Contractors/Builders and Developers
Businesses classified as “Contractors” and “Builders and Developers” must submit a copy of their state contractor’s license when applying for or renewing their Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) with Fairfax County. This is required by law pursuant to Virginia Code, Section 54.1-1111(B).
Certain contractors/builders and developers classified under Virginia Contractor’s Class C are exempt from this requirement. These businesses do not need to present their state license when submitting their application for a business license.
Code of Virginia §54.1-1111(B) states:
Any contractor applying for or renewing a business license in any locality in accordance with Chapter 37 (§ 58.1-3700 et seq.) of Title 58.1 shall furnish prior to the issuance or renewal of such license either (i) satisfactory proof that he is duly licensed or certified under the terms of this chapter or (ii) a written statement, supported by an affidavit, that he is not subject to licensure or certification as a contractor or subcontractor pursuant to this chapter.
No locality shall issue or renew or allow the issuance or renewal of such license unless the contractor has furnished his license or certificate number issued pursuant to this chapter or evidence of being exempt from the provisions of this chapter.
Class A (State license required)
Class B (State license required)
- Total per single contract up to $120,000 and cannot exceed $750,000 per year.
Class C (State license required)
- Total per single contract from $1,000 to $7,500 and cannot exceed $150,000 per year.
- Under $1,000 per contract (No state license required. Must complete affidavit.)