

## Safety Tips

Wear safety equipment: Moped drivers and passengers are encouraged to wear Virginia State Police-approved helmets and other proper clothing. Avoid sandals, shorts and short sleeves. Consider wearing gloves and a riding jacket to increase your protection. Do not carry more people at one time than the number the moped is designed or equipped to carry.

Be observant: Keep an eye on your surroundings. Make sure you have both side mirrors and angle them so you can see the most possible area behind you. It is against the law for any person to operate a moped while using earphones on or in both ears.

Ride defensively: Don't be aggressive; mopeds are smaller than most other vehicles sharing the road. Night riding is not recommended, but if necessary, wear bright colored clothing, reflective strips on your jacket and your helmet and keep your headlight in good working order.

Take a training course: Many driver training schools in Virginia offer courses specific to mopeds. Visit www.dmvNOW.com/mopeds to find out about a driver training course near you.

#### **Moped Requirements**

- Wear a helmet
- Use eye-protection if no windshield
- Carry a government-issued photo ID while riding (does not have to be a driver's license)
- Title and register by July 1, 2014
- Do not operate over 35 mph

# Make it Personal

Personalize your moped plate for \$10 in addition to the registration fee. Six characters: endless possibilities.

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Post Office Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

(804) 497-7100



DMV 264 (06/03/2014) © Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2014. All rights reserved.



# Mopeds <sup>in</sup> Virginia





## **The Basics**

The following provisions apply to mopeds operating on Virginia roadways. They do not apply to mopeds that are **solely** operated on private property.

- In Virginia, you must be at least age 16 to drive a moped.
- Virginia law requires every moped driver operating on Virginia roadways to carry a government-issued photo ID (does not

have to be a driver's license) and every driver and passenger must wear a helmet\* while riding a moped. Drivers must also wear a face shield, safety glasses or goggles unless the moped has a windshield.

- Operation of mopeds
  is prohibited on the interstate.
- If your driving privileges are suspended or revoked based on a DUI-related conviction or as a habitual offender, you must be in full compliance with all requirements imposed by DMV and the court before operating a moped.
- Customers with outstanding fines for HOT lane or toll violations cannot register any motor vehicle, including mopeds, until those fines have been paid.

\*Virginia State Police-approved helmet required for moped riders. Helmets should meet or exceed the standards and specifications of the Snell Memorial Foundation, the American National Standards Institute, Inc., or the U.S. Department of Transportation.

### **Titling and Registration**

Virginia law requires mopeds operated on Virginia roadways to be titled and registered by July 1, 2014.\* A title is \$10. The annual registration fee is \$20.25.

DMV will issue one license plate per moped to be placed on the rear of the vehicle.

When registering moped, customers will fill out a Moped Certification (DMV form VSA 31) indicating how you intend to operate the vehicle.

DMV will **not** require/collect the following for mopeds:

- Electric vehicle fee
- Insurance
- Odometer reading
- Safety inspection
- Sales and use tax (You will still have to pay retail sales tax if you purchase a moped in Virginia. Mopeds are exempt from personal property tax.)

If a moped is operated in excess of 35 mph it is considered a motorcycle. You would be required to comply with all vehicle registration, insurance and inspection requirements, and driver-licensing laws.

\* Your locality may require registration in addition to these requirements. Every moped rider, even if a temporary resident of Virginia, must meet the above requirements if you intend to operate your moped on Virginia roadways, even if not required in your home state.

#### Documentation

To register mopeds, owners should bring to DMV the ownership document (title or manufacturers certificate of origin) that came with the vehicle purchase.

Customers without an ownership document can bring in documentation such as a bill of sale with a completed Moped and All-Terrain Vehicle Affidavit in Lieu of Title Certificate (DMV form VSA 12M). VSA 12M forms can be printed online at www.dmvNOW.com or are available at the information desk at any DMV or DMV Select office.

Customers without documentation can call DMV at (804) 497-7100 for assistance.

### **Traffic Laws**

Generally, drivers operating a moped must abide by the same traffic laws as the drivers of any other motor vehicles; however, there are some rules specific to mopeds.

Red lights: A moped operator may proceed through the intersection on a steady red light if the driver does ALL of the following:

- Comes to a full and complete stop at the intersection for two complete cycles of the traffic light or for two minutes, whichever is shorter
- Treats the traffic control device as a stop sign
- Determines that it is safe to proceed
- Yields the right of way to the driver of any vehicle approaching from another direction.

Turning: You must signal to turn or stop when riding a moped. If your moped does not have a mechanical turn signal, signal by hand. Moped drivers must comply with traffic signs or signals and should approach and complete the turn as close as safely possible to the right curb or edge of the roadway.

Speed: Moped drivers should ride as close as safely possible to the right curb or edge of the roadway when traveling at less than normal speed on Virginia roadways, except under the following circumstances:

- When passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction
- When turning left at an intersection or into a private road or driveway
- When reacting to conditions including, but not limited to, fixed or moving objects, parked or moving vehicles, pedestrians, animals, surface hazards, or substandard width lanes that make it unsafe to continue along the right curb or edge
- When avoiding riding in a lane that must turn right
- When riding on a one-way road or highway, a person may also ride as near the left-hand curb or edge of the roadway

