FAIRFAX FALLS-CHURCH COMMUNITY SERVICES BOARD SERVICE DELIVERY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE VIRTUAL MEETING MINUTES APRIL 13, 2022

The Service Delivery Oversight Committee of the Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board met electronically due to the COVID-19 pandemic that has made it unsafe to physically assemble a quorum in one location or to have the public present. Access was made available via video and web conferencing platform to CSB Board members, CSB staff, and members of the public. The meeting notice, including participation instructions, was posted electronically and on the building in which the meeting is typically held. Additionally, attendees were offered an opportunity to register for public comment during the 30 minutes prior to the meeting being called to order.

1. Meeting Called to Order

Committee Chair Anne Whipple called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m.

2. Roll Call, Audibility and Preliminary Motions

PRESENT: BOARD MEMBERS: ANNE WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR;

ROBERT BARTOLOTTA (FALLS CHURCH, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDOUN COUNTY, VA); SHEILA JONAS (ALEXANDRIA, VA); LARYSA KAUTZ

(ALEXANDRIA, VA)

ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: DARIA AKERS; SRILEKHA PALLE; EDWARD ROSE

Associate Members in Attendance: Lauren Goldschmidt and Kathleen Baker, ServiceSource; Cathy Benn, Second Story; Sharon Denisar, Fairfax County Public Schools; Diane Monnig, The Arc of Northern Virginia; Joe Getch, Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services, Inc.; Susan Keenan, Community Living Alternatives; Cindy Koshatka, Northern Virginia Mental Health Foundation; Julie Allen, Community Residences, Inc., CRi – Choice. Respect. Independence; Elaine Sommer, Northwest Center for Mental Health Advisory Board; Bill Taylor, Concerned Fairfax; Sean McGinnis, Hartwood Foundation, Inc.; Michelle Hurrell, Recovery Program Solutions of Virginia; Zanelle Nichol, ECHO; Heather Peck, Laurie Mitchell Empowerment and Career Center; Pat Vinson, Job Discovery, Inc.; Kenan Aden, MVLE; Eleanor Vincent, Pathway Homes, Inc.; Maureen Gum, Langley Residential Support Services; Latoria Bethea, Sunrise Group.

<u>Staff in Attendance</u>: Deputy Director of Clinical Operations Lyn Tomlinson, Assistant Deputy Director of Community Living Treatment and Support Barbara Wadley-Young, Assistant Deputy Director of Acute & Therapeutic Treatment Services Georgia Bachman, Director of Individual and Family Affairs Michael T. Lane, Service Director Kevin Lafin, Service Director Sierra Simmons, Service Director LaVurne Williams, and Board Clerk Joseline Cadima.

Committee Chair Anne Whipple conducted roll call, as identified above, to confirm that a quorum of Board members was present and audible. Committee Chair Anne Whipple passed the virtual gavel to Committee Member Sheila Jonas to make several motions required to begin the meeting. A motion was offered confirming that each member's voice was audible to each other member of

Service Delivery Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes April 13, 2022 Page 2 of 3

the CSB Board present; this motion was seconded by Committee Member Captain Derek DeGeare and passed unanimously.

Preliminary Motions

Committee Chair Anne Whipple made a motion that the State of Emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic makes it unsafe for the CSB Board to physically assemble and unsafe for the public to physically attend any such meeting, and that as such, FOIA's usual procedures, which require the physical assembly of this CSB Board and the physical presence of the public, cannot be implemented safely or practically. A further motion was made that this Board may conduct this meeting electronically through a video and web conferencing platform, that may be accessed via Meeting ID: 810 9531 4580 and Passcode: 878878. Motions were seconded by Committee Member Captain Derek DeGeare and unanimously approved. Committee Chair Anne Whipple made a final motion that all the matters addressed on today's agenda are statutorily required or necessary to continue operations and the discharge of the CSB Board's lawful purposes, duties, and responsibilities. The motion was seconded by Captain Derek DeGeare and unanimously passed, following the return of the virtual gavel to Committee Chair Anne Whipple.

3. Matters of the Public.

None were presented.

4. Amendments to the Meeting Agenda

The meeting agenda was provided for review, no revisions were made.

BOARD MEMBER CONSENSUS TO APPROVE AGENDA ITEM NO. 4.

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: ANNE WHIPPLE GREAT FALLS, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR;

ROBERT BARTOLOTTA (FALLS CHURCH, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDOUN COUNTY, VA); SHEILA JONAS (ALEXANDRIA, VA); LARYSA KAUTZ

(ALEXANDRIA, VA)

NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: DARIA AKERS; SRILEKHA PALLE; EDWARD ROSE

5. Approval of Minutes

Meeting minutes of the February 9, 2022, Compliance Committee were provided for review.

MOVED BY BOARD MEMBER CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE, SECONDED BY BOARD MEMBER SHEILA JONAS TO APPROVE AGENDA ITEM NO. 5

Service Delivery Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes April 13, 2022 Page 3 of 3

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: ANNE WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR; ROBERT BARTOLOTTA (FALLS CHURCH, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDOUN COUNTY, VA); SHEILA JONAS (ALEXANDRIA, VA); LARYSA KAUTZ (ALEXANDRIA, VA)

NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: DARIA AKERS; SRILEKHA PALLE; EDWARD ROSE

6. Legislative Update

Legislative & Grants Analyst Elizabeth McCartney provided the legislative status update.

7. Trauma Informed Community Network (TICN)

Wellness, Health Promotion & Prevention Manager Marla Zometsky provided the staff presentation highlighting the importance of the Trauma Informed Community Network and bringing different entities to collaborate together and implement principles of trauma-informed care.

8. <u>Associate Member Reports, Updates, and Concerns</u>

None were noted.

9. Staff Reports

Committee Chair Anne Whipple introduced the topic of moving to a less-frequent schedule of meetings and to keep them virtual. Associate Members noted that meetings are worthwhile and would appreciate keeping them in a virtual manner as it helps with their busy schedule.

10. Adjournment

Committee Member Sheila Jonas made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:12 p.m.

AYES: BOARD MEMBERS: ANNE WHIPPLE (GREAT FALLS, VA), COMMITTEE CHAIR; ROBERT BARTOLOTTA (FALLS CHURCH, VA); CAPTAIN DEREK DEGEARE (LOUDOUN COUNTY, VA); SHEILA JONAS (ALEXANDRIA, VA); LARYSA KAUTZ (ALEXANDRIA, VA)

- DeauSianed by

NOES: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE ABSTAIN: BOARD MEMBERS: NONE

ABSENT: BOARD MEMBERS: DARIA AKERS; SRILEKHA PALLE; EDWARD ROSE

09/14/2022	Sameera Awan
Date Approved	Clerk to the Board