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Right to Readmission from the Hospital or Therapeutic Leave 
 

Q:  If a nursing home resident is sent to the hospital or goes on 
therapeutic leave, does she have the right to come back to the same 
facility once she is ready to be released from the hospital or to return 
from therapeutic leave? 
 
A:  If the resident is Medicaid-eligible and still needs nursing home care, she 
does have the right to be readmitted to the same facility as soon as a bed in a 
semi-private room with the same gender roommate becomes available.  This 
right clearly applies to all Medicaid residents as long as the resident still 
requires nursing home care and is eligible for Medicaid nursing facility 
services.  The facility must have a written policy regarding the readmission 
rights for those whose hospital stay or therapeutic leave exceeds the state’s 
bed hold period.   
 
Significantly, a facility is required to readmit a resident even if the resident 
has an unpaid bill, the facility considers the resident to be a danger to the 
health or safety of others, or the facility claims the resident’s needs cannot 
be met by the facility.  The facility must readmit the resident, but if there is a 
justifiable reason for transfer or discharge, the facility could then begin 
transfer/discharge proceedings by following the requirements set out in 
federal and state law (See Transfer/Discharge Rights) 
 
Q:  What is Virginia’s bed hold coverage for hospital stays or 
therapeutic leave? 
 
A:  Virginia Medicaid does not pay for any bed hold days when a nursing 
home resident is admitted to the hospital.  Unless the resident or family 
chooses to pay to hold the specific bed, the facility has the right to offer the 
bed to another person.  However, while the hospitalized resident may not be 
able to return to the same bed if it has already been filled, he or she still has 
the right to be readmitted to the same facility to the next available bed in a 
semi-private room, as long as the resident still requires nursing home care 
and is eligible for Medicaid nursing facility services. 
 
Virginia DMAS does cover up to 18 therapeutic leave days within a 12 
month period.  During these 18 days, Medicaid will pay to hold the bed of 
the resident if the leave is within the resident’s plan of care and that is noted 
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in the resident’s chart.  Therapeutic leave includes visits to relatives or 
friends or admission to a rehabilitation center for up to 7 days for evaluation, 
but it does not include admission to an inpatient hospital. 
 
Q:  Does a nursing home have any obligation to advise residents and 
families about the resident’s readmission rights? 
 
A:  Yes.  Two written notices are required—one notice must be given to the 
resident and a family member or legal representative before a resident is 
transferred to a hospital or allowed to go on therapeutic leave (probably 
given at time of admission as part of the admissions package).  This notice 
must state the duration of the bed-hold policy under Medicaid and the 
facility’s policy regarding the bed hold period, including the facility’s 
readmission policy.  A second notice about the bed hold policy must be 
given at the time the resident is transferred to the hospital or for therapeutic 
leave. 
 
In addition, the State Provider Manual states that the facility must post a 
notice regarding readmission rights in a conspicuous place accessible to 
residents and their families, and that the resident’s record must include a 
statement signed by the resident or his representative that he has been fully 
informed of the right to readmission. 
 
Q:  Are nursing homes required to keep any documentation of 
residents’ transfers to the hospital and of whether the resident was 
readmitted, etc.? 
 
A:  Yes.  According to the State Provider Manual, a facility is supposed to 
document each discharge, the date of admission to the hospital, the date of 
discharge from the hospital, the discharge destination, and if the destination 
is not the pre-admission facility, the reason the resident was not re-admitted.  
The Provider Manual also requires follow-up contacts by the pre-admission 
facility to ensure the resident is offered the next available vacancy, including 
offers of the next available vacancy in writing and signed by the resident or 
representative, and documentation of the reason if the resident was not 
readmitted at the time of the next vacancy.  The only exception to the 
documentation requirement is if a facility has submitted a letter to DMAS 
indicating that the facility routinely holds beds for at least 12 days for 
residents discharged to a hospital, regardless of whether anyone is paying to 
hold the bed. 
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Q:  What can a resident do if she is sent to the hospital but the nursing 
home refuses to re-admit her once the hospital is ready to release her? 
 
A:  The resident, legal representative or family member, or the hospital 
social worker should contact the local long term care ombudsman to see if 
he or she can persuade the nursing home administrator of the facility’s legal 
obligation to readmit the resident to the first available bed.  If the 
ombudsman is unable to obtain the resident’s readmission and the resident is 
on Medicaid and still needs nursing home care, the resident should promptly 
file an appeal with the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS 
or Medicaid) so that there can be a hearing to determine whether the facility 
acted properly.  It is important to act quickly on a failure to readmit case 
because the hospital will be eager to discharge the resident and may be 
forced to send the resident to another facility (which could be miles away 
from family and friends) if the first facility refuses to readmit the resident. 
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