Fairfax Circuit Court
Probate Division
4110 Chain Bridge Road, Room 401
Fairfax, Virginia 22030
(703)246-4153

Fiduciary/Probate Fees

Probate of a Decedent’s Estate (by appointment only):
Testate (with a Will) or Intestate (without a Will)

Filing Fees: Based on estate value. Fees are determined at the appointment and cannot
be determined over the telephone.

Requirements:

e A Virginia resident to accompany a nonresident prospective executor or
administrator.

e The original Will (for testate estates).

e A certified copy of the death certificate.

e Approximate dollar value of any solely-held personal assets.

e Approximate fair market value of real estate in Virginia owned solely by the
decedent or the value of the percentage owned by the decedent when the real
estate is owned as tenants-in-common.

e Names, ages and addresses of the heirs at law. These are individuals who are
legally entitled to receive an estate when there is no Will. The List of Heirs is
required in both testate and intestate estates. (See §64.2 of the 1950 Code of
Virginia, as amended.)

e Payment of fees.

o Fees are calculated at the time of the probate appointment and are based
upon the estate value.

o The Probate Division accepts cash, cashier's checks, money orders,
personal checks or credit cards (Visa and MasterCard only). Please note
that there is a 4% processing fee for each credit card transaction.

= Personal checks: The customer's name and address must be
preprinted on the check.
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= Attorney checks: Must include the attorney’s Virginia bar number
on the check.

= All payments should be made payable to the Clerk of the Circuit
Court.

= The Court does not accept starter checks.
Fiduciary’s Bond:

All fiduciaries must be bonded. State statutes govern whether the bond is with or without
surety. The probate clerk will set the appropriate bond at the time of appointment. If you
believe a surety bond is required, you may bring the name and phone number of a
bonding agent/company to the appointment or select an agent from the Probate Division’s
list of certified bonding companies. Please call the Probate Division for more information.

Tax in Lieu of State Probate Tax
Pursuant to §58-1.1717.1, §58-1.1718 and §58.1-3805, a tax of $25.00 will be assessed

for every Real Estate Affidavit/List of Heirs recorded and for every List of Heirs recorded
in an intestate estate without qualification.

Guardian/Conservator Complaints:

File all guardian and/or conservator complaints in a new civil action file at the Civil Intake
counter on the 3 floor of the courthouse. For more information please contact Civil
Intake at 703-691-7320 and then press 3, 1, and 4.

Filing Fees/Sheriff Fees:

Please make payments for filing fees and sheriff service fees payable to the Clerk of the
Circuit Court. Attorneys or petitioners are responsible for submitting the correct number
of copies of pleadings for service. Please see the Civil Filing Instructions and Fee
Schedule located at http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CCR-A-20.pdf for
additional information.
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Fiduciary Fees by Fee Type

Taxes and Fees Recordation Costs Non Revenue
Recordation | Codes
Costs

State Probate Tax (§58.1-1712) $.10 per $100 of estate 037
value

Tax in Lieu of Probate Tax (§58.1-1717.1 | $25.00 037

- 1718, -3805)

Real Estate Transfer Fee (§58.1-3314) $1.00 for all parcels in 212
Fairfax County

Real Estate Transfer Fee (§58.1-3314) $1.00 for all parcels in 222
Fairfax City

Technology Trust Fund (§17.1-279) $5.00 106

Court Technology Fund (§17.1-132) $10.00 170

Law Library (§42.1-70) $4.00 219

Legal Aid (§17.1-278): $1 of the Legal Aid fee $10.00 123-$9.00

is applied to the Indigent Assistance fee. 147-$1.00

Clerk’s Recording Fees (§17.1-275A(2)): 1 — 10 pages: $16 302 ($14.50)

$1.50 of Clerk’s fee collected is applied to the 145 ($1.50

Virginia State Library revenue code. 11 - 30 pages: $30 302 ($28.50)

145 ($1.50
31 or more pages: $50 302 ($48.50)
145 ($1.50)

Clerk’s Fee for an Out of State Oath $10.00 302

(§17.1-275A(4))

Clerk’s Fee for preparation of a bond or $ 3.00 302

affidavit (§17.1-275A(6))

Clerk’s Fee for Certification or Triple $ 2.00/$2.50 302

Seal of a copy (§17.1-275A(9))

Clerk’s Fee for filing a Will for $ 2.00 302

Safekeeping (§17.1-275A(39))

Fiduciary Fees by Document Type

Document/Process Fee Code Reference | Revenue | Comments
Code

Admin. of out-of-state Oath | $10.00 | §17.1-275A(4) 302

Affidavit of Notice $16.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
Additional pages see Clerk’s
Recording Fees above.

Affidavit Preparation $ 3.00 | §17.1-275A(6) 302

Bond Preparation $ 3.00 | §17.1-275A(6) 302 For any additional, increase,
decrease or replacement of
bond.

Certificate of Qualification |$ 2.00 | §17.1-275A(9) 302 One free certificate is issued at
time of the appointment.
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Disclaimers for Exempt $16.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
Property or Family Additional pages see Clerk’s
Allowance Recording Fees above.
Guardian/Conservator: $21.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
Recordation of Order to §17.1-279 106 Additional pages see Clerk’s
Appoint, Restore, Modify Recording Fees above.
or Terminate
List of Heirs $16.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
Additional pages see Clerk’s
Recording Fees above.
Qualification Fee $00.00 | §17.1-275A(3) 302 Estates $5,000 or less
$20.00 $ 5,001.00-% 50,000.00
$25.00 $ 50,001.00 - $100,000.00
$30.00 $100.001.00 and above.
List of Heirs/Real Estate $42.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
Affidavit (No qualification §58.1-3314 212/222 Additional pages see Clerk’s
of a personal §58.1-1717.1 037 Recording Fees above.
representative.) §58.1-1718,
§58.1-3805
Real Estate Affidavit $17.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
(Qualification has occurred §58.1-3314 212/222 Additional pages see Clerk’s
outside of Fairfax County.) Recording Fees above.
Show Cause Publication $24.00 | §17.1-275A(18) | 302
Orders §42.1-70 219
§17.1-278 123 & 147
Will/Codicil Recording Fee | $16.00 | §17.1-275A(2) 302 & 145 | Recording up to 10 pages.
Additional pages see Clerk’s
Recording Fees above.
Filing of a Will for $ 2.00 | §17.1-275A(39) | 302
Safekeeping
Other Case Types Relating to Fiduciary Issues
Type of Complaint | Fees Assessed Code Revenue | Case Filing
Reference Code Type Department
Appeal of Clerk’s None §64.2-445 N/A FI* Probate Division
Order
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Complaint - Equity | See Civil Fee Schedule cL* Civil Intake
e Aid & Direction

e Custodial Account | http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CC

e Declaratory AL
Judgment R-A-20.pdf

o Declare Death

o Establish/Impeach
Will

e Reformation of
Trust

e Removal of
Personal
Rep/Trustee

e  Other misc matters
involving probate
issues

Exception to a None §64.2-1212 N/A FI* Probate Division
Personal
Representative’s
Accounting or
Commissioner of
Accounts Report

Motion to Access a | None §64.2-110; N/A FI*

Decedent’s Digital §64.2-111

Accounts

Complaint for the See Civil Fee Schedule CL* Civil Intake
Appointment of a

Guardian and/or http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CC

Conservator (§864.2- | R-A-20.pdf
2001 & §64.2-2013)

Petition to Restore, | See Civil Fee Schedule CcL** Civil Case
Modify Terminate a Processing
Guardianship/Cons | http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CC

ervatorship (§64.2- R-A-20.pdf
2012 & §64.2-2014)

Complaint to See Civil Fee Schedule CL** Civil Intake or
Expend from Civil Case
Minors Estate http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/courts/circuit/pdf/CC Processing
(§64.2-1800) R-A-20.pdf

*FI = Fiduciary File.
**CL = Civil Action File.
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