Two New Members Appointed to Planning Commission

Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 551
Fairfax, VA 22035-0065
Contact: Merni Fitzgerald, Director of Public Affairs
703-324-3187, TTY 711, Fax 703-324-2010
Media Pager: 703-324-NEWS (6397)

Dec. 18, 2006

Two New Members Appointed to Planning Commission

At its regular meeting on Dec. 4, the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors appointed two new members to the 12-member Fairfax County Planning Commission and reappointed two others.

Mount Vernon District Supervisor Gerry Hyland nominated and the Board of Supervisors appointed Earl Layton Flanagan to complete the term of John Byers, who resigned after serving 21 years as the Mount Vernon Commissioner. A 26-year resident of Fairfax County, Flanagan currently serves as president of the Riverside Estates Civic Association, member of the Mount Vernon/Lee Richmond Highway Revitalization Task Force, the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Stakeholder Panel, and is an elder in the Mount Vernon Presbyterian Church. He has previously served on the Transportation Advisory Commission, as chair of the Mount Vernon Council of Citizens’ Associations, director of the Federation of Citizens Association, the Southeast Fairfax Development Corporation, and the Committee of 100. Flanagan was previously a principal architect in the firm of E. Layton Flanagan & Associates in Harvey, Ill., and is currently retired.

Board of Supervisors Chairman Gerald E. Connolly nominated and the Board of Supervisors appointed Timothy Sargeant to the at-large seat vacated by Laurie Frost Wilson, who chose not to seek reappointment. Sargeant currently serves on the board of directors of Celebrate Fairfax!, the Virginia 2007 Committee and was recently elected as co-chair of the Mount Vernon Council of Citizens’ Associations. He also has served as the chairman of the Laurel Hill Master Planning Project since 2003. Previously, he co-chaired the Laurel Hill Comprehensive Plan Process from 1995 to 1999 and the Mount Vernon Area Plans Review Process from 2002 to 2006. Sargeant is employed by Washington Gas, with responsibility for business continuity and crisis management planning.

Also reappointed to additional terms on the commission were Peter F. Murphy Jr., Springfield District, and Janet Hall, Mason District. Murphy has served on the commission since 1983 and as chairman since 1989; Hall has represented Mason District since 1995.

Each of these members will be sworn in by Clerk of the Court John Frey at the Planning Commission’s next meeting on Wednesday, Jan. 10, at 8:15 p.m. in the Board Auditorium of the Government Center, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax. For more information, call 703-324-2865, TTY 703-324-7951, or visit


To request this information in an alternate format, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version