Boards, Authorities and Commissions - Government - Fairfax County, Virginia

Purpose: In accordance with Va. Code Sec. 51.5-47 to provide input to state and local agencies on service needs and priorities of persons with physical and sensory disabilities, to provide information and resource referral to local governments regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act, and to provide such other assistance and advice to local governments as may be requested.
Terms: 3 years (up to 2 consecutive 3 year terms after initial term)
Number of Seats: 15
Membership: Fifteen (15) members - Magisterial Districts (9); one (1) At-Large; two (2) At-Large/Fairfax County Business Community; one (1) City of Fairfax local official; one (1) City of Falls Church local official; and one (1) At-Large/Fairfax County local official. An alternate may be appointed from each of the cities, thus the total of 17. State Code requires that membership in the local disabilities board include at least 30 percent representation by individuals with physical, visual or hearing disabilities or their family members (for this 15-member board, the minimum number of representatives would be 5); a local official (person elected or appointed to or employed by a board commission or agency from the jurisdiction making the appointment to the disability services board) from each participating jurisdiction; and at least two representatives from the business community.
Meeting Info: Fairfax Area Disability Services Board monthly meetings are held on 2nd Mondays of the month from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. in Conference Rooms 2 and 3 of the Government Center. The public is welcome to attend. The meeting is announced in the Disability Services Listserve, or you can get more information by calling 703-324-5421: TTY 703-449-1186. Always check Fairfax County's Public Meetings calendar(copy this link to browser: prior to a meeting for any last minute adjustments to time or place.
Staff Info: Claudia Vila
Department of Family Services - Disability Services
Board Website:
Current Membership: Ms. Jamie Lynne Bruen
Ms. Melandee Jones Canady
Ms. Deborah C. Cohen
Mr. Benjamin Gibbs
Ms. Deborah Klein Hammer
Ms. Mary Pauline Jones
Mr. Andrew Magill
Ms. Courtney Cezair Mayers
Ms. Diane Monnig
Ms. Brandis L. Ruise
Ms. Sarah Graham Taylor
Ms. Judith Turcott