 2643 38.12% 36.5

of vehicles speeding 10+ MPH



PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT DRAFT ORDINANCE

Escalating fine structure:

Speeds at least 10 MPH but not greater than 14 MPH
$50.00 civil penalty.

15-19 MPH $75.00
20 MPH or greater $100.00.




FAIRFAXCOUNTY

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT PHASED IN MODEL & COST

Phase 1 (FY24) - July-September 2023-
50 photo speed enforcement cameras
distributed between school and work
zones(* $1,800,000 per year)

Phase 2 (FY25) - July 2024 - 30
additional cameras for school zones (* Per year cost for two PFCs and two MPOs:

$2,880,000 per year) Two (2) PFC and two (2) MPO = $918,199

*Based on $3000 per camera per month
ed here is for equipment

Two (2) PFC and two (2) MPO officer positions
would be required to staff this program for 50
to 80 cameras:




FAIRFAXCOUNTY

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT

Public Safety Committee October 4, 2022, BOS Overview of Pilot and
Phase in Model

Submit an Administrative Item to the BOS at the November 1, 2022,
meeting to authorize the Clerk’s Office to advertise (pursuant to
Virginia Code § 15.2-1427).

Conduct a public hearing on the ordinance at the BOS meeting on
December 6, 2022. After the public hearing has concluded, the BOS
can vote on adoption of the ordinance.

TIMELINE

and option to



PARTNERSHIPS

-airfax County Board of Supervisors (BOS)
~airfax County Department of Transportation (FCDOT)

airfax County Public Schools (FCPS)
irginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)
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Questions / Comments



