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PHOTO SPEED
ENFORCEMENT

Code of Virginia

Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Subtitle I11. Operation

Chapter 8. Regulation of Traffic
Article 8. Speed

§ 46.2-882.1. Use of photo speed monitoring devices in highway
work zones and school crossing zones; civil penalty

A. For the purposes of this section:

"Highway work zone” has the same meaning ascribed to it in § 46.2-¢

"Photo speed monitoring device” means equipment that uses radar or LIDAR-based speed
detection and produces one or more photographs, microphotographs, videotapes, or other
recorded images of vehicles.

“School crossing zone” has the same meaning ascribed to it in § 4

B. A state or local law-enforcement agency may place and operate a photo speed monitoring
device in school crossing zones for the purposes of recording violations of § 46, and in
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VIRGINIA STATE CODE

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

VIRGINIA

Effective July 1, 2020, HB 1442, enacted into law as Code
of Virginia § 46.2-882.1, authorized state and local law
enforcement to operate photo speed monitoring
devices in or around school crossing zones and highway
work zones.

School crossing zone already defined by Virginia Code §
46.2-873

Photo speed enforcement sign shall be placed within
1000 feet

Enforcement Iimit of at least 10 mph over posted speed
Fines are not to exceed $100
No points, no insurance impacts for civil violations

Penalties collected are paid to locality where violation
occurred

iolations will be eligible for all legal collection’s
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The Photo Speed Enforcement Work Group
recommends a pilot program of six monthes.

The pilot would consist of 10 cameras
9 mobile cameras in school zones

1 mobile camera in a work zone (Rt. 28)

ilot could be staffed using light duty



FAIRFAXCOUNTY

Under § 46.2-882.1, any such agreement for

P H OTO S P E E D compensation to a vendor who provides photo

speed enforcement services “shall be based on the

ENFORCEMENT value of the goods and services provided, not on the
number of violations paid or monetary penalties.” The
two fee models being offered in the Commonwealth
so far are:

1. Fixed fee per camera per month.

The typical fee per camera per month ranges from
$2,500 to $6,000. The fixed fee per camera per month
may have a limit on the number of citations issued
P RICI N G causing an incremental fixed processing fee per
citation in addition to the cost once the number of
citations issued exceeds this monthly limit.

rocessing fee per issued citation per month.

ion varies is based on
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PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT PILOT METRICS

# of % of
Vehicles | vehicles
Total # of| 10 MPH |speeding|Average
School Locati Times
Lo i Vehicles | or more | 10+ MPH| Speed
over over
limit limit
. 4 43.23% '
Bonnie Brae E.S. Roberts Rd @ Nellie White Ln March 18 - 25, 2021* DB = 9650 = a0 axs s
1515 - 1545] 2284 622 27.23% 32.1
0845 -0930] 1067 105 9.84% 29.9
- -
Haycock E.S. Haycock Rd in front of Haycock E.S. | March 18 - 25, 2021 1600 - 16as] 1181 66 5.59% 28.5
0800-0859 3430 1341 39.10% 30.6
G h f f school .29 - X

Mount Eagle E.S. | North Kings Hwy in front of school | Nov. 29 - Dec. 2, 2021 1515-1600 2347 334 35.96% 26.5
0700-0745 4299 4073 94.74% 32.9
Irving M.S. Old Keene Mill Rd in front of school| December 6- 9, 2021 2 18301 2326 71.33% 33.2
0700-0830 ) 4005 1356 33.86% 32.1
South County H.S| Silverbrook Rd in front of school | December6-9, 2021 25301 4305 2641 28125 28

5 of vehicles speeding 10+ MPH



PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT DRAFT ORDINANCE

Escalating fine structure:

Speeds at least 10 MPH but not greater than 14 MPH
$50.00 civil penalty.

15-19 MPH $75.00
20 MPH or greater $100.00.
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PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT PHASED IN MODEL & COST

Phase 1 (FY24) - July-September 2023-
50 photo speed enforcement cameras
distributed between school and work
zones(* $1,800,000 per year)

Phase 2 (FY25) — July 2024 - 30
additional cameras for school zones (* Per year cost for two PFCs and two MPOs:

$2,880,000 per year) Two (2) PFC and two (2) MPO = $918,199

*Based on $3000 per camera per month
oted here is for equipment

Two (2) PFC and two (2) MPO officer positions
would be required to staff this program for 50
to 80 cameras:
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PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT

Public Safety Committee October 4, 2022, BOS Overview of Pilot and
Phase in Model

Submit an Administrative ltem to the BOS at the November 1, 2022,
meeting to authorize the Clerk’s Office to advertise (pursuant to
Virginia Code § 15.2-1427).

Conduct a public hearing on the ordinance at the BOS meeting on
December 6, 2022. After the public hearing has concluded, the BOS
can vote on adoption of the ordinance.

TIMELINE

ilot and option to
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Questions / Comments
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