
 

 

 

 

July 1, 2016  

 

Dear Commercial Cash Customer: 

 

Fairfax County operates a program that allows commercial companies to dispose of waste 

generated as part of their business and to pay by cash, check or credit card at the time of 

disposal.  Credit cards will not be honored if the card bears someone else’s name.  These 

companies do not have to post a surety bond and are not billed monthly by the County. 

A valid insurance card and registration is required. 

 

If you wish to participate in the Commercial Cash Program, complete, sign and bring the 

enclosed application form and signed rules and regulations to either address below: 

 

Facility Locations 

(Office Hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) 

I-66 Transfer Station Complex 

Permit Office 

4618 West Ox Road 

Fairfax, Virginia  22030 

I-95 Landfill Complex 

Admin Office 

9850 Furnace Road 

Lorton, Virginia  22079 

Fees 

The Commercial Cash disposal fees for municipal solid waste at Fairfax County Solid Waste 

Management Program Disposal Complexex are attached. 

 

A fee must be paid for every Commercial Cash load that is disposed.  The minimum fee is $15 

per load for any material disposed.  All materials, including recyclables such as metal and 

cardboard, will be charged at applicable rates.   

Failure to Return to Scales for Weight Sale 

Weighing is a two-step process.  If you have a tare weight, previously established and valid for 

one year for the vehicle, you may pay your disposal bill upon entering at the scale.  If you do not 

have a tare weight for the vehicle, you must return to the scales for an empty weight and pay 

your disposal bill.  FAILURE TO RETURN TO THE SCALES AND PAY YOUR DISPOSAL 

BILL AUTHORIZES FAIRFAX COUNTY TO ESTIMATE THE EMPTY WEIGHT BASED 

ON THE TYPE OF PERMITTED VEHICLE.  All disposal charges, whether based on actual 

weight or estimated weight, must be paid at the time of disposal or a penalty fee of $50 will be 

added.  If the invoice is received by the customer and not paid after 30 days, a penalty for late 

payment of $10 or 10 percent of the total amount owed will be added, plus interest.  If the 
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invoice remains unpaid, the invoiced amount will be sent to a collection agency and could result 

in an entry on your credit record. 

Must Have CC Permit in Vehicle 

In order to have access to the Recycling and Disposal Centers, you must have your commercial 

cash permit (pink card) with the corresponding vehicle every time you make a disposal.  No 

disposals will be allowed without the permit.  Each vehicle you use to dispose must have its own 

CC permit card.  Additional cards for added vehicles can be obtained at the Permit or Admin 

Offices listed above. 

Tare of Vehicle(s) 

You can tare or re-tare a vehicle(s) at any time the vehicle comes to a disposal facility.  If you 

have a tare weight in the system, it must be verified annually.  Having a tare weight allows you 

to pay your bill when you weigh in, saving a trip back to the scales to pay.  

Lost Permits 

If you lose your permit, there is a $30 replacement fee for the new permit.  If there are repeated 

losses of the permit, your company may not be allowed to continue in the commercial cash 

program. 

Returned Checks 

Returned checks may immediately result in removal from the Commercial Cash Program.  

Alternate payment arrangements (cash or credit card) will need to be made before access to any 

Fairfax County disposal complex is granted.  A charge of $50 is assessed for each returned check 

and must be paid before you can continue in the program. 

Cardboard Recycling 

All companies are required to recycle cardboard.  Commercial Cash companies must pay to 

dispose of cardboard, yard waste, and metal.  Cardboard can be recycled by placing the material 

in the designated containers at either disposal location.  Companies are encouraged to recycle 

plastic bottles, newspaper, yard waste and other materials.   

Complex Rules and Regulations 

Please read, sign and return a copy of the attached Facility Rules and Regulations with your 

application.  Any violation of these rules may result in a penalty fee or suspension from using 

County disposal facilities. 

Safety 

Please drive safely when at County disposal sites.  Also, remind your drivers not to talk on cell 

phones while operating at County disposal sites and to obey the directions of County staff.  

Safety vests with reflective material or clothing with reflective markings (orange or yellow) must 

be worn by employees who get out of their vehicles while at a disposal site.  This is a safety 

requirement to ensure that workers are seen by others at the facility. 
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Scavenging 

Scavenging is the unauthorized or uncontrolled removal of waste materials from a solid 

waste management facility.  Scavenging is strictly prohibited at any location under any 

circumstances.  Violations of this policy can result in permanent termination of your 

commercial cash permit. 

Changes to Company Information 

Companies must keep the County informed of changes to important information in the 

application such as name, address, company representatives, and vehicle information.  FOR 

EXAMPLE: VEHICLE LICENSE TAG INFORMATION. 

 

Applicant’s signature affirms his/her understanding of these requirements and that the applicant 

is an authorized representative of the business. 

 

If there are any questions regarding these procedures, please contact either the Permit Office at 

the I-66 Transfer Station Complex, 703-631-0495 or the Admin Office at the I-95 Landfill 

Complex at 703-690-1703. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Dynita L. Glenn 

Recycling, Compliance, and Planning 

Solid Waste Management Program  
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County of Fairfax 

Application for Commercial Cash Permit  

(Revised July 1, 2016) 

 

Office Use Only 

Account Number:  

Date Permit Issued:  

1. Name of Company:   

2. Owner(s):   

3. Authorized Agent(s):   

   

4. Photocopy of Driver License for Owner/Authorized Agent Attached? Yes   ☐  No   ☐ 

5. Type of Business:   

6. Business Location Address:   

City:   State:   Zip Code:   

7. Mailing Address:   

City:   State:   Zip Code:   

8. E-mail Address:   

9. Business Phone Number:   Cell Phone Number:   

10.  Valid Vehicle Information (including copies of vehicle registrations):  

Proof of vehicle insurance attached? Yes   ☐ No   ☐ 

 

Applicant Must Complete County Staff Will Complete 

Vehicle Year Make Type License # Permit # Tare Weight 

1       

2       

3       

4       

Trailer 1       

Trailer 2       
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Applicant is applying for a Commercial Cash permit to dispose of solid waste at Fairfax County disposal 

facilities.  The solid waste must be generated during the routine operations of the business only. 

 

Applicant agrees to comply with the current rules and regulations of Fairfax County disposal facilities, the 

Commercial Cash Account Permit rules contained in the Permit Manual, State Solid Waste Regulations, and as 

set forth in the Code of the County of Fairfax concerning disposal of solid waste.  A current copy of the current 

program rules and facility rules and regulations are available on the County’s website at:  

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dpwes/forms/commcash.pdf.  Applicant agrees to pay all disposal charges 

accrued through use of the Fairfax County disposal facilities.  IF A DRIVER FAILS TO RETURN TO THE 

SCALES FOR AN EMPTY WEIGHT, APPLICANT AUTHORIZES FAIRFAX COUNTY TO ESTIMATE 

THE EMPTY WEIGHT BASED ON THE TYPE OF VEHICLE LISTED ABOVE.  APPLICANT AGREES 

TO PAY ALL DISPOSAL CHARGES, WHETHER BASED ON ACTUAL WEIGHT OR ESTIMATED 

WEIGHT, AND APPLICANT AGREES TO PAY A PENALTY OF $50.  If company fails to pay by the due 

date on any invoice, an additional penalty for late payment fee of 10% or $10, whichever is greater, will be 

assessed to the account and interest of 10% annually will also be added.  Applicant agrees not to scavenge any 

materials from the disposal sites. 

 

APPLICANT UNDERSTANDS AND AGREES THAT ALL INFECTIOUS, EXPLOSIVE, POISONOUS, 

CAUSTIC, TOXIC CHEMICAL AND HAZARDOUS WASTE ARE PROHIBITED FROM THE I-66 

TRANSFER STATION COMPLEX, I-95 LANDFILL COMPLEX AND THE I-95 ENERGY/RESOURCE 

RECOVERY FACILITY, WHICH INCLUDES ALL DISPOSAL FACILITIES. 

 

Applicant acknowledges that the Facility Manager may restrict the time, location or type of material that may be 

disposed at the Manager’s sole discretion, based on operational considerations. 

 

Applicant’s signature acknowledges his/her understanding of these requirements.  Applicant is an authorized 

representative of the business. 

    
Signature Date 

  

Printed Name

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dpwes/forms/commcash.pdf
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County of Fairfax 

Commercial Cash Program Rules and Regulations 

(Effective July 1, 2016) 

 

1. The Commercial Cash Permit allows a company to pay with cash, business or personal 

check, or credit card.  Credit cards will not be honored bearing someone else’s name. 

2. Every load disposed must be paid for.  There is no free disposal.  All recyclable 

materials, including cardboard, metal, and yard waste, are recycled but payment for 

disposal is required. 

3. The Commercial Cash (CC) customer applies for the account once, and, if the company 

continues to use the program at least once every two years, the account remains active.  

Every vehicle using the account must have its own vehicle permit, but there is only one 

account permit number.   

4. Permit numbers cannot be “exchanged” among vehicles.  Vehicles and trailers may be 

interchanged since identifying information for each piece is recorded separately in LIS II. 

5. Tare weights of vehicles/trailers expire annually and must be reestablished.  If there is no 

tare weight in the system, customers must return to the scale to weigh out and pay for a 

weight sale.   

6. CC customers must sign scalehouse tickets and write their VALID phone number 

acknowledging that there is a $50 PENALTY FEE for any customer who drives off 

without paying the disposal charges.  The estimated weight of the load will be based on 

the type of vehicle and that weight will be used to determine the disposal charge, plus the 

$50 penalty.  If after 30 days the invoice is not paid, a penalty for late payment of $10 or 

10 percent of the total amount owed will be added, plus interest will be assessed at the 

rate of 10 percent per annum.  Should the invoice remain unpaid for 120 days, the amount 

may be referred to a collection agency.  This could affect your personal credit score.  

7. Collection action will be undertaken to obtain payment of disposal charges, returned 

checks, and other debts. Should a delinquent account be referred to a collection agency to 

collect an overdue amount, an administrative fee of $30 will be charged. 

8. If the company submits a check that is returned by the bank unpaid, the company will 

immediately be removed from the CC program by the LIS Admin Team until payment in 

cash or certified funds is made.  The company will then be placed on a cash or credit card 

payment method only for six months for the first incident, 12 months for the second 

incident, and permanently for a third incident of a returned check..  

9. A $50 return check fee must be paid for each returned check. 

10. If a company credit card is used for payment, the person presenting the card must 

be an authorized representative listed on the application. 

11. The CC customer must notify the appropriate County disposal facility of changes to 

information in the application so that the LIS II system can be updated.  Failure to keep 

the County informed could result in suspension from the program. 
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12. Trailers must have a sticker attached to the trailer in order for the weight of the trailer to 

be stored in the system.  If no weight is stored, the customer will be required to weigh in 

and out with each visit.  Trailers must be empty when tare weight is established.  Permit 

card must contain a description of the trailer (for example, 10 feet long with 4 side rails 

or 6 feet with 2 added rails above trailer bed).  

13. During the weigh-in process at the scales, the CC permit will be used to identify the 

account and specific company vehicle.  A company will not be able to dispose if the 

permit card is not displayed to the Weighmaster. 

14. Small loads of tires will be accepted through the CC program (under five [5] tons or 

larger amounts of tires by advanced authorization).  All tires must be delivered to the I-95 

Complex.  No tire deliveries are accepted on Sundays.  Only cash or credit card will be 

accepted for payment of tire disposals.  If company business is located in Fairfax 

County, then a business check may be accepted. 

15. CC vehicles must follow all facility rules and regulations; current versions are posted on 

the County’s website.  Violation of facility rules and/or regulations may incur penalties or 

result in removal from the program. 

16. CC Customers must separate cardboard and metals for recycling and dispose of them in 

the proper location.  Companies are encouraged to recycle other materials (cans, bottles, 

paper, metal) in the appropriate location.  All recyclable materials are charged the 

disposal fee if brought to a County disposal facility. 

17. CC customers must have their waste completely unloaded or removed from their 

vehicle by the closing time of the facility.   

18. In the event of an uncontrollable circumstance, the County reserves the right to not accept 

waste deliveries, or to redirect waste deliveries to an alternate disposal location. 

19. Customers may not use cell phones while at the disposal facilities unless it is an 

emergency. 

20. If a CC customer must replace a lost vehicle permit, the charge will be $30.  

21. CC customers pay a minimum fee of $15 for each visit to the RDC.   

22. Flat fees can be charged and are based upon estimated weights for various material types 

or vehicle types.  If authorized by the Weighmaster, these fees will be paid at the 

scalehouse upon entering the RDC.  If a CC customer wishes to weigh, the customer will 

pay the minimum fee of $15 or whatever higher amount is based upon the actual tons 

weighed. 

23. If loads are large, the vehicles will only be allowed to dispose at the discretion of the 

Facility Manager. 

24. CC Customers agree not to scavenge at County disposal sites. 
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I acknowledge I have read and will abide by the rules while participating in the Commercial 

Cash Permit Program. 

    

Signature of Authorized Representative Date 

  

Type or Print Name 
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