Restoration Payment Plan
License Suspension for Fines and Costs – Restoration Payment Plan
If your license has been suspended by DMV for failure to pay your fines
and costs only with the Fairfax County General District Court, not
with any other courts, then you may request a Restoration Plan either by
phone or in person at the Fairfax County General District Court.
Please call the appropriate division listed below between the hours of 8 a.m. and 3:15 p.m. Mondays through Fridays to begin the process:
Criminal Division: 703-246-3305
Under a Restoration Plan, your driver’s license is not restricted and your time to pay will be based on your ability to pay as determined in a financial interview. To set up a payment plan, you must first complete and sign a Petition/Acknowledgment Form and make a $50 payment towards your outstanding balance to the Court.
When you enter into an agreement to reinstate your driver’s license, a $10 time to pay fee will be added to the total amount due (unless this fee was previously assessed). This fee is required by Virginia law - the Court has no discretion in this matter.
Once initial payment has been made to the court and the paperwork filled out, you will be advised to contact the Court Debt Collections Office of the Virginia Department of Taxation at: 1-804-367-0016.
You will be required to fax a copy of the petition paperwork and your receipt for the initial payment to the court to: 1-804-367-8289. After faxing, you must wait at least one hour and then call the Dept. of Taxation back to complete the process. The Hours of Operations are: M-F 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., and SAT 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
The Court Debt Collections Office will notify the Court when your petition is reviewed and a payment plan is approved and established. Upon notification, the Court will issue the appropriate Driver’s License Reinstatement Form(s) (DC- 30) which will be mailed to the address provided on your Petition/Acknowledgement form. It is your responsibility to present DMV with the reinstatement form(s) and pay the DMV reinstatement fee to be fully licensed to drive again.
Please note: This reinstatement will only apply to your unpaid debts with the Fairfax County General District Court. You may also owe fines and costs to other courts or you may be suspended by DMV for other reasons that will prevent DMV from issuing you a license.
If you are issued a driver’s license under this payment plan and you default on your payments, your license will be re-suspended and you will not be allowed to petition again for another restoration plan with this Court.
The Court does not send reminder notices or letters when payments are due or overdue. Your petition is your official notification that your driver’s license will be administratively suspended immediately upon missing any scheduled payments under this plan whether it is your 2nd payment or your 42nd payment. If you drive after missing a payment you may be charged with a new offense of “Driving on a Suspended License.”