Recent Fairfax County 9-1-1 Awards

DPSC Honors its Employees at the 6th Annual Public Safety Telecommunciators Awards Ceremony

The Fairfax County Department of Public Safety Communications (DPSC) held its 6th annual Public Safety Telecommunicators Awards Ceremony on Monday, April 11 at the Fairfax County Government Center.  The event was broadcasted live on the Fairfax County Training Network for DPSC employees who were working at the McConnell Public Safety and Transportation Operations Center (MPSTOC) the night of the ceremony.  The night began with the presentation of the colors by the DPSC Honor Guard, followed by the singing of the National Anthem by Assistant Supervisor Sherrie White and the leading of the Pledge of Allegiance by DPSC Director Steve Souder.  The event was hosted by Assistant Supervisor Jeff Schaney and featured two keynote speakers - Jamie Barnett (Chief of the Federal Communications Commission Bureau of Public Safety and Homeland Security) and Bill Carrow (President of the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials).  Mason District Supervisor Penny Gross also provided remarks sharing her appreciation of Fairfax County's First of the First Responders.

The awards ceremony featured 14 DPSC employees recognized for their promotions and 11 peer to peer award categories.  DPSC Director Steve Souder recognized five employees for his annual Director's Award and he himself was surprised when he was presented with an award in recognition of his 50th year in public safety.  The special presentation was made by Assistant Directors Cyndi Bird-Shrout and Roy Oliver.During the event, an employee photo slideshow developed by Assistant Supervisor RJ Sosna was played to everyone in attendance as well as the premiere of the new DPSC recruitment video.  


The following employees were recognized for their recent promotions:

Marc Bielawski (PSC III)
Melissa Frank (PSC III)
Maronda Lockhart (PSC III)
Jennifer Rothwell (PSC III)
Oscar Vasquez (PSC III)
Kathleen Cox (PSC II)
Kaitlyn Knoll (PSC II)
Nicole Messner (PSC II)
Lisa Murphy (PSC II)
Lilie Quach (PSC II)
Tawnya Paci (PSC II)
Jennifer Short (PSC II)
Kristen Weaver (PSC II)
Jonate Williams-Robinson (PSC II)

Peer to Peer Award Recipients

Rookie of the Year: PSC I Amanda Bass

Excellence in Call Taking: PSC II Lisa Murphy

Excellence in VCIN/NCIC Teletype: PSC II Larry Gartin

Excellence in Police Dispatch: PSC II Gillian Ethridge

Excellence in Fire Dispatch: PSC II Chuck Barnes

Excellence in Training: PSC III Paul Ballerini

Superior Performance during a Critical Incident: PSC III Jaime Sundby

Excellence in Supervision: Lead Supervisor Joe LoPreto

Unit Citation Award: B Days Team

Excellence in Support of the DPSC Mission: Information Systems Division Chief Ed Gerow

Richard King Award: PSC III Carolyn Kellam

Director's Award:

Telephony Systems Manager Brenda Edmundson
PSC III Gary Hewitt
PSC III Laverne Jones
PSC II Steve McMurrer
Administrative Assistant Shanica Taylor



Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version