County Recognizes Outstanding Employees

Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 551
Fairfax, VA 22035-0065
703-324-3187, TTY 711, FAX 703-324-2010

Jan. 24, 2006

Fairfax County Recognizes Outstanding Employees

Note to editor: A photo of the award winners is available upon request.

At the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors meeting on Jan. 23, the Fairfax County Employees Advisory Council presented the 2005 Don Smith EAC Award to three county employees. The award recognizes individual county employees who have contributed in an outstanding manner to the well-being of fellow employees. The winners received an engraved plaque and a check from the council for $1,000.

The 2005 Don Smith EAC Award winners are:

  • Vera Finberg, Fairfax County Public Library, for her 13 years of service as the employee representative on the Fairfax County Employees’ Retirement System’s Board of Trustees. She was cited for her “extraordinary knowledge of finance and investment, which has been a strong asset to the board and thus to all members of the retirement system, working and retired. Vera has given countless presentations to employee groups throughout the county on retirement planning and how the retirement system works.”
  • Keith Foxx, Fairfax County Department of Public Works and Environmental Services, for encouraging fellow employees to work toward a higher fitness level. He convinced approximately 15 employees to attend the Jump & Pump class offered by the Employee Fitness and Wellness Center. Foxx’s nomination for the award noted that in addition to the physical benefits, the challenging class fostered teamwork and increased morale.
  • Susan Herbert, Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department, for her efforts in managing the department’s Strategic and Operation Plans. In her efforts with other county agencies she shines as an exemplary facilitator and guiding force for strategic planning efforts. One of her most recent efforts was working with the EAC on its Strategic Plan and guiding the development of its vision and mission statements, setting goals and establishing an operational plan. The operational goals set by the EAC focus efforts on specific issues of concern to all county employees.

Twelve additional Fairfax County employees who were nominated received certificates of recognition: David Baucom, Police Department; Purvis Dawson, Police Department; Monica Foote, Department of Administration for Human Services; Elizabeth Brooke Fuller, Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board; Jean Helmandollar, Circuit Courts and Records; Stephanie Lawrence, Department of Family Services; Deborah McClure, Department of Administration for Human Services; Shawn Monaghan, Police Department; Maria Padmore, Health Department; Sandra Rathbun, Circuit Court and Records; John Smith, Fire and Rescue; and Guy Yates, Department of Tax Administration.

The Don Smith EAC Award was established by the Employees Advisory Council in 1991 to honor Donald D. Smith, a longtime employee of the Office of Comprehensive Planning who was a mainstay of the EAC for 16 years until his retirement in 1990.

For more information or a photograph of the award winners, contact the Office of Public Affairs, 703-324-3187, TTY 711.


To request this information in an alternate format, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version