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Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board
Emergency Services

Sharon Bulova Center for Community Health
8221 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031

703-573-5679, TTY 711 
www.fairfaxcounty.gov/csb

This publication can be made available in alternative format upon 
request. Please call 703-573-5679, TTY 711, and allow a reasonable 
period of time for preparation of the material.

NOTICE:
The information contained in this pamphlet is not intended to be legal 
advice and is for informational purposes only. For legal advice related 
to your own situation, you should consult an attorney. 

Overview
The psychiatric hospitalization of a youth (a person under 18 
years of age) against his or her will is a treatment option that is 
pursued only when all less restrictive treatment options have been 
exhausted or deemed unsuitable.  

Taking away an individual’s personal freedom, even with the good 
intention of providing mental health treatment, is such a serious 
step that the Virginia legislature has established strict requirements 
that must be met before a youth can be involuntarily hospitalized.

Involuntary hospitalization occurs only when a youth’s psychiatric 
condition causes a situation where the youth is a serious danger to 
self or others or is experiencing a serious deterioration in ability to 
care for self in a developmentally age-appropriate manner.  

The process starts with the issuance of a Temporary Detention 
Order (TDO) and the scheduling of a Commitment Hearing.  The 
involuntary hospitalization of youth is done in accordance with the 
Code of Virginia, sections 16.1-335 through 16.1-348, as amended.

https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/csb
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What is a Temporary 
Detention Order (TDO)?
A Temporary Detention Order (TDO) is a court order issued by a 
Magistrate1 that requires an individual to be held in a psychiatric 
facility for a period of up to 96 hours until a commitment hearing 
is held. How long the person is hospitalized before the hearing 
occurs depends upon when the TDO is issued and executed and 
whether there is an intervening weekend or legal holiday. 

Magistrates are available to issue a TDO every day of the year, 24 
hours a day.

When is a TDO needed?
	● Youth under the age of 14

A minor 14 years of age or younger can be admitted to a 
psychiatric hospital solely upon the application and consent of a 
parent. Since the youth does not need to consent or agree to the 
admission, a TDO is not needed to have the youth hospitalized.

1. Often a person’s first contact with Virginia’s Judicial System 
is through the Office of the Magistrate. The magistrate provides 
an independent, unbiased review of complaints of conduct 
brought to the office by law enforcement or the public. Among 
a magistrate’s many duties are processes such as issuing 
arrest warrants, search warrants, subpoenas, and temporary 
detention orders. Magistrates can conduct hearings in person or 
by videoconference, and are available around the clock at two 
locations in Fairfax County:

Fairfax Adult Detention Center 
10520 Judicial Drive 

Fairfax, VA 22030

Mount Vernon Governmental Center 
2511 Parkers Lane 

Alexandria, VA 22306
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	● Youth over the age of 14, nonobjecting
A minor 14 years of age and older who does not object to 
admission to a psychiatric hospital can be admitted upon the joint 
application and consent of the youth and a parent. Since the youth 
is agreeing to the hospitalization, this is considered a “voluntary” 
admission and therefore a TDO is not needed.

	● Youth over the age of 14, objecting 
A minor 14 years of age and older who (1) objects to admission 
to a psychiatric hospital, or (2) is incapable of making an 
informed decision about treatment can be admitted solely upon 
the application and consent of a parent for up to 96 hours. Issuance 
of a TDO is not needed but the admission must be subsequently 
approved by the Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court. 
However, since the psychiatric facilities within Fairfax County are 
not willing to admit an “objecting” or “incapable” youth 14 years 
of age or older solely upon the application and consent of a parent, 
an admission under this part of the statute is not possible.  As a 
result, to have the youth admitted a TDO must be issued.
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How is a TDO issued?
A TDO is issued in response to a request by a “Petitioner” 
and, except in rare circumstances, only after completion of 
an assessment within the preceding 72 hours by a “Certified 
Prescreener.”  The Petitioner, defined by the law as the youth’s 
“parent, treating physician, or ‘any responsible person’,” is the 
person who is requesting and has evidence to support involuntary 
hospitalization of the youth. The Certified Prescreener must be 
a mental health clinician who is employed by the Fairfax-Falls 
Church Community Services Board (CSB) and is certified to 
conduct TDO evaluations. 

The purpose of the Certified Prescreener’s assessment is to 
determine whether the youth meets the TDO criteria specified in 
the statute. Based on the results, the Certified Prescreener will 
then recommend or not recommend that the youth be involuntarily 
hospitalized under a TDO. 

If a TDO is issued, the results of the assessment are documented 
in a Preadmission Screening report (“prescreening”) that is sent 
to the hospital and is admitted into evidence at the commitment 
hearing. The Certified Prescreener is also required to ascertain 
the insurance status of the youth, determine the facility where the 
youth will be hospitalized, and inform the petitioner and the “on-
site treating physician” if hospitalization under a TDO is not being 
recommended.
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What criteria have to be 
met for the TDO to be 
issued?
To issue the TDO, the Magistrate, based on all evidence readily 
available, must decide that:

1.	 Because of mental illness, the youth (i) presents a serious 
danger to himself or others to the extent that severe or 
irremediable injury is likely to result, as evidenced by recent 
acts or threats or (ii) is experiencing a serious deterioration 
of his ability to care for himself in a developmentally age-
appropriate manner, as evidenced by delusionary thinking 
or by a significant impairment of functioning in hydration, 
nutrition, self-protection, or self-control; 

and

2.	 The youth is in need of compulsory treatment for a mental 
illness and is reasonably likely to benefit from the proposed 
treatment.

Prior to deciding whether or not to issue the TDO, the Magistrate 
may consider (i) any recommendation from any treating or 
examining physician or behavioral health professional licensed in 
Virginia, (ii) any past actions of the youth, (iii) any past mental 
health treatment of the youth, (vi) any relevant hearsay evidence, 
(vii) any medical records available, (viii) any affidavits submitted, 
if the witness is unavailable, and (viii) any other information 
available that the magistrate considers relevant.

Defining “serious danger” and “serious deterioration in ability 
to care for self” is a matter for each Magistrate and Certified 
Prescreener and will depend on the particular facts of each case. 
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How does the youth get 
safely to the hospital?
After the TDO is issued, a law enforcement officer will usually 
bring the court order to where the youth is located, take the youth 
into custody, and transport the youth to the hospital. During 
transportation to the hospital, law enforcement officers usually 
place the individual in handcuffs, for safety reasons. 

However, a Magistrate may authorize the youth be to be taken 
to the hospital by an “alternative transportation provider” if it 
can be demonstrated that the provider is available and willing 
to provide the transportation and can do so in a safe manner. 
Alternative transportation can be provided by a parent, family 
member, or friend of the youth; a representative of the CSB; or a 
transportation provider with trained personnel who can provide 
such transportation. If such transportation is authorized, the law 
enforcement officer will bring the court order to where the youth 
is located, take the youth into custody, and transfer custody to 
the alternative transportation provider identified in the Order for 
Transportation to Alternative Facility of Temporary Detention.

Where is the youth 
hospitalized?
Every attempt will be made to have the youth admitted to a local 
hospital that accepts juveniles (Dominion Hospital, Inova Fairfax 
Hospital,). However, this is not always possible. In the event that 
a bed cannot be located in Fairfax County, every attempt will 
be made to find an available bed as close to Fairfax County as 
possible. 
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	● If the youth is admitted to a hospital in Fairfax County, the 
commitment hearing for the youth will be held by a Fairfax 
County Special Justice. 

	● If there is not an available bed in Fairfax County and the 
youth is detained to a hospital in a different county, the 
commitment hearing will be held by a Special Justice or 
Judge from the jurisdiction where the hospital is located.   

The Certified Prescreener will give you the name and address of 
the hospital where the youth will be admitted. In the back of this 
pamphlet is a list of hospitals where the youth might be admitted. 
There is also space where you can record the name and address of 
the hospital where the youth will be admitted, if known. 

When does the 
commitment hearing 
occur?
The deadline to hold the commitment hearing is no later than 
96 hours after the TDO is executed. If the youth is admitted to 
one of the hospitals in Fairfax County, the commitment hearing 
is held at the hospital where they were admitted. The Fairfax 
County Assistant Commonwealth Attorney or the Independent 
Evaluator will contact the identified petitioner the day before 
and let them know the hearing day and approximate time. If the 
youth is placed outside of Fairfax County, the CSB Staff will 
contact the petitioners and can let them know the hearing date 
and approximate time. Information about the date, location, and 
starting time of a commitment hearing can also be obtained by 
contacting the hospital where the youth has been admitted or by 
contacting the Fairfax Emergency Services at 703-573-5679;  
TTY 711.
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It is essential that the Petitioner and any witnesses be present 
when the case is called. If the Petitioner and/or witnesses are 
not present to provide firsthand information, the TDO will be 
dismissed, and the youth will be released from the hospital. 
Rules of evidence and legal procedures apply to the commitment 
hearing.

In the back of this pamphlet, you will find a space where you can 
record the location, date and time of the hearing.

Fairfax TDO Hearings are currently being held via Zoom video-
conferencing, the instructions for connection follow:

How to join a Zoom meeting for a Civil Commitment 
Hearing...

A Zoom link will be sent by email to the identified petitioner by 
either the County Attorney, an Independent Evaluator or a Fairfax 
CSB Hearing Representative on the day of the civil commitment 
hearing.

It is necessary to have a smart phone (a phone with a camera) or 
computer with video connection capability to participate in the 
civil commitment hearing.

	Î Before logging into the Zoom link via a smart phone or 
computer, it is helpful to download the Zoom application 
beforehand through the device’s “app store.”

To log on via smart phone:

If the Zoom app is NOT downloaded before logging on,  
please follow the steps on page 11.

If the Zoom app is already downloaded,  
please follow the steps on page 12.
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If the Zoom app is NOT downloaded before logging on, please 
follow these steps:

1.	 After clicking on the Zoom link (will likely be highlighted 
in blue in the body of an email), you will see a page that 
says, “Ready to get started?” Click on the blue button that 
states, “Download from App Store.” Download the app onto 
your phone and wait for it to load.

2.	 Once the Zoom app is downloaded, click “Open” and you 
will be taken to a page within the Zoom app that states, 
“Start or join a meeting.”

3.	 Return to the original email and click on the Zoom link 
again.

4.	 You can indicate your identification where it says “Name” 
and then MANUALLY enter the meeting passcode in the 
line labeled as “Meeting Passcode.” The meeting passcode 
is: ABCDE1234!

It is imperative that you type in the passcode and do NOT 
copy and paste the passcode from the body of the email.

5.	 Once you enter the passcode, click “Continue” and then 
indicate “OK” or “Allow” to permit Zoom accessing your 
camera.

6.	 Click the blue button at the bottom of your screen where it 
states, “Join With Video.”

7.	 Another screen will open stating “Zoom would like to 
access the microphone” – click “Ok” to permit Zoom 
accessing your microphone.

8.	 You will then see a screen that states, “The host will let you 
in soon.” Please wait on this screen until the host of the 
Zoom meeting allows you into the court hearing.
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If the Zoom app is already downloaded, please follow these steps:

1.	 Clicking on the Zoom link (will likely be highlighted in 
blue in the body of an email) that is sent to you.

2.	 MANUALLY enter the meeting passcode in the box 
labeled as “Meeting Passcode.” The meeting passcode is: 
ABCDE1234! (case sensitive)

It is imperative that you type in the passcode and do NOT 
copy and paste the passcode from the body of the email.

3.	 Once you enter the passcode, click “Continue” and then 
indicate “OK” or “Allow” to Zoom accessing your camera.

4.	 You will then see a screen that states, “The host will let you 
in soon.” Please wait on this screen until the host of the 
Zoom meeting allows you into the court hearing.

If a Petitioner has difficulty or does not have access to a Smart 
Phone or Video enabled computer... 

Petitioners may present to the Fairfax Falls Church CSB 
Emergency Services and receive assistance logging on to the TDO 
hearing utilizing the CSB’s available tele-video equipment.

Please present to the CSB well in advance of your scheduled TDO 
court appearance to allow sufficient time to set up the tele-video 
equipment and log on to the TDO hearing.
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Who attends the 
commitment hearing?
Those attending the commitment hearing include: the youth, their 
court-appointed attorney, their court-appointed Guardian ad litem, 
a Special Justice, a Deputy Sheriff (who provides court security), a 
Qualified Evaluator, a CSB representative, the Petitioner, and any 
witnesses who are attending the hearing to testify.

What is the role of the 
Special Justice?
The Special Justice is an attorney who has judicial authority 
to conduct the hearing and determine the final outcome of the 
hearing.

What is the role of the 
Qualified Evaluator?
In Fairfax County, the Qualified Evaluator (QE) is usually a 
clinical psychologist who is skilled in the diagnosis and treatment 
of mental illness. Prior the hearing, the QE conducts an evaluation 
of the youth in order to provide an “expert clinical opinion” about 
whether the youth, because of a mental illness, (1) presents a 
serious danger to himself or others to the extent that severe or 
irremediable injury is likely to result, as evidenced by recent acts 
or threats or (2) is experiencing a serious deterioration of his 
ability to care for himself in a developmentally age-appropriate 
manner, as evidenced by delusionary thinking or by a significant 
impairment of functioning in hydration, nutrition, self-protection, 
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or self-control. The QE will also make specific recommendations 
for the youth’s placement, care and treatment and offer an opinion 
about (i) whether the youth meets the criteria for court-ordered 
inpatient treatment, (ii) whether the youth is in need of compulsory 
(court-ordered) treatment and is likely to benefit from that 
treatment, (iii) whether inpatient treatment is the least restrictive 
alternative that meets the youth’s needs. These issues are addressed 
in the QE’s written report that is submitted to the Court and placed 
in the youth’s hospital chart at least 24 hours before the hearing.

What is the role of 
the court-appointed 
attorney?
The court-appointed attorney, at State expense, represents the 
youth at the hearing. According to the Code of Virginia the 
attorney is obligated to “articulate the wishes of the minor” and 
“fully represent the minor in the proceedings.” This means that 
if the youth wants to be discharged from the hospital, the attorney 
will challenge the opinion and testimony of those who think 
the youth should remain in the hospital. Before the hearing, the 
attorney obtains information by interviewing the youth, the youth’s 
parents, the Petitioner, the Qualified Evaluator, any witnesses and 
by reviewing diagnostic and treatment records. During the hearing, 
the attorney’s role is to present witnesses on behalf of the youth 
and to cross-examine opposing witnesses. 
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What is the role of the 
Guardian ad litem?
The Guardian ad litem is an attorney who, at State expense, 
represents what is, in the Guardian ad litem’s professional 
judgment, in the best interest of the youth. Before the hearing, 
the Guardian ad litem obtains information by interviewing 
the youth and reviewing the petition, the Prescreening and the 
Qualified Evaluator’s report, and ascertains the views of the youth, 
the youth’s consenting parent(s), the Qualified Evaluator, and 
the attending psychiatrist. The Guardian ad litem also makes a 
recommendation about what disposition should be put into effect.

What is the role of the 
Petitioner?
The Petitioner is the person who requested that the youth be 
involuntarily hospitalized and is an essential part of the TDO 
process. Petitioners are often family members or friends but can 
be other mental health professionals or concerned individuals. The 
primary role of the Petitioner is to present testimony about why 
the TDO was requested or bring witnesses who can provide such 
testimony. According to the Code of Virginia, the Petitioner shall 
be given the opportunity to present evidence and cross examine 
witnesses at the hearing.

The testimony of the Petitioner or witnesses at the hearing is a 
practical necessity. If the Petitioner and/or witness are not present 
to provide first-hand evidence about the youth’s behavior – 
especially those behaviors and verbal threats that have resulted in, 
or could result in, physical harm - there is the strong possibility 
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that the TDO will be dismissed at the hearing due to insufficient 
evidence. When that happens, the youth will be free to leave the 
hospital. 

As the petitioner, you will be asked to complete and sign 
a “Petition for Certification for Involuntary Admission for 
Treatment” court form. On this form you will be required to 
provide specific information about why you are asking to have a 
TDO issued. The form will be notarized by the CSB Emergency 
Service staff and be sent to the Court. 

Petitioners are permitted to hire an attorney, at their own expense, 
to represent them at the hearing. While not required, this is very 
useful as the attorney is able to elicit testimony which is admissible 
at the hearing, provide legal advice and suggestions, and respond 
to legal issues that may be raised at the hearing. 

As the Petitioner, you are strongly encouraged to bring other 
witnesses to the hearing so they can provide supporting testimony. 
You and your witnesses should be available to the Qualified 
Evaluator prior to the hearing to provide information about why 
you sought the TDO. You are also encouraged to bring to the 
hearing any relevant physical evidence (for example, weapons, 
photographs, audio recordings, letters, documents, etc.) that 
supports your testimony. Do not hesitate to ask questions of the 
Special Justice, the Qualified Evaluator, and the Attorney if you do 
not understand something that is occurring at the hearing.
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What testimony should 
the Petitioner provide?
The testimony of the petitioner should provide first-hand 
information about what the youth has done or said that makes 
him/her a serious danger self or others (as demonstrated by recent 
acts or threats), or that indicates the youth is exhibiting a serious 
deterioration in their ability to care for self in an age-appropriate 
manner.  When you testify, it is important to focus on the youth’s 
recent behavior that you have personally witnessed and on recent 
statements or verbal threats that you have directly heard. What 
is considered “recent” varies among the Special Justices, but may 
encompass anything from the past few days to the past few weeks. 

When testifying, try to be as direct and precise as possible and 
provide as many details as you can. You will probably not be 
able to simply express your opinion that the youth is a serious 
danger to self or others or is experiencing a serious deterioration 
in ability to care for self. The individual’s attorney will likely 
object to such testimony since only an “expert witness” may 
offer an “opinion.”  Rather, testimony should focus on facts and 
specific examples of the youth’s recent behavior and verbal threats 
about which you have personal and direct knowledge. This 
includes recent statements made by the youth directly to you or 
that you have personally heard the youth make to others and any 
documents recently written by the youth that you have obtained. 
Remember to include evidence related to the youth’s refusal to 
seek or cooperate with voluntary psychiatric treatment. 

If you are the Petitioner and do not have firsthand evidence, then it 
is absolutely essential that you bring witnesses who do have such 
information. While there are exceptions, Virginia law essentially 
does not allow the Petitioner or witnesses to testify about what 
someone else told them or about behavior they have not personally 
seen or heard. Such evidence is rarely admissible because it is 
considered “hearsay” under the rules of evidence.
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What happens at the 
hearing?
At the start of the hearing, the participants will be asked to identify 
themselves and will be sworn in if they are going to provide 
testimony.  The Special Justice will then advise the youth of 
his or her legal rights. The Special Justice will then listen to the 
testimony of the petitioner, the witnesses, the Qualified Evaluator, 
and the Guardian ad litem. The youth is not required to testify but 
may choose to do so. The Petitioner and the youth’s attorney may 
“cross-examine” (ask questions of) any of the witnesses. After all 
the testimony has been completed, the youth’s attorney will be 
given an opportunity to state what disposition he/she thinks should 
be reached. A final decision about the disposition is then made by 
the Special Justice. 

What are the possible 
hearing outcomes?
The possible outcomes of the hearing process include the 
following:

Voluntary Admission – At the start of the hearing, the Special 
Justice will inform the youth of their right to be voluntarily 
admitted for inpatient treatment. Then, if the youth is capable of 
consenting to the voluntary admission and the youth’s parents 
consent to the voluntary admission, the Special Justice will allow 
the youth to voluntarily remain in the hospital. When deciding 
whether or not the youth is capable of consenting to a voluntary 
admission, the Special Justice may consider evidence regarding 
the youth’s past compliance or noncompliance with treatment. If 
the youth is allowed to be voluntarily admitted, the Court cannot 
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“commit” the youth to inpatient treatment nor order the youth 
to participate in Mandatory Outpatient Treatment. According to 
the Code of Virginia, a voluntary admission of a youth cannot 
exceed 90 days unless authorized by appropriate hospital medical 
personnel.

Commitment to Inpatient Treatment – When the Special 
Justice orders a commitment to inpatient treatment, the youth is 
under a court order to be involuntarily admitted to a hospital and 
is required to remain in the hospital for a maximum period of 
90 days, unless discharged sooner. To be committed, the Special 
Justice must find, by clear and convincing evidence, that:

1.	 Because of mental illness, the youth (i) presents a serious 
danger to himself or others to the extent that severe or 
irremediable injury is likely to result, as evidenced by recent 
acts or threats or (ii) is experiencing a serious deterioration 
of his ability to care for himself in a developmentally age-
appropriate manner, as evidenced by delusionary thinking 
or by a significant impairment of functioning in hydration, 
nutrition, self-protection, or self-control; and 

2.	 The youth is in need of compulsory treatment for a mental 
illness and is reasonably likely to benefit from the proposed 
treatment; and

3.	 The Special Justice shall consider entering an order for 
mandatory treatment if it is found that inpatient treatment is 
not the least restrictive treatment. 

According to the Code of Virginia, a minor committed to inpatient 
treatment shall be discharged from the facility when he no longer 
meets the commitment criteria as determined by appropriate 
hospital medical staff review. Further involvement of the Court is 
not required. Within 10 days of the order committing the youth, the 
youth can appeal the decision to the Circuit Court.
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Mandatory Outpatient Treatment (MOT) – The Special 
Justice can order the youth to participate in a period of outpatient 
treatment. This is referred to as Mandatory Outpatient Treatment 
(MOT). The duration of the MOT is determined by the Special 
Justice but cannot exceed 90 days. To order MOT, the Special 
Justice must find, by clear and convincing evidence, that the youth 
meets the criteria for commitment to inpatient treatment and that: 

1.	 The youth is in need of compulsory treatment for a mental 
illness and is reasonably likely to benefit from the proposed 
treatment; and Less restrictive alternatives to involuntary 
inpatient treatment that would offer an opportunity for 
improvement of his condition have been investigated and 
are determined to be appropriate; and

2.	 The youth, if 14 years of age or older, and his parents (i) 
have sufficient capacity to understand the stipulations of 
the youth’s treatment, (ii) have expressed an interest in 
the youth’s living in the community and have agreed to 
abide by the youth’s treatment plan, and (iii) are deemed 
to have the capacity to comply with the treatment plan and 
understand and adhere to conditions and requirements of the 
treatment and services; and

3.	 The ordered treatment can be delivered on an outpatient 
basis by the community services board or a designated 
provider.

In Fairfax County, a minor who has been placed in MOT must be 
seen at the Emergency Service of the Merrifield Center (Sharon 
Bulova Center for Community Health, 8221 Willow Oaks 
Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031) after the hearing to review the 
court order and start the treatment process. 
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According to the Code of Virginia, when a youth is ordered to 
participate in MOT, their compliance with treatment must be 
monitored by the CSB that serves the jurisdiction where the 
youth resides. Failure of the youth to adhere to the terms of the 
MOT could result in a revocation of the MOT and an order for 
commitment to inpatient treatment. Before the MOT expires, it 
can be continued for a period not to exceed 90 days or it can be 
rescinded. 

Within 10 days of the order placing the youth on MOT, the youth 
may appeal the decision to the Circuit Court.

Dismissal of the Petition – The Code of Virginia has certain 
requirements regarding the format and service of the TDO 
and other necessary documents such as the Petition. If these 
requirements are not met, the Special Justice may dismiss the 
petition for involuntary hospitalization. The Petition can also be 
dismissed if the Special Justice decides that the evidence does 
not meet the clear and convincing burden of proof to order an 
involuntary inpatient treatment or order the youth to participate in 
Mandatory Outpatient Treatment. When the petition is dismissed, 
the youth is free to leave the hospital and is under no legal 
obligation to receive any type of psychiatric treatment. Dismissal 
of the petition does not prevent the youth from staying in the 
hospital voluntarily, if they agree to remain in the hospital, are 
deemed capable of making that decision, and are accepted for 
admission. 
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Can the youth’s parents 
object to the proposed 
commitment to inpatient 
treatment?
According to the Code of Virginia, if the parent or parents with 
whom the minor resides are not willing to approve the proposed 
commitment, the commitment to inpatient treatment can be ordered 
only if the Special Justice determines (i) that the youth meets the 
commitment criteria, and (ii) that such treatment is necessary to 
protect the youth’s life, health, safety or normal development. The 
Special Justice may also issue a court order directing either or 
both of the youth’s parents to comply with reasonable conditions 
relating to the youth’s treatment if it is determined that such an 
order is in the best interests of the youth.

What happens after the 
hearing?
What happens after the hearing is determined by two factors: the 
disposition reached at the hearing and which hospital the youth had 
been admitted to under the TDO. 

A minor committed voluntarily or involuntarily into the hospital 
will remain in inpatient psychiatric treatment, typically at the 
hospital where the inpatient admission was granted. A minor who 
has been ordered into MOT will be released from the hospital to 
begin their court-ordered treatment. A youth whose Petition was 
dismissed will be free to leave and discharged from the hospital. 
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To what hospital is 
a committed youth 
admitted?
The CSB determines the hospital where the youth who has been 
committed to inpatient treatment will be admitted. The youth 
may be able to remain at the hospital where they had been 
admitted under the TDO or may need to be transferred to another 
facility. The hospital where the youth is admitted is based on 
health insurance coverage, bed availability, and whether or not a 
particular hospital will accept the youth for admission. Every effort 
will be made to have the youth hospitalized at a local psychiatric 
facility in Fairfax County. 

Who is responsible for 
the cost of treatment?
During the detention period, the cost of all treatment provided 
while the youth is hospitalized under the TDO is the responsibility 
of the parent or legal guardian. When the youth is covered by 
private health insurance or Medicaid, the hospital will seek 
reimbursement from the third-party payor. In cases where the youth 
is not covered by a third-party payor and is demonstrably unable to 
pay the cost of treatment, the hospital can ask for reimbursement 
from the Commonwealth of Virginia’s indigent patient fund. 

After the commitment hearing, the cost of all treatment is also 
the responsibility of the parent or legal guardian whether the youth 
is committed or remains in the hospital voluntarily. When the 
youth is covered by insurance, he/she is admitted to a facility that 
accepts their insurance, and the hospital will seek reimbursement 
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from the third-party payor. Uninsured youth are usually referred 
for hospitalization at the Commonwealth Center for Children and 
Adolescents in Staunton, Virginia, where the cost of treatment 
is determined by the parent or legal guardian’s income level and 
ability to pay. Concerns about the cost of treatment and payment 
should be addressed to a hospital social worker. 

If you have further 
questions…
Please call CSB Emergency Services (24 hours a day) at the 
Sharon Bulova Center for Community Health, 703-573-5679,  
TTY 711.

Local Psychiatric 
Facilities

Inova Fairfax Hospital  
3300 Gallows Road 

4th Floor 
Falls Church, VA 22042  

703-776-3491  

Dominion Hospital  
2960 Sleepy Hollow Road  
Falls Church, VA 22044  

703-536-2000

Inova Mount Vernon Hospital  
2501 Parkers Lane,  
3rd Floor (Unit 3A) 

Alexandria, VA 22306 
703-664-7052 

Commonwealth Center for 
Children and Adolescents 

1355 Richmond Road 
Staunton, VA 24402 

540-332-2100 
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Admitting Hospital
Name/Address:

									       

									       

									       

Phone: 								      

Commitment Hearing
Location/Address:

									       

									       

									       

Phone: 								      

Day/Date: 								      

Time: 									       
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A Fairfax County, Va., publication

Fairfax-Falls Church  
Community Services Board

Emergency Services
Sharon Bulova Center for Community Health

8221 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive
Lower Level

Fairfax, VA 22031
703-573-5679, TTY 711 

www.fairfaxcounty.gov/csb

Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination  
on the basis of disability in all county programs, 
services and activities. Reasonable accommodations 
will be provided upon request. For information,  
call 703-573-5679, TTY 711.

https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/csb
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