

Photo Speed Enforcement

Public Safety Committee Meeting

Captain Alan Hanson Commander, Traffic Division, FCPD

October 4, 2022

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT OVERVIEW

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

- Background
- Pilot
- Phased in ImplementationTimeline
- Questions and Answers



PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT

Code of Virginia Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles Subtitle III. Operation Chapter 8. Regulation of Traffic Article 8. Speed

§ 46.2-882.1. Use of photo speed monitoring devices in highway work zones and school crossing zones; civil penalty

A. For the purposes of this section:

"Highway work zone" has the same meaning ascribed to it in § 46.2-878.1.

"Photo speed monitoring device" means equipment that uses radar or LIDAR-based speed detection and produces one or more photographs, microphotographs, videotapes, or other recorded images of vehicles.

"School crossing zone" has the same meaning ascribed to it in § 46.2-873.

B. A state or local law-enforcement agency may place and operate a photo speed monitoring device in school crossing zones for the purposes of recording violations of § 46.2-873 and in highway work genes for the purposes of recording violations of § 46.2-873 and in

VIRGINIA STATE CODE

- Effective July 1, 2020, <u>HB 1442</u>, enacted into law as Code of Virginia <u>§ 46.2-882.1</u>, authorized state and local law enforcement to operate photo speed monitoring devices in or around school crossing zones and highway work zones.
- School crossing zone already defined by Virginia Code § 46.2-873
- Photo speed enforcement sign shall be placed within 1000 feet
- Enforcement limit of at least 10 mph over posted speed
- Fines are not to exceed \$100
- No points, no insurance impacts for civil violations
- Penalties collected are paid to locality where violation occurred
- Unpaid violations will be eligible for all legal collection's activities
- Vendor paid based on value of goods & services provided

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT

PILOT PROGRAM

- The Photo Speed Enforcement Work Group recommends a pilot program of six months.
- The pilot would consist of 10 cameras

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

- 9 mobile cameras in school zones
- I mobile camera in a work zone (Rt. 28)
- The pilot could be staffed using light duty officers, though it would likely benefit from one permanently assigned coordinator in addition to light duty personnel.

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT

PRICING

Under § 46.2-882.1, any such agreement for compensation to a vendor who provides photo speed enforcement services "shall be based on the value of the goods and services provided, not on the number of violations paid or monetary penalties." The two fee models being offered in the Commonwealth so far are:

- 1. Fixed fee per camera per month.
 - The typical fee per camera per month ranges from \$2,500 to \$6,000. The fixed fee per camera per month may have a limit on the number of citations issued causing an incremental fixed processing fee per citation in addition to the cost once the number of citations issued exceeds this monthly limit.
- > 2. Fixed processing fee per issued citation per month.
 - The fixed processing fee per citation varies is based on the predicted volume of citations. The typical range for this model is \$13 to \$25 per issued citation.

Members of Work Group recommend Fixed Fee.

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT PILOT METRICS

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

School	Location	Dates	Times	Total # of Vehicles	# of Vehicles 10 MPH or more over limit	% of vehicles speeding 10+ MPH over limit	Average Speed
Bonnie Brae E.S.	Roberts Rd @ Nellie White Ln	March 18 - 25, 2021*	0800 - 0830	1411	610	43.23%	34.6
			1515 - 1545	2284	622	27.23%	32.1
Haycock E.S.	Haycock Rd in front of Haycock E.S.	March 18 - 25, 2021*	0845 - 0930	1067	105	9.84%	29.9
			1600 - 1645	1181	66	5.59%	28.5
Mount Eagle E.S.	North Kings Hwy in front of school	Nov. 29 - Dec. 2, 2021	0800-0859	3430	1341	39.10%	30.6
			1515-1600	2347	844	35.96%	26.5
Irving M.S.	Old Keene Mill Rd in front of school	December 6 - 9, 2021	0700-0745	4299	4073	94.74%	32.9
			1400-1430	4326	3086	71.34%	33.2
South County H.S	Silverbrook Rd in front of school	December 6 - 9, 2021	0700-0830	4005	1356	33.86%	32.1
			1400-1530	4305	1641	38.12%	36.5

- Reduction in average speed and % of vehicles speeding 10+ MPH over limit within school and work zones with photo speed enforcement pilot locations.
- Reduction in crashes within photo speed enforcement pilot areas.

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT DRAFT ORDINANCE

- Escalating fine structure:
 - Speeds at least 10 MPH but not greater than 14 MPH \$50.00 civil penalty.

7

- ► 15 -19 MPH \$75.00
- > Speeds at least 20 MPH or greater \$100.00.

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT PHASED IN MODEL & COST

FAIRFAXCOUNT

- **Phase 1 (FY24) –** July-September 2023– 50 photo speed enforcement cameras distributed between school and work zones(* \$1,800,000 per year)
- Phase 2 (FY25) July 2024 30
 additional cameras for school zones (*
 \$2,880,000 per year)
 - *Based on \$3000 per camera per month estimate. Cost noted here is for equipment only and does not include FCPD staff expenses.

- Two (2) PFC and two (2) MPO officer positions would be required to staff this program for 50 to 80 cameras:
- Per year cost for two PFCs and two MPOs:
 - ▶ Two (2) PFC and two (2) MPO = \$918,199

- Phase 1 Total: \$1,800,000 (contract) + \$918,199 = \$2,718,199 per year
- Phase 2 Total: \$2,880,000 (contract) + \$918,199 = \$3,798,799 per year
- Costs do not include estimated revenues

PHOTO SPEED ENFORCEMENT

Public Safety Committee October 4, 2022, BOS Overview of Pilot and Phase in Model

FAIRFAXCOUNTY

- 2. Submit an Administrative Item to the BOS at the November 1, 2022, meeting to authorize the Clerk's Office to advertise (pursuant to Virginia Code § 15.2-1427).
- Conduct a public hearing on the ordinance at the BOS meeting on December 6, 2022. After the public hearing has concluded, the BOS can vote on adoption of the ordinance.
- 4. Goal to begin first quarter 2023.
- 5. Procurement process is underway and will cover Pilot and option to retain vendor for program adoption.

TIMELINE



Questions / Comments