Minutes - Summary of March 14 Meeting

Call to order

Co-Chairmen Hanley and Mendelsohn called the tenth meeting of the Bipartisan Election Process Improvement Commission (“Commission”) to order in Room 232 of the County Government Center at 7:15 p.m.  Members in attendance included:  Bob Brostrom, Chuck Caputo, Bettie Baca, Alex Blakemore, Keith Damon, Cesar del Aguila, Jeremy Epstein, Olga Hernandez, Tania Hossain, Jay McConville, Jay Myerson, James Parmelee, Lee Ann Pender, Ginny Peters, Kelsey Phipps, Marion Stillson, and Jeffrey Wisoff.  Members of the public were in attendance, as well as County staff.

Draft Report

Chairman Hanley announced that after the conclusion of the last meeting, Commission members had reconsidered trying to include information in the report about the possible fiscal impact of the Commission’s recommendations.  Commission members realized that it was difficult to get good numbers on potential costs and that there was no way to get good numbers.  Chairman Hanley had spoken individually to other members who agreed.  The Co-Chairs didn’t want to change course on the fiscal impact without talking to all Commission members.  The members agreed with the change.

Chairman Mendelsohn turned to a discussion the draft report, which had been provided to the members in advance of the meeting, and asked whether the report included the changes requested at the last meeting or whether anything had been missed.  Several additional edits were proposed and discussed.  General agreement was reached on several proposed edits and they were incorporated into the report.

Chairman Hanley moved that the Commission approve the report as edited in the meeting.  Ms. Baca, along with others, seconded the motion.  The Commission voted unanimously in favor of the motion.

The Co-Chairs advised that the report will be finalized and provided to the Board of Supervisors at its meeting on Tuesday, March 19, 2013.  The Co-Chairs will provide a final version of the report to Commission members before the Board meeting if possible.  Chairman Hanley encouraged the members to let the press obtain the report from the Board of Supervisors.  The Co-Chairs are scheduled to formally present the final report to the Board of Supervisors at 10:55 a.m., and members of the Commission are encouraged to come to the meeting to observe and be recognized.  The Board of Supervisors will issue a press release about the report, but probably not until after the Co-Chairs formally present it to the Board.

Mr. del Aguila observed that it was a tribute to the Co-Chairs that the members adopted the report unanimously and that the chairs of both the local Democratic and Republican Committees can support it.  The members gave a round of applause for the Commission Co-Chairs.


Thereafter, the meeting adjourned.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version