Virginia Residential Landlord-Tenant Act


Leases
The VRLTA applies to all rentals in multi-unit apartment structures and prohibits landlords from using certain lease clauses that deny a tenant's rights provided by law. Before you sign any lease, whether it is covered or not by the VRLTA, be sure you understand and agree with ALL provisions and requirements in the lease.

Maintenance
VRLTA defines proper maintenance required of both landlords and tenant(s) on rental properties for the health and safely of tenants, and cites conditions that permit a tenant to terminate a lease, including a landlord's failure to properly maintain the property.

Security Deposits
Under the VRLTA, a landlord may charge up to a maximum of two months rent as a security deposit, and must pay interest on all security deposits held for more than 13 months. Within 45 days after the tenant vacates and surrenders possession of the unit, the landlord must return the security deposit and any accrued interest to the tenant. Any deductions or charges for damages, must be itemized in writing by the landlord and given to the tenant.


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2013

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version