Providence Homepage

About Providence District

Board Updates


Land Use

Must Have Numbers


Serving on a Board,
Authority, or Commission

Supervisor's Biography

Contact Information 8739 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22031

Phone: 703-560-6946
Fax: 703-207-3541
TTY: 711

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Email Supervisor Smyth

Providence Staff



Establishment of the Coordinating Committee for the

Tysons Corner Transportation and Urban Design Special Study Board Matter

you are here: homepage > government > board of supervisors > providence district > tysons board matter


Supervisor Linda Q. Smyth

Establishment of the Coordinating Committee for the
Tysons Corner Transportation and Urban Design Special Study

March 21, 2005

Mr. Chairman: In July of last year, the Planning Commission, at the Board's request, deferred all rail-related APR nominations in Tysons Corner pending a Special Study to evaluate the area's transportation system and review Tysons Corner rail related Plan recommendations. During the FY 2004 Carryover Budget Review, the Board provided funding ($400,000) to obtain technical assistance for traffic modeling and urban design for this Special Study. Over the past few months, County staff has defined the scope of this study and a contract for consultant has recently been executed.

The scope of the study requires public involvement at several stages. With the enormous amount of interest in Tysons Corner, we propose that a committee be established to work with staff during the special study to help coordinate public outreach and input. This Coordinating Committee would be comprised primarily of members of Board appointed commissions and committees including the Planning Commission, the Transportation Advisory Commission, the Environmental Quality Advisory Council, and the Disability Services Board. They would represent Providence, Hunter Mill, Dranesville, the Town of Vienna and the county at large. In addition, the Board member offices from the 3 magisterial districts and the Chairman's office will have non-voting representatives on the Coordinating Committee.

Therefore, I move that the Board endorse the establishment of a Coordinating Committee for the Tysons Corner Transportation and Urban Design Special Study consisting of members of the groups I just noted, and that the Board instruct county staff to work with the Coordinating Committee to set up a schedule for meetings.

A list of Coordinating Committee members is attached.

Tysons Corner Transportation and Urban Design Study
Coordinating Committee Member

Ken Lawrence, Providence

Frank de la Fe, Hunter Mill

Bob Adams, Providence

George Barker, Countywide

Wade Smith, Dranesville

Bruce Wright, Hunter Mill

George Lamb, Providence

Stephanie Mensh, Countywide

Irv Auerbach, Dranesville

Del. Jim Scott, Countywide

Clark Tyler, Dranesville

Michelle Crocker, Hunter Mill

Planning Commissioner (to be named), Town of Vienna

Staff from Supervisor offices (Chairman, Providence, Hunter Mill, and Dranesville) will be non-voting members of the committee.


Contact Us: General (Office of Public Affairs) | Technical (Web Administrator) | Directed Inquiries (County Agencies)
Phone: 703-FAIRFAX (703-324-7329), TTY 711 | County Phone Listing

Accessibility | Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy

Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2009

Last Modified: Thursday, August 25, 2005