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The Code of Virginia (§2.2-5206.3 and §2.2-5208) requires each locality to establish and implement policies to have parents/guardians of children receiving CSA funded services contribute financially to the cost of such services, except when prohibited by law or regulation (e.g., for special education services per an IEP). This requirement is to be accomplished through the use of a sliding fee scale based on ability to pay. 

Billing Cycle (45 Days)
Parental Contribution statements are mailed approximately 45 days after the month when services were provided. For example, if home-based services were provided in January, a parental contribution bill would be mailed around February 15th. Providers should send an invoice to CSA within 10 days after the month when services were provided. Families are only billed after CSA has paid the provider. 

Questions Regarding Payment and Invoices or the Assessment Process 
Contact CSA Accounts Receivable staff at (703) 324-5276 with questions about payment and invoices. 
For questions about the Parental Contribution Agreement and the assessment process contact Brian Salazar Zamora (703) 324-5858.

Copayment Waivers or Reductions 
If you are unable to pay the amount assessed on the Parental Contribution Scale due to a financial hardship, you may request a parental contribution reduction or waiver (approved for six months). Provide an explanation of your circumstances and documentation to support your request. A request for financial hardship may be documented with proof of payments towards outstanding debt for medical and/or behavioral health care expenses or with an estimate and documentation of current and ongoing out of pocket expenses for services for a household member. For example, monthly out of pocket expenses for outpatient therapy may be considered in reducing the parental contribution amount. 

Collections 
The Fairfax County Department of Family Services (DFS)/ Children’s Services Act Office will refer unpaid balances delinquent 60 or more days to the Fairfax County Department of Tax Administration (DTA) to initiate the collection process. All delinquent charges are subject to additional fees and collection action by DTA or its agents as authorized by law (Fairfax County Code, §1-1-18 and Code of Virginia, §58.1-3934; §58.1-3958).

Education
CSA does not require a parental contribution for any educational costs of a residential placement including ancillary services to the Individual Education Program (IEP) such as speech/ language and occupational therapy. 

Private Health Coverage 
If your private health coverage provides coverage for requested services, CSA funds should not be utilized. CSA does not pay insurance deductibles. Private insurance must be utilized before accessing CSA funding. 

Private Health Coverage and Reimbursement
CSA is not a provider of behavioral health care but rather a payor (i.e., government subsidized behavioral health care) for services that are not available through the family’s private health coverage or other resources, and towards which parents pay what they are able to pay based on a set scale. If you intend to make an insurance claim to recoup the cost of services that were funded by CSA, then the CSA program would be entitled to the reimbursement towards the cost of services. CSA does not provide additional documentation for health coverage submission.

Parent/Guardians will need to check with their private health insurer to find out if CSA parental contributions are reimbursable expenses for behavioral health care through flexible medical spending accounts. For proof of payment to CSA, retain copies of your CSA contribution statements or cancelled checks. 

Medicaid
CSA does not charge a parental contribution for residential/group home treatment covered by Medicaid. However, if Medicaid does not cover the entire cost of residential/group home placements, CSA will require a parental contribution for expenses paid by CSA. 

Questions or Concerns about CSA Services
Do not hesitate to discuss concerns with your provider and your CSA case manager as soon as possible. If your concerns are not resolved, you may consider other options or select another provider that is a better match for your child and family. A parental contribution will be required and charged for each month that services are provided to your family. 

Termination or Suspension of Services 
If your account becomes delinquent and regular payments are not being made, CSA will not authorize additional services and may terminate existing services. Contact your case manager if your financial circumstances have changed to request a re-assessment of your parental contribution amount.

Appeals
If your request for a parental contribution reduction or waiver is denied, you may request an appeal to reconsider the decision. Contact your case manager for information regarding the appeal process. 



For additional information or with questions, contact the CSA Program at (703) 324-7938 or DFSCSA@fairfaxcounty.gov.


Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination on the basis of disability in all county programs, services and activities. Reasonable accommodations will be provided upon request. For information, call the CSA Program at 703-324-7938 or TTY 711.
Fairfax-Falls Church Children’s Services Act
12011 Government Center Parkway, 4th Floor, Fairfax, Virginia 22035
Main 703-324-7938 or Fax 703-653-1369
www.fairfaxcounty.gov/healthymindsfairfax/childrens-services-act
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