Inauguration Ceremony to be held Dec. 12

Fairfax County Office of Public Affairs
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 551
Fairfax, VA 22035-0065
Contact: Merni Fitzgerald, Director of Public Affairs
703-324-3187, TTY 711, Fax 703-324-2010
Media Pager: 703-324-NEWS (6397)

Dec. 7, 2007

Inauguration Ceremony to be held Dec. 12

The inauguration ceremony for the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, Fairfax County constitutional officers, and the Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District directors will be held on Wednesday, Dec. 12, at 6:30 p.m. in the forum of the Government Center, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax. The event is free and open to the public.

Fairfax County Circuit Court Judge Stanley P. Klein will administer the oath of office to Board of Supervisors Chairman Gerald E. Connolly and 15 other elected officials, whose terms of office begin Jan. 1, 2008. The ceremony also will include musical performances by local artists. A reception will follow.

In addition to Connolly, the district supervisors to be installed are:

  • Sharon Bulova, Braddock District
  • John W. Foust, Dranesville District
  • Michael R. Frey, Sully District
  • Penelope A. Gross, Mason District
  • Pat S. Herrity, Springfield District
  • Catherine M. Hudgins, Hunter Mill District
  • Gerald W. Hyland, Mount Vernon District
  • Jeff C. McKay, Lee District
  • Linda Q. Smyth, Providence District

The three constitutional officers elected countywide are:

  • Raymond F. Morrogh, Commonwealth’s Attorney
  • Stan G. Barry, Sheriff
  • John T. Frey, Clerk of the Court

The three directors of the Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District are:

  • Johna Good Gagnon
  • Sally B. Ormsby
  • John W. Peterson

The inauguration ceremony will be broadcast live with closed captioning on Fairfax County Government Channel 16. It also will be video streamed on the county Web site at It will be rebroadcast on Channel 16 at 8 p.m. on Dec. 15, 19 and 22.

An inauguration Web page is available at Media and the public can use this page as a source of information about the inauguration activities. On the night of the ceremony, photos of the swearing-in will be available. Video clips will be posted on the site later in the week.

For more information, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.



For more news and information, visit

Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability in all county programs, services and activities. To request this information in an alternate format, call the Office of Public Affairs at 703-324-3187, TTY 711.

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version