Farm Entrance/Mailing Address: 2709 West Ox Road • Herndon,
Visitor Center Address: 2739 West Ox Road • Herndon,
Virginia 20171 • 703-437-9101
Bluegrass Barn Flyer
This bi-weekly Sunday performance series, held at Frying Pan Farm
Park's Visitor Center, showcases some of the best of local and regional
Bluegrass musicians. Season pass includes admission
to all shows, plus prime reserved seating. Dinner, drinks and dessert available.
Down on the Farm
Meet draft horses, chickens, peacocks, rabbits, sheep, goats, cows and
pigs at Kidwell
Farm, Frying Pan Park's working farm of the 1930s era. Pet the
friendly farm animals, take a hayride or watch the farm hands at work.
At the Kidwell Farm House, you can sit for a spell on the porch or take
a tour to see how farm families lived in the 1930s. Kidwell Farm is
open daily 10 a.m.-6 p.m. Groups are welcome, and school programs are
available by appointment. Call for tour information.
The Country Store
Located in the former Vocational Agriculture Shop (c. 1920), the Frying Pan Country
Store is a onestop shop with something for everyone -- books of
all kinds, toys, snacks and drinks, decorative items for the home and
unique gifts for farm, equestrian and history enthusiasts. Open 10
a.m.-4 p.m. March - Dec. Hours of operation are limited in Jan. and
Feb. Call the park for more information. 703-435-3710
Schoolhouse: Grades one through nine were taught in the Floris
Schoolhouse from 1911 to 1920. The schoolhouse is now used for arts and
crafts, fitness programs, camps and scout and children's classes.
Blacksmith Shop: Joseph Moffet and his son Henry operated the
Moffet Blacksmith Shop in Herndon from 1904 to 1955. The shop was moved
to Frying Pan Farm Park in 1975 and contains much of the blacksmith's
original equipment. The shop is open to the public during special
House: Built in 1791, the Frying Pan Spring Meeting House
served as a hospital during the Civil War and boasts connections to
Patrick Henry, James Madison and the First Amendment to the U.S.
Constitution. Visitors may stroll the grounds; the building is open by