Fairfax County History Commission Historical Roadside Marker


Odrick's Corner

Ordrick's CornerMarker Text: In 1872 Alfred Odrick, a former slave and carpenter, purchased 30 acres and built a house on the south side of Lewinsville Road, later intersected by Spring Hill Road to form Odrick's Corner. By 1879 a one-room schoolhouse, Odrick's School, had been built there. Tradition links Odrick to its establishment. The school was also used for community meetings and the first services of the Shiloh Baptist Church. The original frame schoolhouse was eventually replaced with a brick structure, which was closed, sold in 1953, and later demolished. A vibrant African-American community grew around the school and church.

Date Installed: May 13, 2002

Marker Credits: Fully funded by the McLean Citizens Foundation.

Marker Location: McLean. On the north side of Lewinsville Road/Route 694, west of Spring Hill Road. At the south border of Spring Hill District Park at 1239 Spring Hill Road.

Marker Location Map

 


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2013

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version