Lord and Lady Fairfax

The Lord and Lady Fairfax Awards Program yearly honors two volunteer leaders from each Magisterial District. The honorees are selected for their outstanding volunteer service in their home districts or for an act of heroism. This year's Lord and Lady are introduced below, and at the bottom of this page is a list of all the honorees from Mount Vernon.

Marcia Hanson, Lady Fairfax 2016

Marcia, who served as the chief aide and environmental representative for former Supervisor Gerry Hyland, has been a tireless champion for residents of the Mount Vernon District for three decades. She has been instrumental in transforming the Lorton Community into a vibrant, exciting, and more livable community by advocating for the closing of the prison, the addition of new schools, and the development of a championship golf course, new parklands, and the Workhouse Arts Center. As a community advocate, Ms. Hanson worked to ensure the county’s mass burn facility had the best environmental safeguards, and she pushed to close the I-95 county landfill. In 1984, she established the Federation of Lorton Communities, which evolved into the South County Federation. Ms. Hanson’s continuous and energetic efforts have left an indelible mark on the Lorton landscape.

Larry Clark, Lord Fairfax 2016

Larry has contributed greatly to the community of Spring Hill, where he has served as chair of its Transition Committee and its Community Relations Committee, as well as President of its Board of Directors. In these and other roles—including Vice President of the South County Federation—Mr. Clark has developed a reputation as someone who can effectively bring together parties to make meaningful and lasting progress. Specifically, Mr. Clark was instrumental in advocating for the transformation of Lorton Prison into the present-day project known as Liberty Crest, as well as in halting the expansion of the ESI construction debris landfill. Larry’s commitment, dedication, and outstanding leadership exemplify the characteristics of the 2016 Mount Vernon District Lord Fairfax award. 


Former Mount Vernon District
Lords and Ladies Fairfax 


Lord Fairfax

Lady Fairfax

2015 Martin Tillet Elisabeth Lardner
2014 COL Gregory Gadson Mary Porter
2013 Jeff Todd Becky Todd
2012 Jim Rees Diana York
2011 Dale Johnson Barbara Sullivan
2010 Linwood Gorham Glenda Booth
2009 Gil McCutcheon Christine Morin
2008 Frank Cohn Susan Fremit
2007 Marvin Miller Elizabeth I. Promen
2006 Mack Rhoades Susan Aheron Magill
2005 Tim Sargeant Louise Cleveland
2004 Joe Chudzik Harriet Piper
2003 Neal F. McBride Diane Donley
2002 Charlie Creighton Beryl A. Harman
2001 John F. "Jack" Knowles Irma A. Clifton
2000 Sy Berdux Mary Jo Tandy
1999 Earl Flanagan Queenie Cox
1998 Phil Downs Betty McManus
1997 John Byers Joyce D. Andrews
1996 Warren Cikins Henley Gibble
1995 Eugene L. Krizek Adeline R. Krizek
1994 Thomas W. Chadwick Louise L. Meade
1993 Henry B. Norton, Jr. Christa H. Hellberg-Cook
1992 Raymond W. Philipps Gertrude L. Wright
1991 Colonel David Bolte Ruth R. Freaney
1990 Arthur W. Friedberg Anne A. Andrews
1989 Colonel Robert Hardiman Virginia A. Weber
1988 Albert J. Perry Emily Myatt
1987 Joseph T. Adinaro A. Virginia Dupart
1986 Curtis Shufflebarger, Jr. Virginia Shufflebarger
1985 Brigadier General Lyon Helen Lyon
1984 Joseph Flakne Eleanor Kennedy


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version