Small Business Commission

Small business Commision seal

The Small Business Commission (SBC) was created by the Board of Supervisors to advise and assist the Board, county executive, and county purchasing agent on any matter that will enhance the capability of small, minority and women-owned businesses, and those owned by service-disabled veterans to succeed.

For more information about the Small Business Commission and its activities:


Charter and By-Laws


2017 Small Business Commission


Small Business Commission Members Photo

Each Commissioner provides services to the small business community independently of and as part of the Small Business Commission. Contact your Commissioner for more information about how they can assist your business.

Chairman, At- Large – John Pellegrin
Vice-Chairman, Braddock District– Ed Reniker

Districts - Commissioners

At-Large – Claire Tse
At-Large – Tracey Wood
Dranesville – Cyrus Sobhani
Hunter Mill – Carmen L. Powell
Lee – Kelly Hebron
Mason – Libby Novak
Mt. Vernon – Vacant
Providence – Eva Freund
Springfield – Samantha Lentz
Sully – Marvin Powell




Vendor Comments Board

The Fairfax County Board of Supervisors has tasked the Small Business Commission (SBC), supported by the Department of Purchasing and Material Management, to operate and manage a Vendor Comments Board.

The Vendor Comments Board serves county vendors who seek answers not readily available to the general community and welcomes your suggestions, questions and comments. Detail your suggestion, question, issue or comments to streamline and improve the County procurement process or generally facilitate growth of business in Fairfax County and send to:

Your message will be addressed promptly and you will receive an acknowledgement with information on how the SBC will proceed or has handled your inquiry after the SBC contacts the appropriate agency. Your confidentiality will be maintained.

The SBC received vetted comments, suggestions or identified needs to facilitate the procurement process for businesses and Fairfax County and brings them to the attention of the Board of Supervisors.


Nominations Open for the Malone Small Business Award– The 2018 Bea Malone Small Business Award was created to honor the legacy of the late Small Business Commission member Beatrice Malone. In order to be considered for the inaugural award please fill out the Nomination Form and return to or follow the mailing instructions on the form. Nominations are open through June 1, 2018.


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version