Best of Braddock

For Immediate Release: 
July 11, 2014  

Contact: Allison Schneider
Cell: (571) 386-6416

Supervisor Cook, Braddock District Council Award Best of Braddock

Winners recognized for outstanding work within the Braddock district

Burke, Va. –Supervisor John Cook and the Braddock District Council presented the 2014 Best of Braddock Awards July 9th in Braddock Hall.  Award winners were recognized for their beneficial impacts on the entire Braddock community. 

"The awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the phenomenal work done by citizens of the district" said Supervisor Cook. "Their efforts and dedication have helped our community thrive, and we cannot let that go unrecognized."

The youngest winner, just 10 years old, was honored for his fundraising to benefit Chessie’s Big Backyard, a fully accessible playground that is described on its website as incorporating “slides, swings and other equipment specially designed for use by all children, including those with special needs.”  Other noteworthy activities recognized included responding to hurricanes and tropical storms at Lake Accotink Park, recruiting high school students to volunteer with the Special Olympics, and teaching volunteers to identify non-native invasive plants.

The 2014 Best of Braddock award winners are:

  • Neighborhood Enhancement or Beautification by a Homeowner | Paula and David McKinley, Olde Forge/Surrey Square
  • Neighborhood Enhancement or Beautification by a Community | Greg Sykes, Kings Park West
  • Most Can-Do Local Employee Working in the Braddock District | Julie Tahan, Lake Accotink Park Supervisor
  • Club or Organization Making a Difference in the Braddock District | The David R. Pinn Center with special recognition of Sarah Tinsley
  • Special Recognition Award | Rohil Bhinge, Mosby Woods Elementary School
  • Braddock District Young Person of the Year | Elizabeth Banks, Robinson Secondary School
  • Braddock District Citizen of the Year | Norma Heck, North Springfield 

Also in attendance were Congressman Gerry E. Connolly, Senator Chap Petersen, and Delegate Eileen Filler-Corn.


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version