Suspended Operator’s License Interview (Intervention Interview)

1. What is Driving Suspended Program?

It is a service Fairfax - ASAP provides for DMV. It has nothing to do with an alcohol or drug
charge.

This program is made available to persons charged with driving suspended whose
suspension is due to nonpayment of fines or DMV required fees. The program is designed
to assist individuals in the process of reinstating their driving privilege prior to their trial
for driving suspended.

Virginia Code § 46.2-355.1 directs that upon receiving notification of a second conviction
for driving while an offender’s license, permit or privilege to drive is suspended or revoked
will be required to report to a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program within sixty days of
the date of such notice for intervention. The ASAP representative will review all applicable
laws with the person attending the interview, provide guidance with respect to budgeting
for payment of court fines and costs, if applicable, and explain the laws and the
consequences of future offenses and may refer the person to any driver improvement
clinic.

2. Who commands clients to take Intervention Interview?

Intervention Interview is required by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) due to a
suspended driver’s license.

3. How much does Fairfax - ASAP charge for Intervention Interview class?

$30.00 - NOT Refundable. You must register and pay in advance in person or over the
phone.

4. What type of media accepted for payment?
Fairfax ASAP accepts only Visa/MasterCard or Money Order - No Cash or Personal Checks.
5. How often does Fairfax ASAP provide Intervention Interview Class?

Intervention Interview is scheduled bi-weekly, on Wednesdays at 1:45 pm (Late arrivals
will not be admitted).

6. How long is Intervention Interview Class?
Intervention Interview sessions last approximately 1 hour.

7. How many sessions of Intervention Interview does a client need to sign up for?
Intervention Interview is a One-time session. The session consists of review of driving
record and a short video. A Probation Officer will be assigned to conduct the session.



8. What will happen after I complete the Intervention Interview session?
After you complete the session, an ASAP staff will update your information and notify
the DMV electronically within 24 hours that you completed the Intervention Interview

session.
RECKLESS/AGGRESSIVE DRIVER PROGRAM (RADP)
1. What is the Reckless/Aggressive Driver Program?

It is a program for non-alcohol related charges/convictions. Participants in this program
usually have charges such as reckless driving, passing on the right, driving too closely, or
those driving violations that contribute to aggressive/road rage behaviors. This class
teaches participants to handle stress and manage anger while driving. Emphasis is on
preventing reckless/aggressive driving and avoiding being a perpetrator or victim of road
rage.

2. How long are Reckless/ Aggressive Driver Program?

Reckless/ Aggressive class is 4 hours; however, there is an 8 hour Driver Improvement
Program (DIP) class which is the prerequisite for taking the Reckless/ Aggressive Driver
Program. Reckless/ Aggressive cannot be taken without taking the Driver Improvement
Program (DIP).

3. Do I have to take the Driver Improvement Program at Fairfax - ASAP?

No, Driver Improvement Program does not have to be taken at this location. It can be taken
at another ASAP or DMV approved locations. A list of locations can be found at the
following website:

http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#backonroad.asp

4. Can I still take the Reckless/ Aggressive Driver Program class at Fairfax -
ASAP after I complete the 8 hour Driver Improvement Program elsewhere?

Yes, but you must supply a copy of the Certificate of Completion from a DMV approved DIP
class.

5. How much does Fairfax - ASAP charge for the Reckless/ Aggressive Driver
Program class?

$65.00 - NOT Refundable. You must register and pay in advance in person or over the
phone.

6. What types of payment are accepted?

Fairfax ASAP accepts only Visa/MasterCard or Money Order - No Cash or Personal Checks.


http://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#backonroad.asp

7. How often does Fairfax ASAP provide the Reckless/ Aggressive Driver
Program class?

Reckless/ Aggressive Driver Program scheduled one Tuesday evening a month, from 6:00
pm - 10:00 pm (Late arrivals will not be admitted).

8. Will I receive a Certificate if I complete the Reckless/ Aggressive Driver
Program?

Yes, you MUST have completed 4 hour of the Reckless/ Aggressive class to receive a
Certificate of Completion.

DRIVING IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM (DIP)

1. What is Driver Improvement Program?
It is a basic driver improvement course available to individuals:
A. Mandated to attend by DMV as a result of an accumulation of points
B. Referred by a court for a traffic violation
Or
C. Who volunteer to attend to receive positive points.

2. How much does Fairfax - ASAP charge for the Driver Improvement Program
class?

$75.00 - NOT Refundable. You must register and pay in advance in person or over the
phone.

3. What types of payment are accepted?
Fairfax ASAP accepts only Visa/MasterCard or Money Order - No Cash or Personal Checks.
4. How often does Fairfax ASAP provide Driver Improvement Program class?

Driver Improvement Program is scheduled one Saturday a month, from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
(Late arrivals will not be admitted).

5. Will I receive a Certificate if I complete the Driver Improvement Program?

Yes, you MUST have completed 8 hour of the Driver Improvement Program to receive a
Certificate of Completion.



