National Capital Region Emergency Preparedness

For more information, contact:
Jeanne Saddler, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, 202-962-3250, TTY 711
Merni Fitzgerald, Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs, 703-324-3189, TTY 711

Oct. 24, 2005


National Capital Region’s Chief Administrative Officers Brief Congressional Delegation on Emergency Planning and Preparedness

The chief administrative officers from the National Capital Region briefed members of the local congressional delegation today about the state of emergency planning and preparedness in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.

The special briefing was held this morning in the Rayburn House Office Building before a bi-partisan panel. U.S. Representatives Tom Davis (Va.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (Washington, D.C.), Jim Moran (Va.), Frank R. Wolf (Va.) and Chris Van Hollen (Md.) received the briefing from the regional group.

The group updated the delegation on the state of the region’s ongoing emergency planning and preparedness efforts, along with lessons learned from the recent hurricanes.

The briefing was opened by Mayor Pro-Tem Bruce Williams of Takoma Park, Md., who chairs the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments’ Emergency Preparedness Council. Deputy Chief Administrative Officer Vernon Herron from Prince George’s County; County Executive Craig S. Gerhardt from Prince William County; County Executive Anthony H. Griffin from Fairfax County; Deputy Mayor for Public Safety and Justice Ed Reiskin from the District of Columbia; Chief Administrative Officer Bruce Romer from Montgomery County; and Executive Director David Robertson from the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments briefed the delegation.

Thomas J. Lockwood, director of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Office of National Capital Region Coordination, and Maj. Gen. Guy C. Swan III, commander of the Military District of Washington and the Joint Force Headquarters, National Capital Region, attended the briefing, along with other regional homeland security partners.

About the National Capital Region
The NCR encompasses the District of Columbia and parts of Maryland and Virginia, including the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas and Manassas Park and the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William in Virginia and Montgomery and Prince George’s counties in Maryland, which include the municipalities of Bowie, College Park, Gaithersburg, Greenbelt, Rockville and Takoma Park.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version