Mount Vernon District to Host South County Town Meeting

Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 551
Fairfax, VA 22035-0065
703-324-3187, TTY 711, FAX 703-324-2010

Sept. 8, 2006

Mount Vernon District to Host South County Town Meeting

Mount Vernon District Supervisor Gerry Hyland will host the first South County Town Meeting on Thursday, Sept. 14, from 5:45 to 10 p.m. at the South County Secondary School Auditorium, 8501 Silverbrook Road, Lorton.

“The Lorton and Laurel Hill area of Fairfax County has seen such tremendous growth in the past several years; I wanted to bring a Mount Vernon tradition to the front door of South County,” stated Hyland. “Directed primarily to residents of South County including Lorton, Mason Neck and eastern Springfield, the meeting is open to all residents of the county providing a local forum to hear the significant issues involving South County as well as countywide affairs while creating the opportunity for citizens to meet their elected representatives and express their views and concerns.”

Panelists scheduled for the town meeting include Fairfax County Executive Anthony H. Griffin; Fort Belvoir Base Commander Col. Brian Lauritzen; Mount Vernon District School Board Member Daniel Storck; Fairfax County Public Schools Superintendent Jack Dale; Fire Chief Mike Neuhard; and Police Chief David Rohrer. Their presentations will be followed by a question-and-answer session.

As part of the town meeting, Hyland will guide a “virtual bus tour” of Lorton, Laurel Hill, Newington, Mason Neck and other South County areas.

Starting at 5:45 p.m., displays and exhibits will be available in the cafeteria along with beverages and pizza before the presentation, which begins at 7 p.m. Fairfax County agencies will provide information and answer questions, including representatives from the Office of Public Affairs, Department of Family Services, Fairfax County Park Authority, Police Department, Fire and Rescue Department, Animal Services Division, Tax Administration Department and Stormwater Management.

Also exhibiting in the cafeteria will be Fort Belvoir, the Virginia Department of Transportation, Inova Health Services and South County Parent Teacher Student Administration, along with Gunston Hall, Mason Neck Wildlife Refuge, Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority and Volunteer Fairfax.

Residents can bring their rechargeable batteries for cell phones and PDAs for recycling as well as old cell phones and eyeglasses for donation.

For further information on the South County Town Meeting, call the Mount Vernon District Office at 703-780-7518, TTY 711.


For more news and information, visit

To request this information in an alternate format, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version