MINUTES

Fairfax County Electoral Board January 3, 2023

The Fairfax County Electoral Board (Board) met on Tuesday, January 3, 2023, in Conference Room 315 at the Fairfax County Government Center located at 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax. Chairman Hon. Katherine K. Hanley; Vice Chairman Jeffrey K. Shapiro; Secretary Amb. (ret.) Christopher P. Henzel; General Registrar Eric L. Spicer; Deputy General Registrar Cheryl Jones; and Clerk to the Electoral Board Beth Dixon Methfessel were present.

IT Manager Cord Whitehouse; Election Operations Manager Ravi Udeshi; Election Equipment and Logistics Manager Tyrone Allen; Deputy Registrar for Voter Registration Bushra Ardalan; Deputy Registrar for Absentee Voting Sean Stewart; Supply Manager Kay Garrison; Public Information Officer Brian Worthy; Antemira Elliott and Jean Thoensen (Office of Elections staff); Gregory Brandon (Fairfax County Democratic Committee Central Communications); Richard Weiss (FCDC Voter Registration and Education); Maggi Luca (Fairfax, League of Women Voters – (Fairfax LWV)); and Andrea Bayer and Barbara Palmer-Tengs (members FCRC); and (Fairfax County election officer and/or resident of Fairfax County) also attended the meeting in person.

The following individuals participated using the Zoom videoconferencing platform: IT Business Analysts Khamthakone Betts and George Panagakos; Assistant to the General Registrar Pat Ferguson; Deputy Registrar for Voter Satellite Offices Helen Chaikovsky; Office of Elections (Office) staff and/or rovers Steve Barch, Lisa Hogle, Dan Howell, B. Gissell Jimenez, Gary Klinger, Fred Knowles, Bill Lewers, Kathryn Martin, Todd Strelow, Jerald Taylor, Bill Warnock, and Leonard Wolfenstein; Christine Brim (Co-Lead, Fairfax County Election Integrity Task Force); Carol Allen (FCDC Election Law and Voter Protection); Maria Vorel (FCDC Precinct Operations); Donna Rostant and Stephen Spitz (members FCDC); Arina van Breda (Fairfax LWV); Audrey Dutton, Phyllisa Goldenberg, Debbie van Opstal, Harold Sinnett, and Beth Tudan (Fairfax County election officers and/or residents of Fairfax County or neighboring jurisdictions).

Mr. Henzel called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m. and introduced himself, Ms. Hanley, and newly sworn-in Board member Jeffrey Shapiro.

Ms. Hanley moved approval of the Draft Minutes of the Board meeting held on December 12, 2022. By a vote of 2-0 (with Mr. Shapiro abstaining), the Minutes of the Board meeting held on December 12, 2022, were adopted.

Mr. Henzel called for the reorganization of the Board. Mr. Henzel moved that Katherine Hanley be elected to the position of Chairman. The motion passed by a vote of 3-0. Ms. Hanley moved that Jeffrey Shapiro be elected to the position of Vice Chairman. The motion passed by a vote of 3-0. Mr. Shapiro moved that Christopher Henzel be elected to the position of Secretary. The motion passed by a vote of 3-0.

Under the Chairman's report, Ms. Hanley explained that redistricting "clean-up" for the precincts and polling places continues, and she summarized the 2023 changes that will be submitted to the Board of Supervisors (BOS) in February to authorize a public hearing in March.

Page 1 of 2

January 3, 2023

These changes include renaming Franconia #1 and #2 to Edison #1 and #2; moving Spindle #2 from the Centreville Library to Bull Run Elementary School and renaming it Robinson Mill; moving Difficult Run's polling place from the Church of the Good Shepherd to the U.U. Congregation of Fairfax; and splitting the Tysons precinct with more than 5,000 registered voters to relieve the current polling place that is not large enough to sustain the continued growth of the Tysons area. Mr. Henzel asked if staff is currently working on the split of the Tysons precinct. Ms. Hanley explained that the County owns the old container store now called the Parc at Tysons. A meeting will be held on Thursday, January 5 to determine whether this location can serve as a polling place. Ms. Hanley added that the Clerk to the Board oversees the creation and submission of precinct and polling place changes to the BOS.

Under the Vice Chairman's report, Mr. Shapiro thanked staff for their warm welcome and courteous assistance.

Under the Secretary's report, Mr. Henzel reiterated his appreciation for the cooperation and lack of partisanship exhibited during his first year on the Board and expressed his optimism that this will continue under the new configuration of the Board.

Under Public Comments, Ms. Hanley explained that public comments should be no longer than three minutes. Ms. Bayer asked for clarification that the Tysons precinct would be split. Ms. Hanley confirmed that the recommendation is that the Tysons precinct be divided into two precincts with separate polling places to relieve the current polling place that cannot sustain a precinct with more than 5,000 voters.

There being no further business, Mr. Henzel moved to adjourn. The motion carried, and without objection, the meeting was adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Attachments

Hon. Katherine K. Hanley, Chairman	-
Jeffrey K. Shapiro, Vice Chairman	-
Amb. (ret.) Christopher P. Henzel, Secreta	- ıry

Page 2 of 2 January 3, 2023