Boards, Authorities and Commissions - Government - Fairfax County, Virginia

Purpose: To set program policy, and give direction to program activities. The Policy Board shall be responsible for: operation of the program within the participating localities, and shall hire and supervise an executive director who shall be responsible for implementing operational policies for the program; hiring and supervising the program staff and controlling all program revenues and expenditures; approval of a fiscal year operational budget prepared by the executive director; an annual report to be prepared by the executive director to include program activities and financial status; an annual independent audit to be conducted at the end of each fiscal year.
Terms: 3 years
Number of Seats: 15
Membership: Not more than Fifteen (15) members - one (1) Commonwealth Attorney or his designee; one (1) Chief of Police or his designee; one(1) MADD rep.; one(1) County Executive rep.; one (1) FFX/FC CSB rep.; one (1) Fairfax County Bar Assoc. rep.; one (1) City of Fairfax rep.; and up to eight (8) at-large reps. appointed by Fairfax Co. BOS. No member shall be employed in any manner by ASAP or receive any payment from ASAP.
Meeting Info: Usually quarterly @ 7:00 p.m. in Conference Room 7, Fairfax County Govt. Center.
Staff Info: Elwood Jones, Director, ASAP
Dept. of Administration for Human Services
Board Website:
Current Membership: Mr. Robert A. Bermingham, Jr.
Mr. Richard O. Bolger
Mr. Kevin Davis
Mr. Steve T. Descano
Mr. Darren Dickens
Mr. David Gardy
Mr. Grant J. Nelson
Mr. Nhat Minh Nguyen
Ms. Linda Perlstein
Mr. Jonathan Phillips
Mr. Jayant Reddy
Ms. Sandra L. Sale
Ms. Laura Sauer
Ms. Debbie Sausville