Library Board of Trustees Honors Volunteers

For Immediate Release: May 10, 2013

Contact: Mary Mulrenan 703-324-8319

The Fairfax County Public Library Board of Trustees honored 35 volunteers and one community partner at a special awards ceremony May 8 at George Mason Regional Library. Three volunteer categories earning special recognition include volunteers who have reached service milestones; volunteers who have provided exceptional service by spearheading outstanding projects; and community service partners. Delegate Mark Sickles served as the evening’s Master of Ceremonies.

Individual and corporate volunteers donated more than 150,000 hours of work for the library in fiscal year 2012 and made a significant impact in the ability of the library to serve the community. Volunteers check in books; provide tutoring; conduct programs; keep books in order with the “adopt-a-shelf” project; provide landscaping; and, contribute to many other valuable projects.

“We appreciate how valuable volunteers are, not only for the hours they contribute, but as library ambassadors in the communities we serve,” said Willard Jasper, chairman of the Fairfax County Public Library Board of Trustees. “They spread the word among family, neighbors and friends about the wide array of resources the Fairfax County Public Library provides.”

The Honorees:

Community Service Partner

Exxon Mobil Corporation

Access Services

Anita Cline – Exceptional Service

Burke Centre Library

Tammy Howell – Exceptional Service

City of Fairfax Regional Library

Richard Miller – Exceptional Service

Yildiz Agnello – 1,000 Hours                                                        

Cliff Diehl – 1,000 Hours                                                                

Judy Diehl – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                             

Sheila Miller – 1,000 Hours                                                          

Alan Rems – 1,000 Hours                                                             

George Mason Regional Library

Mark Cohen – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                        

Sue Frey – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                                

Johan Glembocki – 1,000 Hours

Kathleen Levitz  – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                  

Linda Richardson – 1,000 Hours

Great Falls Library

Michelle Miller – Exceptional Service                                                                                                                                      

Ellen McKneely – 3,000 Hours

Carol Gibson – 1,000 Hours

Herndon Fortnightly Library

Ludeane Maughan – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                            

Kingstowne Library

Plutarco Cedeno – Exceptional Service

Martha Fitzpatrick – Exceptional Service                                                                                                                             

Margaret Weaver – 3,000 Hours

Martha Washington Library

Beverly Morse – 5,000 Hours

Reston Regional Library

Elayne DeVito – Exceptional Service                                                                                                                                       

Paul Toxie – Exceptional Service                                                 

Pamela Chin – 5,000

Nancy Bauer –1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                        

Wendell Drigger --1,000 Hours                                                   

Eileen Gormally – 1,000 Hours                                                   

Brian Jacoby – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                        

Ruth Jobe – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                               

Chloe Morris – 1,000 Hours                                                                                                                                                        

 Sherwood Regional Library

Joan Schwab—1,000 Hours

Tysons-Pimmit Regional Library

Yvonne Shang – Exceptional Service

Andrew Fauver –7,500 Hours

Mae McCarty – 15,000 Hours

Woodrow Wilson Library

Claudia Rojas – Exceptional Service

Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability in all county programs, services and activities. To request this information in an alternate format, call 703-324-8380, TTY 703-324-8365.

Library | Catalog | Account Services | Locations & Hours | Research and Learning | Events
ReadersLink | Research | Get Involved | Community Outreach | Newsroom | Mobile

Suggestions and comments can be sent to Library Customer Service or the Library Director.
The Fairfax County Public Library Web publishing team welcomes your feedback related to the site.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2016

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version