Onthank Awards Recognize County Employees

Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 551
Fairfax, VA 22035-0065
Contact: Merni Fitzgerald, Director of Public Affairs
703-324-3187, TTY 711, Fax 703-324-2010
Media Pager: 703-324-NEWS (6397)

June 18, 2007

 Onthank Awards Recognize Fairfax County Employees

Eight employees have been selected to receive the Onthank Award, the highest honor Fairfax County bestows on its employees. Seven recipients are from county government and one is from the school system. The awards were presented at today’s regularly scheduled meeting of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors.

Fairfax County Government Employee Awardees:
Mari de Leon, management analyst II, Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board.
C. Frank Dillow, business analyst III, Department of Purchasing and Supply Management.
Mona Enquist-Johnston, naturalist III, Park Authority.
Judy Fincham, environmental technologist I, Department of Public Works and Environmental
Dai P. Nguyen, program manager, Department of Family Services.
Denis P. Paddeu, transportation planner III, Department of Transportation.
Thomas Ryan, major, Police Department.

Fairfax County Public Schools Employee Awardee:
Martha B. Langrehr, social worker, S. John Davis Center

The Onthank Award was established by the Board of Supervisors in 1966 to honor the memory of Col. A. Heath Onthank (USA Ret.), the first chairman of the Fairfax County Civil Service Commission (1957-1962) and guiding force of the county’s career merit system.

The Onthank Award recognizes accomplishments of outstanding worth in advancing and improving public service in Fairfax County government and school system by an individual county employee. No more than 10 awards may be given each year.

Eligibility for the Onthank Award is open to merit system employees of county government, and contracted unified salary scale and food service employees of Fairfax County Public Schools. School teachers and instructional assistants are not eligible for this award.

Since its inception in 1966, 295 employees have received the Onthank Award. Recipients have included managers, public safety employees, administrative assistants, human services personnel, custodians, librarians, school bus drivers, building inspectors and others from agencies throughout county government and the school system. Nominations have come from residents, fellow employees, civic groups, and business and professional organizations.

For more information on the Onthank Awards, contact Betty Marshall in the Department of Human Resources at 703-324-3308; TTY 711.


For more news and information, visit www.fairfaxcounty.gov/news.

Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability in all county programs, services and activities. To request this information in an alternate format, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version