Chamber Honors Valorous, Lifesaving Acts (Fairfax Chamber of Commerce Recognizes Local Heroes)

Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department

News Release 14-31
Date:  March 25, 2014

The Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce will honor public safety heroes at the 36th annual Chamber of Commerce Valor Awards, Monday, March 31, at 11:30 a.m., at the McLean Hilton, 7920 Jones Branch Drive, McLean, Virginia. Leon Harris and Alison Starling, evening anchors, ABC/WJLA-TV, will co-host the program.

Additionally, a special department reception will be held at Fire and Rescue Station 29, Tysons Corner, 1560 Spring Hill Road, McLean, at 9 a.m., for honorees and families.

Chamber officials will recognize 30 firefighters for various valorous and lifesaving acts during 2013. Firefighters voluntarily put their personal safety at great risk to keep residents and the community safe.

Gold Award for Valor
(Propane Fire and Explosion)

  • Battalion Chief James J. Walsh Battalion 4
  • Captain II Ronnie A RodriguezStation 42, Wolftrap
  • Lieutenant Carmen C. AlessiStation 1, McLean
  • Lieutenant Daniel J. KwiatkowskiStation 30, Merrifield
  • Master Technician Ronald G. BausermanStation 1, Mclean
  • Master Technician Annette Corwin Station 13, Dunn Loring
  • Master Technician Douglas L. Miller Station 42, Wolftrap
  • Master Technician Daniel M. Sova Station 1, McLean
  • Technician Jarrod A. Schmidt Station 1, McLean
  • Master Technician Todd E. Clist Station 13, Dunn Loring
  • Firefighter Joshua M. Morrison Station 30, Merrifield
  • Firefighter Donald W. Rohr Station 30, Merrifield

Silver Award for Valor
(Vehicle Fire)

  • Lieutenant Antonio D. Trammell Station 1, McLean

Bronze Award for Valor
(VATF-1 Deployment)

  • Battalion Chief Michael C. Schaff USAR Office
  • Firefighter Medic Sally A. Dickinson Station 39, North Point
  • K-9 Handler Elizabeth Kreitler USAR Warehouse

(Navy Yard Shooting)

  • Volunteer Lieutenant Brian Pelletier Fair Oaks Volunteer FD

(Leesburg Pike High Rise Fire)

  • Lieutenant Patrick Sheehan Station 36, Frying Pan
  • Lieutenant Michael S. Taylor Station 10, Bailey's Crossroads
  • Master Technician Scott E. Herbert Station 10, Bailey's Crossroads
  • Technician Kevin R. Dabney Station 18, Jefferson
  • Technician Jorge H. Ochiata Station 18, Jefferson
  • Technician Jeffrey T. Peifer Station 18, Jefferson
  • Firefighter Andres F. Martinez Station 10, Bailey's Crossroads

Certificate of Valor
(Motorcycle Officer CPR)

  • Captain II David K. Gruendel Station 40, Fairfax Center
  • Captain I Marc L. Straubinger McConnell Public Safety Transportation Operations Center

(River Rescue)

  • Technician Thomas R. Barnes Station 12, Great Falls

Lifesaving Award

  • Lieutenant Scott F. Primrose Station 4, Herndon
  • Technician Rickie L. Atkins Station 31, Fox Mill

(Bicycle Accident)

  • Technician Vernon Johnson Station 31, Fox Mill

All proceeds from the event will benefit the Valor Scholarship Fund, providing educational scholarships to children of Medal of Valor recipients.

For more information, call Daniel L. Schmidt or Captain I Randal Bittinger,
Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department, 703-246-3801 and TTY: 711.
Duty PIO (Weekends/After-hours): 703-877-3702
Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability in all county programs,
services and activities. Reasonable accommodations will be provided upon request.
4100 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version