Members and Subcommittees - Ad Hoc Police Practices Review Commission

Commission Members

Michael Hershman, Chairman


  • Jeff Stewart, Resident, Chantilly
  • Adrian Steel, Resident, McLean
  • Nicholas Beltrante, Virginia Citizens Coalition for Police Accountability
    • John Lovaas, Resident, Reston (Alternate)
  • Tim Thompson, President, Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations
    • Daniela Cockayne, Federation Public Safety Chair (Alternate)
  • Shirley Ginwright, Chairman, Communities of Trust Committee, President, Fairfax County NAACP
  • Sal Culosi, Resident
  • Michael Kwon, Resident
  • Robert Cluck, National Alliance on Mental Illness
  • Phil Niedzielski-Eichner, Former Fairfax County School Board
  • Jim Diehl, FCPD Citizens Advisory Committee, Reston
  • Del. Marcus Simon, Member, General Assembly
  • Kevin Bell, Fairfax County Human Services Council


  • Det. Sean Corcoran, Fairfax Coalition of Police Local 5000
  • Det. John Wallace, Fairfax County Police Association
  • Brad Carruthers, Fairfax Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge 77
  • Greg Fried, Southern States Police Benevolent Association
  • Lt. Gervais Reed, Fairfax Black Law Enforcement Officers Association
  • Lucy Caldwell, civilian public information officer
  • Lt. Col Tom Ryan
    • Maj. Joe Hill (alternate)
  • Maj. Ron Kidwell, Fairfax County Sheriff’s Office
  • Hassan Aden, International Association of Chiefs of Police


  • Douglas R. Kay, Fairfax Bar Association president-elect
  • Joseph Cammarata, Chaikin, Sherman, Cammarata, Siegel, P.C.
  • Eric Clingan, The NOVA Law Firm
  • Robert Horan, former Commonwealth’s Attorney


  • Amy Dillard, University of Baltimore, Associate Professor of Law
  • Jack L. Johnson, PricewaterhouseCoopers, public sector practice


  • Mary Kimm, Connection Newspapers
  • Merni Fitzgerald, former director of public affairs (retired)
  • Representative from the Virginia Coalition for Open Government (Invited)
  • Pete Earley, Author, Blogger
  • Dave Statter

County Staff (Ex-officio members/supporting roles)

  • David Rohrer, Deputy County Executive for Public Safety
  • Tony Castrilli, Director, Office of Public Affairs


Use of Force
Phil Niedzielski-Eichner, Chair

Merni Fitzgerald, Chair

Mental Health and CIT
Del. Marcus Simon, Chair

Recruitment, Diversity and Vetting
Shirley Ginwright, Chair

Independent Oversight and Investigations
Jack Johnson, Chair

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version