MINUTES Fairfax County Electoral Board February 18, 2021

The Fairfax County Electoral Board met on Thursday, February 18, 2021, in Conference Room 315 at the Fairfax County Government Center located at 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax. Chairman Stephen M. Hunt, Vice Chairman Bettina M. Lawton, Secretary Katherine K. Hanley, and Clerk to the Board Beth Dixon Methfessel were present. Due to the inclement weather, the Fairfax County Government Center was closed, and Zoom links were provided for public access to the open portions of the meeting.

Mr. Hunt called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. and introduced Vice Chairman Lawton and Secretary Hanley (Board.) Mr. Hunt moved that the Board enter into a Closed Session for personnel matters, specifically to interview candidates, via Zoom link, for the position of General Registrar, as permitted by Va. Code § 2.2-3711(A)(1). Without objection, and by a vote of 3-0, the Board entered into Closed Session at 1:06 p.m.

At 7:00 p.m. the Board concluded the Closed Session. Chairman Hunt read the following statement:

"In accordance with *Virginia Code* § 2.2-3712(D), I am asking the Secretary of the Electoral Board to conduct a roll call vote to certify that to the best of each member's knowledge that (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act were conducted in the closed meeting and (ii) only such public business as was identified in the motion for the closed meeting, by which the closed meeting was convened, was heard, discussed or considered in the closed meeting of the Electoral Board. That roll call vote shall be recorded and included in the minutes of the Electoral Board."

Secretary Hanley then called the roll for the vote on the above statement:

Voting Yes:	Chairman Hunt
	Vice Chairman Lawton
	Secretary Hanley

There being no further business, Ms. Lawton made a motion to adjourn. The motion carried, and without objection, the meeting was adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

Stephen M. Hunt, Chairman

Bettina M. Lawton, Vice Chairman

Katherine K. Hanley, Secretary

February 18, 2021

This page intentionally left blank.