Braddock District's Lord and Lady Fairfax

The tradition of honoring the Lords and Ladies Fairfax began in 1984 as a way to recognize the accomplishments of the outstanding citizens of Fairfax County. Each member of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors selects two people from his or her district who have demonstrated outstanding volunteer service, heroism, or other special accomplishments to receive the award. This year, Supervisor Cook has selected Mary Cortina and Kevin Morse, two highly involved citizens in the Braddock District.

2017 Lord and Lady Fairfax

Mary Cortina

Mary Cortina grew up in West Springfield and has been an active volunteer in the Braddock District for two decades.  She currently serves as the Vice Chair of the Fairfax County Park Authority Board.  An at-large member since 2013, Ms. Cortina chairs the Strategic Planning and Budget Committees and serves as the liaison for volunteer groups and trails.  Ms. Cortina served on the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Ordinance Exception Review Committee from 2007-2015 and on the Braddock District Land Use Task Force for several years previous to that.

In the early 2000’s, she lead a Burke Centre Conservancy task force that participated in designing the county’s Virginia Railway Express (VRE) garage and improving pedestrian/bicycle access to the VRE from Burke neighborhoods.   Ms. Cortina’s other volunteer service over the years has included the Women in Technology Education Foundation, the Burke Centre Wildlife Committee, Spring-Mar Preschool fundraising, Wakefield Forest PTA and her local Truro community.  A graduate of George Mason University, Ms. Cortina was formerly the E-Commerce Director for the National Railroad Passenger Corporation’s and IT Director for The National Wildlife Federation.

Kevin Morse

A Fairfax County resident since 1982, Kevin Morse has gifted much of his time to county efforts, including his work as President of Woodwalk Condominiums and the Braddock Representative on the Fairfax County Transportation Advisory Commission.  He is also the Chairman of the Braddock Road Task Force, a citizen task force formed in 2014 to review and recommend improvements to Braddock Road from Guinea Road to I-495. Mr. Morse also previously served as Treasurer of the Braddock District Council and as a member of the Burke Centre VRE Station Garage Committee, as well as several other committees in Burke Centre and the Braddock District.

Former Braddock District Lords & Ladies Fairfax:

2016 - George Klein and Nell Hurley

2015 - Donna Goldbranson & Dr. Richard Chobot

2014 - Monica Jackson & Anthony Vellucci

2013 - Catie Morales & Mark H. O'Meara

2012 - Tessie Wilson & Doug Brammer

2011 - Dr. Charles W. Dane & Dorothy Dane

2010 - Shirley DiBartolo & Sam DiBartrolo

2009 - Pamela K. Barrett & Thomas Frenzinger

2008 - Tena Bluhm & Bruce Wallachy


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version