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DISCLAIMER: The following materials offer construction business information only and do not constitute legal,
accounting, or tax advice. Readers and attendees are strongly encouraged to seek experienced professional

advice in the review of contracts or other legal or financial activities where liability or compliance issues are of
concern.

l. Contractor Licensing Laws
Virginia Business License
Virginia Contractor License
Local Business License
Local Contractor License
Trades License
RRP Certification

Virginia Business License - Virginia State Corporation Commission -www.scc.virginia.gov

Code of Virginia - Virginia Administrative Code (VAC)

Virginia Contractor/Trades License - Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
(DPOR) - www.dpor.virginia.gov

Virginia Contractor License
Class
Class C - Single contract or project over $1,000 but less than $10,000 (2 exceptions)
Class B - Single contract or project $10,000 or more, but less than $120,000
Class A - Single contract or project $120,000 or more
Classification
Specialty

Local Business License - www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/business bpol.htm

Local Contractor License - www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dpwes/navbar/fags/contractorlic.htm

Building Permit - www.fairfaxcounty.gov/living/buildingpermits

RRP - Renovation, Repair and Painting - http://www.epa.gov/getleadsafe
http://www.epa.gov/lead/pubs/renovation.htm

1. Contract Types — Basis of Payment
Lump sum / stipulated sum / fixed price
Cost-plus /unit price

Four Indispensable Contract Terms
Parties

Project

Time of performance

Cost

PONPE
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Virginia Residential Construction Contract Requirements
Failure to use a written contract or have all parties sign contract - 18 VAC 50-22-260.B.8.

Failure of all those who engage in residential contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting
parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or service contracts, to make use of a legible
written contract clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to be performed. For the
purposes of this chapter, residential contracting means construction, removal, repair, or improvements
to single-family or multiple-family residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as defined
in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to commencement of work or acceptance of payments,
the contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent.

Improper contract - 18 VAC 50-22-260.B.9.

Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as defined in this chapter to comply with the terms
of a written contract which contains the following minimum requirements:

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion date;

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the amounts and schedule for progress
payments including a specific statement on the amount of the down payment;

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be performed, which is specifically requested by
the consumer;

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning events beyond the control of the
contractor and a statement explaining that delays caused by such events do not constitute
abandonment and are not included in calculating time frames for payment or performance;
e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will comply with all local requirements for
building permits, inspections, and zoning;

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the
consumer that he has been provided with and read the Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation statement of protection available to him through the Board for
Contractors;

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of license, and classifications or
specialty services; and

i. Statement providing that any modification to the contract, which changes the cost,
materials, work to be performed, or estimated completion date, must be in writing and
signed by all parties.

General Conditions of the Contract
Responsibilities
Representatives
Schedule
Insurance / Bonds
Differing Site Conditions
Changes in the Work
Delays
Payment / Retainage / Release of Liens
Hazardous Materials
Warranties
Termination
Dispute Resolution
Choice of Law
Attorney Fees
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I11. Contractor Verification
SCC
DPOR
Fairfax BPOL — 703-222-8234
Fairfax Class C — 703-222-0801
Building Permit
Fairfax County Consumer Protection - www.fairfaxcounty.gov/consumer/complaint_history.htm
Virginia Judicial System - www.courts.state.va.us
Real Estate - icare.fairfaxcounty.gov/Search/GenericSearch.aspx?mode=ADDRESS
Website - www.google.com
Drive By
References

IV. Disputes

8§ 54.1-1115.A Prohibited acts.
The following acts are prohibited and shall constitute the commission of a Class 1 misdemeanor:

1. Contracting for, or bidding upon the construction, removal, repair or improvements to or
upon real property owned, controlled or leased by another person without a license or
certificate, or without the proper class of license as defined in 8 54.1-1100 for the value of work
to be performed.

2. Attempting to practice contracting in the Commonwealth, except as provided for in this
chapter.

3. Presenting or attempting to use the license or certificate of another.

4. Giving false or forged evidence of any kind to the Board or any member thereof in an
application for the issuance or renewal of a license or certificate.

5. Impersonating another or using an expired or revoked license or certificate.

6. Receiving or considering as the awarding authority a bid from anyone whom the awarding
authority knows is not properly licensed or certified under this chapter. The awarding authority
shall require a bidder to submit his license or certificate number prior to considering a bid.

8§ 18.2-200.1. Failure to perform promise for construction, etc., in return for advances.

If any person obtain from another an advance of money, merchandise or other thing, of value, with
fraudulent intent, upon a promise to perform construction, removal, repair or improvement of any
building or structure permanently annexed to real property, or any other improvements to such real
property, including horticulture, nursery or forest products, and fail or refuse to perform such promise,
and also fail to substantially make good such advance, he shall be deemed guilty of the larceny of such
money, merchandise or other thing if he fails to return such advance within fifteen days of a request to
do so sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to his last known address or to the address listed
in the contract.

Virginia Judicial System
Small Claims Court: civil cases where the amount in question does not exceed $5,000.
General District Court: misdemeanor criminal offenses and civil cases where the amount in
question is over $4,500 but not over $15,000.
Circuit Court: felony criminal offenses and civil cases where the amount in question exceeds
$15,000. Circuit Courts may also hear civil cases where the amount in question is the
same as in GDC - between $4,500 and $15,000.

Administrative/Regulatory Law
Complaint
Transaction Recovery Fund - www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/enfocomp.cfm
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