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Specific Legislation

Historical Positions of the Board

SUPPORT

HB 843 (Bloxom) (HAPP) provides that for award cycles, defined in the bill as the 12-month
period during which the Virginia Housing and Development Authority (the Authority) awards tax
credits to eligible projects, beginning on and after January 1, 2021, but before July 1, 2025, and
upon approving a federal low-income housing tax credit for a qualified project pursuant to the
Authority's qualified allocation plan, the Authority shall award a housing opportunity tax credit
for the owner of the qualified project so long as doing so will not result in exceeding the award
cycle cap, defined as the sum of (i) $150 million, (ii) the amount, if any, by which the award cycle
cap for the preceding award cycle exceeds the tax credits awarded by the Authority in that award
cycle, and (iii) the amount of tax credits recaptured or otherwise disallowed in the preceding fiscal
year. The bill provides that the housing opportunity tax credit award shall not be less than one-half
of the aggregate amount of the federal low-income housing tax credit approved for the qualified
project under the Authority's qualified allocation plan for all years of the project's credit period.
The bill requires the Authority to send written notice of the award to the owner of the qualified
project and provides that a housing opportunity tax credit shall be allowed for such qualified
project for each year of the credit period, in an amount equal to the lesser of (a) the amount of
federal low-income housing tax credit allocated or allowed by the Authority to such qualified
project, except that there shall be no reduction in the tax credit allowable in the first year of the
credit period due to the calculation in 26 U.S.C. § 42(f)(2), or (b) one-tenth of the tax credit amount
stated in the award notice. Recommend support; Board has historically supported. (22103943D)

SB 47 (Locke) (Reported from SFIN) increases the aggregate annual limit on housing opportunity
tax credits from $15 million to the sum of (i) $150 million, (ii) the amount by which the allocation
for the previous year exceeds credits actually reserved in that year, and (iii) the amount of credits
recaptured or disallowed for the previous year. The bill removes the credit's sunset, which under
current law is January 1, 2026; however, the Virginia Housing Development Authority (the
Authority), which administers the credit, would be authorized to reserve credits only for fiscal
years beginning in January 1, 2021, but before January 1, 2026. The bill directs the Authority,
which is the agency charged with administering the federal low-income housing tax credit (the
federal credit), to reserve a housing opportunity tax credit (the state credit) for a taxpayer whenever
it allocates a federal credit. The reserved state credit must be at least one-half of all federal credits
allocated to the taxpayer over the 10-year period for the federal credit. However, the bill limits the
amount of credits a taxpayer may claim in a single taxable year to the lesser of (a) the amount of
the federal credit allocated to the taxpayer or (b) one-tenth of the reserved amount. The bill
removes the Authority's power to allow credit applicants to sell credits to other taxpayers.
Recommend support; Board has historically supported. (22101688D)
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OPPOSE

COVID-19 Vaccines

HB 27 (Anderson) (HHWI) prohibits the State Health Commissioner and the Board of Health, the
Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, the Department of Health Professions
and any regulatory board therein, and the Department of Social Services from requiring any person
to undergo vaccination for COVID-19 and prohibits discrimination based on a person's COVID-
19 vaccination status with regard to education or public employment and in numerous other
contexts. Recommend oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22100819D)

HB 934 (LaRock) (HCE) prohibits an employer from requiring its employees to receive a vaccine
for the prevention of COVID-19 unless such employer provides individual exemptions that allow
an employee to opt out from such requirement on the basis of (i) medical reasons, including
pregnancy or anticipated pregnancy; (ii) religious reasons; (iii) immunity from COVID-19; (iv)
periodic testing; or (v) the use of employer-provided personal protective equipment. The bill
provides requirements for an employee to claim such exemptions. The bill prohibits an employer
from discrimination against an employee who claims such an exemption. The bill also provides
for civil penalties not to exceed $10,000 by an employer with fewer than 100 employees or $50,000
by an employer with 100 or more employees for violations of the bill's requirements. Recommend
oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22102764D)

Environment/Energy

HB 118 (Freitas) (HCE) repeals provisions (i) requiring the State Air Pollution Control Board to
adopt regulations to reduce carbon dioxide emissions from any electricity generating unit in the
Commonwealth and authorizing the Board to establish an auction program for energy allowances;
(i1) prohibiting the State Corporation Commission from approving any new utility-owned
generation facilities that emit carbon dioxide as a by-product of energy generation, in certain
circumstances; (ii1) declaring that statutory allowances for energy derived from sunlight, onshore
wind, offshore wind, and storage facilities are in the public interest; and (iv) relating to the
development of solar and wind generation and energy storage capacity, development of offshore
wind capacity, and generation of electricity from renewable and zero carbon sources. The bill
provides that planning and development activities for new nuclear generation facilities are in the
public interest. Recommend oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22100091D)

HB 1267 (Wilt) (Reported from HAG) extends by five years the deadline by which the State Air
Pollution Control Board implement low-emissions and zero-emissions vehicle standards and

makes the requirement permissive instead of mandatory. Recommend oppose; Board has
historically opposed. (22106153D-H1)

HB 1301 (Kilgore) (HAPP) repeals the Clean Energy and Community Flood Preparedness Act.
Recommend oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22104929D)
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Firearms

HB 26 (Anderson) (HPS) removes the authority for a locality by ordinance to prohibit the
possession or carrying of firearms, ammunition, or components or any combination thereof in (i)
any building, or part thereof, owned or used by such locality for governmental purposes; (ii) any
public park owned or operated by the locality; (iii) any recreation or community center facility; or
(iv) any public street, road, alley, or sidewalk or public right-of-way or any other place of whatever
nature that is open to the public and is being used by or is adjacent to a permitted event or an event
that would otherwise require a permit. The bill provides that any firearm received by the locality
pursuant to a buy-back program shall be offered for sale by public auction or sealed bids to a
person licensed as a dealer. Current law provides that any such firearm shall be destroyed by the
locality unless the person surrendering the firearm requests in writing that the firearm be offered
for sale. The bill also limits the authority of localities and state governmental entities to bring
lawsuits against certain firearms manufacturers and others. Recommend oppose; Board has
historically opposed. (22100806D)

HB 133 (Cherry) (HRUL) removes preschools and licensed child day centers that are not operated
at the residence of the provider or of any of the children from the list of schools where possessing
a firearm or other weapon on school property or on a school bus is prohibited. Recommend
oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22102275D)

HB 509 (March) (HPS) repeals the procedure by which any attorney for the Commonwealth or
law-enforcement officer may apply to a general district court, circuit court, or juvenile and
domestic relations district court judge or magistrate for an emergency substantial risk order to
prohibit a person who poses a substantial risk of injury to himself or others from purchasing,
possessing, or transporting a firearm. The bill also removes the substantial risk order registry for
the entry of orders issued. Recommend oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22101051D)

HB 1051 (Scott) (HRUL) allows a person subject to a protective order to continue to possess any
firearm while in his place of residence that was possessed by such person at the time of service,
provided that he is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. The bill removes
the requirement that any person subject to a protective order must surrender his firearms within 24
hours of being served with a protective order. Recommend oppose; Board has historically
opposed. (22102583D)

School Resource Officers

HB 37 (Anderson) (HED) requires each school board to enter into a collaborative agreement with
the local law-enforcement agency to employ at least one school resource officer in each public
middle and high school in the local school division and at least one school resource officer per five
public elementary schools in the local school division, who is required to serve in each such
elementary school on a rotating basis. The bill also requires each division superintendent to include
on the threat assessment team established for each public elementary and secondary school in the
local school division at least one school resource officer employed in the school. Recommend
oppose; Board has historically opposed. (22103455D)
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HB 873 (Greenhalgh) (Reported from HAPP) requires each school board to enter into a
collaborative agreement with the local law-enforcement agency to employ at least one school
resource officer in each public elementary and secondary school in the local school division. The
bill provides that no school board shall be granted any full or partial waiver from such staffing
requirements and that no school board that fails to fully comply with such staffing requirements is
eligible for any grant or waiver from the Commonwealth, Board of Education, or Department of
Education. The bill also requires each division superintendent to include on the threat assessment
team established for each public elementary and secondary school in the local school division at
least one school resource officer employed in the school. Recommend oppose; Board has
historically opposed. (22106167D-H1)

AMEND

HJ 79 (Reid) (HPE) provides that the General Assembly may by general law exempt from taxation
the real property of a surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States who
died in the attack on the Pentagon on September 11, 2001. Under a current constitutional provision,
only the surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces who was killed in action is eligible for
the real property tax exemption. Recommend amend. Amend to support as a state tax credit;
Board has historically recommended amendment. (22103332D)

HJ 96 (Wyatt) (HPE) authorizes the General Assembly to exempt from tax the real property of a
surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces who died in the line of duty while performing
official military activities. The amendment provides that such exemption is only available when
the death of such member of the armed forces did not result from criminal conduct. The current
Constitution exempts the real property of a surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces who
was killed in action, a disabled veteran, and the surviving spouse of a disabled veteran.
Recommend amend. Amend to support as a state tax credit; Board has historically recommended
amendment. Cost to the County is likely to exceed $7 million annually. (22103608D)
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New Bills — 2022 GA

HB 1290 (Hayes) (Passed House; SRUL)/SB 764 (Barker) (Passed Senate) requires every public
body to report to the Chief Information Officer (CIO) all known incidents that threaten the security
of the Commonwealth's data or communications or result in exposure of data protected by federal
or state laws and all other incidents compromising the security of the public body's information
technology systems with the potential to cause major disruption to normal activities of the public
body or other public bodies. The bill requires such reports to be made to the CIO within 24 hours
from when the incident was discovered. Recommend monitor. (22106070D-H1, 22104425D-E)

HB 1325 (Reid) (HCCT) changes the existing authorization for local governments to finance, by
ordinance, clean energy, resiliency, and stormwater management programs to authorize the
financing of eligible improvements to eligible properties, as defined in the bill, under C-PACE
loan programs. The bill allows localities to delegate billing, collection, and remittance of C-PACE
loan payments to a third party. The bill exempts localities that have enacted C-PACE ordinances
before July 1, 2022, from enforcement. Recommend support. (22105767D)

Courts/Public Safety

HB 1279 (Anderson) (HCT) provides that a person against whom an emergency or preliminary
protective order has been issued may petition to have police and court records relating to such
order expunged if the order expires or is dissolved by the issuing court or if a hearing for the
issuance of a permanent protective order is scheduled or held and such permanent protective order
is subsequently not issued. Recommend oppose. (22104750D)

SB 443 (Boysko) (Senate Floor) provides that a defendant with a disorder or disability, as defined
in the bill, may file a petition that requests the sealing of the criminal history record information
and court records of a Class 4 felony conviction or deferred and dismissed disposition. Under
current law, Class 4 felony convictions or deferred and dismissed dispositions are ineligible to be
sealed. Recommend support with amendment. Support concept of expungement for certain
crimes; sufficient state funding for implementation is essential. (22103094D)

SB 730 (Lewis) (Senate Floor) increases the daily compensation for jurors from $30 to $100.
Recommend monitor. (22104517D)

HJ 59 (Wampler) (Reported from HRUL) requests the Office of the Executive Secretary of the
Supreme Court of Virginia to (i) determine the cost of the creation and implementation of a
uniform filing system for all state circuit, general district, and juvenile and domestic relations
district courts; (i1) identify any potential challenges of and concerns relating to establishing a
statewide electronic filing system, such as Internet availability in certain parts of the state,
balancing accessibility and transparency while maintaining confidentiality as required for certain
cases, security concerns, system failure or outages, and training for users of the system, and
determine possible solutions for identified concerns; (iii) analyze the current federal electronic
filing system and plans implemented in other states to determine best practices for developing and
implementing a statewide system for all circuit and district courts in the Commonwealth; and (iv)
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develop a plan for the establishment of a uniform electronic filing system in all circuit and district
courts in the Commonwealth. Recommend monitor. (22101187D)

SB 669 (Surovell) (SJUD) requires that all law-enforcement agencies that employ at least two law-
enforcement officers, reduced from at least 10 under current law, ensure that, in the case of all
written citizen complaints or complaints submitted in an electronic format, the agency (i) allows
for the submission of citizen complaints through the agency's website or other electronic format;
(i1) provides a receipt or written acknowledgment confirming the submission of the complaint to
the individual filing such complaint; (iii) provides a written response to any individual who has
filed a complaint within 30 days of the filing of such complaint indicating the status of such
complaint; (iv) provides a written response to any individual who has filed a complaint within 60
days of the filing of such complaint indicating the final disposition of such complaint and if any
action, including disciplinary action, was taken as a result of such complaint or, if after 60 days a
resolution of the complaint has not occurred, the law-enforcement agency provides a written
response indicating the reason for the delay in reaching a final disposition and an anticipated date
of completion; (v) for any complaint that is not resolved within 60 days, provides a written
response to any individual who has filed a complaint upon the resolution of such complaint
indicating the final disposition of such complaint and if any action, including disciplinary action,
was taken as a result of such complaint; and (vi) provides notice to any individual who has filed a
complaint if an investigation into a previously filed complaint has been reopened upon the
submission of new materials after a final resolution for the previously filed complaint has been
reached. The bill also provides that all complaints, investigative materials associated with such
complaints, and any dispositional information may be disclosed to the attorney for the
Commonwealth when such materials are requested by the attorney for the Commonwealth and
relate to a law-enforcement officer's credibility, integrity, or honesty or may constitute exculpatory
or impeachment evidence. Recommend amend. Amend to add exemptions for cases when

complainants want to remain anonymous or do not provide the necessary contact information.
(22104590D)

Firearms

HB 325 (Freitas) (Passed House) repeals the requirement that, if a firearm 1is lost or stolen from a
person who lawfully possessed it, such person shall report the loss or theft of the firearm to any
local law-enforcement agency or the Department of State Police within 48 hours after such person
discovers the loss or theft or is informed by a person with personal knowledge of the loss or theft.
Under current law, a violation is punishable by a civil penalty of not more than $250. Recommend
oppose. (22102189D)

Health and Human Services

HB 95 (Head) (Passed House; SCL) requires financial institutions to cooperate in any investigation
of alleged adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation conducted by a local department of social services
and to make any financial records or information relevant to such investigation available to the
local department upon request. Recommend support. (22105038D-H1)
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HB 156 (Byron) (House Floor) prohibits any person employed by or who has entered into a
contract to provide services on behalf of the Department of Health or a local department of health
from initiating communication regarding health-related matters with a minor on behalf of the
Department or local department of health without the consent of the minor's parent, except as
otherwise required by law. Recommend oppose. (22102263D)

HB 389 (Bulova) (Reported from HAPP) requires the Board of Education to establish a system of
regional entities that will be responsible for coordinating early childhood care and education
services, guiding quality improvement of such services and coordinated access to such services for
families, and implementing the uniform measurement and improvement system. The bill
establishes the Child Care Subsidy Program Overpayment Fund, consisting of all overpayment
moneys collected or recovered by the Department of Education or any state or local agency
contracted to administer the Child Care Subsidy Program, net of any refunds due to the federal
government, to be used solely for the purpose of covering the cost of providing training and
supports to early childhood care and education entities. Recommend support. (22104067D)

Land Use

HB 1088 (Leftwich) (HCCT) changes the definition of "subdivision" to provide that it does not
preclude valid and enforceable boundary line agreements between owners of adjacent parcels and
that divisions of land subject to a partition suit by virtue of order or decree by a court of competent
jurisdiction shall take precedence over certain development and zoning requirements. The bill
requires a subdivision ordinance to allow a locality to make agricultural subdivisions within an
agricultural zoning district. Recommend oppose. (22103287D)
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Legislation Provided for Discussion
Masks

SB 739 (Dunnavant) (Passed Senate; HED) requires, except in the case of the 10 unscheduled
remote learning days otherwise permitted by law or in certain cases of student discipline, each
school board to offer in-person instruction, as defined in the bill, to each student enrolled in the
local school division in a public elementary or secondary school for at least the minimum number
of required annual instructional hours and to each student enrolled in the local school division in
a public school-based early childhood care and education program for the entirety of the
instructional time provided pursuant to such program. The bill permits, notwithstanding any other
provision of law or any regulation, rule, or policy implemented by a school board, school division,
school official, or other state or local authority, the parent of any child enrolled in a public
elementary or secondary school, or in any school-based early childhood care and education
program, to elect for such child to not wear a mask while on school property. The bill provides
that no parent making such an election shall be required to provide a reason or any certification of
the child's health or education status and no student shall suffer any adverse disciplinary or
academic consequences as a result of this parental election. (22106287D-S1)

HB 514 (March) (HHWI) prohibits the Board of Health, Commissioner of Health, and Governor
from issuing any rule, regulation, or order that requires (i) individuals to wear masks or other face
coverings or (ii) businesses to require customers to wear masks or other face coverings while on
the premises of such business and prohibits any local school board from requiring any student
enrolled at a public elementary or secondary school in the local school division to wear a mask,
face covering, or other covering of the student's nose and mouth at school, on a school bus, or at a
school-sponsored activity. (22101551D)

HB 1036 (LaRock) (HED) prohibits any local school board from requiring any student enrolled at
a public elementary or secondary school in the local school division to wear a mask, face covering,
or other covering of the student's nose and mouth at school, on a school bus, or at a school-
sponsored activity unless the local school board substantiates such requirement with evidence that
(1) such requirement is necessary to suppress a nuisance dangerous to the public health or a
communicable, contagious, or infectious disease or other danger to the public life and health; (i1)
no reasonable alternatives to such requirement exist in light of the impact on quality of life and
economic well-being; and (ii1) such requirement is narrowly tailored to address the nuisance
dangerous to the public health or the communicable, contagious, or infectious disease or other
danger to the public life and health. (22103001D)

HB 1038 (Scott, P) (HHWI) prohibits the Board of Health, Commissioner of Health, or Governor
from issuing any rule, regulation, or order that requires (i) individuals to wear masks or other face
coverings or (ii) businesses to require customers to wear masks or other face coverings while on
the premises of such business. (22101291D)

HB 1272 (Batten) (Reported from HED) requires, except in the case of the 10 unscheduled remote
learning days otherwise permitted by law, each school board to offer in-person instruction, as
defined in the bill, to each student enrolled in the local school division in a public elementary or
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secondary school for at least the minimum number of required annual instructional hours and to
each student enrolled in the local school division in a public school-based early childhood care and
education program for the entirety of the instructional time provided pursuant to such program.
(22106116D-H1)

Taxation

HJ 58 (Carr) (HPE) directs the General Assembly to implement a tax relief program by which
longtime owner-occupants of real property are granted a total or partial exemption from local real
property taxation of real estate the market value of which has increased as a consequence of the
refurbishment or renovation of other residences or the construction of new residences in long-
established residential areas or areas of deteriorated, vacant, or abandoned homes and properties.
(22103333D)

HB 90 (McNamara) (HAPP) exempts food purchased for human consumption and essential
personal hygiene products (the grocery tax) from all state, regional, and local sales taxes. The bill
dedicates state sales tax revenue to provide a supplemental school payment to counties and cities.
For fiscal year 2023, the payment is the county or city's fiscal year 2022 distribution of revenue
from the grocery tax. For fiscal year 2024 and after, the payment is the previous year's payment
multiplied by the county or city's local sales tax index, defined in the bill as the ratio by which
sales tax revenues in a county or city for the current year exceed the previous year's revenues.
(22100681D)

HB 1008 (Durant) (HFIN) exempts food purchased for human consumption and essential personal
hygiene products (the grocery tax) from all state, regional, and local sales taxes. (22100737D)

SB 451 (Boysko) (Reported from SFIN) eliminates the 1.5 percent tax on food for human
consumption. Provides a replacement for school funding based on school-aged population, but
does not provide a replacement for transportation revenues. Does not repeal the one percent local
option tax. (SFIN substitute)

Transportation

SB 722 (Marsden) (Passed Senate) prohibits, in Planning District 8, the parking of a vehicle with
its wheels partially or fully on the curb, or with its wheels straddling the curb. The bill provides
that any vehicle parked on a curb may be removed by or under the direction of a law-enforcement
officer. (22105977D-S1)

HB 632 (Carr) (House Floor) prohibits any individual from operating a motor vehicle with a gross
weight of 6,500 pounds or less with an exhaust system that emits noise in excess of 85 decibels.
The bill also allows the governing body of any county, city, or town located within the Northern
Virginia Planning District or Richmond Regional Planning District to provide by ordinance that
no person shall operate any motor vehicle on a highway or on public or private property within
500 feet of any residential district unless such motor vehicle is equipped with an exhaust system
of a type installed as standard equipment, or comparable to that designed for use on that particular
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vehicle or device as standard factory equipment, in good working order and in constant operation
to prevent excessive noise. (22105730D-H1)

Administration of Government

SB 172 (Peake) (Passed Senate) requires county boards of supervisors, prior to July 1 of each year,
to set a maximum annual compensation, which will become effective as of January 1 of the next
year. (22102602D-E)

Food Inspections

HB 837 (Wilt) (Passed House) requires any food manufacturer, food storage warehouse, and retail
food establishment to obtain a permit from the Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services prior to operating. Any such entity issued a permit would be exempt from
any other license, permit, or inspection required for the sale, preparation, or handling of food. The
bill requires the Commissioner to notify such entities of the reason for denial of a permit and
requires that any denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit be carried out in accordance with
the Administrative Process Act. (22104157D-E)

Recovery Residences

SB 622 (Favola) (Passed Senate) requires every person who operates a recovery residence to
disclose to potential residents whether the recovery residence is a certified recovery residence and
that no health care provider or behavioral health service provider who receives public funds or
state agency shall refer a person with substance abuse disorder to a recovery residence unless the
recovery residence has been certified by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services (the Department) in accordance with regulations adopted by the Board of Behavioral
Health and Developmental Services (the Board). The bill also provides that credentialing agencies
by which the Board may require accreditation or in which the Board may require membership shall
administer credentialing and certification programs in accordance with standards of the National
Alliance for Recovery Residences; requires the Board to adopt regulations requiring each certified
recovery residence include one or more resident or nonresident staff persons who is employed by
the provider for compensation and who is responsible for oversight or management of the recovery
residence; and requires the Department to provide, for each certified recovery residence included
on the list maintained on the Department’s website the level of support provided by the certified
recovery residence. The bill also provides that certified recovery residences shall constitute
residential occupancy by a single family for zoning purposes, regardless of the number of persons
residing in the certified recovery residence, and exempts certified recovery residences from the
provisions of the Virginia Landlord and Tenant Act. (22105949D-S1)

HB 277 (Coyner) (Passed House) requires every person who operates a recovery residence to
disclose to potential residents whether the recovery residence is a certified recovery residence and
that no health care provider or behavioral health service provider who receives public funds or
state agency shall refer a person with substance abuse disorder to a recovery residence unless the
recovery residence has been certified by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services (the Department) in accordance with regulations adopted by the Board of Behavioral
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Health and Developmental Services (the Board). The bill also provides that credentialing agencies
by which the Board may require accreditation or in which the Board may require membership shall
administer credentialing and certification programs in accordance with standards of the National
Alliance for Recovery Residences; requires the Board to adopt regulations requiring each certified
recovery residence include one or more resident or nonresident staff persons who is employed by
the provider for compensation and who is responsible for oversight or management of the recovery
residence; and requires the Department to provide, for each certified recovery residence included
on the list maintained on the Department’s website the level of support provided by the certified
recovery residence. The bill also provides that certified recovery residences shall constitute
residential occupancy by a single family for zoning purposes, regardless of the number of persons
residing in the certified recovery residence, and exempts certified recovery residences from the
provisions of the Virginia Landlord and Tenant Act. (22105975D-H1)
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