
Section 4-17.2-3.  Local vehicle registration license fee amounts. 
 
 1.  The amount of the annual local vehicle registration license fee pursuant to this Article 
shall be as follows.  The manufacturer’s shipping weight or scale weight shall be used for 
computing all fees required by this section to be based upon the weight of the vehicle.  For 
purposes of this Article, and consistent with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV),  
      (a)  the manufacturer’s shipping weight shall be interpreted as the “empty weight” for 
passenger cars as listed in the Virginia DMV records; 
      (b)  the manufacturer’s shipping weight shall be interpreted as the “gross vehicle 
weight” for trucks, to include pick-up trucks, as listed in the Virginia DMV records. 
  (1)  Eighteen Dollars ($18) for motorcycles; 
  (2)  Twenty-three Dollars ($23) for any taxicab or other vehicle which is kept for 
rent or hire operated by a chauffeur for the transportation of passengers, and which operates or 
should operate under permits issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles as required by law.  An 
additional fee of $5 shall be charged if the weight of the vehicle is more than 4,000 pounds; 
  (3)  Twenty-three Dollars ($23) for a bus used exclusively for transportation to 
and from church school, for the purpose of religious instruction, or church, for the purpose of 
divine worship.  If the empty weight of the vehicle exceeds 4,000 pounds, the fee shall be $28; 
  (4)  Thirty-three Dollars ($33) for all other vehicles with a weight of 4,000 
pounds or less; 
  (5)  Thirty-eight Dollars ($38) for all other vehicles with a weight of more than 
4,000 pounds. 
 
 


