# FAIRFAX FALLS-CHURCH COMMUNITY SERVICES BOARD COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE VIRTUAL MEETING MINUTES FEBRUARY 16, 2022

The Compliance Committee of the Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board met electronically due to the COVID-19 pandemic that has made it unsafe to physically assemble a quorum in one location or to have the public present. Access was made available via video and web conferencing platform to CSB Board members, CSB staff, and members of the public. The meeting notice, including participation instructions, was posted electronically and on the building in which the meeting is typically held. Additionally, attendees were offered an opportunity to register for public comment during the 30 minutes prior to the meeting being called to order.

# 1. Meeting Called to Order

Committee Chair Garrett McGuire called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

# 2. Roll Call, Audibility, and Preliminary Motions

PRESENT: BOARD MEMBERS: GARRETT MCGUIRE (ALEXANDRIA, VA), COMMITTEE

CHAIR; JENNIFER ADELI (GREAT FALLS, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDON COUNTY, VA); BETTINA LAWTON (VIENNA, VA); DAN SHERRANGE

(CHANTILLY); ANNE WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA)

**ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS:** NONE

<u>Also present</u>: Executive Director Daryl Washington, Deputy Director of Clinical Operations Lyn Tomlinson, Deputy Director of Administrative Operations Daniel Herr, County Attorney Cynthia Tianti, Director of Quality Improvement Joan Rodgers, Assistant Deputy Director Barbara Wadley-Young and Board Clerk Joseline Cadima.

Committee Chair Garrett McGuire conducted roll call, as identified above, to confirm that a quorum of Board members was present and audible. Committee Chair Garrett McGuire passed the virtual gavel to Committee Member Captain Derek DeGeare to make several motions required to begin the meeting. A motion was offered confirming that each member's voice was audible to each other member of the CSB Board present; this motion was seconded by Committee Member Bettina Lawton and passed unanimously.

#### **Preliminary Motions**

Committee Chair Garrett McGuire made a motion that the State of Emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic makes it unsafe for the CSB Board to physically assemble and unsafe for the public to physically attend any such meeting, and that as such, FOIA's usual procedures, which require the physical assembly of this CSB Board and the physical presence of the public, cannot be implemented safely or practically. A further motion was made that this Board may conduct this meeting electronically through a video and web conferencing platform, that may be accessed via Meeting ID: 813 1186 1223 and Passcode: 792279. Motions were seconded by Committee Member

Bettina Lawton and unanimously approved. Committee Chair Garrett McGuire made a final motion that all the matters addressed on today's agenda are statutorily required or necessary to continue operations and the discharge of the CSB Board's lawful purposes, duties, and responsibilities. The motion was seconded by Committee Member Bettina Lawton and unanimously passed.

# 3. Matters of the Public.

None were presented.

## 4. Amendments to the Meeting Agenda

The meeting agenda was provided for review and no amendments were made.

#### **COMMITTEE CONSENSUS TO APPROVE AGENDA ITEM NO. 4**

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: GARRETT MCGUIRE (ALEXANDRIA, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR; JENNIFER ADELI (GREAT FALLS, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDON COUNTY, VA); BETTINA LAWTON (VIENNA, VA); DAN SHERRANGE (CHANTILLY, VA); ANNE

WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA)

NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

# 5. Approval of Minutes

Committee minutes for the December 8, 2021, and January 19, 2022, Compliance Committee Meetings were provided for review and revision.

MOVED BY COMMITTEE MEMBER CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE, SECONDED BY BOARD MEMBER BETTINA LAWTON TO APPROVE THE DECEMBER 8, 2021, MEETING MINUTES.

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: GARRETT MCGUIRE (ALEXANDRIA, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR; JENNIFER ADELI (GREAT FALLS, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDON COUNTY, VA); BETTINA LAWTON (VIENNA, VA); DAN SHERRANGE (CHANTILLY, VA); ANNE

WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA)

NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE
ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE
ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

MOVED BY COMMITTEE MEMBER CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE, SECONDED BY BOARD MEMBER BETTINA LAWTON TO APPROVE THE JANUARY 19, 2022, MEETING MINUTES.

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: JENNIFER ADELI (GREAT FALLS, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE

(LOUDON COUNTY, VA); BETTINA LAWTON (VIENNA, VA); DAN SHERRANGE

(CHANTILLY, VA); ANNE WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA)

**NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE** 

ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: GARRETT MCGUIRE (ALEXANDRIA, VA) \*

**ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE** 

# 6. Follow up items

**Director of Quality Improvement Joan Rodgers** provided an update on the status of the personalized report developed with the assistance of the County's Learning Management System Administrator to monitor CSB employee compliance on 14 courses that are required by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services and Licensed Programs. During the testing phase, it was discovered that the learning management system reports and the personnel system reports do not contain the similar staff identification numbers. Staff is working on a solution to cross reference both systems in a way that staff identification numbers can merge and provide the needed information.

## 7. Updates

#### A. ComplyTrack Reports

• **Director of Quality Improvement Joan Rodgers** provided the Audit Action Plan Report, Correct Action Plan Report, and the Education Reports.

## B. CSB Serious Incident (Level III) Report

• **Director of Quality Improvement Joan Rodgers** provided the Serious Incident Report (SIR) Report for January 2022.

### C. Electronic Health Record Update

• **Executive Director Daryl Washington** noted this report will be presented by Jen Aloi during the upcoming Executive Committee Meeting.

#### 8. Open Discussion

Committee Chair Garrett McGuire inquired whether there any matters that required discussion in closed session, none were raised.

#### 9. Adjournment

Committee Member Dan Sherrange made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 4:25 p.m.

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: GARRETT MCGUIRE (ALEXANDRIA, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR; JENNIFER ADELI (GREAT FALLS, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDON COUNTY,

<sup>\*</sup>Board Chair Garrett McGuire abstained from the vote, citing his absence during the January 19, 2022, Compliance Committee Meeting.

Compliance Committee Meeting Minutes February 16, 2022 Page 4 of 4

VA); BETTINA LAWTON (VIENNA, VA); DAN SHERRANGE (CHANTILLY, VA); ANNE

WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA)
NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

**ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE** 

03/16/2022	Joseline Cadima
Date Approved	Clerk to the Board