Mount Vernon District Hosts Town Meeting

Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 551

Fairfax, VA 22035-0065

703-324-3187, TTY 711, FAX 703-324-2010

Jan. 10, 2006

Mount Vernon District Hosts

19th Annual Town Meeting

Supervisor Gerry Hyland will host Mount Vernon's 19th Annual Town Meeting on Saturday, Feb. 4, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at Mount Vernon High School’s Little Theatre, 8515 Old Mount Vernon Road, Alexandria (Fairfax County). Again this year, Hyland will take his constituents on a virtual bus tour of Richmond Highway and areas nearby that are experiencing new development.

“We are delighted to have joining us Chairman of the Board of Supervisors Gerry Connolly; Lee District Supervisor Dana Kauffman; County Executive Tony Griffin; and School Superintendent Jack Dale,” said Supervisor Hyland.

“Directed primarily to residents of the Mount Vernon Magisterial District including Lorton, and Springfield, the meeting is open to all residents of the county. It offers a local forum to hear the significant issues involving Mount Vernon as well as countywide affairs and provides the opportunity for residents to meet their elected representatives and express their views and concerns,” continued Supervisor Hyland.

Other panelists include Col. Brian Lauritzen, Fort Belvoir’s new garrison commander; Fairfax County’s Chief Financial Officer Ed Long; Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Chief Mike Neuhard; and Fairfax County Police Chief David Rohrer.

Panelists will make their presentations followed by a 15-minute question-and-answer period. At the conclusion of the presentations additional time will be allowed so that residents have a chance to voice their ideas or ask questions.

At 7:45 a.m., prior to the town meeting, residents will have an opportunity to walk through the school cafeteria to look at more than 50 displays and exhibits, which have grown substantially in number since the Mount Vernon Town Meeting’s inception in 1988. While enjoying a cup of coffee and a doughnut, residents may stop at tables containing information on BRAC, voter registration and information and the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Project or speak with Fairfax County Department of Transportation staff about the replacement to Woodlawn Road or the final connection of the Fairfax County Parkway. Residents also will be able to get information about Supervisor Hyland’s new History Project and share their oral histories and stories of the Mount Vernon District. Residents can bring their rechargeable batteries for cell phones and PDAs for recycling as well as old cell phones and eyeglasses for donation.

County agencies, including the Office of Public Affairs, the Department of Family Services, the Fairfax County Park Authority, the Police Department, the Fire and Rescue Department, Animal Control, the Department of Tax Administration and the Division of Stormwater Management, will have representatives available to answer questions. The Southeast Fairfax Development Corporation, Gunston Hall, the Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority and Volunteer Fairfax are some of the noncounty agencies that also will be represented.

Numerous public officials have been invited, including Reps. Jim Moran and Tom Davis; State Sens. Toddy Puller and Patsy Ticer and State Delegates Kris Amundson, Mark Sickles, Dave Englin and Dave Albo.

For more information, call Supervisor Hyland’s office at 703-780-7518, TTY 711.

To request this information in an alternate format, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version