Boards, Authorities and Commissions - Government - Fairfax County, Virginia

Purpose: To act as an advisory body to the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and Director of Family Services regarding programs, projects and resources concerning the low-income populations of the county.
Terms: 3 years
Number of Seats: 30
Membership: Thirty (30) members: Appointed: Ten (10) members - one representative appointed by each of the ten members of the Board of Supervisors. Elected: Nine (9) members - elected low-income population target areas - three each from north, central and south regions. Representatives must reside in region from which they are elected. Confirmed: Ten (10) members from community organizations; and One (1) Fairfax County Head Start representative.
Meeting Info: The 1st Tuesday of the month in room 9 and 10 of the Government Center from 7:30-9:30 p.m.
Staff Info: John Ruthinoski
Department of Family Services
Board Website:
Current Membership: Mr. Matthew J. Bell
Ms. Melandee Jones Canady
Ms. Alice Doe
Mr. Jim Edwards-Hewitt
Ms. Elethia
Ms. Hawa Hassan
Ms. Caroline Hockenberry
Ms. Michele Hymer Blitz
Mr. Morgan Jameson
Ms. Michelle C. Jefferson
Ms. Debbie Kilpatrick
Mr. Hari Kurup
Mr. Michael Mahrer
Ms. Marcia E. McDevitt
Mr. Ken McMillon
Ms. Michele Menapace
Mr. Isaac Orea Montero
Mr. Gene Pettit
Ms. Adwoa Rey
Ms. Whitney Richardson
Mr. Philip E. Rosenthal
Ms. Holly Seibold
Ms. Heather Thomas
Ms. Walewska M. Watkins
Mr. Willie Williams
Ms. Alice Yam
Ms. Shari Zamarra
Mr. Benjamin Zuhl