County of Fairfax, Virginia

SOLID WASTE ADVISORY
September 1, 2016

Solid Waste Advisory No. 06-002 Contact: Charlie Forbes, Chief
Recycling, Compliance, and Planning Branch

Charles.Forbes@FairfaxCounty.gov

(703) 324-5230

SOLID WASTE COLLECTION COMPANIES
ANNUAL PERMIT PROCESS

Chapter 109.1 of the Code of Fairfax County currently requires all collection permits to be
renewed annually. Current Fiscal Year permits must be on vehicles before they can
operate in Fairfax County.

Collection companies are hereby advised to complete their permit renewal applications in a
timely manner. The entire permitting process includes: completion of truck inspections,
submitting an administratively-complete permit application, presentation of an appropriate
surety bond and Statement of Service, and payment of the required permit fees.

Collection companies that have not submitted a complete permit application and paid the
appropriate fees will be charged at the penalty rate of $100 per ton until such time as the
permit process is completed. Further, collectors that have not completed the permit process
by their designated deadline date will not be able to legally provide collection service in
Fairfax County and will not be able to dispose at county facilities.

Reminder: Fairfax County requires old vehicle permit plates to be returned to a county
disposal facility. If old plates are not returned, a fee of $30 per plate will be assessed to the
account on the monthly invoice.

Should you have questions concerning this advisory, please contact permitting staff at 703-
324-5230.

This Solid Waste Advisory supersedes a previous version dated June 2006.

To request this information in an alternate format, call Solid Waste Management Program
Pamela Gratton at (703) 324-5230, TTY 711. 12000 Government Center Parkway’
Suite 458

Fairfax, Virginia 22035
www.fairfaxcounty.gov



