Selection Criteria

To be considered for DPSC employment as a Public Safety Communicator, applicants must be able to meet the following standards:

  • At least 18 years of age at date of application
  • High school graduate or possess a valid G.E.D certificate recognized by the Commonwealth of Virginia
  • U.S. citizen
  • No felony convictions or commission of serious misdemeanors (to include theft of more than $200, sex crimes, physical assault/protection order)
  • No convictions for reckless driving, hit and run or other serious driving offenses within 12 months of filing date of application
  • No DWI/DUI convictions within 36 months of filing date of application
  • Use of marijuana no more 50 times in the past 5 years (60 months)
  • No use of illegal narcotics within 12 months of filing date of application
  • No sale or distribution of illegal narcotics in your lifetime
  • No use of Schedule I drugs within 36 months of filing date of application
  • No use of Schedule II drugs more than 3 times in your lifetime

Return to DPSC Career Opportunities


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2017

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

  We'd like your opinion! Take a look at our new website preview and take a survey.
Return to Graphic Version