## MINUTES Fairfax County Electoral Board October 9, 2018

The Fairfax County Electoral Board met on Tuesday, October 9, 2018, in Conference Room 315/319 at the Fairfax County Government Center located at 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax. Chairman Stephen M. Hunt, Vice Chairman Bettina M. Lawton, and Secretary Katherine K. Hanley were present. Election Manager Eric L. Spicer, Acting IT Manager Travis Potter, Election Officer Manager Ravi Udeshi, and Clerk to the Electoral Board Beth Dixon Methfessel also attended. Maggi Luca, representing the Fairfax League of Women Voters (LWV), and Brian McConville representing the Fairfax County Democratic Committee (FCDC) also were in attendance.

Mr. Hunt called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m. and introduced himself, Vice Chairman Lawton and Secretary Hanley (Board). Mr. Hunt called for a motion to approve the October 9, 2018, meeting agenda. Ms. Hanley moved to approve the agenda, and by a vote of 3-0, the October 9, 2018, meeting agenda, was adopted.

Mr. Hunt called for a motion to appoint 248 election officers (EOs) (121 Democrats, 46 Independents, and 81 Republicans) for a term ending February 29, 2020. Ms. Hanley moved to adopt, and by a vote of 3-0, the Board appointed 248 EOs (121 Democrats, 46 Independents, and 81 Republicans) individuals to serve as EOs for a term ending February 29, 2020. The motion passed by a vote of 3:0. The list includes all satellite workers as recommended by the Office of the County Attorney (memorandum dated September 28, 2018, and made a part of this record).

Mr. Hunt moved that the Board enter into a Closed Session for the purpose of discussing specific personnel matters, as permitted by Va. Code § 2.2-3711(A)(1); and protocols for maintaining public security and risk assessments of specific local electoral procedures, where discussion of such matters in open meeting would compromise the safety of any government facility or persons using such facility, as permitted by Va. Code § 24.2-3711(A)(19). Without objection, and by a vote of 3-0, the Board entered into Closed Session at 4:07 p.m.

At 5:23 p.m. the Board concluded the Closed Session. Chairman Hunt read the following statement:

"In accordance with *Virginia Code* § 2.2-3712(D), I am asking the Secretary of the Electoral Board to conduct a roll call vote to certify that to the best of each member's knowledge that (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act were conducted in the closed meeting and (ii) only such public business as was identified in the motion for the closed meeting, by which the closed meeting was convened, was heard, discussed or considered in the closed meeting of the Electoral Board. That roll call vote shall be recorded and included in the minutes of the Electoral Board."

Secretary Hanley then called the roll for the vote on the above statement:

Voting Yes:

Chairman Hunt Vice Chairman Lawton Secretary Hanley

There being no further business, Ms. Lawton moved to adjourn. The motion carried, and without objection, the meeting was adjourned at 5:24 p.m.

Stephen M. Hunt, Chairman

Bettina M. Lawton, Vice Chairman

Katherine K. Hanley, Secretary