Parking tickets may be paid by mail, online
or at the Department of Tax Administration cashiering counter at the
Government Center. If the fine is not paid within 21 days after the
ticket is issued, a late payment fine of $25 is added. Please mail the
copy of the ticket with your payment or bring it with you to make
If you wish to dispute a parking ticket, you have 21 days to do so. You
may telephone 1-866-353-0452 to set a court date in the General
District Court. Once you set a court date, you forfeit your ability
to prepay the ticket at the Government Center. In addition, once set,
the court date cannot be removed or adjusted by the Department of Tax
Court dates are assigned based on officer availability. On the day
of your hearing, be at the General District Court, located at 4110
Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA, by 9:00 a.m. When you arrive in the
lobby, check the docket to determine which courtroom has been
assigned to the hearing.
If you cannot appear on your assigned court date, contact the
General District Court at 703-246-3764. The Court will decide what
course of action you must take.
If you decide to prepay the ticket once a court date has been set,
you must go to the Traffic Office in the General District Court.
When prepaying a ticket at the General District Court, additional
fees will be applied.
If you fail to appear for your assigned court date and/or are found
guilty, you will be ordered to pay the fine and court cost. Failure
to pay may result in your Virginia driver’s license being
The affidavit is a part of appealing the ticket and you need to
call (toll free) 1-866-353-0452 and use agency code 6201. Parking
tickets are out-sourced to a private collection company called
Citation Management. A staff member of Citation Management will
assist you in getting a court date established. Each Police Officer
has only one court date a month and as you may not be able to make
the next available date, staff at Citation Management need to speak
with you to determine what date during the following months would
be appropriate. After selecting a date you will be mailed or faxed
an affidavit that establishes your agreement to appear on that date
to present your case. You must sign and return the affidavit before
the court date will be entered in the Traffic Court's Docket.
- Court dates are assigned based on officer availability. On the day of your hearing, be at the General District Court, located at 4110 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA, by 9:00 a.m. When you arrive in the lobby, check the docket to determine which courtroom has been assigned to the hearing.
In accordance with the Code of the County of Fairfax,
Virginia Section §82-5-41 grants authority to the Police
Department to tow vehicles owing 3 or more outstanding
What do I do if my car was towed by a Fairfax County contract tow
- Contact the Department of Tax Administration at 703 222-8234 for payoff balances of outstanding taxes, fines and fees in which the vehicle was towed.
- In addition to any taxes, fines and fees owed, you are responsible for all tow and storage charges associated with the tow.
All payments for impounded vehicles must be certified funds (cash,
credit card, money order, cashiers check).
What if my car was towed because it was considered
- If you do not claim your vehicle within 40 days, the tow company will apply for an abandoned title.
This is allowed under Section § 82-5-29 of the Code
of the County of Fairfax, Virginia: Removal and disposition
of certain unattended vehicles; sale, disposition or
- Parking Restriction Frequently Asked Questions